Red Dead Redemption

• Thread starter Thread starter cammo84

Is anyone having issues with the graphics? There seems to be an unusually high amount of jaggies in this game. When I walk down the street in Armadillo, all the buildings start "flickering" as if they have white Xmas lights wrapped around them. Is this normal?

Killing Williamson at the Fort, is that the trigger to open up the next area?

It isn't the only story arc, is it?

Also, which rifle is the best? I'm still using the Winchester Repeater; should I buy the Buffalo or Springfield or something?

Are you in Mexico yet? If not and your on your way to Williamson, you get a Springfield rifle real soon for free during the next mission. Oh and you can't buy the Buffalo rifle unless your a Rank 5 Hunter :thumbsu:

Killing Williamson at the Fort, is that the trigger to open up the next area?

It isn't the only story arc, is it?

Also, which rifle is the best? I'm still using the Winchester Repeater; should I buy the Buffalo or Springfield or something?
As kenny said, you get a Springfield in the next mission after Fort Mercer, but towards the end of the Mexico missions you will then get a Bolt-Action Rifle which imo is even better than the Springfield.

Are you in Mexico yet? If not and your on your way to Williamson, you get a Springfield rifle real soon for free during the next mission. Oh and you can't buy the Buffalo rifle unless your a Rank 5 Hunter :thumbsu:

I just am exploring, done all the question mark missions (i think?), anything else to do before going to Mexico

Finally finished story mode tonight, the ending totally left me stunned as it is something that isn't seen in any GTA game, but it was still a good way for this game to end and imo should lead to a sequel.
Take back what I said about there needing to be a sequel.
Highlight to reveal -----> As Jack Marston I found the stranger side quest "Remember the Family" at the Blackwater Station. I went and found Edgar Ross and gave him about ten bullets to the head and chest, that gave me the closure I needed to end what was a brilliant story.

All in all I reckon this game would make a very good movie as well.

This game is a lot of fun, on the level of inFamous for me (single player wise) although have only played it for one day so could easily surpass that (great) game.

Thankfully it has none of the bad elements of GTA4 though some of the visual similarities (fonts etc) are bringing back bad flashbacks.

So, without knowing anything about this game at all, as usual big footy helps me decide. Read through most of the thread and the general consensus is that this game is awesome. A friend on facebook talks about playing 5 hours straight, where he usually doesn't play games long at all. So, in the morning I will head out and pick me up a copy! :thumbsu: :D

Awesome game, finally finished last night.

Highlight to reveal: Couldn't believe the ending though. Have to say I'm gutted that he dies. Although being able to play as Jack is pretty cool, it just isn't the same.

I just got the gat gun and the ammo for it; how close to assaulting Fort Mercer am I?

And once I've done that, then I move in to Mexico, is that right?
That is correct.

Awesome game, finally finished last night.

Highlight to reveal: Couldn't believe the ending though. Have to say I'm gutted that he dies. Although being able to play as Jack is pretty cool, it just isn't the same.
Make sure you (Highlight to reveal) go to Blackwater Station and begin the stranger side quest there, that side quest involves Edgar Ross, and is the proper ending to the game, as all the credits and stuff begin rolling afterwards.

For those who are at an advanced stage in the game, gone to mexico or finished. Did you find all new Austin locations, because I am stuck on 44/45, but I havent left new Austin yet, I am just thinking that the last place is the San Luis River if its included? If anyone has finished it let me know it's actually really annoying me.

Usually fixed by just reloading the last autosave. Only happened to me once when i went to pick a guy up, missed, and ended up holding an imaginary dude on my shoulder.

It autosaves after you do anything significant, so you never lose anything. Just annoying, but most of these open world games have issues like this. Hard to rigorously game test every single interaction with every single bit of scenery in a map as huge as this.

Usually fixed by just reloading the last autosave. Only happened to me once when i went to pick a guy up, missed, and ended up holding an imaginary dude on my shoulder.

It autosaves after you do anything significant, so you never lose anything. Just annoying, but most of these open world games have issues like this. Hard to rigorously game test every single interaction with every single bit of scenery in a map as huge as this.

I don't have autosave on, keep forgetting to put it on, but i realized I saved it not long before the bug happened so there was no need for me to get angry haha, cheers though. Yeah it's absolutely massive, and Mancey would I be right to assume that you would know this - Can you come back to New Austin (Armadillo etc) after Mexico?

Not far enough in yet mate soz. Uni study, mixed with the fact I piss fart around doing challenges etc means it's been slow going on the story for me. Haven't even got to mexico yet.

And christ turn autosave on dood :D, it's a lifesaver.

Does autosave save it whenever you hitch your horse?

Mine is called GoldenBoy btw; after Seinfeld's favourite t-shirt.

Nice:thumbsu:

I'm pretty sure it does mate. Certainly does after you complete a challenge/mission/help a bystander.

Worst that could happen is losing a few animal skins i'd think

I still haven't entered Mexico either, good thing I guess as it does stretch the game out. Not that I need to do that as I spend a lot of time ****ing about. Spewing that you are married and can't plough random chicks.

Needs to be a divorce option in the game IMO.

Although I have a feeling the whole "family" thing will play into the story towards the end.

I don't think I'm even close to unlocking Mexico yet. I checked my stats last night and was at 12 hours played, with a whole 12 (story) missions done.:D

I'm only about 2-3 hours in, but the sexual tension between Marston and Bonnie quite noticeable at this early stage.

Haha, speaking of bonnie, has anyone picked up the newspaper after you
save her from the kidnappers

It says that she was kidnapped in what some claimed was a crime of passion. However this is unlikely as at 29, she way past child bearing age

lolza

next to the big boulders. road side. little bunch of rocks.

ok, I'm about to throw my controller through the tv. I have looked at every ****ing boulder near by for the first treasure!! Is it far from the big boulders? I've aligned the tree to the left of the big rocks and working back from there, but **** me dead, I can't find it :(