spindoctor

Suspended
Adelaide Crows
I don't care if we suddenly win this Brisbane game (not that it's going to happen), it would be nothing to do with Ayres' coaching that would do it.

Ayres has NOTHING. His coaching box is empty, he is a stubborn, angry mule who needs to realise that a change is as good as a holiday and the Crows are going backwards under him.

He has GREAT cattle in the current Crows line-up, whatever age they are, yet we are getting unmercifully mauled.

Seems he is THE ONLY BLOODY ONE who can't see that Perrie is only inconsistent when Carey is playing at CHF, and that Perrie really blossoms when he gets responsibility. Sticking an immobile Carey at CHF and leaving Perrie to rot under crap bombs from the midfield at FF is the stupidest coaching move I have seen. Didn't Ayres NOTICE how well Perrie played under responsibility last season?

Give us someone, anyone new. He hardened us up, great, but if you can't coach on the match-day, and can't think up new gameplans when your old one has been worked out, it's bye-bye Gary.

:mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:

so, spindoctor, what are your coaching qualifications?

Originally posted by spindoctor
He has GREAT cattle in the current Crows line-up, whatever age they are, yet we are getting unmercifully mauled.

GREAT cattle?!

Man for man we have a mediocre list and many of our 'elite' players: Smart, Hart, McLeod, Goodwin, Welsh, Clarke, Carey, et al; are either aging, under permanent injury-clouds or are chronically underperforming to the point where they are in danger of being labelled "over-rated".

No cattle and no farmer. the Cows are gone for 2004.

At least they'll get some decent draft picks for a change.

Originally posted by Angry Dragon
No cattle and no farmer. the Cows are gone for 2004.

At least they'll get some decent draft picks for a change.

Do you think Adelaide would draft youth to rebuild the side in 3-5 years or seek ready made players to replace those thare retiring soon?

Re: Re: Repeating myself: FIRE AYRES NOW!

Originally posted by dyertribe
GREAT cattle?!

Man for man we have a mediocre list and many of our 'elite' players: Smart, Hart, McLeod, Goodwin, Welsh, Clarke, Carey, et al; are either aging, under permanent injury-clouds or are chronically underperforming to the point where they are in danger of being labelled "over-rated".

Our list is marginally older, on average, than Brisbane's list. Every player on an AFL list is aging - at exactly the same rate....

We had a full list to choose from in the first 2 rounds, except for Mark Stevens who is unlikely to be back. So for availability of players, it doesn't get much better.

If the players are underperforming it is up to the coach to fix it. I think that is the point of the thread. If he doesn't have the answers then let someone else have a go.

BTW, I don't think that it is reasonable to sack the coach after 2 rounds.

In relation to another post on this thread, people are entitled to their view without other people getting personal. Most people who post here think they have some, if not all of the answers, but if they had to have AFL coaching experience before they posted a message there wouldn't be much traffic. Similarly, it wouldn't be much of a message board if everyone agreed with each other all the time.

Let's get behind the players and the coach, cross our fingers and toes and hope things get better for us in the coming rounds and the coach can find some answers of his own. If he doesn't you don't have to be Einstein to see that he will come under increasing pressure.

I will be there at Subi with bells on next week cheering the boys on.

PS. No AFL coaching experience but am willing to have a go for around 50% of the incumbent's wages :D

I repeat what I said last week. AFC would be stupid to sack a coach this early in the season. Ayres is on the last year of his contract & his performances will dictate whether he will be there in 2005. Sacking coaches this early just create further instability.

Ah, good old Gary came up with another couple of pearlers today.

Bassett on Voss:rolleyes:
Not tagging Voss when he played onball :rolleyes:
Leaving Chris Johnson free :rolleyes: Does he realise that this bloke is the one that sets up Brisbanes playes from defence??????:confused:
McGregor at CHF :rolleyes:

Having said that I think today was a resonable performace. We needed to show something and I thought we did in the last 3 quarters. One extremely bad quarter lost us a game of footy today. After that I thought we did OK.

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
Ah, good old Gary came up with another couple of pearlers today.

Bassett on Voss:rolleyes:
Not tagging Voss when he played onball :rolleyes:

Stiffy, what are you on about??

I'm sure if you asked Gary he'd tell you that Voss never had any influence on the game - he wasn't hurting us!!! :rolleyes:

Originally posted by macca23
Stiffy, what are you on about??

I'm sure if you asked Gary he'd tell you that Voss never had any influence on the game - he wasn't hurting us!!! :rolleyes:
I don't know man, i might be losing my marbles.:rolleyes:

Fair dinkum, you would think we have learned something from the GABBA final.:rolleyes:

Having said that I think today was a resonable performace. We needed to show something and I thought we did in the last 3 quarters. One extremely bad quarter lost us a game of footy today. After that I thought we did OK.

The problem is the first quarter was the worst and after that they just did what they had to do to win the game. This performance was far from reasonable - since when is 8 goals down at the half way mark of the last quarter acceptable. Sorry, I refuse to accept this level of performace - the final margin flattered us. At this time of year you don't care how you win just as long as you do!! If you can't beat a Lions side without Lynch and Brown (FF and CHF) on your home turf then you are in deep cow dung.....

Originally posted by kirky
The problem is the first quarter was the worst and after that they just did what they had to do to win the game. This performance was far from reasonable - since when is 8 goals down at the half way mark of the last quarter acceptable. Sorry, I refuse to accept this level of performace - the final margin flattered us. At this time of year you don't care how you win just as long as you do!! If you can't beat a Lions side without Lynch and Brown (FF and CHF) on your home turf then you are in deep cow dung.....
Did you honestly think we will make at least a 76 point turn around from last week??????

I didn't. I din't expect us to win this one for obvious reasons. I predicted a 0-3 start after the Kadina game and got shot down in flames.

Todays game is far more disappointing than last week.
For one, we looked extremely underdone last week, and midfield caused the majority of our problems.
This week, after a kick up the backside, and with a game under our belt,we should have come out breathing fire - no :( played like absolute powder puffs. Lions did what they wanted, when they wanted.
The only good things from the game was Hentschell, Schuback, and Stiffy - very encouraging for the future.
Goodwin played a great game, but the rest well...:mad:
Biglands is ordinary around the ground, but normally gets his hands to the ball in the ruck - not today.
Macleod looks like he's lost a yard of pace, and with it the confidence to burn players off.
Burton and Roo - awful.

Originally posted by Wayne's-World
Biglands is ordinary around the ground, but normally gets his hands to the ball in the ruck - not today.
I was filthy at his pathetic effort in the first half. He was awful. He started playing OK in the 2nd half to try and hold onto his spot for next week.

I thought Clarke was fantastic in the 1st half. He was the one and only player who came to play from the start of the game. Whenever, Clarke was sent to the bench for a breather and Biglands came on we were getting belted even more.:mad:

It is only AFC's reluctance to play Hudson this early that keeping Biglands in the side. He was pathetic last week and was only marginally better today.

Re: Re: Re: Repeating myself: FIRE AYRES NOW!

Originally posted by tinman
Our list is marginally older, on average, than Brisbane's list. Every player on an AFL list is aging - at exactly the same rate....

If you interpreted my comment the way it was intended you would have attributed my "aging" comment to Smart, Hart, Clarke and Carey - all 30 or over and all considered in our 'elite player' category - and all looking as irreplacable as Bickley, Jameson and Caven were.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Repeating myself: FIRE AYRES NOW!

Originally posted by dyertribe
If you interpreted my comment the way it was intended you would have attributed my "aging" comment to Smart, Hart, Clarke and Carey - all 30 or over and all considered in our 'elite player' category - and all looking as irreplacable as Bickley, Jameson and Caven were.

Hart is still a key for us, but none of the others could be put in our elite category. They are Roo, McLeod, Goody, and maybe Edwards (OK shoot me down here but I reckon he is hugely underated and deserves that status).

Personally I wouldn't put any of those players you mentioned in our "elite" category..

If Clarke, Smart and Carey are our elite players we are in more sh*t that Batman as for all those guys, their best footy is behind them.

I think that once those players are gone, they will be hard to replace and then I think that our on field performances can be expected to drop.

Not this season though. As man for man we are still a very good side.

This season will get better, it is next season we need to worry about as we will lose a lot and haven't got much coming through.

And sure, other people I'm sure will say we have, but look at sides like Fremantle or St Kilda. And before you say they had early draft picks, in Freo's case where did Hadrill, Hayden, Medhurst or Sandilands come from? All those blokes are better than what we have coming through and they came from late picks or rookies.

Honestly, some Crows supporters watch too little of other teams. have a look at those players and just wish they were with us...........

Currently we have a coaching/gameplan problem, but we also have a recruiting problem. The good news is we can change the gameplan in a week (but how likely is that?).

I hope we are competitive next week, and will be there with bells on, but if we win it will be a huge shock. And only last year we beat WC at Subi and lost to Freo by 1pt. What has changed in the interim?

Maybe that's better answered after the game?

I was filthy at his pathetic effort in the first half. He was awful. He started playing OK in the 2nd half to try and hold onto his spot for next week.
Game was gone in the second half, OK to play well when the pressures off.
I can't remember him getting a hand to the ball in a ruck contest, and that has been his only strength.
Typically we are all mesmorised by his physical attributes, not his football attributes - pity help us if Clarke retires and he's our number 1 ruckman.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Repeating myself: FIRE AYRES NOW!

Hart is still a key for us, but none of the others could be put in our elite category. They are Roo, McLeod, Goody, and maybe Edwards (OK shoot me down here but I reckon he is hugely underated and deserves that status).

I agree with your whole post tin man. Edwards is in there no question. I would also add Johncock to our elite catagory. Stiffy is the only one out of that lot who will improve his footy ability. The rest have reached their level and wont improve too much without some fresh inspiration.

I agree with recruiting - too lazy last year during the draft period and held onto too many second stringers.

Our other problems are injuries - Rutten, Watts and Krueger are the guys on our senior list who could be putting pressure on some of our regular guys for a Key Position but they are all injured. So we dont have much depth at present. What we saw yesterday is the best we have...with the exception of Hudson.

Agree with WW, the idea of Rhett being a lead ruckman on current form does not thrill me. Bring in Hudson!

Did you honestly think we will make at least a 76 point turn around from last week??????

I didn't. I din't expect us to win this one for obvious reasons. I predicted a 0-3 start after the Kadina game and got shot down in flames.

Sorry, Stiffy, but if ever there was a chance to beat the Lions yesterday was it. Why, because:-

1. They were missing their two key forwards (mind you their backups are not bad replacements) plus Scott and Power
2. All much vaunted midfield got spanked last week and today was about redeeming yourself (overall failed with a few exceptions)
3. We are at full strength and them at mid strength
4. It was our home game

We were destroyed in the first quarter and then it was about trying to minimise the damage. We never going to win and at any time they would popup with a couple of cheap goals (ala Noting in the second quarter) - numerous times I called a Brisbane goal would result when it was in a 50-50 contest in our forward line.

People can put any spin they want on this game but we are in deep, deep trouble. I fear the players have lost respect for the coach.....

Firing Ayres wont help the situation at all, I like a few others thought our 2nd,3rd and 4th quater's were quite respectible and our intensity was alot better than in Rnd 1. We were slaughtered around the stoppages on several occassions which is and area we rarely get betten in, No Hart,Perrie or M Stevens hurt us yesterday, why Perrie was dropped Im not sure on the reason (he played out of position in Rnd 1) we had very lil marking targets in the forwardline and could be clearly seen yesterday as everytime we went forward we were ALWAYS looking for Carey and Carey cant be expected to try and win it by himself.

Positives from yesterdays game: Scoot Stevens played very well and takes a good overhead mark, Brett Burton played quite well also but still needs to make sure he has more effective disposal of the footy,Schuback I thought was quite handy through the middle of the ground;)

We wont beat Freo next week if we continue playing players out of position and not having more options up forward.

People can put any spin they want on this game but we are in deep, deep trouble. I fear the players have lost respect for the coach.....
I agree we're in trouble, but as to the cause, we are too removed from the inner sanctum, to accurately determine what the cause is.
Certainly the amount of fumbling, poor disposal, fatigued players, are not what you want to see this time of year.
And its from the senior players, not the younger players who seem to doing OK.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Repeating myself: FIRE AYRES NOW!

Personally I wouldn't put any of those players you mentioned in our "elite" category..

So Carey isn't our number one key forward who we traded the Royal Mint for?
So Smart isn't still one of our most important defenders, regularly getting tough assignments?
So Clarke isn't our number one ruckman?

My point was the players I mentioned are every bit as important to our current team selection and structure as McLeod, Goodwin and Ricciuto are, hence my application of the word "elite". They may be well past their best but do you see any readymade or sufficiently promising replacements champing at the bit to take their places?

If Clarke, Smart and Carey are our elite players we are in more sh*t than Batman as for all those guys, their best footy is behind them.

Yes, yes we are.