Play Nice Richmond, set to become the biggest club in Australia, now with 100K members

Why doesn't the AFL just count full members rather than boutique memberships?
Two reasons

The AFL isn't motivated to reduce published member numbers.

It would be hard on us. We're in the unique situation of having 8 home games at Spotless and 3 at Manuka. Unlike the Melbourne clubs there are no replacement games.
We sell 11 game memberships, but most people wont pay for games interstate they cant attend.

West Coast are first and formost a corporation, set up with a financial monopoly in their town. they also play afl.

Collingwood is a club, born in boots, sweat and hard yakka, and has evolved to stay relevant to the modern game.

Oh just shut up will you?

WAFL has a proud history and WC are a representation of that since all the players came from the WAFL to play in it. Stop down playing other states history in the game for your precious shit don't stink VFL sides. Are West Australians meant to be ashamed that WC is a juggernaut of a club? They are a juggernaut because WA is a proud footy state with a rich history, ever think of that?

Why? I'm 700kms North of Adelaide but am a full Member.
You either fully support the team or you don't. Counting 3 game memberships is like being partly pregnant

Come on mate just give us a high five and say well done. Go on now.

WAFL has a proud history and WC are a representation of that since all the players came from the WAFL to play in it. Stop down playing other states history in the game for your precious shit don't stink VFL sides.

Mate we all know and value the VIC, SA and WA footy heritage. You’re being reeled in like a big blue fin tuna

West Coast are first and formost a corporation, set up with a financial monopoly in their town. they also play afl.

Collingwood is a club, born in boots, sweat and hard yakka, and has evolved to stay relevant to the modern game.

and Richmond is the biggest sporting organisation in Australian sport.

WAFL has a proud history and WC are a representation of that since all the players came from the WAFL to play in it. Stop down playing other states history in the game for your precious shit don't stink VFL sides. Are West Australians meant to be ashamed that WC is a juggernaut of a club? They are a juggernaut because WA is a proud footy state with a rich history, ever think of that?
Agree

Clubs have to start somewhere and the Eagles draw on WAs heritage.

Also am i right in saying the club is now over 30 years old? That means a good % of WA public only ever know a time where the Eagles were playing in the competition. In next 10 or so years it will be the majority.

A real and genuine part of the AFL

Great effort regardless of how you look at it. Was curious to me though that year after year, all clubs membership bases seemed to be increasing to record levels. Was speaking to families at work whose kids do Auskick. Apparently every Auskick kid gets a 3 or 5 game membership to the club of their choice when they sign up to Auskick. These numbers are all included in the count.

So if Richmond get 30-40,000 Tigers fans along to every game, what are the other 60-70,000 "members" doing every weekend ?

Serious question.

A similar question could be asked of every other club, but nobody else craps on about their "membership" like Richmond fans.
The Tigers seem to have a larger number of absent members than every other club, so I'm genuinely curious.

Who are these people? Where are they all? What do they do on the weekend?

Tiges 100,000 members, average 2018 crowd 52,234. Diferential 47,757
Hawks 80,000 members, average 2018 crowd 32,942. Differential 47,O59

Great effort regardless of how you look at it. Was curious to me though that year after year, all clubs membership bases seemed to be increasing to record levels. Was speaking to families at work whose kids do Auskick. Apparently every Auskick kid gets a 3 or 5 game membership to the club of their choice when they sign up to Auskick. These numbers are all included in the count.

probably not.

The AFL confirmed in 2016 that it had tightened membership regulations and to be counted as a member an individual must have a name, contact details, have contributed $50 to the club and received a membership pack. The official counts also include multiple memberships held by an individual. Pet memberships are not counted but the AFL confirmed babies and toddlers are included.

probably not.

The AFL confirmed in 2016 that it had tightened membership regulations and to be counted as a member an individual must have a name, contact details, have contributed $50 to the club and received a membership pack. The official counts also include multiple memberships held by an individual. Pet memberships are not counted but the AFL confirmed babies and toddlers are included.
When they sign up for Auskick, name and contact details are given, the 50 dollar contribution would come from the sign up fees and they receive the membership pack.

Hey Gill, the premiers and the biggest club in the country shouldn’t be playing so many Sundays at 3:20 and never a game on mother’s day. Oh yeah, give us a home game against North. Some better weather, improved time slots and increased rivalries will give us bigger crowds :drunk:

Dont think they are. 3 game junior memberships for us are way under the $50 threshold at $29.They may not be anyway because in fact there's no revenue. First I've heard of 5 game memberships.

Memberships have changed significantly in the last 10 years. in 2009 Hawthorn were the first club over 50,000. Now there are 10 clubs hitting that mark every year. Memberships really should only be compared to clubs with a similar membership model to themselves.

Richmond sell 1 game memberships that also include a donation to the Alannah & Madeleine foundation. The club would make very little money off of it, but gets counted just the same as the 11 game West Coast member paying $800 for a reserve seat.