Rivalries

One thin I noticed when Essendon were dominant in 2000, each week they seemed to be up against a major rival, "traditional" or otherwise. In fact, it was almost as if Sheeds had designed it that way ...

I'll try and rationalise each of these rivalries from a non-Bomber point of view. Obviously Bomber supporter input would be appropriate ...

Ess v Adel = THAT final in 93
Ess v Bris = Was almost the original "Victoria v Interstate" call by Sheeds
Ess v Carl = Many, but evidently Prelim 99 stuck in their craw
Ess v Coll = Many, Anzac Day is the biggy
Ess v Freo = .... not yet
Ess v Geel = That Ablett v Salmon goalfest
Ess v Haw = The mid 80's
Ess v Melb = N.Daniher!!
Ess v Port = Not much in 2000, but Hardwick, Wanga & ****y nowadays
Ess v Rich = Sheedy's personal history eg. "my 2 children"
Ess v StK = need help here
Ess v Swans = 96 Prelim
Ess v WCoast = The Jacket Wave
Ess v Bullies = Dominance of western suburbs (for what that's worth!!)

Every week was a big game for Essendon that year, so by the time that the finals roilled around, they were primed.

I reckon over the last few years North vs. Essendon has become a bit of a rivalry.

We had the wood on them mid to late 90's, them on us for the last few years, Pagan vs. Sheedy rivalry, them thinking we stole 'their' flag in 99 (Hey, don't blame us!), deluded souls thinking they would have beaten us in 96.

It's the first match I mark in my fixture each year...

Lions vs Port for me....Port match up well on us, the ledger stands at 5 all with 2 draws....plus we have kicked the hell out of them twice in the finals.

And the Port supporters are ferals who deserve to be thrown in leg irons and frog-marched to Darwin, imho :)

chop

A lot of Lions fans hate the Bulldogs, I'm not sure if it works both ways though. I doubt the rivalry will go very far now that Libba and Romero have gone.

Adelaide versus Port Adelaide is obvious and the 'big one'.But I think as far as victorian clubs go Adelaide's biggest rivals are The Western Bulldogs(two prelims and the 'comeback' last qtr in '99).
There seems some genuine passion between these two clubs.

Originally posted by Possumisagun
A lot of Lions fans hate the Bulldogs, I'm not sure if it works both ways though.

It does :)

The Dogs don't have any major rivalries but don't get on well with Brissie, Richmond, West Coast and Adelaide

I think the 2 standout rivalries are Collingwood/Carlton and the Adelaide Derby. Next would probably be the WA Derby

Originally posted by The_Flying_Egg

It does :)

The Dogs don't have any major rivalries but don't get on well with Brissie, Richmond, West Coast and Adelaide

I think the 2 standout rivalries are Collingwood/Carlton and the Adelaide Derby. Next would probably be the WA Derby

Yeah but Western Australians can't even pronounce 'derby' correctly so until they can they will get no recognition as a rivalry.

It's pretty easy to identify the rivalries but to actually quantify which ones better is useless because what makes the rivalry is the hate for the opposition. That is unless the rivalry is talked about as external parties watching a match that has a lot of passion about it.

I myself can't picture any rivalry better than Port/Crows. There just feels like there is so much riding on it before the bounce, sitting nervously in the ground or at home. The build up to one like the last one where it meant so much to both teams. Where as I can't fathom some of the other rivalries as to how much they mean to other fans. And I don't think a rivalry takes that long to build. In fact around 2 games I'd say, one classic where something happens that is incredible and then in the next game against the same team another sensational, passionate game and you pretty much have you're rivalry.

And as the competition becomes more equal and more national the rivalries will become increasingly more fierce as less of a talent gap emerges, injuries, suspensions and hga being the only difference.

For me personally it would have to be
Hawthorn v West Coast
Hawthorn v Freo

Just down to geographic reasons and all my mates who jump on the bandwagon when the weagles or Dockers are playing well and straight off if they are not eg 2001 (dont think i heard them say anything all season).

Originally posted by NICK THE PIE MAN
The most famous one is Collingwood/Carlton.
Always has been. The old enemies.

Everyone sees them as the main rivalry.
Unless your name is Dan26. ;)

Moi?

I see it as a huge rivalry, but these days the big-three all share the rivarly in any combination. I think over the last couple of years, Ess-Carl has been the main one given that they share the premiership title, but there is no doubt Carl-Coll has been the main rivarly from the 1930s to the early 90's. Collingwood's emergence may see the Carl-Col rivalry emerge as a clear number one.

Originally posted by NICK THE PIE MAN
Dan, Collingwood/Essendon hasn't traditionally been a rivalry has it?

Well, it has, but it hasn't been as big as some others. Part of the reason was that from 1911-1990 they didn't play in a Grand Final against each other. Whilst they were both hugely successful, they didn't play many finals against each other. Just coincidence, but that's the way the finals fell.

However, due to their massive support, 16, and 14 premierships respectively, and the modern day Anzac tradition, it remains at the forefront of footy rivalries.

Originally posted by Zombie

Yeah but Western Australians can't even pronounce 'derby' correctly so until they can they will get no recognition as a rivalry.
How do you pronounce the town in our state's north?

If you'd actually watched a Western Derby you'd probably appreciate the intesity in these games. Instead you just shoot your mouth off because you don't like Sabre (or someone else on the Dockers board)

You honestly should open your eyes.

We don't have any rivalries.
Everybody loves us and we don't give a hoot about anybody else.

Originally posted by jod23
I wouldve thought Port had quite the rivalry with North considering they still havent beaten them yet??
Nah. Not really. They are a bunch of sooks, so we let them win a few games here and there just so we don't have to listen to them whinge all the times. (well near enough) :D

Originally posted by scmods
Like we did in all of those "last ever game at Victoria Park" matches during our 10-game winning run against you in the 90's?

West Coast v Collingwood: West Coast 17, Collingwood 9, 1 draw. We have a better record against only Fremantle and the Brisbane Bears, so you're in illustrious company.
Ahhh the good old days.

Originally posted by Blues4Life
I appreciate the intense rivalries between a 2 team State like WA or SA. The rivalries don't have the tradition or history as the Vic teams do, but there is a lot of passion.

I do not mean to patronise, SA is not a two team Football state
the SANFL was the equivalent league of the former VFL in SA for the majority of the 20 th century...

During this time supporters of all the Non Port Adelaide Clubs, learned to hate Port Adelaide, with a passion reserved for the most pathological axe murderers.

In 1991 a Collective was formed for these supporters and it was named the Adelaide Crows...Even though this Collective was put into the AFL..their supporters watched Port Adelaide, slowly grinding their proverbial axes, Hoping for another G.F. loss for Port.

On learning that Port had gained the next AFL license in 1994, the hatred began to build...

At SANFL games at Alberton, the Crows score would be put over the loud speakers during Port games, if the Crows lost...the roar would be deafening...

In 1997, Port Adelaide were admitted to the AFL....

The Crows Fans and the Port Fans had over 130 years of rivalry there..Instantly ...No manufacturing, no fabrication, it was there....there is tradition in this hatred....

Port also have something building with Collingwood...it has to do with the Magpie connection..recently Eddie quadruple chins referred to Port Adelaide in the AFL as the Magpies, but quickly corrected himself and so it goes.

PA1870

Collingwood and Melbourne are the traditional "traditional rivals". People forget how bitter that rivalry was for a most of the VFL's history. Since a little after 1964 it has faded because their important clashes have been few and far between. Briefly in the late 80's it was ressurected. If both teams can have a couple of good seasons it will all come back.

Fitzroy and Collingwood were traditionally strong rivals, as has been mentioned earlier, and this is still recognised today. Likewise, there was always also quite a bit of feeling in Fitzroy versus Richmond games (plus there is a continued deap-seated hatred of all-things Richmond from a Fitzroy perspective, due to various events of the 1990's).

From a Brisbane Lions perspective, I would rank the Kangaroos as our stand-out rival. This being for many reasons. In the years directly after the merger, there was a degree of tension between the two clubs regarding the various occurrences in which the merger process had taken place. Likewise, clashes between the two teams often proved to be hard-fought, close encounters. Some absolutely brilliant games have been played between these two clubs, and I am quite certain that players from both teams would place quite a lot of importance on beating the other.

IMO, the current Brisbane Lions versus Kangaroos rivalry, is one of THE best in the league of the current era. There has only been one 'dull' match between these two sides in the last four years, all others have been spectacular and amongst the best of their season.

Other Lions rivals for various reasons, include the Western Bulldogs (and no, I don't hate them at all - but I do enjoy the rivalry with them after a string of firey and hard-fought encounters), Essendon (likewise, a number of hard-fought, firey encounters, along with off-field battles and the 2001 GF victory), and Port Adelaide.

Considering Port came into the competition at the same time as we did, and after having a number of close and hard-fought encounters, there is seemingly a constant battle between the two clubs to have the superior record. The fact that the Lions have been able to knock Port off in the last two finals series, in what has been a string of matches were the two teams seem fairly evenly matched, must surely be of some chagrin to Port supporters.

Originally posted by jod23
I wouldve thought Port had quite the rivalry with North considering they still havent beaten them yet??

I don't reckon a 9-0 record constitutes a strong rivalry. It sounds more like something of an epic B&D chronicle . . . errr, not that I'm an expert or anything . . . :eek: ;)

Speaking of B&D epics . . . Fitzroy took revenge on Adelaide a couple of times after that infamous 1991 game. There was always a bit of feeling between the two sides, namely this reason to begin with for the first few years, but then later, due to Robert Shaw ditching the Roys to coach the Crows (of course, the most memorable moment of his tenure being the emphatic Fitzroy victory at Football Park in 1995, under new coach Bernie Quinlan!). :D

Originally posted by PAfolwr

Nah. Not really. They are a bunch of sooks, so we let them win a few games here and there just so we don't have to listen to them whinge all the times. (well near enough) :D

Are you talking about North or Port Adelaide?;)

From a bomber point of view, its the Collingwood and Carlton games that matter the most, followed closely by Brisbane (b@stards!).

Originally posted by Yianni
I reckon over the last few years North vs. Essendon has become a bit of a rivalry.

We had the wood on them mid to late 90's, them on us for the last few years, Pagan vs. Sheedy rivalry, them thinking we stole 'their' flag in 99 (Hey, don't blame us!), deluded souls thinking they would have beaten us in 96.

Yeah, I used to love the North Essendon games when the roos were a little stronger (90's to 2001). I think it all stemmed frmo that 'marshmellow' final in 98 where we only got done by 22 pts.

Then there was that great comeback game in 2001, which was an awesome spectacle, roos up in the first quarter, bombers come back, then goal for goal till the final siren.

BUt my fav bomber/roo game would have to be the game in about round 20 1999, when Carey was on fire (i think he kicked 5 or so goals), but we still managed to storm home by 30 odd pts. Geez, 99 still pi$$es me off!!

Rivalries