Rolling Ashes Squad Thread, now featuring Haddin XII v Hick XII beginning p. 147

• Thread starter Thread starter bird_man

What a terrifying batting line up. Only 1 "proven" test player in the top 7. Way too much inexperience for me.

yeah if you are worried about inexperience they could swap it around a bit

Harris
Khawaja
Marnus
Head
Burns
Pucoski
Paine
Etc

Usman the most experienced to open....Burns providing some experience to the middle order he does have 3 test hundreds to his name

Usman to bat with Marnus...Burns Paine to bat with Pucoski

Reckon elyse perry and Alyssa Healy would go all right in this team
Starcy would love having his missus in the team

They drew 1-1 here two series ago against a better batting line up than Australia with Warner and Smith back - and that was with Doug bracewell taking up a third of their pace attack.

Yes they play on pitches that start out very green. They also play on pitches that flatten out remarkably after the second day, with extremely short boundaries. I would caution against writing off their attack as green track bullies.

Especially since they won a series in the UAE a whopping two months ago - the same opponent and venue where Australia looked incapable of challenging Pakistan.

You mean the batting lineup that was bowled out for 47 a month earlier in similar-ish conditions?

They drew 1-1 here two series ago against a better batting line up than Australia with Warner and Smith back - and that was with Doug bracewell taking up a third of their pace attack.

Yes they play on pitches that start out very green. They also play on pitches that flatten out remarkably after the second day, with extremely short boundaries. I would caution against writing off their attack as green track bullies.

Especially since they won a series in the UAE a whopping two months ago - the same opponent and venue where Australia looked incapable of challenging Pakistan.

I don't think their form in the UAE has any relevance to how NZ would do in an away test series in Aus.

I also think it's a bit of an outlier, Abbas bowled out of his skin in the Australian series, having watched both series extensively, it wasn't simply down to the batsman. It was a perfect storm, he was hooping it around corners and ended up with what? 20 wickets in 2 tests?

He couldn't move the ball off of straight in the NZ series and barely took a wicket.

How come we let will Somerville go back to NZ to play test cricket and he takes a bag of wickets on debut against Pakistan in the UAE?? Did we not offer him some sort of pathway to the top level? Hell we could have used him over there when we were getting tonked

I still reckon S marsh is in the selectors minds for the number 5 spot with Pucovski coming in at six

Harris
Warner
Khawaja
Smith
S Marsh
Pucovski

I think you are right. I won't be surprised at all to see S.Marsh back in for the Ashes.

My top seven for the Ashes is (and it is a little controversial):

1. Khawaja
2. Warner
3. Patterson
4. Smith
5. Pucovski
6. Stoinis
7. Paine (c)
8. Cummins
9. Starc
10. Richardson
11. Lyon (vc)

I think you are right. I won't be surprised at all to see S.Marsh back in for the Ashes.

1. Khawaja
2. Warner
3. Patterson
4. Smith
5. Pucovski
6. Stoinis
7. Paine (c)
8. Cummins
9. Starc
10. Richardson
11. Lyon (vc)
Not a bad team but I probably wouldn't have a bloke who dumps his wife and kids to chase after some young tart as vice captain. Just my opinion

Why isn't Patterson spoken about more? 3813 @ 41 is a better Shield record than Labuschagne and arguably better than Travis Head.

Currently 51* in the tour match when the team is 5/102. Has 1 x 100 3 x 50s and 2 x 40s in the Shield this season. Only knock on his record is that he doesn't convert 50s to 100s enough.

1. Khawaja
2. Warner
3. Patterson
4. Smith
5. Pucovski
6. Stoinis
7. Paine (c)
8. Cummins
9. Starc
10. Richardson
11. Lyon (vc)

Nah hazelwood will play...Richardson part of the squad

Stoinis need to score some runs in the shield first .....not a test player yet

I've seen blokes get back and across, but you can see all three stumps behind Doran on the forward defense sometimes. Squares up like crazy, too.

Looks like someone who's spent too much time batting in the nets, constantly trying to hit the ball straight back out of the net to see how far it'll go.

Why isn't Patterson spoken about more? 3813 @ 41 is a better Shield record than Labuschagne and arguably better than Travis Head.

Currently 51* in the tour match when the team is 5/102. Has 1 x 100 3 x 50s and 2 x 40s in the Shield this season. Only knock on his record is that he doesn't convert 50s to 100s enough.

Well if he finishes off the shield well....he might book himself a spot on the Ashes tour

Was apparently close when Maddinson (haha!) was selected.

Did he? I haven't heard about that (I don't live in Aus though).
Yea he did. Apparently his new young girlfriend has only just been accepted by the wags as they were upset at how he treated his ex and kids. Basically just walked out the door one day and never came back. No explanation or anything. Great bowler but I lost heaps of respect for him

Ah, so we should just assume that our pitches will be as flat as they were a few years ago, and hope that our batsmen dine out on it?
This, when the 2015-16 series finished 2-0, but
First test the Kiwi’s were underdone having had a farcical warmup that got called off
2nd test was a draw with an incredibly flat pitch
3rd test was a narrow loss with a crucial dubious DRS decision (Lyon in the 1st innings) possibly producing the difference.

Australia would probably go in as favourites next season but wouldn’t surprise me if the result goes the other way

Yea he did. Apparently his new young girlfriend has only just been accepted by the wags as they were upset at how he treated his ex and kids. Basically just walked out the door one day and never came back. No explanation or anything. Great bowler but I lost heaps of respect for him

Not sure a good bloke clause is advisable for our spin bowlers.

Warne 708
MacGill 208
Lyon 339

This, when the 2015-16 series finished 2-0, but
First test the Kiwi’s were underdone having had a farcical warmup that got called off
2nd test was a draw with an incredibly flat pitch
3rd test was a narrow loss with a crucial dubious DRS decision (Lyon in the 1st innings) possibly producing the difference.

Australia would probably go in as favourites next season but wouldn’t surprise me if the result goes the other way

no mate we'll smash em mate any suggestions that maybe it'll be closer are invalid because reasons mate