Toast Rookie Draft Pick 66 ~ Mitchell Carter

• Thread starter Thread starter Sin City

hopefully found another gem in the rookie draft from WA.

Is Guns WH in disguise? :confused::confused::confused:

Happy with the WA boys we already have and hope he can add to the mix. Welcome aboard!

From Snoop Dog's 2009 Mock Rookie Draft ...

27 West Coast Mitch Carter / South Fremantle / 183 / 76

Kid that went a bit under the radar outside of WA. Very clean player who is one touch and makes some really good decisions with ball in hand. More outside than in but does the one percent things. Good pace and good agility and a very penetrating kick. Typically plays HB but I think he could play wing, midfield or HF. He would be a handy prospect and someone that moves like an AFL player.

I know alot about the guy. Played plenty of footy with him and also a bit against.

Lets just say he is a smooth moving type of player. Mostly a flanker. Has improved his speed alot in the past year or two. Was never slow but never quick. He still isnt overly quick but he has very good agility. His kick is one of the best ive seen in my time, its very natural and he can kick a bloody long way. Once snapped a goal from 50 and was kicking goals from the corner of the centre square with torpedos. He will probably be one of your best kicks down at the club from the get go if not the best. Big call i know, but watch him at training and you will know what i mean. As snoop mentioned above does the one percenters aswell. Also will probably find it hard to know whether he is a left or right footer, some have actually said hes a left footer which is incorrect. Can kick over 50 on his left.

His weaknesses are probably his inside and hard ball winning. Also maybe his defensive side to his game. Although the weaknesses are limited and also maybe speed, will be interesting to see how his speed holds up at AFL level. Another one is hit fitness that is probably his major weakness.

I don't really know anything about him, but adding a speedy, running midfielder who can use the ball well is always handy. Best of luck to him, but as someone else said, he will find it tough to crack the 22 for us, as we have one of (if not THE) best midfields in the AFL.

Mitchell Carter
What type of player are you?
An outside player who provides run off the half-back flank and uses a penetrating kick to break the lines.

Which AFL player do you feel you resemble and why?
Lindsay Gilbee. He uses his penetrating kick effectively to break the lines, has good skills on both sides of his body and runs hard off the half-back flank.

What are your strengths as a footballer?
Decision making, skills on both sides of the body (hand and foot), composure under pressure and smothering.
Mitchell Carter

I think he could make it at AFL level due to the way the game is heading eg: zones. His kick could become very important if this zoning continues, good decision maker aswell and as said composed under pressure. Could be a player that takes the kick outs in the future. Dont get ahead of yourselves about the best midfield in the AFL, there are a few that are better than yours and your players besides guess who are yet to perform in finals. He isnt a genuine midfielder anyway, will be used on the HBF or HFF at AFL level.

Another few weaknesses ill add is he goes missing in games, can not get a kick all day and than win a game in the last 5 mins after doing not much. Isnt a big accumulator but is effective with the dispsosals he gets.

I know alot about the guy. Played plenty of footy with him and also a bit against.

Lets just say he is a smooth moving type of player. Mostly a flanker. Has improved his speed alot in the past year or two. Was never slow but never quick. He still isnt overly quick but he has very good agility. His kick is one of the best ive seen in my time, its very natural he can kick a bloody long way. Once snapped a goal from 50 and was kicking goals from the corner of the centre square with torpedos. He will probably be one of your best kicks down at the club from the get go if not the best. Big call i know, but watch him at training and you will know what i mean. As snoop mentioned above does the one percenters aswell. Also will probably find it hard to know whether he is a left or right footer, some have actually said hes a left footer which is incorrect. Can kick over 50 on his left.
Thanks for the info. Seems consistent with Ratts' instruction to the recruiters - to get players who can kick the ball with accuracy.

Hopefully the club will improve his fitness and get him afl ready asap.

Mitch is a beautiful thumping kick, off both feet. Has pace but I wouldn't call him overly quick. He is one of those guys who just seems to have a lot of time to dispose of the ball. A good decision maker who is also strong in the air. Can kick goals too.

A good pick up, I think Carter might surprise you guys and work his way onto the senior list within a couple of years.:thumbsu:

I think he could make it at AFL level due to the way the game is heading eg: zones. His kick could become very important if this zoning continues, good decision maker aswell and as said composed under pressure. Could be a player that takes the kick outs in the future. Dont get ahead of yourselves about the best midfield in the AFL, there are a few that are better than yours and your players besides guess who are yet to perform in finals. He isnt a genuine midfielder anyway, will be used on the HBF or HFF at AFL level.

Another few weaknesses ill add is he goes missing in games, can not get a kick all day and than win a game in the last 5 mins after doing not much. Isnt a big accumulator but is effective with the dispsosals he gets.
Two interstate finals lost by a kick............how was your last final interstate?:confused:

I see no-one here getting carried away with our midfield having added a rookie to it.

Two interstate finals lost by a kick............how was your last final interstate?:confused:

I see no-one here getting carried away with our midfield having added a rookie to it.

Dont know if you read the actual discussion, it sounds like you did not.

One poster said it will be hard to get into our (carltons) midfield because it is one of the best if not the best in the comp?

I said there would take plenty of other midfields before yours. Nothing wrong with that is there mate. Id prefer Stkildas, Geelongs, hawks, collingwoods and buldogs are very close if not just in front.

Our midfield is around top 6...not bad, as for not getting ahead of ourselves, I would say the same of your lot....all this rapture over the coaching panel and every day we have to put up with another puff peice in the media...it;s a joke from a bottom 4 side who more than likely will be the first team in history to finish 17th.

Carter sounds good but :thumbsu:

Sounds a ripper!

So why was he late in the rookie draft? :eek:

(That menegola one was funny; the papers all said he had endurance and then one of the writeups said he has endurance but was very slow...

QUESTION ANSWERED).