Round 1 - gf rematch

Geelong Win: Hawks Supporters get to say "who cares, we still beat you when it mattered" and can really rub salt into the wound by confirming they 'stole' a premiership. Result: We feel like shit;

Hawks Win: Hawks supporters will gloat and say they are clearly better, and this vindicates their premiership. Result: We fell like shit.

Conclusion: It means nothing. Either way we'll feel like shit and the ONLY thing that can change that happens on September 26, 2009. I just hope I'm at the MCG on that day (I'm GFC Social Club, so the only reaosn I'd be there is if we're in it!)

I hate Hawthorn FC.

I want to beat them 3 times next season. By 100 points in each H&A game. And then by 1 point in GF.

I watched GF for first time since event last night. And despite result, the better side lost. It happens sometimes. And I am absolutely torn to pieces because of it.

Geelong Win: Hawks Supporters get to say "who cares, we still beat you when it mattered" and can really rub salt into the wound by confirming they 'stole' a premiership. Result: We feel like shit;

Hawks Win: Hawks supporters will gloat and say they are clearly better, and this vindicates their premiership. Result: We fell like shit.

Conclusion: It means nothing. Either way we'll feel like shit and the ONLY thing that can change that happens on September 26, 2009. I just hope I'm at the MCG on that day (I'm GFC Social Club, so the only reaosn I'd be there is if we're in it!)

That comment has absolutely nothing to do with how the Rd 1 will affect either playing group, only how it will affect you.

On topic, I think while it wont mean as much to supporters, it must have an effect on the two playing groups.

This is hard to say without sounding like a troll, but like it or not, the 'Hawks owning Geelong' mentality must have crept into the heads of both sets of players.

Every time these two clubs play each other again for the next 5 years, it will have an effect on them mentally. Be it Hawks players gaining more belief that that they have the mental edge, or Cats players shaking that Brown and Yellow monkey off their back.

HUGE game IMO, both regular season games are as we will no doubt be meeting in September again. And it is in September where we have all seen how much more influence the mental game has...

This is hard to say without sounding like a troll, but like it or not, the 'Hawks owning Geelong' mentality must have crept into the heads of both sets of players.

Every time these two clubs play each other again for the next 5 years, it will have an effect on them mentally...

Too true. Footy's as much a mind game as it is a contact sport out on the field. The 'monkey on the back' is alot more than just a figure of speech. Our team has PROVEN they can play and win Grand Finals though, which counts for something - now all we've got to do is knock off all the other contenders in '09 including you bastards!

Redemption. I reckon we're in with a better shot than most this coming year:)

Every time these two clubs play each other again for the next 5 years, it will have an effect on them mentally. Be it Hawks players gaining more belief that that they have the mental edge, or Cats players shaking that Brown and Yellow monkey off their back.

Absolute crap. Just be thankful that for all our midfield dominance in the second and early part of the third quarter we couldn't kick more goals than points.

Enjoy what you're experiencing at the moment because the Cats will be gunning for the premiers in '09.

I hate Hawthorn FC.

I want to beat them 3 times next season. By 100 points in each H&A game. And then by 1 point in GF.

I watched GF for first time since event last night. And despite result, the better side lost. It happens sometimes. And I am absolutely torn to pieces because of it.

I thought the 'better side' always won? Hence the term 'better'. One would assume that if there's a better side, then the other side is the worst side, out of two sides, right?

I'm not trying to be a smartarse here... but your remark makes no sense. Now I understand your analysis of the game... but let's be frank, one side was better on the day and that's the side that won. There was a period in the 1st/2nd quarter where the Cats had a LOT of the ball, but for reasons already discussed to death, they weren't able to capitalise.

That said, you should never underestimate the power of applied pressure in footy. Whilst it may not result in direct scoring, the team applying pressure is able to break a game open and thus break down the opposition's game plan/style. And that's exactly what happened in the GF.. simple as that.

The rest is history and we move onto a new season in 09... Clean slate.

Absolute crap. Just be thankful that for all our midfield dominance in the second and early part of the third quarter we couldn't kick more goals than points.

I am. :thumbsu:
Care to tell me why, after being so accurate and unselfish all season, the Cats forwards were playing the opposite way? Wouldn't be in their heads would it? :rolleyes:

Enjoy what you're experiencing at the moment

the Cats will be gunning for the premiers in '09.

Like they were in '08? So will the Hawks mate, and the Cats players know that too. :thumbsu:

Care to tell me why, after being so accurate and unselfish all season, the Cats forwards were playing the opposite way? Wouldn't be in their heads would it? :rolleyes:

I don't really think they played all that different to the rest of the year, just couldn't get the ball through the middle of those bloody big sticks while we were on top! Hawthorn had more success doing it for us.;)

Like they were in '08? So will the Hawks mate, and the Cats players know that too. :thumbsu:

No, we were the reigning premiers last year, as you'll be next year. You will be the hunted, us the hunters.

By the way, 18.7 is fantastic kicking for a GF.:thumbsu:

I reckon you will beat us by 10 goals.

But anyone saying that the best team lost the GF is a fool. You guys managed to hang on for 2.5 quarters despite hardly putting together many decent passages of play. We applied incredible pressure and you could not handle it.
Thompson was also badly outcoached.

I expect you will be ready for us next time we meet in a final.

Round 1 - gf rematch