RUCK: Sandilands, Headland, JCarr
FOR: Farmer, Pavlich, Bell
HFOR: Mundy, Tarrant, Solomon
CEN: Peake, Solomon, Crowley
HBCK; Black, McPharlin, Johnson
BCK: Hayden, Grover, Dodd

BENCH: Schammer, Palmer, Ma Johnson, Murphy
EMERG: Warnock, MCarr, Drum

* I think Warnock will be given an extra week to prepare & given the clash against Wood/Fraser combo, I'd be happy with just Sandi/Gilmore against them

* Definitely no room for McManus

* Crowley will take over #1 tagging job with Schammer assisting

* In light of Warnock misisng, i think Murphy will be given 1st shot at 3rd tall forward

* Match Ups...Grover on Rocca, McPharlin on Cloke, Dodd on 3rd tall. If Rusling plays...Mi Johnson goes to him, otherwise I like MJ to go onto Davis, as he kills Hayden everytime he plays on him. Would like to see Hayden pick up a Dale Thomas & run with him all day.

* Midfield rotation of Headland, JCarr, Bell , Schammer, Palmer, Mundy, Crowley, Black, Solly, Peake, Ma Johnson

* If Hayden isn't declared fit, I'd go with Drum

Do you guys think Ibbotson will get a game?
I know NOTHING about him.
Few of my mates in Vic go for Freo and all have him in their dream teams.
So im wondering whether it's because he has a cult following or because he is actually a good player....

Please help me out.

Do you guys think Ibbotson will get a game?
I know NOTHING about him.
Few of my mates in Vic go for Freo and all have him in their dream teams.
So im wondering whether it's because he has a cult following or because he is actually a good player....

Please help me out.

Please help US out by not de-railing threads and instead posting in our very clearly marked DreamTeam questions thread. You'll find there's been quite a few questions about Garrick there already.

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=416114

Who plays on Medhurst Saturday? Hayden if fit (:() will probably get Leon Davis but Thornton, our best option for Medders, won't be available. Marcus Drum and Dodd are both possibilities, I doubt they'll play him down back but Solomon could be a good option too.

dom, you have been advocating Dodd becoming our #1 tagger, but I think you are spot on here. He is a good match for the likes of Medhurst who does not like physical opposition, and is best negated by a taller opponent. I think Dodd's versatility in the backline is very valuable, and unless Drum emerges and can handle a similar role, I would like to see him selected there for most games.

Taking a stab:

BCK: Hayden, McPharlin, Dodd
HBCK: Mundy, Grover, Johnson
CEN: Peake, Solomon, Macmanus
HFOR: Headland, Tarrant, Solomon
FOR: Farmer, Pavlich, Warnock
RUCK: Sandilands, Bell, JCarr

BENCH: Schammer, Palmer, Ma Johnson, Crowley
EMERG: Black, MCarr, Drum,

Black -- not fit enough??
Macmanus -- will play because he is one of if not our most consistent "away" player.
Peake -- likely to me the most doubtful midfielder. Has he had a decent pre-season game?
Palmer -- included because he wins way more of his own ball than either Peake or Schammer.
Warnock -- will start in forward pocket against height depleted Collingwood.
Grover -- at CHB again Rocca
Dodd -- vs Medhurst
Mundy -- will start back but may go forward
McPharlin -- will be a fitness concern. Should not play forward as too fragile.

Bored today Ralph? More posts from you than I've seen in 6 months. :D
Yep. Thought I'd come on here and see what the interesting people were talking about. I love it because the threads are so fresh and new, and never get recycled from year to year. :cool:

If McManus plays I'll be surprised...also Solomon could be a little busy :p
East Freo will look pretty good if Masten, McManus and M Carr are all playing with the Sharks. I just think Macca is underrated by many who tend to overrate Schammer. Their stats are similar as is their endeavour but Macca is quicker over the ground, has better disposal and can tackle.

Like how I put the boots into Schammer from a discussion of McManus?

Before I start, this is NOT a dream team question.

But what do you guys reckon of Garrick Ibbotson? Seen a few of his games and he looks a very likely type, but no one reckons he will get a gig round 1. Does Mark Harvey not rate the kid or is he simply not ready to play yet?

Before I start, this is NOT a dream team question.

But what do you guys reckon of Garrick Ibbotson? Seen a few of his games and he looks a very likely type, but no one reckons he will get a gig round 1. Does Mark Harvey not rate the kid or is he simply not ready to play yet?

If it was dream team question, what would it look like?

Like most emerging players he is a chance. But to suggest he is consistent best 22, and a certainty for round 1 would be wrong (not saying you are, but suggesting Harvey doesn't rate him is strange). He is a fringe player who needs to force his way into the team via good WAFL performances, then when selected, do everything that he can do to make it impossible to drop him

dom, you have been advocating Dodd becoming our #1 tagger, but I think you are spot on here. He is a good match for the likes of Medhurst who does not like physical opposition, and is best negated by a taller opponent. I think Dodd's versatility in the backline is very valuable, and unless Drum emerges and can handle a similar role, I would like to see him selected there for most games.

Yep, I'd be quite happy to see Dodd go to Medders.

I just think Macca is underrated by many who tend to overrate Schammer. Their stats are similar as is their endeavour but Macca is quicker over the ground, has better disposal and can tackle.

Schammer may not be quicker but his evasion/side step is way better, he has better hands in close, and he doesn't generally tackle the opposition's neck. And his scope for improvement is waaay more than macca's.

East Freo will look pretty good if Masten, McManus and M Carr are all playing with the Sharks. I just think Macca is underrated by many who tend to overrate Schammer. Their stats are similar as is their endeavour but Macca is quicker over the ground, has better disposal and can tackle.

Like how I put the boots into Schammer from a discussion of McManus?

I honestly can't recall the last time I saw McManus lay a tackle that was below the neck. If we have to have an oldie though, he's possibly the least worst of an average bunch - at least he'll show a bit of desperation to keep his spot, which is more than I can say for MCarr. On the topic of comparing Schammer and McManus, I think Schammer is in front as far as willingness to put his body on the line now - McManus (understandably) just doesn't (or can't) go in as hard or as often as he used to.

Medhurst/Didak/Davis will be a massive problem... Containing Collingwoods midfield is one thing but shutting down the forward line will be impossible if the boys all don't play near their best.

Grover - Rocca

Mcpharlin - Cloke

Dodd - Rusling (If he plays we will need height on him because he will catch everything)

Mark Johnson - Medhurst

Hayden - Davis

Mundy - Didak (Tough one to figure out who plays on didak)

IM hoping Palmer & maybe Mayne get a game... We cant worry about this too young garbage. Pavlich and Judd stepped in to footy at AFL level and never looked back.

We can take out Collingwood if the defense breaks even and our forward line turns it on... Harry O'brien and Heath Shaw are brilliant but can only do so much...

No Mcmanus/M.Carr/Peake please harvs

whats with all the peake hate? has he really been that bad?

he hasn't been in very good touch recently, turns it over too easily. I think people have forgotten how good he is at breaking the lines and providing quick ball movement. If he could hit any sort of form he'll be essential to this years finals push.

Peakey has been a major culprit at receiving the ball, stopping, propping, run backwards, sideways, then pass to a team mate under more pressure than himself (atleast in the 2 NAB games that I saw).
I agree that he`s a required player and can certainly break the lines but he doesn`t look like he`s had a lot of confidence in himself so far this year...maybe he was saving his carry and run for Round 1 @ the G :thumbsu:

Peakey has been a major culprit at receiving the ball, stopping, propping, run backwards, sideways, then pass to a team mate under more pressure than himself (atleast in the 2 NAB games that I saw).
I agree that he`s a required player and can certainly break the lines but he doesn`t look like he`s had a lot of confidence in himself so far this year...maybe he was saving his carry and run for Round 1 @ the G :thumbsu:

Isn't this a coaching issue? Clearly it is Peake's first instinct, but most players given clear instruction and game plan, including instructions run forward at all costs, should be able to overcome this. Who is the midfield coach?

Pretty sure it's German.

Wallis - forwards
Scott - backs
German - midfield

Grover - Rocca :thumbsu:

Mcpharlin - Cloke :thumbsu:

Dodd - Rusling (If he plays we will need height on him because he will catch everything) :thumbsu:

Mark Johnson - Medhurst :thumbsu:

Hayden - Davis :eek: Davis kills him EVERYtime!!

Mundy - Didak (Tough one to figure out who plays on didak) :eek: I reckon might suit Blackie

Dale Thomas is a key to their fortunes....must close him down....

Yes. They should be able to overcome this, with the right coaching and mental aptitude

Pretty sure it's German.

Wallis - forwards
Scott - backs
German - midfield

Without having a star midfield, we need very good midfield coaching. It frustrates the hell out of me when you see a player like Peake commiting fundemental errors as has been reported from the pre-season. Similarly the disappointing clearance rate versus the ruck duel succes rate (don't have figures, but assume here that Sandilands is able to win more than 50% of taps).

Dale Thomas is a key to their fortunes....must close him down....
will play mostly midfield and further up te ground will altern ate deep with didak and davis, you wont see all three in the fifty at once id imagine