Autopsy Round 16 v North Melbourne Rant Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Aphrodite

ellard is a must. we have no street fighters other than Robbo and he is insane. Time to blood more kids. Tbird et al are not the future. If JR was going to be the player he was he would be. This week coming is the last chance before shelving the year.MC coach and players need to get a set and go

a friendly drop for garlett. his confidence is shot like lindsay thomas on a dive. dropping that sitter was not a pretty thing to see, dig a hole and hide in it stuff. clearly feeling a lot of pressure, probably best if he has some taken off him by playing in the seconds.
is russell playing poorly? should still be doing many of the defensive roles gibbs gets.

A crap night all round. Just an empty feeling as the fact that the season's shot is sinking in.
Time to play some more kids and see who can play.

a friendly drop for garlett. his confidence is shot like lindsay thomas on a dive. dropping that sitter was not a pretty thing to see, dig a hole and hide in it stuff. clearly feeling a lot of pressure, probably best if he has some taken off him by playing in the seconds.
is russell playing poorly? should still be doing many of the defensive roles gibbs gets.
OK dis on Jeff. But 1st picks should be wini=ning games for us.

That performance was insipid. I don't care, you can blame injuries and umpiring all you want, the fact is they weren't up for the fight. As soon as things don't go their way, they immediately put their heads down and start to give up. That isn't what Carlton is about, we are NOT a bunch of quitters, but we have established that reputation now. Against Adelaide, Hawthorn and Port Adelaide, they outright gave up. Same thing again tonight. We got within 3 goals half way through the third quarter, this was AFTER the shocking umpiring and restructure, yet they decide to throw in the towel when Petrie gets another free kick goal.

I feel sorry for Judd but at the same time I'm pissed off with him. Tonight, he tried desperately to get his team back into it and played probably the best game he ever has for us. BUT he does something as stupid as bending a players arm behind his back while he is on the ground. Now he is going to be rubbed out. Thanks Juddy for another pressure point moment.

This team lacks leadership so bad with Simmo out and now the captain out for an undisciplinary act. We CANNOT lose next couple or finals chance is over. Yep that's right, forget top 4, just making the top 8 isn't going to happen. But with Judd out for probably 2 weeks (due to bad record), our midfield is going to be shot against the Tigers with an under done Murphy, Simpson out and Judd out.

Garlett was hopeless, Mr Gibbs went missing AGAIN and Lucas cannot dispose of the ball properly. These 3 are really starting to give me the shits. We spent our #1 pick on a soft ghost. Has NO leadership qualities whatsoever, has no respect for the club and only plays for a paycheck. He's had no real impact on ANY game this whole season. Enough is enough, we need to shop him around this year either to get him to realise that we're not accepting this crap or to get something decent for him before it's too late and his value plumets. As for Jeff Garlett, I don't believe the rumour that he's homesick, but tbh I don't care if he is. Fumbles continuously, can't take an uncontested chest mark and smiling when he missed a goal in the last quarter, that's it GTFO. Lucas was another wasted DP, has shown NOTHING since we drafted him and the other guys we were supposed to get (either Talia or Jetta) have been doing very well. Talia has taken some serious scalps this year as a KPD (wouldn't we love to have one now) and we all know how good Jetta's been. Another soft pea hearted performance.

Then there's Ratten spouting the same don't write us off shit. I am writing you off. You can't turn up once every 3 months. This was my biggest worry, it took a media pasting for them to show some respect for this club but now that the media backed off for the week, they went back to the same shit. Now watch, we'll probably beat the Dogs and Tigers and Ratts will think all is well again when it isn't.

Duigan was obviously not going to kick another 3 goals this week, so why did Ratts try and keep him forward for so damn long? And when one of our best forwards is out injured, he takes Hendo out of the forward line as well. WE HAD NO ONE to kick to FFS, Hendo was doing good, he took some marks early on and looked lively up there WHY you would move him to defence is beyond me. Says because Petrie kicked 4 goals in the first quarter, lol Watson and Yarran were on him at one stage of course he's gonna kick goals on them, get the defenders to support each other ffs don't take our only lively key forward and put him back.

What a mess this game was, these players are in it for themselves mate trust me, they didn't like getting belted in the media so they responded to that, but once the media went quiet on them a bit, they didn't play with any desire or respect for the jumper or their coach.

We got our arses handed to us in 10 minutes of fair dinkum footy tonight.

That 3rd quarter, when the blow-torch was applied, we went down like lollies in the sun.

I just trawled through the 26 pages of the game-day thread, read every single post, and this is by far the best, most adroit summation of tonight's debacle. Even with the extraordinary injury-count we have suffered in 2012...for a team of professional men who have, by and large, been working towards something for the better part of six years, to dish up last nights performance is beyond rationalization. I dunno who is to blame, I suspect it lies in many different places, but we are rotten on the inside and the medicine isn't going to taste very good.

I assume both Ratts and a fair chunk of our list will bear the brunt, justifiably or not. Whatever. Time will tell. All I know right now is that the club we all love is a joke.

I think the AFL have opened a massive can of worms with the reduction of players on the bench. What it has done is opened teams up to fate. If you lose 2 players early in a game it is highly unlikely you are going to have men fit enough to run the game out. If you cannot rotate players through the bench you will have blokes dead on their feet trying to hold on, or more aptly keep up with, players that have been properly rested.

Players gasping for air cannot deliver with the accuracy that less exhausted players can, this leads to turnovers that leads to players not being able to cover running back which leads to easy shots for goal.

What they (the AFL) have created is blow out games. Not every time, there are exceptions to every rule, but most of the time.

Less observant fans will blame players for not trying, but the fact is their bodies have little left to give. The AFL may have wanted to try to slow the game down but they have opened the game up to the unintended consequence that fate, and perhaps even increased the likelihood that injuries will occur, stressed bodies cope less well with motor function and this in turn increases the likelihood of soft tissue injury, resulting in a lottery draw of which team will cop the injury count that will rule out their ability to compete.

(And just so no-one accuses me of not offering a solution, why have just one sub, we have 3 emergencies at the ground, they can all be subbed into the game if injuries occur. What difference does it make? If you sub a player out, he cannot return, so it wont be done lightly, but if a player is injured and cannot return why leave a team exposed in their ability to rest players via rotation through the bench. For all I care they can have 10 subs. So long as at any given time you have 3 fit players sitting on the rotation bench you have an even chance at running the game out.)

THEN AS IF TO FURTHER DEBASE THEMSELVES.......

We have the abysmal state of umpiring.

What I would like to know though, is why a thread, started with a very good premise on umpiring and the state of the game was shut down? Why is a thread dedicated to this not allowed? I was going to start another but I see no point in antagonising the Mods, but I think we ought to be informed as to why such a thread is not allowed.

Getting sick of seeing the same mistakes from Garlett week after week. I like that we've given him a chance to play himself into form, but when you drop uncontested marks inside 50 multiple times, you need to get out of the team for a week.

For the love of all things holy, give Luke Mitchell a game. Is he ready? Hell no. Will he provide a contest? Hell yes. We need someone who we can sit the ball on top of and say 'here, catch, and if you don't, put it on the ground around our smalls', rather than 'here Dennis Armfield, Andrew Collins and Nick Duigan, pretend you're forwards and get beaten one-on-one'.

Especially hate that I have to go and talk about another Carlton loss on radio this morning. It gets to the point where this shit is old, very old.

kill-me-dressed-up-dog.png

I think the AFL have opened a massive can of worms with the reduction of players on the bench. What it has done is opened teams up to fate. If you lose 2 players early in a game it is highly unlikely you are going to have men fit enough to run the game out. If you cannot rotate players through the bench you will have blokes dead on their feet trying to hold on, or more aptly keep up with, players that have been properly rested.

Players gasping for air cannot deliver with the accuracy that less exhausted players can, this leads to turnovers that leads to players not being able to cover running back which leads to easy shots for goal.

What they (the AFL) have created is blow out games. Not every time, there are exceptions to every rule, but most of the time.

Less observant fans will blame players for not trying, but the fact is their bodies have little left to give. The AFL may have wanted to try to slow the game down but they have opened the game up to the unintended consequence that fate, and perhaps even increased the likelihood that injuries will occur, stressed bodies cope less well with motor function and this in turn increases the likelihood of soft tissue injury, resulting in a lottery draw of which team will cop the injury count that will rule out their ability to compete.

(And just so no-one accuses me of not offering a solution, why have just one sub, we have 3 emergencies at the ground, they can all be subbed into the game if injuries occur. What difference does it make? If you sub a player out, he cannot return, so it wont be done lightly, but if a player is injured and cannot return why leave a team exposed in their ability to rest players via rotation through the bench. For all I care they can have 10 subs. So long as at any given time you have 3 fit players sitting on the rotation bench you have an even chance at running the game out.)

What I would like to know though, is why a thread, started with a very good premise on umpiring and the state of the game was shut down? Why is a thread dedicated to this not allowed? I was going to start another but I see no point in antagonising the Mods, but I think we ought to be informed as to why such a thread is not allowed.

If you have injuries, then 4 interchange is the same as 3 and a sub. The injured players simply gets subbed.
You argument is flawed because if you allowed unlimited subs then clubs will just push every player flat out until they basically die on field and then sub them.

This is a good post even though I disagree that the sub rule disadvantages a team that has 2 injured more than the disadvantage before it's introduction. At least, under this rule, whatever the number of injured by one team, the other can still only use a 3 man interchange bench whilst before they had the full 4 to rotate in. I recall a game against Hawthorn a couple of years ago when we had lost 2 by half time, the Hawks had a record number of substitutions and ran us totally off our feet.

So I think, while not ideal, the sub rule is fairer than the previous interchange rules. Still personally think it would be best to limit substitutions, but that's just me.

However I totally endorse your idea to use emergencies in case of injuries which, i assume would be one designated sub for use in a form situation and 3 for injuries only. Would give a team a better chance of replacing like for like rather than have to replace a tall with a small or vice versa.

Would have been nice to bring a Thornton in for Walker, Ellard for Joseph and still use Lucas as a normal sub when someone is subbed off at three quarter time.

We probably would not have won the game still but at least the playing field would have been more even.

All we would need then is subs for incompetent umpires,

If you have injuries, then 4 interchange is the same as 3 and a sub. The injured players simply gets subbed.
You argument is flawed because if you allowed unlimited subs then clubs will just push every player flat out until they basically die on field and then sub them.

Not necessarily true because exhaustion is not an injury, that's a totally different issue that coaches must bear the responsibility for.

For instance, if we could have run Thornton on last night would it have taken 15 minutes to decide to sub Walker and would the Pies have run Ball back onto the ground to worsen the injury if they could have used an emergency?

is your concern for the game of afl based on anything other than feeling a bit bad after last nights game? their tired little bodies didn't even run out the first quarter. we had the same situation against collingwood. down a player early, we won. it's a poor excuse, and poorer still that suddenly, only a loss from our very own team exposes the deep-seated problems within the afl rules. quite an amazing coincidence.

there's a few threads on the main board if you'd like to discuss umpiring and the state of the game, most neutral supporters are critical of the umpiring last night.

as much as injuries affect performance they're also a chance to accept a challenge, build character. there's probably nothing like knowing you busted your guts with no-one on the bench and did well.

Players subbed have to miss 1 or 2 weeks.

Not necessarily true because exhaustion is not an injury, that's a totally different issue that coaches must bear the responsibility for.

For instance, if we could have run Thornton on last night would it have taken 15 minutes to decide to sub Walker and would the Pies have run Ball back onto the ground to worsen the injury if they could have used an emergency?

It's very easy to fake an injury. An exhausted player puts his hand on his hamstring, are you going to argue that he is not injured and cannot be subbed off? You will be assured that clubs will push their players to the maximum that the law allows, and if there is no limit on interchanges it will put players at even greater risk.

It's very easy to fake an injury. You will be assured that clubs will push their players to the maximum that the law allows, and if there is no limit on interchanges it will put players at even greater risk.

Why would any team do it before half time or in the first 15 minutes of a game?

I am talking about the implication of having unlimited subs, of course if you have an injury 15 minutes in then he will be subbed off and then the rule would seem fair in that case, but it's the other implications we must also deal with. And it is not hard to exhaust a player before half time.

Obvious as day, season over not even finals in sight for us.
Not claiming to know what is wrong but the club has from now til round 1 to fix it.
The dark years aren't over yet.

I'll still show up to the rest of our games but 2012 in the afl is a failure. Go borough I guess.

How can we play incredible one week and crap the next, we match up on Pies well...North have always been a boogie side, ...I can"t quite let go of our season yet, other rsults may help us.

The injuries this year have been like non other, just rotten luck or is something contributing?

Either way it's terribly disappointing

What are you talking about? This means players cannot be rested, and that means even more pressure on players.

I liked the suggestion on SEN where a concussed player can get subbed for an extra sub but has to miss a week. .. Could extend it to anyone can be subbed for the emergency but has to miss a week. ..

I just think that rules like this will be exploited by coaches. Would be bad to see a GF decided by such tactics.