Opinion Round 18 Changes vs. GWS

• Thread starter Thread starter YelloMit

D Pearce can play some good footy, but he only averages around 20 disposals a game, according to Clogged elite is the thirty mark.
So at his age we know his ceiling, what he does during a season,the highs, the lows.
Compare him to Andrew Gaff, who has been ridiculed on this forum, for being a soft front runner, and their disposals this year.

Bronx cheers anyone when a debutant finally enters the game?
i certainly hope that is a joke as I'd hate my second team to turn into the whackers up the road from you.
as for the game against my NUMBER 1 team,
I hope we just beat you (not much chance), & that nobody gets injured
FWIW a Docker mate reckons it should be Mzungu for C Pearce, Dawson for Taberner at CHF to provide a contest, & Blakely for the great one.
Anyway, no injuries & Go Giants :D:thumbsu::footy:

i certainly hope that is a joke as I'd hate my second team to turn into the whackers up the road from you.
as for the game against my NUMBER 1 team,
I hope we just beat you (not much chance), & that nobody gets injured
FWIW a Docker mate reckons it should be Mzungu for C Pearce, Dawson for Taberner at CHF to provide a contest, & Blakely for the great one.
Anyway, no injuries & Go Giants :D:thumbsu::footy:
huh? Do you know what a bronx cheer is?

There's a lot of talk about Tabs in this thread so I thought I'd have my say.

I personally prefer to stay away from Tabs these days. The one in Victoria (The Super Tab) limited my account last year and now I am unable to bet with them. And if you walk into a Tab outlet, you're usually surrounded by hippies, bogans, dole bludging battlers, heavy smokers and raging alcoholics and lunatics.

There's a lot of talk about Tabs in this thread so I thought I'd have my say.

I personally prefer to stay away from Tabs these days. The one in Victoria (The Super Tab) limited my account last year and now I am unable to bet with them. And if you walk into a Tab outlet, you're usually surrounded by hippies, bogans, dole bludging battlers, heavy smokers and raging alcoholics and lunatics.
You've stooped to Lensen levels to try and get a gag. Hang your head in shame and return to the punting board.

An interesting note is that with Duffield, C Pearce, Silvagni, Hannath and Johnson out of the side, the player with the highest short number out on the field on Sunday will be Lee Spurr with #34. It must have been several seasons (if ever) since our highest shirt number was that low.

Quietly hoping D.Pearce get dropped when 22 Squad finalised. if he is injured better rest him. No point having him when he is not 100 %. Especially excuses if he play badly.

If D Pearce is an out don't be upset if Hills output takes a slight hit.
I will not be that person. Hills output does not depend on D Pearce, Gu or Sheridan can play his spot.

If D Pearce is an out don't be upset if Hills output takes a slight hit.
Definitely this. Currently, Danyle Pearce has two 'jobs' but he's only succeeded at one (being fast, agile, and taking up the tag/interest that might go to Hill). The actual job of being a consistent footballer who can hit targets is the one he only half succeeds at. I don't know how many times he was clear in the 50 against Richmond, whether it was a gameplan or not, but he'd run onto the footy on the arc and then blast away and hit anywhere but somewhere in between Pav and the goals.

If Freo pull Jetta, you'll have him take the tag (and keep the tag – much faster, much more damaging than D Pearce) and also succeed a lot more than D Pearce. Jetta is inconsistent and can go missing, but no doubt an improvement on Pearce/for Hill.

Definitely this. Currently, Danyle Pearce has two 'jobs' but he's only succeeded at one (being fast, agile, and taking up the tag/interest that might go to Hill). The actual job of being a consistent footballer who can hit targets is the one he only half succeeds at. I don't know how many times he was clear in the 50 against Richmond, whether it was a gameplan or not, but he'd run onto the footy on the arc and then blast away and hit anywhere but somewhere in between Pav and the goals.

If Freo pull Jetta, you'll have him take the tag (and keep the tag – much faster, much more damaging than D Pearce) and also succeed a lot more than D Pearce. Jetta is inconsistent and can go missing, but no doubt an improvement on Pearce/for Hill.
Ummm interesting Jetta Right wing and Hills left wing Vs Pearce Left wing and Hills left wing. More option with jetta hills collaboration.

Would like hills to get some game time as inside mid when Mundy and barlow retire. This guy kick is elite compare to other in freo team.

Me too.

That burst from the pack into clear space to deliver inside fifty should almost always result in a score.

Blakely for Fyfe, Weller for Pearce.

Though Blakely and Weller for Suban and DeBoer makes more sense but ya know

I guess Griffin could essentially provide a strong forward presence after all - from memory he took 2-3 contested marks just inside and out the attacking 50m. Every single time though he pulled a Sandi and palmed it off... once to D Pearce who missed the lot on memory.

I don't think Griff needs to be like that; I remember him taking some big confident set kicks for goal in 2012/13 and hopefully if he gets the chance this week he takes the shot(s).

Only issue have with that is Danyle came across to Freo at around 26-27 year old which is around what Jetta will be next year. Not saying age is a factor but it's generally said at 26-27 is when players hit that peak. We know what Lewis is capable of and excels at that outside creating role (similar to Stephen's brother Brad), but have to weigh up how much more Jetta will improve and taking that tag off Stephen play into things.

I guess Griffin could essentially provide a strong forward presence after all - from memory he took 2-3 contested marks just inside and out the attacking 50m. Every single time though he pulled a Sandi and palmed it off... once to D Pearce who missed the lot on memory.

I don't think Griff needs to be like that; I remember him taking some big confident set kicks for goal in 2012/13 and hopefully if he gets the chance this week he takes the shot(s).
I agree with you. Griff is a long kick and a good kick.

...We kick a great deal of goals running back towards goal after we create turnovers. We really only have a forward line during mid-ground stoppages. The rest of the time everyone is in the rolling zone.

That's a really good point - I wasn't really cosidering Langdon seriously for selection (good as he's been) - I figured connor and lachie were more likely, but now you've got me thinking.

Both Langdon and Weller have serious speed, but I can't categorically say who's quicker. Connor is the obvious in for fyfe as an inside mid for my money, and I thought Tendai for clancee would be like for like... But I also believe part of the reason tendai has been dropped so often is he might have dropped a yard of pace (not with his endurance running obviously - just in the sprints, it might explain why he's been a little late to contests when he's played at AFL level).

Quicker transition of the ball was a big feature of our early wins and that needs good leg speed - something both Weller and Langdon have in spades. If RTB is trying to recapture that early form, then having both Lachie and Ed in the team makes sense - the giants also love a quick transition, so we need to watch their leg speed.

Bugger it, I'm confused now - we might conceivably have three debutantes this week! Normally I'd say it wouldn't happen - but the standard at Peel has lifted considerably and those three new guys are a big part of the reason - all are quick, all talented, all skilled, and all of them gets heaps of the pill.

Freo haven't had multiple fist gamers in one match since Morra and Barlow back in 2010. Really looking forward to the team announcements now!!