• Thread starter Thread starter Spartan

I like J.Brown or Bradshaw against melbourne
Tempted with Cross against the Eagles
I think I'm going to go with Heath Shaw against the Bombers though.

Why is brown any better than judd and buddy, my other two choices as captain besides brown. Do you have inside knowledge or something? :p

I don't have Judd so I don't care about him

Buddy..hmmm...
Richmond somehow..don't ask me how...seem to keep the main key marking forwards pretty quiet..with the exception being Pav
Round 1 v Carlton: Fevola-48
Round 2 v North: Thompson-51
Round 3 v Collingwood: Rocca- 49
Round 4 v Fremantle: Pav- 113
Round 5 v Footscray: BJ- 40

That's an average of just over 60.
But the second forward on the team seems to do well...Roughead this week

Round 1 v Carlton: No one really as a second forward for Carlton
Round 2 v North: Jones- 201
Round 3 v Collingwood: Cloke- 94
Round 4 v Fremantle: McPharlin/Farmer- 99/88
Round 5 v Footscray: Gia/Murphy- 89 each and Minson kinda- 106

Thats an average of 109...94 without Jones

That kinda puts me off Franklin despite his form. I am a big Buddy SC fan, but his inconsistency will show soon..and I'm guessing it's this week against Richmond

On the other hand..Brown versus Melbourne

Brown due for a biggie

So lets have a look at the key forwards versus Melbourne this year shall we

Round 1 v Hawthorn: Franklin- 139 + Roughead- 90
Round 2 v Footscray: Murphy- 163 + Hill 138
(Disregarding B's score as he was tagged by Bruce which will not happen to Brown or Bradshaw. So next two forwards)
Round 3 v Geelong: Hawkins- 127 + Mooney 93
Round 4 v North: Thompson- 82 + Edwards-116 + Jones- 86
Round 5 v Carlton: Fevola- 116 + Fisher- 88

That gives an average for the 2 key forwards for each team playing Melbourne this year 112.5

This technically give a difference of 53 points if you chose Brown/Bradshaw over Buddy

60*2 + 112 = 232
112.5*2 + 60 = 285
285 - 232 = 53

53 isn't that much, but it could give you a win

I know stats aren't everything..but I'd rather go for the team that has been leaking points than a team that has been suprisingly keep scores low..plus I have a bias towards Brown:p

These are also most likely pretty irrelevant stats

Chads in the sin bin this week for letting me down! My opponent had abblet as captain and I was somehow still in the match, just needed cornes to have a good game and the spud scores 85 as my captain. :thumbsd:

Considering Cornes had an effectiveness of 64% and 7 Clangers ... I would still be happy with 85. Could have been much worse. I'm sticking with him this week again.

Thursfield :thumbsu::D

... and he didn't play on Pav :p

yeh forgot about him.

Probably the reason too.

But somehow I think Thursfield won't goto Buddy as he is too mobile. Thinking he will goto Roughy..but hey, all us Brisbane fans were convinced Merrett wold goto Roughy but that didn't happen till after 1/2 time

They will most likely try him on Buddy, realise he is getting smashed then move him off him. But who else do they have as a shutdown man?

I'm gonna do my usual weekly captain roundup for this week for the players I have that could be captain

Brown- reasons stated above, but I could convince myself otherwise

Riewoldt- playing Port..good sign number one as they leak forward points. Scored 8 against them last year? Injury perhaps? 2006 averaged 100 which is a bit better. Good form. Could be a chance

Mitchell- Has never scored under 100 against Richmond since SC came in (101, 117, 131). Richmond allow a steady amount of opposition midfield points.

Franklin- despite my rant above, might still consider as he is in devastating form

Newman- I like him as a smokie. Averages well over 100 against Hawthorn, scoring under 100 only once in 4 meetings. I reckon he is due for a big one aswell. Hawthorn give away a decent amount of points for oppositing backs/mids

Pavlich- this is my warning guy...stay away...has only scored over 100 once against Geelong 2 years ago. I picked Cox playing bad, be it an injury against Freo, but I still picked it. STAY AWAY

Shaw, H- loves ANZAC day. 175 last year and 107 the year before that. Doesn't like the return game, but loves this one.

Cornes, C- He is sooo tempting. With scores of 133, 111, 112 and 123, Chad has never scored under 110 against the Saints. A uncharacteristic week last week and should bounce back. Soo tempting

Cornes, K- The new recruit this week for me could step straight into the big shoes Judd like. Scores of 111, 89..eww bad, but made up for it with 138 and 105. Kane seems to have a liking for Saint.

Stevens, N- My second smokie. Has managed a 176! against Adelaide. And his only other score was 82, giving him an average of nearly 130 against Adelaide. Adelaide average just over 4 hundreds per midfield this season. Lets say Judd and Murphy are given two. That leaves 2 for Stevens, Carazzo, Scotland andHadley/Gibbs to fight over, and I like big Nick's chances

Can't find anymore options. Didn't change my mind really, maybe a slight swing to Chad, but not much...but hopefully I helped someone

I'm gonna do my usual weekly captain roundup for this week for the players I have that could be captain

Brown- reasons stated above, but I could convince myself otherwise

Riewoldt- playing Port..good sign number one as they leak forward points. Scored 8 against them last year? Injury perhaps? 2006 averaged 100 which is a bit better. Good form. Could be a chance

Mitchell- Has never scored under 100 against Richmond since SC came in (101, 117, 131). Richmond allow a steady amount of opposition midfield points.

Franklin- despite my rant above, might still consider as he is in devastating form

Newman- I like him as a smokie. Averages well over 100 against Hawthorn, scoring under 100 only once in 4 meetings. I reckon he is due for a big one aswell. Hawthorn give away a decent amount of points for oppositing backs/mids

Pavlich- this is my warning guy...stay away...has only scored over 100 once against Geelong 2 years ago. I picked Cox playing bad, be it an injury against Freo, but I still picked it. STAY AWAY

Shaw, H- loves ANZAC day. 175 last year and 107 the year before that. Doesn't like the return game, but loves this one.

Cornes, C- He is sooo tempting. With scores of 133, 111, 112 and 123, Chad has never scored under 110 against the Saints. A uncharacteristic week last week and should bounce back. Soo tempting

Cornes, K- The new recruit this week for me could step straight into the big shoes Judd like. Scores of 111, 89..eww bad, but made up for it with 138 and 105. Kane seems to have a liking for Saint.

Stevens, N- My second smokie. Has managed a 176! against Adelaide. And his only other score was 82, giving him an average of nearly 130 against Adelaide. Adelaide average just over 4 hundreds per midfield this season. Lets say Judd and Murphy are given two. That leaves 2 for Stevens, Carazzo, Scotland andHadley/Gibbs to fight over, and I like big Nick's chances

Can't find anymore options. Didn't change my mind really, maybe a slight swing to Chad, but not much...but hopefully I helped someone
CHECK THIS STAT

Every player I trade for plays bad that week...sorry mate...

M.NICOSKI 82 TRADE 33, 57, 60, 38
S.FISHER 127, 118 TRADE 79, 67, 110
S.GOODWIN 103, 163, 137, TRADE 56, 128
C.CORNES 128, 66, 176, 128 TRADE 85

This week I got Riewoldt & Kornes in my trades (so staying away from them as captain) - Sorry if I jinxed you, but 4 trades, 4 bad weeks especially the last 3, which are gun players...

So I'm picking Chadwick as Captain. I'm not sure what my trades mean, but check the scores after I pick them, which is underlined..

BASED ON MY OWN STATISTICS - just don't pick RIEWOLDT or KORNES.....yes i know it's a silly stat..

DISCLAIMER - don't blame IMPROMPTU for this post if it affects your selection..which it shouldn't ..these are not real stats

I am seriously thinking of going Bradshaw this week. His last 3 games have produced scores of 130 , 150 & 131.
On current form & being up against the Dees you would think he should get at least over the ton if not well over;)

Lock it in:thumbsu:

J Brown good for captain this week. He has been so inconsistent this season, its either big scores or really bad scores. I cant imagine him being really bad agaisnt Brisbane.

I chose Cornes over Ablett last week which hurt, but its cause i broke my own rule. Cornes at AAMI, otherwise Ablett.

J Brown good for captain this week. He has been so inconsistent this season, its either big scores or really bad scores. I cant imagine him being really bad agaisnt Brisbane.

I chose Cornes over Ablett last week which hurt, but its cause i broke my own rule. Cornes at AAMI, otherwise Ablett.

I warned people about Cornes away from AAMI.

And Brown is playing Brisbane?

Murphy- the Dons will not tag him, if they try to tag anyone it will be Judd

And Carlton is playing Essendon?

Was a mistake, the point stands though- Murphy is behind Judd and Stephens as a possible tag. And clubs except Sydney don't carry 3 taggers. Murph is a high scorer as his foot skills like Dal Santo are supreme!

I couldn't decide between Chad and Bradshaw so tossed a coin. It landed on it's side.

The head says Bradshaw, but the heart says Chad.

Chad has been in great form, still got plenty of the ball last week so hopefully just a one off from him. Back at AAMI should score well.

Dal Santo was my captain last week and thought he could/should have scored much more. Still building form this year, and at AAMI I'll be staying away this week.

Buddy against Richmond, he's in great form but he may be due for a bad game, a little risky but has plenty going for him.

Brown against Melbourne, should be in for a huge game... Melbourne stink, and he'll be wanting blood after some poor games recently. Has the capacity for huge scores, is too good not to return to form and has the right opposition to do so this week.

Heath Shaw against bombers, forget his last round, Bombers entry into 50 have been shocking without Lucas and this should play right into Shaw's hands. Good record on Anzac day, should get at least 125.

I'm leaning towards taking the risk on Brown, but will give some thought to staying safer and going with Shaw or Cornes.

CHECK THIS STAT

Every player I trade for plays bad that week...sorry mate...

M.NICOSKI 82 TRADE 33, 57, 60, 38
S.FISHER 127, 118 TRADE 79, 67, 110
S.GOODWIN 103, 163, 137, TRADE 56, 128
C.CORNES 128, 66, 176, 128 TRADE 85

This week I got Riewoldt & Kornes in my trades (so staying away from them as captain) - Sorry if I jinxed you, but 4 trades, 4 bad weeks especially the last 3, which are gun players...

So I'm picking Chadwick as Captain. I'm not sure what my trades mean, but check the scores after I pick them, which is underlined..

BASED ON MY OWN STATISTICS - just don't pick RIEWOLDT or KORNES.....yes i know it's a silly stat..

DISCLAIMER - don't blame IMPROMPTU for this post if it affects your selection..which it shouldn't ..these are not real stats

Haha..interesting stats there. I traded in Roo last week..solid 117

Traded in Goddard the week before..99

So im happy with my INS..this might help u

Haha..interesting stats there. I traded in Roo last week..solid 117

Traded in Goddard the week before..99

So im happy with my INS..this might help u

Yeh but your trades are different to mine...LOL I feel the Footy Gods are not being nice to me this year..LOL..they call me the jinxer..

Hopefully it's just a coincidence..but I'm picking H.Shaw to err on the side of caution and not getting Kornes or Roo as captain..LOL

I've been using Bartel as a fixed captain so far this year - he's served me well. I'm thinking though of changing to Ablett for the Freo game. Jimmy doesn't have a reputation as a great traveller, Ablett got 30+ touches against Freo at Subi last year.

Any thoughts?

I've been using Bartel as a fixed captain so far this year - he's served me well. I'm thinking though of changing to Ablett for the Freo game. Jimmy doesn't have a reputation as a great traveller, Ablett got 30+ touches against Freo at Subi last year.

Any thoughts?

I believe rain is forecast for the game in Perth.

Make of that what you will, but I'd generally say Bartel is one of the best, if not the best, wet weather footballer in the game.

I believe rain is forecast for the game in Perth.

Make of that what you will, but I'd generally say Bartel is one of the best, if not the best, wet weather footballer in the game.

Quit yo jibba jabba!

Perth Forecast
Issued at 11:20 am WST on Wednesday 23 April 2008

Warning summary
Nil.

Forecast for Wednesday
A light shower or two clearing early to mid afternoon, then fine. Moderate W/SW
winds.

Precis: Clearing shower.
City: Max 22
Mandurah: Max 21

UV Index: 5 [Moderate] UV Alert from 9:50 to 14:40