Game Day Round 6 Sydney V Brisbane Match thread

• Thread starter Thread starter CAS79

The lions went super defensive around contests after quarter time and that's why it looked like they were on top. Jetta got so much free space in front of him because the lions were just getting huge numbers to contests and swans wernt getting sucked in. Yea they won a lot of clearences due to more numbers but all they were Doin is rushing it forward and we were rebounding through jetta. Clearly the swans are a couple of classes up from the lions.

It seemed like we were in control though. Like I've said so far this year, our games (apart from the Geelong game) seem like our goal is just to win and nothing more. No 'domination' as such. Once we are ahead, our aim is to maintain a lead and not use up too much energy in achieving the win. We revert back (aggressivly) to our style of footy and slow the game down and try to take the sting out of it. The one day we didn't follow this strategy (the Geelong game) we lost. I think it's a concious effort by us to not over do anything. Just ease our group into the season, do the bare minimum to get ourselves to the finals and get really rolling come finals time.

I think we are in top gear now. Huge game next week. Need to put the comp on notice and win 3 out of our next 4. If we do that , we will pretty much guarantee a top 4 finish . Oh and Tippett to come in. Extremely important month for the swans

Lamb did enough to hold the sub vest for next week.

Very even performance but Brisbane were pretty rubbish. Can't draw a lot of meaningful conclusions from this afternoon.

Good to see Reid plucking some good marks (though he did drop a few more he should be expected to take), Jetta really started to work hard and push to space, Malceski continuing his AA quest. The ruckmen played another fantastic game between them (25 touches, 2 goals, 50 HO's, 7 marks and 7 tackles between the two of them).

Midfield got on top again (we won the clearance count!) and the defence looked pretty great. 2012 kind of swarming from them.

The biggest thing I got was that jetta Jetta just seemed like he was enjoying himself. Back to smiling and laughing and streaking away in 3rd gear. Not a good look for opposing teams. Reid will gain some confidence however playing against lake and Gibson next week will take another step up again.

Cannot emphasize enough how much Pykey has stepped up. Just an absolute ripper of a player now. Contested marking machine and all round good guy it seems. He is a particularly important piece of the puzzle this year (even with the ridiculous amount of taller options we seemingly have now).

After the first quarter they just put numbers back and insane numbers around stoppages, they go 10 times inside 50 for 2 goals for example, we go 10 times inside for 5 goals. Good to see us with a percentage booster and confidence.

I think the point of today was to filter those out of form/confidence back into it. Reidy had a great start. Jetta finished off the game well. That was what I got out of it, to get everyone back on track form-wise.

I think Lamb should have been given more than "most of a quarter". Half time would have been perfect to give a Bolton or Goodes a nice rest up for next week IMO. But anyway, what's done is done. Good work lads, onwards to next week.

It's actually interesting because just before Jetta had a run along the wing midway through the 3rd quarter Maxwell told a runner to get jets off the ground after telling lamb to start warming up, I think they were pulling jets off 30 seconds before the run, but afterwards they put lamb back on ice. Jets finished with a couple of goals and had a few more runs. Everyone in the stands was encouraging jets every time he came off thw ground. I hope this is his breakout game for the year. I expect him to carry his form after 2day.

I think we are in top gear now. Huge game next week. Need to put the comp on notice and win 3 out of our next 4. If we do that , we will pretty much guarantee a top 4 finish . Oh and Tippett to come in. Extremely important month for the swans
Tippett will struggle to get a game!

Yup, seems like were building perfectly. It all comes down to how we play against the other top 4 teams. Last year showed that even losses in those games doesn't mean the premiership dream is over, as long as we learn from out losses and build leading into finals.

Geelong are out biggest threats imo. Next week is an important game and will tell is a lot about ourselves. As long as we dont get smashed we'll take a lot away from the game.

Who here actually believed that lamb would get half a game? Seriously. This game was just about exposing him to afl level, a quarter of footy does the trick as well as a half. This isn't about giving him a chance to cement a spot in the team. We're building towards a premiership and have quite a few guys in front of lamb atm. Keep some perspective.

The biggest thing I got was that jetta Jetta just seemed like he was enjoying himself. Back to smiling and laughing and streaking away in 3rd gear. Not a good look for opposing teams. Reid will gain some confidence however playing against lake and Gibson next week will take another step up again.

Jetta is lucky that huge snap went through as he totally burned Goodes who was on his own 20m right in front of goal.

Sorry to intrude, but I have to commend you guys on your cheersquad. They were great at helping us (who had little to no clue lol) with our banner. Thanks again!

Just drooling at the strength of our midfield depth at the moment McVeigh, Hannebery, Jack in absolutely cracking form and gelling so well together - not to mention the great contributions from ROK, Parker...now Jetta - and of course our b&f Kennedy still yet to absolutely light it up! I'm excited!

Just on the lions u gotta love brownie, he still looks sharp, felt bad the poor bloke had to basically grab a taxi back to town to get his eye sewn

After the first quarter they just put numbers back and insane numbers around stoppages, they go 10 times inside 50 for 2 goals for example, we go 10 times inside for 5 goals. Good to see us with a percentage booster and confidence.

Nice avatar, mate. You lose a bet or something?