Round 8 vs Brisbane

So Saturday night is our first home game at the Dome for the year.

Fev's 150th and Stevo's 200th should have most of the boys fired up and ready to roll but we have some injuries to key personnel :thumbsdown:

Key match-ups: Will Ratts roll the dice and start Jamo on Brown or will he let Waite have another crack? You'd think Merrett will line up on Fev but who will they play on Fisher?

I'm predicting another shoot out and if our boys show the hunger and desire they have shown in glimpses this year, we should take the points, however I won't be holding my breath as it depends which Carlton team turns up.

Thoughts?

no simon black..johno brown and bradshaw not dominating recently..

fevola coming off 6 for the big v and winning the medal..judd firing..stevo and murphy performing..

should get us over the line i reckon..

what may hurt us is no cloke..will that mean hammo will come in or wud we give aisake a run?..be good to get hadley back..

Cheers, BG. Was well tired of the last dozen or so threads (no offence, people). Think we'd be certs at the G. The sooner we get out of the Dome the better I'll like it.

The G is where we need to be... the open space gives Fev plenty of room to lead into... especially to counter the double teaming...

Well said extinct tiger!

fevola coming off 6 for the big v and winning the medal..judd firing..stevo and murphy performing..

what may hurt us is no cloke..will that mean hammo will come in or wud we give aisake a run?..be good to get hadley back..

I have a feeling Ackland will get a game this week. Hammo still needs a few more weeks at the Ants, and Aisake is a looooong way off from all reports. Our lack of depth might start to show now we have a few injuries.

Pretty good side the Lions - we'll need to be at our best to win this one.

Gonna be tough the next 10 weeks, for me anyway, not getting to see the Blues play while I'm O/S. Can someone tape all the games for me?

he is their best tag IMO... they may play someone like Luke Power on him to try and make Judd accountable too...

who knows with Leigh Matthews... he might even play Jono Brown on him! :eek::rolleyes:

Geez, wouldn't Power go well in the Blues midfield - looked great in Navy Blue on Saturday night and would sit them nicely for Fev. If only he had have accepted our offer a few years ago!

Considering Footy is a outdoor Sport and not indoors
no wonder players struggle in we conditinons when they play a lot at td

and depending weather conditions this weekend we should give brisbane a good old fashion belting :) if we can beat sides above us is better for us :)
helps us move up the Ladder :) Brisbane got a few out as well no Heath Black if brown is kept to 2 goals .
They will Win it for Fevola 150th and Stevens 200th game.
IF we can beat wce, collingwood, melbourne can;t see why we can't beat Brisbane be interesting to see the Banner. :)
I tip o'halpin get a game this week we got the fire power to kick a winning score i'm sure we'll cover the injured CLoke least its only 2 games not season injury again . :thumbsu: IF wce playd well with all the injures they got we can as well we don't have that many injuries with a few coming back this week .

copeland on the tag...

I don't think Copeland would go to him, he normally takes the most dangerous small forward or backman from the opposition team.

Black out. I reckon Sherman might get a go on Judd, been playing in a tagging role this season.

I think your spot on mate. Sherman has been used in the tagging role for the Lions in a few games this year and done a fairly decent job and would not be surpirsed at all if he went to Juddy. He also has a lot of pace which could make Matthews lean in his direction. Although it could also be another Selwood, the Troy variety this time, that gets the job.

Considering Footy is a outdoor Sport and not indoors
no wonder players struggle in we conditinons when they play a lot at td

and depending weather conditions this weekend we should give brisbane a good old fashion belting :) if we can beat sides above us is better for us :)
helps us move up the Ladder :) Brisbane got a few out as well no Heath Black if brown is kept to 2 goals .
They will Win it for Fevola 150th and Stevens 200th game.
IF we can beat wce, collingwood, melbourne can;t see why we can't beat Brisbane be interesting to see the Banner. :)
I tip o'halpin get a game this week we got the fire power to kick a winning score i'm sure we'll cover the injured CLoke least its only 2 games not season injury again . :thumbsu: IF wce playd well with all the injures they got we can as well we don't have that many injuries with a few coming back this week .

weather conditions will not be a factor against Brisbane... we are playing at the dome!

While I agree in principal with your sentiments relating to the footy played at the dome and then the lack of skills in the wet in reality clubs dont play a lot of football at the dome, i mean the only clubs that constantly play there are the kangaroos, saints, bulldogs and to an extent essendon. We have played quite a few games at the G this year including the match against Adelaide (which you would of thought we would have played a the dome). I think you will find the drought is the most contributing factor towards the lack of skills in the wet. We simply dont have many wet games these days. On the flip side the increase in night football brings dew into the equation and players have to learn to deal with a slippery ball there.

Also... I think you will find Heath Black plays for Fremantle... we are playing Brisbane and they are missing Simon Black.

You'd think Merrett will line up on Fev but who will they play on Fisher?

Patful has been going very well at CHB this year.

Bradshaw will be Carlton's biggest worry atm, Brown isn't in great form, but Bradshaw (apart from last round against Scarlett) has been in ripping form.

Sherman has done a good tagging role this year, so I'd expect him to take Judd. Brennan will be an interesting match up for Murphy or Stevens I reckon, shown himself to be a good clearance player.

Joel McDonald is another one that needs to be watched, been great this year off the half back flank, and Drummond might play too, his fit enough, but whether his had enough football is a different story.

Ruck duel should be great, Berger and Charman up against Kreuzer and Hampson (I'm assuming). Charman hasn't been great this year, and might've been dropped if we had another option.
Should be a good game, good luck guys, but not too much ;)

i hope we dont take browns average few games as a chance to focus most of our attention on bradshaw cause im sure browny will take the chance when the spotlight isnt on him and he'll run rampant..i think that backline is where not having cloke will hurt us the most..cloke has the size and courage to drop back there in front of brown/bradshaw..and with black out the ball will surely not travel into the D50 nearly as fast as it would when he was playing..so missing cloke will hurt us more there than in the ruck..

i really hope we dont bring in ackland because i dont think we will gain from it at all..maybe we should just use setanta in the ruck with kruezer..i mean the we've shown hes expendable at the moment as we have dropped him as of recent..but maybe we just keep him in and use him in the ruck..as was said previously charman hasnt been in the greatest form either and berger isnt one that will hurt us that much..unless charman fires the ruck will not be an important part of the game IMO..

hopefully hadley makes it back coz he should tear up brisbane..he probly wouldve got black if he was playing so would we use him as a tag?..possibly on luke power..might be handy..

i reckon the game will depend on the foward lines more than anything..we'll have trouble stopping brown and bradshaw but equally they dont have someone with the pace to stop fev..merrets too slow..they might choke fev with 2 in front of him like adelaide/melbourne did..but coming off the aylett medal im sure fev will find a way to quell that problem..

Are you kidding me?
Bradshaw had a quiet one vs Cats (no shame there) but has otherwise been tearing it up all year........Brown looked fantastic on Saturday night and had he been one of two options rather than one of four he would have kicked more goals.

We saw how good Fev can be with good delivery AND good forwards around him. He was rarely double teamed on Saturday night. He won't have this luxury vs Brisbane, especially on the smaller Dome oval.

Black is out but Lappin is expected to return, plus Power in good form, Johnstone playing for his "coach challenged" pride...........we will have to play 4 very good quarters ala Pies game to win this week, unless the Lions are asleep after the bye.

The ruck looms as a headache for us again with Kreuzer now being number 1 against Charman in great form, and the developing Leuenberger.

Neither Aisake or Hampson have been dominating in the Ants from the reports.......will we see a mature body brought in for crash and bash?

Will Cain get his last chance to be an AFL footballer?

I suspect Ratten will back one of the younger guys........maybe even two of them........but don't be shocked to see Ackland in.

Hadley should come back in, probably for Ellard. We will need his hardness around the packs.

Inclusions for us this week should include Brown, Black, Johnstone, and Drummond.
Black?
I heard Lappin was close but black to miss a few weeks with early OP.
Drummond will make a huge difference.

Patfull should take Fisher, Sherman to Judd. Can't see Copeland retaining his place.

Brisbane would love it if Hadley is in and used as a tagger.
We haven't used Hadley as a tagger all year. Can't see us starting now. What you won't love is Hadley at the bottom of the pack dishing it out to Judd, Murph and Stevens.;)

Not sure Patful can compete in the air with Fisher, then again not many Fisher's height can, so I wish him well.

Black definitely out? Who's likely to take CJ?

Yes he is. Early OP, so Brisbane are going to give him about a month off to recover. This will give us a huge chance of winning, as Black usually slaughters us.

Brown and Bradshaw are the danger men, and I guess between Waite, Carlos and Jamison, hopefully we can restrict their output.

Should be a great game, and I think Carlton might just get home in a close one.

Carlton by 8 points

Round 8 vs Brisbane