Rule 19

^ We certainly do lol.

This is reminding me of someone who sits in Bay 119 I think. Out of nowhere you hear this lone, "LEEEEEEETTT'S GOOOO A-DEL-AIDE LET'S GO!" in a whiney voice, and then we all CLAP CLAP lol. It's rather amusing. I can't remember which team it was, either Hawthorn or Bulldogs' cheersquad, who had this chant going on that sounded pretty cool, and it wasn't the usual: Hawthorn! clap clap clap stuff that most people do.

English soccer can teach you good chants. And we have the crowd domination 90%+, to pull it off.

I really hope it becomes a fortress, the first 3 games there this year were worrying me.

I guess soccers earier to do chants in because there's not much happening for ages, but we can do something similae, make it our own. Just lots of ruccus. Like a masive chairs smacking, fence smacking, clappin in when there's a bounce ala Dennis Lily coming in to bowl.

And just to prove my theory that the 19th flag raising is NOT done by club members, yesterday they had club doctor Brian Sando do the flag raising. Nothing against Dr. Sando, but this is supposed to be for the members, not suits/celebrities/officials. Just get rid of it.

Wrong again:confused: At every home game the flag has been raised by a Crows member with an ambassador or high profile footy club person. If I knew how to put a pic up, I would, but believe me. A kid did it on Sunday.

Must have shares in the club :rolleyes:

Even if some kid did it, 95% of the focus for the flag raising was on Dr. Sando. It's supposed to be for the members but is being hijacked by suits/celebrities/officials.

If the suit/celebrity/official is more noted than the actual member for the flag raising ceremony, doesn't that just prove it's a failure.

Must have shares in the club :rolleyes:

Even if some kid did it, 95% of the focus for the flag raising was on Dr. Sando. It's supposed to be for the members but is being hijacked by suits/celebrities/officials.

If the suit/celebrity/official is more noted than the actual member for the flag raising ceremony, doesn't that just prove it's a failure.

Why are you so angry about this?
I think it's a nice gesture. Not really bothered either way, but it just seems strange that it annoys you so much.

Dr Sando is the ex club doctor, not a suit/celebrity/official. A fantastic ex club doctor.

Not sure why anyone could have a problem with him raising a pointless flag before the game.

Why are you so angry about this?

I'm not angry about it, but it appears to me that the focus is more on the high profile person than the member, which defeats the purpose of the flag raising.

It's supposed to be about the members after all. But as magtrev says, it's a pointless flag, and at the end of the day it doesn't add to the game day experience. They should just get rid of it.

Once we get rid of that we can then move on to getting rid of Tilli :D

so can we get a chant around the ground pre game against Sydney saying

"Get rid of Tilli" clap,clap,clap,clap,clap etc.

oh. I loved that kid at half time when he got interveiwed by Andrew Crowell

Andrew "Where are you from"
kid "Mt......Mt Gambier"
Andrew "Who drove"
kid "dad"
Andrew "Why not mum?"
kid "Dont trust her"

That was my son.... and he wasn't joking about his mums driving skills!!
Poor little bugger dipped out on the signed guernsey and his cousin got it, but he was still wrapped to get on the big screen.

Just on the 19th man/rule stuff. Where we were sitting it was very quiet until the Roos had their first set shot, everbody booed clapped etc. and it seemed to break the ice a bit and from then on the crowd around us became much more vocal. Atmosphere lifted heaps and made for a great night.
It may be a bit manufactured and its a shame our supporters require a little prodding but it definetly seemed to work and got people involved.

when we got home from the game I asked my dad what he thought it of the Rule 19 thing (re: the boos when kanga lined up for goal) He said was poor sportsman ship as he watched it game on tv my mum and me went all crazy biatches on him haha

I quite enjoyed it. I chuckled quite hard when seeing it on the screen, as i hadnt heard about it before hand.

As for the outer army discussion - There was a group of people that tried to give an alternate option to the cheersquad. Since then, the group was moved to behind the goals where it slowly lost its passion - for reasons im not willing to post here.

If anyone is serious about getting a group together to be more vocal, then send a pm my way.

I liked it. The crowd really did need a bit of instruction to get going, but after it happened once, the level lifted for the whole match. It was still only during the set shots that our noise level matched what the Power fans do with similar sized and smaller Crowds, but it's a start. Now we have to keep it up during games with more than 5 set shots, and at games where they aren't missing often. Eventual goal, actually making noise through most of the game.

Very quiet towards the end, except in our bay (though we stand up the back). Crows fan standing next to me had the bay in hysterics, cheering through the silence as the Roos made their last few attacks, screaming in agony as they missed and calling Aaron Edwards a failure of a footballer, because he backed the Crows with $20 @ $2.80 to win by 1-39. Hilarious :p

Some of you may cringe, but unfortunately this is necessary - would you rather the crowd was taught and handheld to the point where they can go potty all by themselves, or do you want to leave them to their own devices, continue cleaning up the mess all on your own and bemoan the lack of results for the next decade?

I thought the 19th man making noise whenever the Kangaroos took a set shot was fantastic yesterday, and it wasn't just once, it was consistently loud every single time they had a shot. The "score assist" tally was a nice touch, especially for the kids.

The absolute silence whenever we had a set shot, compared to the noise made whenever they had a shot was a great contrast. It began to remind me of the NFL, where the crowd is as loud as possible whenever the opposition has the ball in order to try and stop them from hearing their team's play count.

I hope this continues, and we manage to branch it out further into other areas of the game. We can make the stadium a fortress if this happens.

I think it's ridiculous to be honest. We went up to Adelaide to see the Crows against the Bulldogs a while ago (i live on the Yorke Peninsula so we don't see too many games) and the other clubs think it's a bit of a joke. Some guy was saying "Where are you going number 19?" when the Crows supporters were leaving halfway through the last quarter. :lol:

How many people go to Bulldogs home games again? :rolleyes:

Doesn't matter what other clubs think, because before long they'll be shitting themselves at the thought of a game against the Crows in our fortress of ferocious noise, with the points already lost before they even set foot in the plane at Tullamarine.

I find it a tad humourous that we have to basically train our supporters like babies. Make sure you rock up early so you don't miss the pre-match training revisal of how to support your team.

Week 1 - Cheer your team
Week 2 - Taught the opposition
Week 3 - TBA

But its slowly coming along so can't complain too much. :D

I'm pretty sure afccomau is the club actually.

afccomau is an employee of the Adelaide Football Club - or more likely employees, as last year it was 3 of them taking turns. Off memory David Bertelsmeier was one of the 3 posters.

The club is good enough to post on occasions just to clarify things.

Much appreciated and many thanks!! :thumbsu:

I thought the Rule 19 yesterday worked very well.

It got people involved and they made more noise at other times during the game. Mind you, I think it was the true supporters who turned up yesterday so they were able to yell out without being berated by supporters who want to be quiet. My 20-something sons even booed when a North Melbourne player was running into goal from general play and he missed and they claimed it as Rule 19. Generally they are fairly sceptical of these things but even they got into the fun of it.

I may be wrong but I don't think any of the clappers were handed out in the members stand. I think the club should hand out another 5,00 clappers at the next match then the one after to gradually re-enforce Rule 19 each time.

The clappers even were used during the whole of the song when the team ran out and provided more atmosphere.

If anyone thought it was cringeworthy then go and play chess or read a book in a library. After all, it's a football match where you do everything to get your team over the line.

One difference between our crowds and those in Melbourne is the reaction when we build an attack. I saw Essendon play Brisbane at the Dome last year and it struck me how the crowd build to a crescendo during an attacking move.

The ball leaves the Essendon defence and the crowd starts to murmur with anticipation. A handball and a bit of run, the murmur grows to some excited chattering. They break through the centre and the crowd are approaching full voice. By the time they cross the half forward line the expectation and noise is barely containable as Lllllllllloyd gets ready to fly...

They can see things unfolding. Whereas we seem to wait for it to unfold then clap afterwards.

As a rule, I reckon the whole 19th man thing has been pretty cringeworthy, but I think "rule 19" worked really well. We'll never know whether the noise actually helped or not, but North did miss a few gettable shots yesterday, and the noise when they were lining up for goal was significantly louder than usual.

I reckon the clappers are a good idea as well, it gives the less vocal members of the crowd a way into making some noise for the team without having to feel self conscious about it. They do actually make a surprising amount of noise as well - 50,000 of them would create a hell of a racket. Don't know how expensive they are to produce, but I think it would be great to have them every week - as mine was f-ed by the end of the game.

As a rule, I reckon the whole 19th man thing has been pretty cringeworthy, but I think "rule 19" worked really well. We'll never know whether the noise actually helped or not, but North did miss a few gettable shots yesterday, and the noise when they were lining up for goal was significantly louder than usual.
Agree.

There was also some 'residual noise' from the shots at goal. It seemed that the jeering allowed people to find their voice. Warmed them up a bit.

I thought the 19th Rule concept was a success yesterday and one of the few successful 19th Man attempts this year. The noise every time North Melbourne had a shot at goal was fantastic. Normally it's just a handful of people behind the goals booing at a shot. Last night it was the bulk of the stadium. I enjoyed it.

And just to prove my theory that the 19th flag raising is NOT done by club members, yesterday they had club doctor Brian Sando do the flag raising. Nothing against Dr. Sando, but this is supposed to be for the members, not suits/celebrities/officials. Just get rid of it.

Agree with point one and point two but also disagree slightly with that as well.

Once North Melbourne looked like having a shot on goal the crowd started to make some noise and that sounded fantastic however maybe the next step the AFC could to try and implement with the rule 19 would be to have the entire crowed make that much noise whenever the opposition have the ball in their forward 50. That level of noise was awesome but it needs to be built upon.

Point two – i like the idea behind the 19ths man and i also agree that it shouldn’t be a suit, celebrity or someone like that but simply a random person from the crowd. This way it would show inclusivity and ownership, not a token marketing gesture. So i like the idea as something like this has to start somewhere and in 10, 15 or 20 years time it will be a very good initiative but if they want the average supporter to act as the 19th man, they have to allow the average supporter to participate in those activities.