Wilburwild

UConn, Glenelg
Whats everyone's thoughts on the rule 19 initiative that AFC have come up with (http://www.afc.com.au/tabid/4417/default.aspx?newsid=78525)? Personally, i think its a great way to get the less vocal crowd members involved. Those clappers that they had at Macca's record breaking game were quite good and they will be back on sunday, this could work if they hand out the clappers every home game!
Thoughts...

I'm not a fan of the whole 19th man thing (I like the concept of getting the crowd involved, I just think this was the wrong slogan...), but I quite like the idea. I always think we're too quiet, or just have a generic boo, when the opposition is getting up on us. On the other hand, when we're playing well and the opposition gets a rare shot on goal we're often rowdy and they often miss.

I'm sick and tired of opposition teams having accurate games at AAMI stadium while Port and Crows kick for goal poorly there. I'm all for it.

And if the opposition player misses a set shot for goal, the 19th Man will be credited with a ‘19th Man Score Assist’.

Hahahaha, as much as it would be cringeworthy I hope they flash this up on the big screen when it happens :p

In defence of Rule 19 (as cringeworthy as it may be): we don't have crowbots on the ground, we have them in the stands. We've brought this on ourselves. Many, many people have posted on this forum about how insipid our usual home crowd of cardigan-knitters and vocally-challenged 'supporters' are when it comes to barracking for their team. I've heard more noise made in movie theatres (once, by Anne Wills herself, but that's another story). it's disgraceful and embarrassing and unfootball-like. Doesn't our team deserve something better?

So the AFC have instructed the supporters to do something specific, in the hope that it will provide an actual match-day advantage. Sure, nearly every other football team does it naturally, or at least has more supporters who will gladly discuss parentage with the opposition player of their choice, but we don't. So, we've taken what was previous discussed as a 'marketing concept', and turned it into something useful.

I say, let them make their 19th rule, and if it somehow inspires/instructs the silent masses to roar and distract, then good. Maybe even great.

The "clapper" thingies for Maccas game were a great idea (my in-laws sent one up for my son). Perhaps what they need to do is make noisy knitting needles??? :p Anyways, the crowd were fantastic for Macca's record breaking game - so they are definitely capable of making noise.

When did we all start taking life so seriously? Go nuts people, stand up, wave your shirts around your head, paint your bellies, throw small children in the air, i don't care. We have Essendon supporters on their Board complaining about the noise of our supporters in Melbourne, and SA based supporters about the lack of noise at Footy Park. Something is off with that.

In the US, 19th man supporters actually take pride in their Assist stats. Stop cringing, start going a bit native.:thumbsu:

Stop being bloody soft at the ground and make noise with ya bloody voice ya pack of softies!

Should be a scarey place (non violent of course) for opposition players to play and opposition supporters to come to. Not because their abused, but because it's so loud and one eyed.

Watch a college basketball game for reference to what AAMI should be like ;)

Preferably a Duke NCU game @ Cameron.

Non stop noise.

Crows crowds in Adelaide are the quietest footy crowds I've ever experienced. That whole clap clap clap Ad-el-aide chant around the ground makes me cringe every time it starts It's so bloody 'refined'.
Don't know what it is about Adelaide. The lack of demonstration spills over into other spheres. You almost never see a standing ovation at theatre or opera in this town, where you see them for the same productions in other states. Guess Adelaideans are just more reserved and less demonstrative as people.

Crows crowds in Adelaide are the quietest footy crowds I've ever experienced. That whole clap clap clap Ad-el-aide chant around the ground makes me cringe every time it starts It's so bloody 'refined'.
Don't know what it is about Adelaide. The lack of demonstration spills over into other spheres. You almost never see a standing ovation at theatre or opera in this town, where you see them for the same productions in other states. Guess Adelaideans are just more reserved and less demonstrative as people.
There was a standing ovation for Anthony Warlow at a Phantom of the Opera show I went to a month or so ago! But I do agree with you, it's embarassing how quiet the crowds at AAMI Stadium can be. Of course, when we have a run on it gets loud but it should be that way the whole game dammit, especially when we're still within touch!

The "clapper" thingies for Maccas game were a great idea (my in-laws sent one up for my son). Perhaps what they need to do is make noisy knitting needles??? :p Anyways, the crowd were fantastic for Macca's record breaking game - so they are definitely capable of making noise.

Those clapper things are awesome because during the Carlton game it kept my hands busy so I wouldn't bite my nails (even when we're up by 40 points, I get nervous haha) and by 3/4 time, mine was half ripped from hitting them so hard :p

The best crowd innovation idea was the one on here, where like-minded supporters would gather in their own bay. Not sure where the concept is at at the moment but the AFC were sort of on board with a few tickets and the group had banners and chants.

This was the concept that should have been expanded.

It should have been the entire bay behind the goals at the northern end and the tickets should have been set aside for those who wanted to be part of it. Like the Kop at Anfield.

It was a genius idea that they wouldn't teach in Marketing 101.

I'm not a fan of the whole 19th man thing (I like the concept of getting the crowd involved, I just think this was the wrong slogan...), but I quite like the idea. I always think we're too quiet, or just have a generic boo, when the opposition is getting up on us. On the other hand, when we're playing well and the opposition gets a rare shot on goal we're often rowdy and they often miss.

I'm sick and tired of opposition teams having accurate games at AAMI stadium while Port and Crows kick for goal poorly there. I'm all for it.

Hahahaha, as much as it would be cringeworthy I hope they flash this up on the big screen when it happens :p

Sorry cmndstab, I find it totally amazing you would be concerned about Ports accuracy at AAMI:thumbsd:

I think an image of a nude KG, or Sam Newman, or Graham Cornes would be sufficient to put the player shooting for goal off. Or if everyone behind the goals moons the player.

Maybe some of us should watch Baseketball for more ideas

I really like the idea, lets hope it takes off and people are well aware of the rule before the game. Maybe those nuff nuffs on the Mic before the game could explain what it is all about and flash it up on the screen before the game etc.

Good to see the club are trying things

I find the whole idea of the 19th man to be like processed cheese. While it looks similar to cheese, its not real cheese. Its individually wrapped to be unwrapped in just enough quantity to cover the bread, however if you heat it up in the microwave it tends to bubble up and harden up like plastic. :confused::confused::confused:

WTF does that mean? I have no idea other than the 19th man concept is so forced. I have been screaming and yelling and barracking for many a year without the need to be reminded. I cringe every time we raise the 19th man flag or are told to cheer. I understand the reasons the AFC have introduced the idea, but that doesn't mean i have to like it.

And what's making it worse is now having to listen to Tilly prattle on for an hour each match. Seriously, how did she get the gig? :mad: I used to love going early eating my fish and chips and reading the record. Now - not so much!

This 19th man thing is lame, although its cute during the week in Craig's media conferences when he's in a Members 09 top. All the club needs to do is talk to the cheersquad and get them to CHEER! The cheersquad is awfully quiet during games that we're not doing well in. If they start cheering thoughout the game, not just every now and then when we're up, it will get the rest of the crowd going. And set up another cheersquad down the Northern end to get that side of the crowd going.

we also need our very own outer army :o

I'd happily be apart of that - I'm already in Bay230 so I'm geographically in the middle of the ground anyway.

I cringe every time we raise the 19th man flag or are told to cheer.

Same here. What I really hate is the club claims that it's supposed to be a member that raises the flag but it's always been celebrities/club ambassadors (Mark Holden one example) raising the flag :confused::confused::confused:

Just makes the 19th Man a complete gimmick

And what's making it worse is now having to listen to Tilly prattle on for an hour each match. Seriously, how did she get the gig?

Please, please, please try and get James Sherry over to take over from Tilli. He was great at the Essendon game Sunday.

I think an image of a nude KG, or Sam Newman, or Graham Cornes would be sufficient to put the player shooting for goal off. Or if everyone behind the goals moons the player.

Maybe some of us should watch Baseketball for more ideas
I hear your sister is going out with squeek

I'd happily be apart of that - I'm already in Bay230 so I'm geographically in the middle of the ground anyway.

Same here. What I really hate is the club claims that it's supposed to be a member that raises the flag but it's always been celebrities/club ambassadors (Mark Holden one example) raising the flag :confused::confused::confused:

Just makes the 19th Man a complete gimmick

quote]

A member has been part of the flag-raising every home game.

I'm pretty keen on the idea to be honest. The amount of times the people in front of my have had a go at me for being noisy when the opposition's taking a shot, or when we've copped a rough trot from the umpires, is appalling. Would be nice to be able to let them know I'm just following the rules.

And, as others have said, it'd be hilarious to see a "19th man assist" graphic flash up on the screen. I reckon it'd get a big cheer - I know I'd go nuts! But can I suggest showing it only when the crowd HAS made a heap of noise, and not just after every point. That'd promote the idea that we have to earn them. I imagine it would be far more effective that way. The "We Need You 19" graphic was overused to start with.

Anything to get more noise to be honest. Those on here who I've met (and haven't forgotten me :D) would know I'm a pretty shy and reserved person. But the footy is the one place I feel comfortable being loud. It's good fun, but it sucks being just about the only person in my entire bay willing to use their voice. Makes it pretty hard to feel comfortable. If it weren't for the fact that I like sitting with my old man, who isn't so keen on shifting, I'd head over and join the bay whereverthehelltheyarenow guys and girls again :thumbsu:

On a related note, had a great time at Etihad on the weekend. Our Vic/travelling fans are great. Our area up on level 3 had a chant happening after every goal where one bloke would shout out "GO YOU CROWS" and the rest of us would follow it up with 2, and later 3 "AWK AWK AWK" crow calls. Not sure if it'll catch on, and it was really cheesy in hindsight, but it was funny as hell at the time. Even the oldies were having a chuckle and joining in :thumbsu: