Running Thread - Join our Strava Club!

I think super shoes depend on how fast you are. If you’re mid to back of the pack like me then you’re probably better off wearing a super trainer for your marathon rather than a racing shoe.
You still get the benefit of a big chunk of modern foam and a plate but they’re less aggressive, more comfortable and more stable. If you’re going to be spending 3+ hours on your feet then these things matter.

ASICS are doing a super shoe aimed at less elite runners now:

I think different brands are considered more or less versatile. The New Balance SC Elite from memory is considered good for a pretty wide range of runners and paces.

Aiming sub 4hrs for Sydney Marathon.

My PB to date is 4:02 which was Melbourne last year.

At the moment running between 5min kms and 5:45kms depending on the run.
I'd try a super trainer like pooping Hindi suggested. I've been running about 2 years now and my first workout shoes were Saucony endorphin speed 3. They're still my favourite for a lot of runs from quick but not full pace runs all the way down to when I'm feeling a bit sore, they get me through. I've got about 700km on them and they still go well. Did my first half in them too.

The speed 4s are on sale at the moment and would be worth a look. I haven't tried them so not sure how they compare to the 3s though. The endorphin pro 4s are also on sale and are the faster version with a carbon fibre plate (speed has a nylon plate). I did try the pro 4s on and they were probably the most comfortable shoe I've ever tried on. I went with another shoe though because I felt like the less comfortable feeling was because they were trying to push me onto my toes, so would be quicker. They were the Adidas adios pro 3 which I love and ran my first and currently only marathon in.

I’m getting pretty deep down the Chinese running shoe rabbit hole, or at least as deep as you can get without actually buying a pair.

This guy has tested a bunch of them.
He’s a Running Warehouse employee so he knows a bit about shoes. He doesn’t go too deep on any particular shoe but he covers so many.
The Li-Ning Challenger 5 gets a mention as one of his favourites.
Spoiler Alert: almost every shoe is one of his favourites.

It’s an interesting watch for anyone who might be tempted.

Anyone tried any of the Chinese shoes?
Just ordered the Li-Ning Challenger 5s... Meant to be a super trainer, have seen really good reviews and they were only 120 bucks via Ali Express so worth the shy at the stumps I figure...
I've bitten the bullet and ordered a pair of the challenger 5s as they were only 120 bucks yesterday. Almost got them the week before at 157 so glad I decided not to. Plan is to use them for fast workouts hopefully. Looking forward to seeing what they're like.

If they're good I might look at getting a pair of Chinese super shoes to see how they go. The price of western super shoes is getting ridonculous.

I'd try a super trainer like pooping Hindi suggested. I've been running about 2 years now and my first workout shoes were Saucony endorphin speed 3. They're still my favourite for a lot of runs from quick but not full pace runs all the way down to when I'm feeling a bit sore, they get me through. I've got about 700km on them and they still go well. Did my first half in them too.

The speed 4s are on sale at the moment and would be worth a look. I haven't tried them so not sure how they compare to the 3s though. The endorphin pro 4s are also on sale and are the faster version with a carbon fibre plate (speed has a nylon plate). I did try the pro 4s on and they were probably the most comfortable shoe I've ever tried on. I went with another shoe though because I felt like the less comfortable feeling was because they were trying to push me onto my toes, so would be quicker. They were the Adidas adios pro 3 which I love and ran my first and currently only marathon in.
I wouldn’t want to run a marathon in a pair of Speeds.
I was more thinking of shoes like the Endorphin Trainer, SuperComp Trainer, Neo Vista 2, Hyperion Max 2 or even the Superblast…something that will look after your legs a little more.

Supershoes, you name it I've wasted money on it :laughv1:

• Alphafly - worth every cent, I still have my V2's and use them sparingly for racing only
  • Adios Pro - had the V2's and didn't like them at all. Found them very hard to break in and not much control in the upper to prevent the foot from rolling in or out
  • Endorphin Speeds - V1, loved them, got a lot of use out of them
  • Brooks Glycerin Max - sensational for long runs, your feet are still fresh after running in them and they are great for your knees. Will be doing my 1/2's and full maras in these from now on.
  • Puma Deviate Nitro - got the V1's and the V2's. Love them, the Nitro foam is probably the best out there
  • Puma Mag Max - massive stack height, no plate. These are my easy day, long trainer. Very stable and great on the legs
  • Adidas Adizero Prime X - got these on special a few years ago, have only run in them a handful of times. Very fast shoe, would not use them for a course with a lot of turns, would only use them on straight roads. The stack height and 2 plates, gives them great return but when going around tight corners the foot can roll and feel insecure.
I've had the Hoka range as well, Clifton (just a great shoe for training runs), Bondi, the original Mach 1 (terrible, very hard and left my legs a mess after a 10k around Yarra Boulevard for the Decastella Run) as well as the NB1080's and also the original SC Trainer. I bought a pair of On Cloud Eclipse last year and they are pretty spongy but like most reviews say, they end up squeaking when you run.

The best out of that lot:
  1. Alphafly
  2. Deviate Nitro
  3. Glycerin Max

• Alphafly - worth every cent, I still have my V2's and use them sparingly for racing only
  • Adios Pro - had the V2's and didn't like them at all. Found them very hard to break in and not much control in the upper to prevent the foot from rolling in or out
  • Brooks Glycerin Max - sensational for long runs, your feet are still fresh after running in them and they are great for your knees. Will be doing my 1/2's and full maras in these from now on.
  • Puma Deviate Nitro - got the V1's and the V2's. Love them, the Nitro foam is probably the best out there
  • Puma Mag Max - massive stack height, no plate. These are my easy day, long trainer. Very stable and great on the legs
  • Adidas Adizero Prime X - got these on special a few years ago, have only run in them a handful of times. Very fast shoe, would not use them for a course with a lot of turns, would only use them on straight roads. The stack height and 2 plates, gives them great return but when going around tight corners the foot can roll and feel insecure.
I've had the Hoka range as well, Clifton (just a great shoe for training runs), Bondi, the original Mach 1 (terrible, very hard and left my legs a mess after a 10k around Yarra Boulevard for the Decastella Run) as well as the NB1080's and also the original SC Trainer. I bought a pair of On Cloud Eclipse last year and they are pretty spongy but like most reviews say, they end up squeaking when you run.

1. Alphafly
  2. Deviate Nitro
  3. Glycerin Max

I found the deviate nitro was quite narrow through the toes, did you find the same? How does the MagMax compare?

Absolutely, Puma shoes are the narrowest but I loosen the laces at the forefoot and middle whilst keeping the heel locked down. I had the usual problems with the 1st iteration of Deviate Nitro, heel rubbing, blisters etc but a good pair of Balega socks fixed that.
The Mag Max is still slightly narrow, I think that's just how Puma make their shoes, but my god the feet and legs feel fresh after a 10-15k run

1. Alphafly
  2. Deviate Nitro
  3. Glycerin Max
I love the idea of talking about how own shoes..
I have also had far too many, but hightlights for me

Alphafly 1 - Ran my first mara in them, they feel like a cheat code when you pop them on. I ran like 3:56 so are they wasted on me, probably yes.. did they protect my legs.. I would say absolutely
Endorphin Pro 4 - Ran my 2nd mara in them, not as bouncy as the Alphas but a great shoe still, i use them now for my speed workouts and I reckon I may even choose them for the Run Melb Half in a month, they are just good and stable as well
Saucony Kinvara Pro - I am onto my 2nd pair of these, LOVE them.. they are a bit polarising though apparently, some people hate them. They are a plated training shoe.. i think the Endorphin trainer is the new version, great rocker, look after the legs. Very easy to run in
On Cloudmonsters - People love these, it has taken me a while to warm to them but i am finding myself grabbing them for long runs lately, did 24k on Saturday and they were perfect, just that nice mix of cushion, stability, rocker and energy return
Puma Deviate Nitro 2 - I absolutely loved these, arguably the most comfy shoes i have had from the moment they are on your foot. Nylon plate, great foam. Really good all rounder
Nike Zoomfly 6 - apparently the few versions before these were bricks, even this shoe i think is a bit divisive but I really like them, plated trainer, just work for me

I also had the NB Supercomp Trainer V1s and loved the shit out of them, just fun and bouncy. i wore them until i started to wear through the toe at the front after about 800k
And just today got my Saucony Hurricane 24s that i plan to use for recovery or maybe some long runs, will see how the feel when i test them... I have just chucked my 2nd pair of the Nike Invincible 1s which were absolutely amazing recovery shoes.. just a massive slab of squishy ZoomX foam

ohh and I have done about 4 or so 8k runs with some sharp efforts in them in my Li Ning Challenger 5s and so far really happy, just incredibly light, but comfy and you feel great going quick

Thanks for all the advice. There is a lot to take in. I will read through it all a couple of times and then try some shoes on. P.S. Some of you have a serious shoe fetish! 😂

BTW - I ran the trail half marathon at Forrest in the Otways last weekend. It was a wild and tough course - highly recommend it to anyone looking for a trail run in Victoria.

Thanks for all the advice. There is a lot to take in. I will read through it all a couple of times and then try some shoes on. P.S. Some of you have a serious shoe fetish! 😂

BTW - I ran the trail half marathon at Forrest in the Otways last weekend. It was a wild and tough course - highly recommend it to anyone looking for a trail run in Victoria.
Lol... Guilty.. But just wait till MinerBoy enters the chat 😂😂

Absolute greenhorn here. Finally getting into it in my mid-30s after not being able to run for extended periods at all.

Been doing 5km runs most of the time without much issue. Tried to push it to 6km today and felt pretty dogshit.

Any advice for a newbie on how to go from not running at all to doing 10km runs? :)

Absolute greenhorn here. Finally getting into it in my mid-30s after not being able to run for extended periods at all.

Been doing 5km runs most of the time without much issue. Tried to push it to 6km today and felt pretty dogshit.

Any advice for a newbie on how to go from not running at all to doing 10km runs? :)

Run slower, if you can run 5km but not 6km then my guess is it’s a pacing issue.

You’d be surprised how slow you probably should be running for it to be ‘easy’ which is what it really should be when you’re trying to build up your distance.

The best description I found for it was ‘uncomfortably slow’. You want to keep that effort level very low and build the distance, time on your feet is all you’re after when you’re going for a run of that kind.

Separately to that you can keep doing a shorter session that’s got a bit more hard work in it, but that’s a distinct goal for your run that day versus building distance.

Run slower, if you can run 5km but not 6km then my guess is it’s a pacing issue.

You’d be surprised how slow you probably should be running for it to be ‘easy’ which is what it really should be when you’re trying to build up your distance.

The best description I found for it was ‘uncomfortably slow’. You want to keep that effort level very low and build the distance, time on your feet is all you’re after when you’re going for a run of that kind.

Separately to that you can keep doing a shorter session that’s got a bit more hard work in it, but that’s a distinct goal for your run that day versus building distance.
Thanks mate :)

I've been doing 6min/km for the 5km runs and tried to keep a similar pace for 6.

Anyone else find their running motivation drops off during winter? I miss running in daylight and getting some vitamin D :(

It was my birthday recently and my friends got me a trail running vest so very keen to try it out sometime soon. Want to grab some cheap entry level trail shoes (any recommendations let me know) and then try and do a trail run probably weekend after next. Any suggestions on where to go (i'm inner SE melbourne) I'm all ears!

Anyone else find their running motivation drops off during winter? I miss running in daylight and getting some vitamin D :(

It was my birthday recently and my friends got me a trail running vest so very keen to try it out sometime soon. Want to grab some cheap entry level trail shoes (any recommendations let me know) and then try and do a trail run probably weekend after next. Any suggestions on where to go (i'm inner SE melbourne) I'm all ears!

I find having a race lined up helps with the motivation problems in winter.

Although, I am looking forward to getting over the winter solstice hump this week!

I would build up to it. One week at a time. There is no reason why you cannot go from 5km to 6km to 8km to 10km over 3 or 4 weeks. You just need to manage your pace. Running gets easier the more you do it. A large component of it is mental as well.

Try Devil Bend mate, nice trail with plenty of great scenery.
As for the trail runners, I've run in Nike Terra Kigers for years but hanging to try the new Puma Deviate Nitro Trail.

Perfect reply.

Time on feet. Walking counts too .Build gradually. 5km to 6km is fine. Don’t need to go from 5 to 10.

10% rule (20%) …. Whatever works. Point is, don’t pump up those numbers too quickly

Haha not at all. I’m cricket all summer and hate running under the sun. Give me tights beanie darkness and 3 degrees all day

How does everyone go about integrating playing football into their running schedule? I only play masters which is a game every second week and training once a week (if that) so not exactly a rigorous schedule. Also I'm not a midfielder.

Just chalk up training/playing days as interval session type days? Push back long runs if they land on game day, but still make sure I include them?

My last season was 2022, playing each week (at 35) and i trained for the Melbourne Marathon during the footy season. Now this wasn't the right way or wrong way, and i would do things a little differently but i managed to stay almost injury free and run a 3hr13min marathon.

Sunday - off/swim recovery
Monday - 5-7km easy run
Tuesday - 5-7km - speedwork, would involve 1-2km warm up 5 x 700m at 3:45mins/km pace 1-2km warm down
Tuesday - footy training
Wednesday -
Thursday - 8-12km longish run, moderate pace
Thursday - footy training
Friday -
Saturday - footy, i would play midfield and most games would run onball all game, i would estimate 8-11km total

I’m not really into gear, but what’s your view on super shoes?

I’ve got a mate who swears by them for longer runs on pavement. He recons it could knock up to 4% off my PB for a marathon.

If that is even half true, I am tempted to outlay the cash…

I currently wear Brooks Ghosts which are simple and get the job done.

They definitely do help, might provide more assistance for "faster" runners but they still help, i also heard a few experienced runners say they assist in hire volume weeks as they assist with recovery. For mine running volume is key to improvement.

Since retiring from local footy in 2022 and completing the Melbourne Marathon in the same year, i have since completed the Great Ocean Road ultra - 60km (2023) and Bondi to Manly 80km Ultra (2024).

In February this year i had surgery to repair a small hernia, this kept me out of action for a couple of weeks so i spent a couple of months rebuilding volume and intensity. With no races on the horizon i set the goal to run a sub 4hr 50km, i've mapped a course around where i live in north east of Melbourne, this "race" will be end of July so i am right in the midst of training.

From Feb to May i steadily built my weekly volume to 90km per week and i've maintained this for 4 weeks now, i wanted to try higher volume to improve my speed endurance for lack of a better term.

Typical week;

Monday - 14km recovery run
Tuesday - 9km - includes some speedwork like 7 x 500m or 4 x 800m.
Wednesday - 6km recovery run
Thursday - 19km - midweek long run - approx zone 2/easy
Friday - 12km - 2km warm 8km progress/tempo/2km warm down
Saturday - rest
Sunday - 30km long run, currently alternating week to week, some weeks it will be 35km other weeks around 25km. The long will be 3km warm up / 29km at 4:46km/pace / 3km warm down, the shorter run may be all at easy pace of have smaller section of faster pace, so 3x4km at 4:15mins/km pace. Pending how the body is feeling.

Since retiring from local footy in 2022 and completing the Melbourne Marathon in the same year, i have since completed the Great Ocean Road ultra - 60km (2023) and Bondi to Manly 80km Ultra (2024).

In February this year i had surgery to repair a small hernia, this kept me out of action for a couple of weeks so i spent a couple of months rebuilding volume and intensity. With no races on the horizon i set the goal to run a sub 4hr 50km, i've mapped a course around where i live in north east of Melbourne, this "race" will be end of July so i am right in the midst of training.

From Feb to May i steadily built my weekly volume to 90km per week and i've maintained this for 4 weeks now, i wanted to try higher volume to improve my speed endurance for lack of a better term.

Typical week;

Monday - 14km recovery run
Tuesday - 9km - includes some speedwork like 7 x 500m or 4 x 800m.
Wednesday - 6km recovery run
Thursday - 19km - midweek long run - approx zone 2/easy
Friday - 12km - 2km warm 8km progress/tempo/2km warm down
Saturday - rest
Sunday - 30km long run, currently alternating week to week, some weeks it will be 35km other weeks around 25km. The long will be 3km warm up / 29km at 4:46km/pace / 3km warm down, the shorter run may be all at easy pace of have smaller section of faster pace, so 3x4km at 4:15mins/km pace. Pending how the body is feeling.

A great 50km course (in either direction) around Melbourne would be the Capital City Trail (29km), plus the lightrail path (3km) through South Melb/Port Melb to Beaconsfield Parade and then the trail via St Kilda along Beach Rd to Black Rock/Beaumauris (18km).

I am incorporating the darebin creek south and north trails, pretty flat and close to home. Only frustrating thing there is very limited water points and toilets along this trail, compared to the nearby plenty river/main yarra trails.

Update on the Super Shoe Situation.

I bought a pair of Saucony Endorphin Pro 4 on special at RW for $250 (30% off). Will be interesting to see how they go.

I hope I’m not developing an expensive habit…
How have you enjoyed them? I did Melbourne Marathon in a pair last year, they are just a really good shoe.. No bells and whistles and crazy bounce or pop but just do it all well for me.

Running Thread - Join our Strava Club!