Running Thread - Join our Strava Club!

• Thread starter Thread starter Wetdog

The Melbourne Marathon transfer window is open August 1-15.

I can't do it this year due to calf issues, if anyone wants to be a late sign up via transfer shoot me a DM and we'll sort it out.

I'll also edit this post if/when it's taken to confirm it's been snapped up.
I'm keen if it's for the full ash.

Have you got a full entry or a half? A mate of mine is chasing a half one and wanting to go via the transfer window so I can get rid of it for you if you wanted..

I have no idea if he'd be keep for a full, a tbh I don't want to encourage it given he's a relatively new runner.!

Also no good with the calf.. I had to pull out a couple of years back and it is not an easy call to make, but mentally I felt so relieved when I actually made the call and stopped stressing
I've currently got a half which I'll be looking to offload if I can get my hands on a full.

I'm keen if it's for the full ash.

I've currently got a half which I'll be looking to offload if I can get my hands on a full.

Have responded to your DM, as it’s for the full. I suspect it may work out well then as Willo_ can get your half entry then as well.

Have you got a full entry or a half? A mate of mine is chasing a half one and wanting to go via the transfer window so I can get rid of it for you if you wanted..

I have no idea if he'd be keep for a full, a tbh I don't want to encourage it given he's a relatively new runner.!

Also no good with the calf.. I had to pull out a couple of years back and it is not an easy call to make, but mentally I felt so relieved when I actually made the call and stopped stressing
I've signed up for Ash's full marathon spot. Have a half spot to get rid of if you want it Willo_ . PM me if you do and we'll get it sorted. Was super simple, took about 5 minutes.

Have responded to your DM, as it’s for the full. I suspect it may work out well then as Willo_ can get your half entry then as well.

I've signed up for Ash's full marathon spot. Have a half spot to get rid of if you want it Willo_ . PM me if you do and we'll get it sorted. Was super simple, took about 5 minutes.

Ripper! THanks legends, jackn I will DM you soon if that is ok. I have a full entry, i am just sussing out my mate that was looking for the half to see if he is keen ( i assume he is)

well, the wheels have somewhat fallen off my Sydney prep; last 10 days have been severely hampered by high hammy tendinopathy. have missed last two weekends of long runs and basically have done zero mileage at all in past 3-4 days to just try to shake it so I can at least get a couple of last long runs in before Sydney. is feeling a bit better so we'll see after i get out for my first run back later today. extremely frustrating that the first 10-11 weeks of this training block was basically flawless and the 5 or so weeks since then has turned to poo. I'm doing Chicago 6 weeks after Sydney - the plan was originally to go all out for Sydney and then just run for fun in Chicago, but given this issue I'm thinking I might now treat Sydney as an extra-long training run and keep the program going through and geared to peak at Chicago, that gives me the extra weeks to catch back up. how's everyone else tracking for Sydney?

My Sydney preps been a bit down on what I'd have liked. Biggest week km wise has been 65. In the lead up to Ballarat I had 4 weeks over 75. Not really to do with the body, just didn't want running meaning missing time with my daughter. Means most runs are once she is in bed and in winter it's much harder to motivate myself for 12km easy runs at 8pm than during daylight savings. Most weeknight runs have been more like 8km.

After scoring a Melbourne mara entry yesterday (thanks ash) I'm thinking I might just run Sydney for fun and look at Melbourne more for a time goal.

darrenmorgan sorry to hear about the hammy. Hope it on the improve.

What you and jackn are suggesting re Chicago and Melbourne respectively makes sense.

I’ve been doing a moderate load 55-65km a week.

The last few weeks have been good with long runs on the weekend progressively increasing 30, 32, 34, 36km.

One last long run next weekend and then taper. The body is holding together at the moment, which as all marathoners know is half the battle in completing the race.

So my credit card is ending their rewards program which means I have some flight credit to use, so thinking of doing an interstate race (I'm in Melbourne).

What are people's favourite races around the country? Preference for a distance between 10k and HM (or a bit over), and for good weather – I would much rather race in spring or summer than in winter, unless it's in a warm climate haha. Preference for road races over trails.

So my credit card is ending their rewards program which means I have some flight credit to use, so thinking of doing an interstate race (I'm in Melbourne).

What are people's favourite races around the country? Preference for a distance between 10k and HM (or a bit over), and for good weather – I would much rather race in spring or summer than in winter, unless it's in a warm climate haha. Preference for road races over trails.

my fave intestate runs in Australia are probably Brisbane (but you just missed that, is June each year) and Canberra (April). Cairns and Sunny Coast were nice. Also Rottnest Island was cool. But I recommend NZ for runs through. Ive done a bunch over there - Taupo (4 times), Hawkes Bay, Rotorua, Christchurch, Marlborough, Wellington, Auckland. its only a 3-3.5 hour flight across; makes NZ an awesome place for a long weekend runcation.

good luck to any others running Sydney tomorrow. weather looks almost perfect. doesn't matter how many times you do it there's nothing quite like that completely shit scared feeling you get the night before a marathon...
I've got massive FOMO from seeing all the bloody runs today in Sydney and insta stories.. Very jealous.

Also good luck to all toeing the line 💪

I'll be starting but not sure about finishing. Haven't run since last Saturday with a calf issue. Going to take it easy and hope for the best.

It was a beautiful day for it.

How good are the people who show up to cheer along marathon runners. I always find the crowds a bit of a sensory overload for the first 10km. But by the 35km mark, when the tank is anlmost empty, all that positivity and good will becomes so critical.

It was a beautiful day. The weather was perfect.

The course was great; it was hilly early but it flattened out.

The crowds were big. I don’t draw any motivation from them, but I do appreciate their support. The more we can be friendly to each other, the better.

Thank you for the last 2km downhill section which made all the difference in me hitting my sub 3:50hr goal by a mere 8 seconds.

Hope you all had a blast and are happy and healthy.

Time was ordinary at best having cooked myself over the undulations of the first 15km and having blisters on both feet, but the hardware is secure and I did make the flight home just in time

sydneyfinish.jpg

Had an awesome weekend. Amazing. Sydney was at her best.

Didn't have the work under the belt and the knees are about cooked and the hips seize up... knew all that going in.

Started with my running mate who was gunning for a 3.30pb and I told her I'm not in that shape but would keep her company as long as I could. Knew I wouldn't be able to hold it and might pay for it later but stayed with her as long as I could. I had no time goal, just wanted to finish, even if it meant some walking. Got to 25km at about 4.58 min/km pace and felt reasonable but when the hips seized they seized hard and combined with the shit knees the last 15km were a grind of 2-3km burts with gritted teeth with a minute or two walk for compsoure. Took me about an hour to walk from the finish line to the baggage claim about 800m away.

Ran it in at 3.41 so 5.12 pace is pretty good going overall for an underprepared 52yo and my friend didn't go 3.30 but her 3.31 was still a pb.

Weekend was great though. Pirrma parkrun Saturday morning with 1,000+ particpants was great. Saturday late Italian lunch with a big group was fun and post race drinks (so many drinks) down by the water at Darling Harbour in the sun was the peak of the weekend. So much fun.

OHHH - and for a Hawthorn nuffie sharing the train carraige in the early hours to Victoria Cross Station with Gibbo (Josh Gibson).

Not sure I want to run another marathon, but I also kind of want to do that all again right now (maybe without the running).

Didn't have the work under the belt and the knees are about cooked and the hips seize up... knew all that going in.

Started with my running mate who was gunning for a 3.30pb and I told her I'm not in that shape but would keep her company as long as I could. Knew I wouldn't be able to hold it and might pay for it later but stayed with her as long as I could. I had no time goal, just wanted to finish, even if it meant some walking. Got to 25km at about 4.58 min/km pace and felt reasonable but when the hips seized they seized hard and combined with the shit knees the last 15km were a grind of 2-3km burts with gritted teeth with a minute or two walk for compsoure. Took me about an hour to walk from the finish line to the baggage claim about 800m away.

Ran it in at 3.41 so 5.12 pace is pretty good going overall for an underprepared 52yo and my friend didn't go 3.30 but her 3.31 was still a pb.

Weekend was great though. Pirrma parkrun Saturday morning with 1,000+ particpants was great. Saturday late Italian lunch with a big group was fun and post race drinks (so many drinks) down by the water at Darling Harbour in the sun was the peak of the weekend. So much fun.

OHHH - and for a Hawthorn nuffie sharing the train carraige in the early hours to Victoria Cross Station with Gibbo (Josh Gibson).

Not sure I want to run another marathon, but I also kind of want to do that all again right now (maybe without the running).
Bloody hell that is super if you ask me... For perspective it's 10 mins quicker than my Mara PB... Albeit one I hope to significantly lower in 5 and a bit weeks.. But still, brilliant work

Time was ordinary at best having cooked myself over the undulations of the first 15km and having blisters on both feet, but the hardware is secure and I did make the flight home just in time

sydneyfinish.jpg
That medal is an absolute cracker, well done. Both the cooking yourself early and the blisters sound horrid so pushing through is tough as.

Gibbo finished about 3.50 according to another North poster who was pacing 3.40.

I finished within a minute or two of you. My training block was shit because of sickness, but I never regret running a marathon, undercooked or not.

Just starting to get back into running after my footy season ended. My first run was 10.8k, in 54.20 with a decent bit of elevation change. Is this good? My goal was to run 4.45 pace the entire way through but without a watch what i thought was 4.45 pace was 4.20 at the start which slowly dropped off to about 5.00 pace (partly due to stopping for water). Would like to hear any advice on improving my running and building a strong aerobic and anaerobic base for footy season.

Running is pretty simple.

Run more. Mostly easy. Sometimes fast. Be consistent. Don't get injured.

Generally a bigger aerobic base (within reason) will help with something like football where the ability to recover between repeat sprint efforts is important. You're not a pure distance runner so I would always try to retain a level of pure speed work in your training week even while you build your aerobic base up.

A couple of resources:

I'm a fan of this guy in general, here's his content relating to speed, but I'd throw him a follow on social media since his content is pretty sound IMO (not just fad based flashy exercise):

This is from reddit:

5.00 pace is pretty normal.

I'd second the other poster - just run often.

And if life gets in the way, just don't skip a weekly long run.

You only need to do fast sessions once a week, twice max.

Running is very individual, say i wouldn't say your time is good or bad, but the main things is getting out there and enjoying.

I would say depending on what level and how serious you take footy, getting fitter can assist with improving your game. It can be different to just improving your time over a specific distance.