Running Thread - Join our Strava Club!

That's a lot of running...what was your previous routine? if you're going from 1 or 2 runs per week up to 5 runs per week, just be careful you don't injure yourself. Try to apply the 10% rule. I didn't, and now I'm having to take a week or two off to recover!

Previous routine was non-existent until I took it up about a month ago. Started at 3-4 runs per week and the last few weeks have been 5-6, but definitely going to have to scale that back. I'm the fittest I've ever been as a result and the effect it's had on my cricket and footy umpiring has been great, but blisters and knee soreness were killing me last week. I took the weekend and Monday off (still played sport), felt great come Tuesday and today I knocked out 10km in a new best time. But you're right, more days off is going to be essential. Probably no more weekend runs and one day off during the week to compensate the longer runs.

Attempting my first 50km week this week, how are you guys all going?

10-7.5-10-rest-7.5-15-rest.

Did 15km both Saturday and Sunday and pulled up pretty well. Sunday's run was off road for about half (through farmland type tracks, up and down gullys) which was a fun change and certainly gave the quads a decent workout.

Very nice. What kind of times are you doing those 15km in? My longer runs seem to lock in at 5 minute kilometre consistent pace.

I reckon the days were you are really battling and still manage to achieve what you set out to achieve are the most rewarding though.

Couldn't agree more. Sometimes you feel like you've boarded the bus to struggle town only to find you achieved or bettered your goal. Feels like a great reward for effort.

This happened to me on Saturday. Was hungover and pretty sore, yet pushed out a PB. Good feeling and gives you the knowledge that you can get through those tough days.

Very nice. What kind of times are you doing those 15km in? My longer runs seem to lock in at 5 minute kilometre consistent pace.

Sunday was pretty easy paced (5:30min/km) being that tougher run I mentioned on top of 15km the day before. Saturday's run was 15.3km in just a fraction under 5:00 min/km so pretty much the same. Really happy with that for now. Aim is to go between 4:30 and 5:00 per/km for the HM in a few weeks and with the natural inclination to get dragged along a bit quicker during an event I think I should be able to manage it.

Would you guys say 16 weeks is enough time to prep for a half?

I haven't been a runner traditionally, but my fitness base is what I would say is a good starting base.

How would you go about planning it, ie, how would you gradually build up distance and how often would you run?

So far, the plan is to start small and build from 5-10km over the next few weeks, long run on a Sunday and I joined a running group that to begin with will be running with on a wednesday night doing high intensity runs.

Further along, I'll be adding in 5km time trials Monday nights with the running group, and also a hill running morning during the week.

I don't want to over train, but need to know good ideas about how to achieve it.. mainly in the how to build from running 5kms to 20kms over the 16 week period.

G'day chaos. I'm about 4 weeks from my first HM and I have used a 12 week training plan, coming off a few 10km events previously.

Fom what I have found, and I'm no expert, 16 weeks should be ample time if you already have a reasonable base and put in all the work you have described. I'd suggest incrementally increasing your long runs every week so that you hit the HM distance a few weeks in advance of the actual event.

If you do a search, there are plenty of HM training plans on the net. I've attached the one I've been using (not strictly, but as a guide) but there are plenty of others out there.

Good luck.

Attachments

• HM Training.pdf
    103.5 KB · Views: 82
Would you guys say 16 weeks is enough time to prep for a half?

I haven't been a runner traditionally, but my fitness base is what I would say is a good starting base.

How would you go about planning it, ie, how would you gradually build up distance and how often would you run?

So far, the plan is to start small and build from 5-10km over the next few weeks, long run on a Sunday and I joined a running group that to begin with will be running with on a wednesday night doing high intensity runs.

Further along, I'll be adding in 5km time trials Monday nights with the running group, and also a hill running morning during the week.

I don't want to over train, but need to know good ideas about how to achieve it.. mainly in the how to build from running 5kms to 20kms over the 16 week period.
16 weeks is PLENTY of time to train for a halfie. Generally a full marathon training program is only 16-20 weeks. Building from 5 to 21 isn't THAT difficult. The difference between a 5k and 10k run isn't that much, unlike say a 25k upto 30k run. You still need to throw in taper weeks so, with that in mind, I would be looking at something like:

Week 1 : 7km
2 : 9km
3 : 10
4 : 9
5 : 11
6 : 12
7 : 10
8 : 12
9 : 14
10 : 16
11 : 13
12 : 15
13 : 18
14 : 20
15 : 10
16 : HM

So these long runs should be at slightly slower than goal HM pace. I suggest running a Saturday before your long run too so your body gets used to running with fatigue. So on the Sat before long run, do a run at slightly quicker than HM pace, but not as far. Maybe 3/4 of the Sunday run.

Just be careful with time trials too. I did a 10k time trial last Sat and haven't been able to run since. Just remember what you're training for.

Thanks for the advice, interesting the idea behind going for runs slower than the week before and I understand why you would do it.

As for the time trials call, I agree, I get pretty sore so I hence why I am concerned about taking it slowly but surely.

I'd run 5 times a week, although your hill training and time trialling probably isn't ideal for a HM training plan.

16 weeks is plenty of time.

Reddit's running subreddit will be able to help you if you want to work out an exact timetable.

Finally back running (kind of) after my seriously long lay off with this ankle.

Ran 3km last tuesday at just 10km/hr pace.. Ankle was very ginger during and after.
Did a repeat yesterday and ankle felt better during the run, but tender today.

Hoping to go to 5km at the same intencity/pain level by next Tuesday.

So frustrating to be back at such a low level. The positives are that I am not feeling tired after the runs, but sad that pre ankle injury I could easily smash out 18km at a 5min 10sec ish pace.

Re-adjusting my goals now.. Run Geelong coming up later in the year. Want to focus more on speed than distance. Want to break 1hr for the 12km.

Hey guys. I've never been a runner (other than during sport), but would like to start proper running just to get my fitness up. I don't have any set goals or anything, and at times have trouble getting motivated, especially in this cold weather! What would you guys recommend to start off with?

When I started trying to take it more seriously last year I enrolled myself in an event so that I was running for a reason other than just fitness. If I didn't do the work, I knew I wasn't going to be ready. Found that was the best way for me to motivate myself to get out there.

Hey guys. I've never been a runner (other than during sport), but would like to start proper running just to get my fitness up. I don't have any set goals or anything, and at times have trouble getting motivated, especially in this cold weather! What would you guys recommend to start off with?

Agree with Miner Boy. Set yourself a goal. Fork out the $$$'s for an event and then tell everyone you're doing it. Plenty of time before the Melbourne Marathon Festival which has runs ranging from the easy 5k up to the full 42. So pick an event, if needed get a training program, and try and stick to it.

If you don't want to do this, I find getting in the car and driving to new places to run is a good way of keeping up the motivation. Running the same 5-10k route around home can get seriously boring and drive you to not want to run. But if you hop in the car and head somewhere with a bit of scenery, no cars then it can be just the motivation you need.

Also be realistic with your times and goals. Wanting to smash out 5km in 15 minutes on your first run may not be possible. If you don't reach it then it may be deflating.

Be realistic, be consistent and make sure you enjoy doing it!

Thanks for the advice guys. I did my first run today. I didn't really know how to pace myself so I ended up just going at a comfortable pace (which was more then enough, I'm buggered!). Just run around the streets which is quite hilly and finished with 17:45 and around 3km. I've realised my goal is to use running to relax, which is ironic I guess, i.e not a chore. Anyway, hopefully I post on this thread more often.

Did the full dress rehearsal today pumping out the 21.1km

Aim was to run first 5km easy and then next 5km steady to hard. After that based on how I'm feeling. Managed first 5 in around 5:15 per km and the next 5 in around 4:45 per km. Settled in to an easy 5:15 kinda pace for the remainder but pushed a few sub 5:00 km in the back end just to test what I had left.

Overall time 1:50:08 -> Fairly confident of going sub 1:45:00 in 3 weeks. Hopefully pushing 1:40:00

Just 6 weeks until City2Surf, and specific training for that is about to start. I have covered the distance once before at the City2South in Brisbane (1:16 with a quad problem from the previous day's footy, beat K-Rudd by at least an hour). Am hoping for about 1:10 in Sydney which may be a stretch given my best competitive 12km time (Run For A Reason in Perth) is a 1:04 (I did do a 48:00 10km a week afterwards in a local event, but I have doubts on whether the distance wasn't closer to 9km than 10).

Looking to do 3-4 sessions per week from now until the big day in Sydney, one of which per week will involve a number of hill climbs. May even do split runs (2x6km for example) rather than a single long run.

Have a dilemma come November too, do I play it safe and do City2Sea in Melbourne over a distance that I will have covered twice, or do I go further south and tackle Point2Pinnacle in Hobart which is on the same day over half marathon distance up Mount Wellington?

Time to update!

Today did my first v02 session. Felt the serious burn towards the end of my 3x600m sprint sets.

Ankle still feeling horrible, but I have to get moving on my running or I won't be near the times I want for run geelong so will just suck it up a bit.

Felt good to be back and set or a program. I'm going through an eight week training block. Hoping by then to be running 52min for 10km. Will give me plenty of time to shake those 2 minutes by November.

Plan is to run the 12km Run Geelong in 60mim. Lara Fun Run about a week before and I will use it as my real fitness test. Will be wanting to push 50min there to be happy heading into run geelong.
So it begins. :)

Time to update!

Today did my first v02 session. Felt the serious burn towards the end of my 3x600m sprint sets.

Ankle still feeling horrible, but I have to get moving on my running or I won't be near the times I want for run geelong so will just suck it up a bit.

Felt good to be back and set or a program. I'm going through an eight week training block. Hoping by then to be running 52min for 10km. Will give me plenty of time to shake those 2 minutes by November.

Plan is to run the 12km Run Geelong in 60mim. Lara Fun Run about a week before and I will use it as my real fitness test. Will be wanting to push 50min there to be happy heading into run geelong.
So it begins. :)

Nice work....just be super careful with soreness...soreness quickly turns into injury which means all your hard work is for nothing. Listen to your body, it doesn't lie. During my marathon training i've learnt to tell the difference between just general soreness and actual injury pain. I reckon it's really important to learn that difference. If you start feeling pain, stop, take a week or so off and get back into it. Soreness? Just apply a dose of HTFU. I took 9 days off cos my right leg had shooting pains on every stride, best thing I did.

My update, did a 10km time trial the other week in 47mins so my top end spend is back to where it was before marathon training. Have run 4 consecutive weekend half marathons and am on track for a 200km month. Plan is a tough 35k run this Satday, then at least 1 30+km run in August and September before an October taper.

Feeling confident of knocking off the marathon in around 4hrs which I will be very happy with.

G'day guys n gals - update time for me too.

First 'official' Half Marathon run and won. And by won, I mean finished without killing myself :). Actually pulled up pretty well. It was the Age Run Melbourne held Sunday just gone and aside from some tight calves for a few days, I feel none the worse for the experience.

There were 6000+ runners and I'm happy to say I was about 750th overall and about 300th in my category of males 30-39. Considering I'm 40 in about 4 weeks I'm right on the back end of this group and pretty pleased with myself.

So here's the breakdown if anyone is interested....21.1km in 1:38:00
  • 10km split - 45:14
  • 20km split - 1:32:50

As you may remember, my goal was to break 1:45:00 with a secondary goal of going under 1:40:00 if possible.

Playing footy hasn't been conducive to getting myself ready for the Perth C2S HM this year to crack 85 mins again so gonna do the 12km and cross a sub 48 min off my bucket list. Realistically though I am aiming to go sub 46 mins with an eye on sub 45 mins depending on conditions and how I feel

G'day guys n gals - update time for me too.

First 'official' Half Marathon run and won. And by won, I mean finished without killing myself :). Actually pulled up pretty well. It was the Age Run Melbourne held Sunday just gone and aside from some tight calves for a few days, I feel none the worse for the experience.

There were 6000+ runners and I'm happy to say I was about 750th overall and about 300th in my category of males 30-39. Considering I'm 40 in about 4 weeks I'm right on the back end of this group and pretty pleased with myself.

So here's the breakdown if anyone is interested....21.1km in 1:38:00
  • 10km split - 45:14
  • 20km split - 1:32:50
As you may remember, my goal was to break 1:45:00 with a secondary goal of going under 1:40:00 if possible.

Nice!!! That means that you are now required by running law to sign up for the full in October!

Running Thread - Join our Strava Club!