Running Thread - Join our Strava Club!

Nice!!! That means that you are now required by running law to sign up for the full in October!

Haha - that does seem to be the commonly delivered response at the moment.

Not sure if I have the time to dedicate to the preparation for a full marathon. Was hard enough doing this one. However, I do need to make a decision about where to go next. Full marathon, another HM with a goal to go faster or back to 10km and improve past times.

Nice work....just be super careful with soreness...soreness quickly turns into injury which means all your hard work is for nothing. Listen to your body, it doesn't lie. During my marathon training i've learnt to tell the difference between just general soreness and actual injury pain. I reckon it's really important to learn that difference. If you start feeling pain, stop, take a week or so off and get back into it. Soreness? Just apply a dose of HTFU. I took 9 days off cos my right leg had shooting pains on every stride, best thing I did.
Great advice, thanks mate.

Speaking of training.. was reading an article on a guy who didn't run more than 16km in a session and won a 50km ultra marathon. Pretty amazing his technique and training.

Going for a "slow long run" on Sunday. Looking forward to it!

Thanks for the advice guys. I did my first run today. I didn't really know how to pace myself so I ended up just going at a comfortable pace (which was more then enough, I'm buggered!). Just run around the streets which is quite hilly and finished with 17:45 and around 3km. I've realised my goal is to use running to relax, which is ironic I guess, i.e not a chore. Anyway, hopefully I post on this thread more often.
If you find yourself running the same route from home, I've an app I downloaded the other day called Runkeeper, it maps your run with GPS and records your times/calories etc, also "speaks" your distance covered at 5 min intervals (may be able to adjust this, ill be checking before I go this arvo).

I'm quite content just watching my times get faster over the same distance, ive used a stopwatch previously but the app is a keeper I reckon

Have been pretty poor in the last month with laziness, sickness and general terrible weather. But yesterday I decided to see dust off the runners and smashed out 13.5km in an 1h10m, so was happy that I haven't lost too much fitness.

Good stuff man. Has been a year since I ran 20km at 12km/h, struggling to get back to that with crap weather atm.

No where near as good of a runner as some of you boys, but I'm starting to take my running pretty seriously now and I'm enjoying it a lot. It's very empowering and I can already see a drastic improvement in my footy and other sports :)

I do around 5.5km thrice a week, my personal best being 26.50. Hopefully this holds me in good stead for my 4.7km cross country at school later this term. I ran a 29.26 this time last year, lol

No where near as good of a runner as some of you boys, but I'm starting to take my running pretty seriously now and I'm enjoying it a lot. It's very empowering and I can already see a drastic improvement in my footy and other sports :)

I do around 5.5km thrice a week, my personal best being 26.50. Hopefully this holds me in good stead for my 4.7km cross country at school later this term. I ran a 29.26 this time last year, lol

Try to fit in a 9km run, then 12km run 2-4 weeks later. Just do it SLOW, put your latest Justin Bieber tunes on your eyepod and go!

did my monthly long run on Satday. Knocked out 37km in 3hrs 18. Completely and utterly knackered after it though. But feel as if the marathon is achievable now and I seem to be on my way to a sub 4hr.

Pulled up surprisingly well and was able to get on the bike on the indoor trainer on Sunday to spin out the legs.

did my monthly long run on Satday. Knocked out 37km in 3hrs 18. Completely and utterly knackered after it though. But feel as if the marathon is achievable now and I seem to be on my way to a sub 4hr.

Pulled up surprisingly well and was able to get on the bike on the indoor trainer on Sunday to spin out the legs.
Well done mate. Smashing it out!

If you find yourself running the same route from home, I've an app I downloaded the other day called Runkeeper, it maps your run with GPS and records your times/calories etc, also "speaks" your distance covered at 5 min intervals (may be able to adjust this, ill be checking before I go this arvo).

I'm quite content just watching my times get faster over the same distance, ive used a stopwatch previously but the app is a keeper I reckon

Thanks mate I'll look into it.

Have been pretty poor in the last month with laziness, sickness and general terrible weather.

This is my situation too, and with uni starting back I've been preoccupied.

On a semi related note, does anyone know some good tracks to run around the east suburbs of Melbourne?

Thanks mate I'll look into it.

This is my situation too, and with uni starting back I've been preoccupied.

On a semi related note, does anyone know some good tracks to run around the east suburbs of Melbourne?

How far east? Capital City trail goes through Richmond/Abbotsford...out my way there is the Dandenong Creek Trail, Mullum Trail, Eastlink Trail...even further east you hit the Dandenongs and there is a smorgasboard of tracks up there...and of course there is the Lilydale-Warby trail....EVEN further, though perhaps not East, I haven't run them but apparently the tracks in and around Kinglake are meant to be brutal....

10km in 50mins last night, a PB by 4 minutes :thumbsu: Going to go out today and actually buy a decent pair of runners as a treat.

Although can't help but be disheartened by the fact the winner of the 10km at the Gold Coast Marathon recently went sub-30 :eek: Dem peptides.

Played my first game of footy in 8 years on Saturday. A lot has changed since I pulled on the jumper in the under-16s!!

I thought I was fairly fit, given I have completed a half marathon... but it doesn't get near the need for match fitness in footy haha!

Pulled up seriously sore on sunday morning, but dragged my sorry self out of bed and did a slow 8.5km run. Starting to feel like I am building a good base.

Not sure footy is the best idea for my running goals, but I have got a taste for it at the moment and there is only a handful of games left in the season.

How was everyone elses weekend?

Played my first game of footy in 8 years on Saturday. A lot has changed since I pulled on the jumper in the under-16s!!

I thought I was fairly fit, given I have completed a half marathon... but it doesn't get near the need for match fitness in footy haha!

Pulled up seriously sore on sunday morning, but dragged my sorry self out of bed and did a slow 8.5km run. Starting to feel like I am building a good base.

Not sure footy is the best idea for my running goals, but I have got a taste for it at the moment and there is only a handful of games left in the season.

How was everyone elses weekend?

Poor start to August for me...only managed a 10k on Sunday....just couldn't get myself up and firing on Satday...back to it this Sat though with a halfie and then a snow ride up Donna Buang on Sunday should be fun

Have been mixing it up over the last few weeks and running shorter distances at higher intensity. Notched some okay PBs: 50:51 for 10km, 26:23 for 6km, 16:39 for 4km. Almost died after that 4km, not going to be trying that again any time soon. Getting myself a decent pair of shoes and mixing up my courses has kept it interesting.

Went for a slower 5km last night just to relax and cool down after footy yesterday. Didn't time it, but about half-an-hour with plenty left when I pulled up. Going to try for a new longest run tomorrow night, PB stands at 18.4km in 2:00:32. That was ages ago, slow as farrrrrrrk looking back now.

Still struggling to get myself going again after the HM. Having an enrolled event to aim for really does push you out the door. In the 2 weeks since I managed an easy 5km last week and did a 10km Thursday (50:50) and another 10km Saturday (49:30).

On top of that the grog and food intake has taken on epic 'reward yourself' proportions. :D

Have had fruit for lunch today and am laying out a weekly plan right now. Hold me to it.

Monday (tonight) - 5km steady/hard.
Tuesday - 10km comfortable
Thursday - 5km steady/hard.
Saturday - 10km comfortable.
Sunday - 15km easy.

Let's see how that goes.

Still struggling to get myself going again after the HM. Having an enrolled event to aim for really does push you out the door. In the 2 weeks since I managed an easy 5km last week and did a 10km Thursday (50:50) and another 10km Saturday (49:30).

On top of that the grog and food intake has taken on epic 'reward yourself' proportions. :D

Have had fruit for lunch today and am laying out a weekly plan right now. Hold me to it.

Monday (tonight) - 5km steady/hard.
Tuesday - 10km comfortable
Thursday - 5km steady/hard.
Saturday - 10km comfortable.
Sunday - 15km easy.

Let's see how that goes.

Nice....not too dissimilar to mine....

Monday : Rest day/Cross train on indoor cycle trainer
Tuesday : 11k
Wed : 7k
Thurs : 11k
Friday : Rest