Ryan Crowley

• Thread starter Thread starter Indie_

Brilliant tagger, hate it when he plays us. Didn't like it how instead of celebrating a massive stepping stone and a big win for the Fremantle Football Club to get into the prelim (given their history) he decides to mouth off and rub it in. Shoulda been celebrating with his team mates in what was a great victory.
Comes off as a bit of a tool but I'm sure Freo supporters won't care since he does his job week in, week out and that pretty much all that matters. Wouldn't call him a 'star'. Elite stopper/tagger, and that's about it. Is a player every coach would love to have though, so I gotta give it to him for working hard and getting to where he is now.

Hope to hear Lyon subtly give it to the Cat's all week for their petulant display.

Freo get hamstrung by the AFL to the tune of 6 goals but suck it up and get the job done.

Johnson and Selwood get subjected to some accountable footy and they completely lose all composure.

Brilliant tagger, hate it when he plays us. Didn't like it how instead of celebrating a massive stepping stone and a big win for the Fremantle Football Club to get into the prelim (given their history) he decides to mouth off and rub it in. Shoulda been celebrating with his team mates in what was a great victory.
Comes off as a bit of a tool but I'm sure Freo supporters won't care since he does his job week in, week out and that pretty much all that matters. Wouldn't call him a 'star'. Elite stopper/tagger, and that's about it. Is a player every coach would love to have though, so I gotta give it to him for working hard and getting to where he is now.

He's also a club B&F in a break out year for them.

People comparing him to Baker couldn't draw a footy.

Not sure if we were watching the same game cause all I saw from him was a kick on the full and running around holding onto Stevie J's top. Would be nice to see him play football for once.

A boxer with a super knockout punch can be beaten by a tactically sound boxer with a good defence.

Crowley does this with monotonous regularity.

Johnson however carried on like Mundine. Poor game by Johnno and poor response in defeat.
Had Crowley applied same tactics and Johnson overcame them and lead his team to victory I've no doubt his post gamer behaviour would have been different.

A couple of people told me that Crowley is a dick outside of footy too, usually talking himself up to whoever will listen to him.

Went to a mates party last year and met Hayden Ballantyne, shook his hand even tho I'm a WC man and we spoke footy, he seemed a genuine good guy. And my first impression was that he has time for his fans, which plays a big part as to why I enjoy him playing and why he is up there with my fav Freo players.

He performs his role perfectly. Crowley would not be able to function as well as he does in a lot of teams but the fact is Fremantle has enough attacking midfielders to try and take care of; another is not required. Barlow and Hill combined for 5 out of the 12 goals Fremantle scored today. Typically, with Fyfe, Mundy, Pearce and Neale, they score half of the Docker's goals. Crowley is the one defensive element of it and it works well. I don't see what the problem is.

A couple of people told me that Crowley is a dick outside of footy too, usually talking himself up to whoever will listen to him.

Went to a mates party last year and met Hayden Ballantyne, shook his hand even tho I'm a WC man and we spoke footy, he seemed a genuine good guy. And my first impression was that he has time for his fans, which plays a big part as to why I enjoy him playing and why he is up there with my fav Freo players.

Heard him on Triple M after the game today. First I've heard/seen him do an interview. Sounded a good, humble, respectful guy. Didn't get drawn in to talking about what happened between him and Selwood afterwards, just batted it away with the "it stays on the field" line. Didn't talk himself up at all, was big on his teammates.

Absolutely not true. I love everyone calling him and Ballantyne w*nkers, tossers etc. yet have never met the blokes. I have met them numerous times and they are great, down to earth guys. Even when Crowls was out with his missus he still stopped and had a quick chat after I said hi in passing.

Crowley I will love every game you play until it's a good one against us at which point I will scream like a bitch. Same with Ballas. No one quote this in the future.

If stays in form over next couple of years, guarantee he help pave the way for all australian tagger sometimes included if they dominate a season like him. He's a star tagger..like saying star defender for enright or star utility like Goddard..

I would take a number of taggers over Crowley

Daniel Jackson and Kane Cornes for a start, they can actually play football when required, they can hit targets, win their own ball, damage 2 ways. Crowley is 1 dimensional in every aspect. He can't kick, chooses poor options and today didn't handle the ball well at all. He can take a mark though but it's not enough to call him the best tagger.

Would you call him a star?

No I never said he was a star,but he is part of a team and he does his job to perfection,I would take him over Jackson and Cornes every day of the week because he is disciplined and just about always shuts down the player he is on,whats cornes and Jacksons record on Selwood,Ablett etc...can guarentee that Crowleys would be better and he's not reported as much as the other two.
His disposal is not the best but I wouldnt call Cornes disposal much better and Jacksons is ok without been elite....its a wonder you didnt throw up McGinitys name

'cause i would believe everything a WCE supporter told me about a Dockers player?? Every time i have heard him interviewed he sounds modest and unassuming and delighted to be playing AFL footy for the Dockers. It's hard to interpret a personal opinion from afar. There is a lot of sublimated jealousy out there.

Wonder if Johnston and Selwood have ever thought of :
A. Just take it on the chin and get off the ground as quick as possible
or B. Say "Good on you mate. You got me today. See you in the GF in a few weeks."

Some of you blokes ought to get a grip, how can you question a blokes character without knowing him? I grew up with Crowls, went to school with him and played with him at various levels and ill always consider him a good mate of mine. Certainly doesn't forget where he comes from and has always had time for people, I'm stoked In how well he has developed. Is out and out the best tagger in the league, well done brother.

Sorry if you viewd it like that.. Crowley offered a handshake and instead got a pathetic shirtfront by Stevie J. Any player would react to a flog of an act. Arrogant and absolutely uncalled for by Johnson.

Absolutely not true. I love everyone calling him and Ballantyne w*nkers, tossers etc. yet have never met the blokes. I have met them numerous times and they are great, down to earth guys. Even when Crowls was out with his missus he still stopped and had a quick chat after I said hi in passing.
Doesn't mean they're good blokes.