AM

The standard you walk past is the one you accept
Lyon using Cats as examples for his Saints
April 14, 2009 - 4:38PM

Before St Kilda try to beat Geelong this season, coach Ross Lyon wants his Saints to become them.
Lyon refers to the Cats as the AFL's "benchmark" team and is using them as an example for his players.
St Kilda made last year's preliminary finals, but there was a widespread speculation that they would falter this season.
Instead, the Saints have started with three impressive wins and now Lyon is demanding they maintain their intensity.
The Saints will start strong favourites this Saturday night at Etihad Stadium when they host winless Fremantle.
"All coaches, no doubt, want their players to perform with intensity week-in, week-out," Lyon said.
"What we've spoken about is clearly the benchmark team is Geelong and they were able to tick that box off last weekend against Collingwood, in another big game.
"Where we want to head to as a team is towards the benchmark and we've spoken about our ability to reproduce that intensity consistently and what you've got to be able to do, to do that.
"We believe it comes from preparation and preparing the mind and the body, each week the same."
Lyon also wryly noted that three weeks is a long time in football, adding that the hounds will be baying for his blood in three weeks' time should the Saints go without a win in that period.
"All I know is the best team of the last two years is undefeated, they're still the benchmark team," he said.
"Is is any coincidence that three of last year's top four are undefeated and Hawthorn have had significant injuries? I'm not sure it is a coincidence."
Lyon is looking forward to the big tests against those top-four sides, starting with the Western Bulldogs on May 3, but he is also acutely aware not to look too far ahead.
Lyon described Fremantle as a team under siege and said his players had to be wary of how that situation could galvanise the Dockers.
The Saints are unlikely to make any changes this week as they try to build on their solid start.
"We are pretty keen to promote the 22 who are delivering for us," he said.
"There are a few pushing up (through the VFL), but they will have to bang down the door if everyone (in the senior side) keeps delivering on what they need to do for the team.
"It's not really a dilemma, it's a position we've worked hard to create."
Ruckman Michael Gardiner is certainly a reason the Saints have improved with his impressive start to the season.
But Lyon has no intention to give the big man special treatment through the season, despite his history of injuries.
"I hope the lacquer bands hold him together - Michael and I had a laugh about that today," Lyon said.
"I'd rather him wear out than rust out."
Source: The Age

Ah! The Leigh Tudor factor.;)

Well them being Geelong certainly would beat us. (RE: GF - Geelong defeated Geelong...)

But still, by the time we play them we'll smash them by at least 10 goals.

Pathetic club smashing nothing teams so far (Come on - Sydney, Adelaide, West Coast and now Fremantle...) overrated IMO.

Well them being Geelong certainly would beat us. (RE: GF - Geelong defeated Geelong...)

But still, by the time we play them we'll smash them by at least 10 goals.

Pathetic club smashing nothing teams so far (Come on - Sydney, Adelaide, West Coast and now Fremantle...) overrated IMO.

It would be nice to beat them by 10 goals but after watching them the other day, the Saints are looking very good. Very even across all lines. Lets hope they go down their normal path of constant injuries.

I trust that Geelong supporters know there is a distinct rivalry has developed between the clubs over the past few years. Remember all the rantings over of who had the better list ?

Well they have got a decent list. They have a good midfield, a capable tall forward line and an adequate backline.

What concerns me - is without Egan, our only truly tall backman, Kozi could be a handful if he has one of his few days out. If he becomes more consistent then it could be quite a game. And certainly Geelong needs Ottens to counter a good ruck combination. Would not even mind him going back onto Kozi, as he has the height and mobility to counter his presence (but it would take away from Geelong's dominate midfield so it will probably never happen).

Don't take them too lightly - as they will be primed the day we meet them, not just as the benchmark team but as part of the rivalry I have stated earlier. And it would be staggering to think we could go the season undefeated or not have a bad day.

However they are on the right track - and they can only beat the opposition they play.

It would be great, if by the time we meet them, Geelong has Hawkins showing some form, as I am not sure they could cover Mooney and him with their current backline. Then it would come more down to the midfields - and I think we have more options and a more dynamic group that will see Geelong get up.

well to be quite honest with the sources they have at there club they really should be able to pull off a game plan that shuts us right down and beat us, but yet everytime we play them we flog them.

Charlie Gardiner and Steven King going there last year and now Leigh Tudor this year who would know the most out of the whole 3, our game plan hasnt really changed for the last 2 or 3 years so you would think they would know how to stop us but they cant so it sort of shows how dissapointing the saints are

I will rate the saints when they play and beat a good team.. The saints are teasing us because they have played rubbish teams so far. If I was Lyon I wouldn't have mentioned that they are trying to copy the cats it's just going to make the players in awe when we play them and beat them.

well to be quite honest with the sources they have at there club they really should be able to pull off a game plan that shuts us right down and beat us, but yet everytime we play them we flog them.

Charlie Gardiner and Steven King going there last year and now Leigh Tudor this year who would know the most out of the whole 3, our game plan hasnt really changed for the last 2 or 3 years so you would think they would know how to stop us but they cant so it sort of shows how dissapointing the saints are
The Saints are not disappointing. They have recruited beautifully, topping up their list over the past 2 years with some guns, they have an excellent medical team, some luck with injuries, 2 potent big forwards that will stretch every defence,2 fit talented rucks=both AA, a gun midfield with Ball, Del Santo, Montagna, Hayes, the Best defence in the AFL, yes better than ours, and the absolute desperate desire to be the best, as well as some great form right now. If Dal Santo doesn't win the Brownlow, Goddard might. I have always feared the Saints, but we seem to have had their measure. 2009 IMO, could well be the year of THE SAINTS as i feel we are a little short on our best available list this year, in a year where we do need everybody available

I thought at the end of last season that The Saints would be a threat this year. I thought they showed they have the makings of a good side. They have all the ingredients to be a top 4 team. A very good midfield. A couple of good mobile tall marking forwards and stingy defence. It will be an interesting game when we play them this year.

We'll beat them.

We have the wood on them in a big way. That semi-final last year was an absolute massacre, and I just can't see them getting close to us unless they are on fire (and Riewoldt can actually hold a mark and kick straight against us).

But they can talk us up all they like, fine with me :)

Best defence in the AFL, yes better than ours,

Are you serious?

St Kilda have two elite defenders in Sam Fisher and Goddard (who is playing in the midfield this season anyway), a reliable but ageing full back in Hudghton who is yet to get on the park this season and a couple of promising players who can very easily be exposed one-on-one in Sam Gilbert and Raph Clarke.

We've got the best defender in the league in Scarlo, two AAs in Milburn and Enright and one of the best running half backs around in Mackie. Add in our AA captain Harley who is yet to play this season and the continued improvement of Harry Taylor and I fail to see how you could rate their backline as better than ours.

And as for Dal Santo and Goddard being Brownlow possibilities - we're got a few of our own blokes who may poll a few votes this season, too. Ablett, Chapman, Bartel and Selwood ring a bell?

Yes, the Saints look impressive so far but teams rarely keep up a high-intensity and hard-tackling game plan for 22 games plus finals. We didn't in 2007 - we were rubbish until round 6. While we only lost two games last year, we certainly had more than our fair share of 'off' weeks where we only got over the line due to the brilliance of a couple of players.

We played them twice last year kicking a total of 38 goals.

So far this year they have played arguably the two most low scoring teams in Adel & Syd and a very crap Eagles outfit. Not enough to give them the 'best defense' by a long shot.

I've always thought the Saints just needed to switch on.
Mentally I have never thought they could beat us, maybe they have found the key.

Good on them. They have a good enough list.
As long as the play good to watch footy.

Will be a very interesting game against us, especially if Otto is still out...

But until they beat a team like the dogs or collingwood, they are just a good performing team against weaker, re-developing teams.

They do look very impressive atm tho.

I remember sniper Hamill over running the ball to try to take out SJ and SJ ended his career :thumbsu:

Saints are playing well at the moment but their depth will come back to hurt him them again.

Dawson, M.Gardiner, Geary, Gilbert, Gwilt, Jones, McQualter, Milne, Ray, Schneider

That's almost half their side from the eagles game. Premiership material? Hudghton is the only one out that will make a big difference to their side.

They haven’t really been tested yet. Still reckon their midfield is slow and I'd question their depth should they be hit by injuries. But having Kositzke up and running gives them a second good marking option up forward - something that will test us. Not sure playing to your optimum so early is a good thing either.

The Hawks and the Bullies are our major dangers for mine.

I remember sniper Hamill over running the ball to try to take out SJ and SJ ended his career :thumbsu:

Saints are playing well at the moment but their depth will come back to hurt him them again.

Dawson, M.Gardiner, Geary, Gilbert, Gwilt, Jones, McQualter, Milne, Ray, Schneider

That's almost half their side from the eagles game. Premiership material? Hudghton is the only one out that will make a big difference to their side.

Schnider goes alright. As maligned as he is, there are worse than Milne too.

Ray's playing good footy at the moment.

I'm certain they'll finish top six.