Saints will beat Eagles

F/D said:
R1: 23 possies
R2: 26 possies
R3: Came off 3 quarter time(injury) and had 15 touches.
R4: 30 possies

Looks like someones underrated.....again! :rolleyes:
It's the quality of disposals that matters.

I have never seen us so deflated as we were at half time- you could see we were all hyped for a huge contest this week, we came out and played brilliant football for a while and watched St Kilda roll over and capitulate virtually before the coin was tossed.

After that we just went to the automatic, 'do enough' mode that has characterised all of our wins at subiaco- once the game is beyond doubt we just cruise to the 4 points. Bloody disappointing from St Kilda, was expecting a good game of footy.

SensibleCommentator said:
101 points :D

see you in melbourne, you beat springvale by 36 points copngrats :rolleyes:

More like a 101 excuses

I reckon Springvales reserve grade could put up a more spirited display than the Saints did yesterday

Geez, at least unheralded teams that are rebuilding like Adelaide, Hawthorn and the doggies had a real dip against us

The Saints were like a little boy on a saturday morning before a Under 10's game

"Oh mummy, i scraped my knee. i dont wanna go out and play today"

Mead said:
I have never seen us so deflated as we were at half time- you could see we were all hyped for a huge contest this week, we came out and played brilliant football for a while and watched St Kilda roll over and capitulate virtually before the coin was tossed.

After that we just went to the automatic, 'do enough' mode that has characterised all of our wins at subiaco- once the game is beyond doubt we just cruise to the 4 points. Bloody disappointing from St Kilda, was expecting a good game of footy.

yeah, pretty much a stalemate after half time. Saints were struggling on four cylinders and we only had it in 3rd gear. As with the game against Sydney where we lost momentum after Fletcher was stretchered off, thought the same thing happened yesterday when Embley knocked himself out.

I'm absolutely buggered if I can understand why oppostion teams don't look to cover Fletcher - you'd think they'd have worked it out by now.

The mark of a good team IMO is one that does enough to keep winning even when they're tired and jaded as the Eagles appeared to be.

Black JuJu said:
What's this got to do with Ian Stewart?

well...obviously, there is is a little too much brain power required but seeing as though you dont get it, here let me explain it to you in really simple terms:

1) your pathetic fellow west coast supporter "weagles_fan" put forward the stupid proposition that Wirrapunda is a better player than Robert Harvey.
2) for that too happen, my considered and intelligent fellow saints fan "garth_p" was using the brownlow as a measure of footballing brilliance and suggested that if wirra was better then by that logic he would have to have more than 2 brownlow's hence his reference to 3.

sorry to all other posters, this simple treatment and explanation was required due to the "simpleness" of some people.

st philip said:
well...obviously, there is is a little too much brain power required but seeing as though you dont get it, here let me explain it to you in really simple terms:

1) your pathetic fellow west coast supporter "weagles_fan" put forward the stupid proposition that Wirrapunda is a better player than Robert Harvey.
2) for that too happen, my considered and intelligent fellow saints fan "garth_p" was using the brownlow as a measure of footballing brilliance and suggested that if wirra was better then by that logic he would have to have more than 2 brownlow's hence his reference to 3.

sorry to all other posters, this simple treatment and explanation was required due to the "simpleness" of some people.
That was what almost 10 years ago now?

You also claim that Brownlow wins is a way of saying how good a player is.If this is true you can not dispute Ball is better than Judd now can you?

st philip said:

Ahh I see.

So this also puts to bed the whole Judd v Ball thing.

Cheers.

LOSER.

Black JuJu said:
Ahh I see.

So this also puts to bed the whole Judd v Ball thing.

Cheers.

LOSER.

you really are as stupid as your other supporter...

i have never rated ball above judd, i defy you to find a post where i have said that. furthermore, in my explanation, where do i pass comment on that method of comparison.

you truly are in your own words a loser!

st philip said:
you really are as stupid as your other supporter...

i have never rated ball above judd, i defy you to find a post where i have said that. furthermore, in my explanation, where do i pass comment on that method of comparison.

you truly are in your own words a loser!

No, no, I'm the winner this week. :D

Wah. Wah. Wah.

Brownlows aren't a way of measuring who is a better player, otherwise you would have to give it to Shane if you had a "Silvagni vs. Matthews vs. Carey vs. Woewodin" thread.

Aside from that, Robert Harvey IMO is still a better player than Wirrapunda. When you ask who have been the best few players for the last 10 years a lot of people jump to say "Voss, Buckley, Hird". Fact is, Harvey should be on that list.

weagles_fan said:
That was what almost 10 years ago now?

You also claim that Brownlow wins is a way of saying how good a player is.If this is true you can not dispute Ball is better than Judd now can you?

again, i will re-iterate for you and all others...

firstly, i didnt make that claim, simply explained it for all of you.

secondly, i do not dispute that judd is better than bally (at this point in their career), never have. his season last year was amazing for such a young player.

thirdly, i am very happy with bally right now. the role he plays for us is what we need.

i trust you are now clear on this and my views...

philip

st philip said:
yup, in a footballing sense you are, do disputing that.

just remember, payback is a b i t c h! see you at the dome later in the season.

Pfft you'd have to make the finals for that to happen mate.

At 4-4 I'd be taking it 1 game at a time. ;)

GoSydneySwans said:
Brownlows aren't a way of measuring who is a better player, otherwise you would have to give it to Shane if you had a "Silvagni vs. Matthews vs. Carey vs. Woewodin" thread.

Aside from that, Robert Harvey IMO is still a better player than Wirrapunda. When you ask who have been the best few players for the last 10 years a lot of people jump to say "Voss, Buckley, Hird". Fact is, Harvey should be on that list.

The fact is while Harvey may have had incredible endurance and racked up many possesions, in reality he was never no where as effective with his disposals as Voss or Hird & no where near the goal kicking abilities of Voss and Hird...

The list is Carey, Voss and Hird as the best players of the last 10 years with Buckley and Harvey on the top of list for midfielders who run off their man, take an easy uncontested possesion and more often than not waste it.