No Oppo Supporters Sam Mitchell traded

• Thread starter Thread starter bindas12

Can someone tell me why exactly we're doing this?

Let's look at the scenarios

- Sam goes to West Coast, plays for 2 years. We receive 1st round pick. Everyone is a winner and I suppose I can kind of understand a deal like this (particularly if he comes back after those years to coach with us).

- Sam goes to West Coast, plays for 2 years and we receive a 2nd round pick. Why on earth would we trade our reigning B+F winner for pennies in the dollar? Particularly when his value isn't purely linked to his on-field ability, but also his ability to teach and curate our younger mids?

Graham Wright says we dont need to offload Sam to afford Jaeger and Tom.

Am I missing something?
EXACTLY....
I don't like it and don't make sense for the following reasons:
1) TOM and JOM trades are already negotiated and not happening yet is not due to any salary cap issues - but for other reasons
2) TOM and JOM will be excellent students under SAM for one year and will benefit them and Hawks.
3) Why are we even talking this if we are not getting any benefit out of this. (second round pick is no win for a club champion still playing 22+ games a year)
4) Loved every bit of Hawthorn for their "Family Club" comrade and this is very much going against this. You don't sell your dad to feed your kids how ever old he is. Come on Hawks please explain to me...

This is not becoming any more palatable to me as the day goes on and I really can't understand the sense in it. We are going to get nothing for him it seems and it has no impact on us getting O'Meara or T Mitchell anyway... what is the point? :huh: Sam would walk into an coaching assistant's job anywhere so going there to play for a year doesn't make any difference as far as I can see. Sam was very magnanimous in his comments this morning on radio but that's because he is a smart operator and will make the best of any situation. Whatever way you slice it and dice it still makes no sense to me. We don't have to get every player that says they want to come to us. I mean we are getting Ty Vickery but losing Sam????? It's bonkers!!!! Sometimes I wonder if all this trading stuff is just a big ego trip for the list managers.

EXACTLY....
I don't like it and don't make sense for the following reasons:
4) Loved every bit of Hawthorn for their "Family Club" comrade and this is very much going against this. You don't sell your dad to feed your kids how ever old he is. Come on Hawks please explain to me...

This part is rubbish, sorry.
We've moved guys on before, even great players.
The club's success is what motivates them, not your sense of some rosy tale.

...He represents a key part of who the Hawthorn Football Club are in the last 12 years - professional, intelligent, hard working, and a fierce desire to keep improving.

And this is precisely why he and the club are currently exploring this opportunity.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

This is not becoming any more palatable to me as the day goes on and I really can't understand the sense in it. We are going to get nothing for him it seems and it has no impact on us getting O'Meara or T Mitchell anyway... what is the point? :huh: Sam would walk into an coaching assistant's job anywhere so going there to play for a year doesn't make any difference as far as I can see. Sam was very magnanimous in his comments this morning on radio but that's because he is a smart operator and will make the best of any situation. Whatever way you slice it and dice it still makes no sense to me. We don't have to get every player that says they want to come to us. I mean we are getting Ty Vickery but losing Sam????? It's bonkers!!!! Sometimes I wonder if all this trading stuff is just a big ego trip for the list managers.

I just can't figure it out, mate.

5 x PC winner.

Soon to be a Brownlow Winner.

It's not like his form has dropped ... he's our reigning B+F winner!

And we're about to sell him for steak-knives. Fingers crossed i've assessed this wrong and Graham Wright will pull an early draft pick/something our of the air.

Barret is literal exploding with joy atm on trade radio.

(edit) ...and trying to make much more of this than is there.

Flog!!

Barrett and, to a lesser extent Wallace, keep referring to club this, club that, can't see how it helps Hawthorn. Only explanation is that Hawthorn had to make room for Vickery. (This is sure to make Hawk supporters mad) In fact, there is a human being, his wife and family involved here, gutter man.
You make me sick, Barrett, so full of yourself, especially when you are such a creep of a character.

Yesterday everything seemed right in the world with Jaeger , TOM and Vickery either on their way to Hawthorn or already signing deals...

Today everything has come crashing down with this talk of trading the heart and soul of this club.

What's next? Cyril and Hodgey being packaged in a deal to go play at the cats for Motlop and Mackie????

Goodbye trade week, I will not be dealing with your madness anymore. You have played too many games already with my heart

Everyone's quick to judge Clarko on this, but maybe just maybe it's what Sam wants like Fagan and like Hill, Clarko won't stand in the way of players leaving and coaches too if it's what they really want.!

Just on the coaching thing, there is absolutely no guarantee Sam will be back and coaching Hawthorn as senior coach down the track. That is a few years away and who knows what could happen between now and then, there are no guarantees in life. As I said before, it makes sense for him to leave Hawthorn and get experience as a coach elsewhere if he wants to go into coaching as his career after football but that doesn't mean he will automatically end up back at Hawthorn.

Wo
No worries bumps. Obviously I'm not privy to relationships you have or you have with other posters.
Let's leave aside who knows who and disrespectful posts to all sides of family's and the inner workings of hawthorn, but here's one public point to ponder.......
Smith born in 2010
The twins 2011, so sure in 2-5 years Mitch will return to coach before high school for the kids, let's forget what age that starts to fit people's timelines.

As for ex AFL players not once have I used my information to big note myself here, given the amount of ex AFL people playing or coaching in my local league here in albury, least of all my local coach of north albury in Acker.
But like I said I don't hide behind user names, I'm not privy to any relationships on here but maybe we could leave the personal attacks hidden within code aside and look at things how they are?
Wow pretty amazing how you could possibly find offence in what I have posted. Please show, no hiding here fella.
No code, no offence, just touching base.
Moving on.

This is a pure guess, but I could see something like this having happened.....

Simmo and Clarko catch up recently, and in moment between laughs and smartarse remarks, Simmo has a blinding thought.
He'd already broached the idea with Sammy some 12 months before about making a coaching opening should Mitch get to that point in the next few years, and saw an opportunity.

"Hey Clarko, I'd love to get Mitch across here to WA when he hangs the studs up......in fact I tossed the idea out to number 5 some time back. Don't want it to get to that point and have you feel like I was undercutting you or anything.."

Silence.

Alistaire: "Did Sammy seem interested?
Simmo: "I think I painted a nice enough picture to intrigue him, you know - the weather's good, great place to raise kids, etc.."

In that split second, Clarko sees it all unfolding, and while not angry at either of his two mates - isn't going to be 'buddied' again.

Alistaire: Simmo, "I'm going to chat with Mitch about this - ok? We've got a bunch of planning to do with our list this year, and I'd like to get a feel for how the team might look in 12 months. If you would, let me bring it up with Sam. Don't want him to feel like you two have to conspire or anything because were all great mates first, and you've got to look after your honor or you can't look eachother in the eye next time you want to go fishing together."

And so, Clarko goes away and lets what he has found out percolate.
Thinks about the team, what we need, how we can get where we want to as quickly as possible - even if that means letting a legend go play for a year or two with a competitor.

Next thing you know, your Uncles your Aunty and BF Hawthorn explodes.

This part is rubbish, sorry.
We've moved guys on before, even great players.
The club's success is what motivates them, not your sense of some rosy tale.
You are missing the point. What is "club success" if we are getting a second round for him. And why him if that is the only thing we need. We could have got that with any of our fringe players.

Everyone's quick to judge Clarko on this, but maybe just maybe it's what Sam wants like Fagan and like Hill, Clarko won't stand in the way of players leaving and coaches too if it's what they really want.!

Sam said Clarko suggested the idea to him not the other way around.

You are missing the point. What is "club success" if we are getting a second round for him. And why him if that is the only thing we need. We could have got that with any of our fringe players.

Hahahaha spot on the trade makes absolutely ZERO sense for Hawthorn, if we received a 1st Round draft pick I could fathom as to why we are doing it.