No Oppo Supporters Sam Mitchell traded

• Thread starter Thread starter bindas12

That's right, in saying that the pick we got for such a champ is an insult to Sam, this point is being missed.

Some logic, thank you. To think the club would let a player swan off to another club of their choice without receiving adequate compensation, irrespective of whether that player is a champ, is foolishness.

Exactly right about Kobe. That is what the club has traded away. One of the most beautiful and amazing moments in sport. To say good by after everything is what a family club does.

For Pick 88 we have lost our Kobe moment. We have given up on a flag in the next 2 years, while Sam still has a chance at the eagles. We have created an environment were big name recruits get fat cheques and loyal servants are told to play on scraps or leave. Few of our young players still on the list will be getting lower pay than O'Meara and Mitchell after delivering 3 flags and possibly out performing them.

The small positive is that in 5 years time, Mitchell will be retired and Hawthorn will hopefully be contending for a Flag with the players we were able to bring in this trade period. However all these recruits AND our current young mids (Langford, O'Rourke especially) must take on the mantle and take us to more premierships.

If it doesn't come off we will not even be able to say it was worth trying, It either succeeds or is a disaster.

You do know that the Lakers had their worst finish in their history last year.

That "Kobe moment" cost a 17 and 65 season. No thanks

Really?
I've been posting for 2 days straight it feels like.

I'll do it this way instead.
I won't re-state what they have said and why, and how in general that works ok for me.
Whatever the reason they have, and assuming they NEVER tell it to me, I'm good with it.
Because I have watched those people at our club for the last 10 years and I'm comfortable in trusting the decisions they make based on their conduct, their words, and the results they have achieved.

I absolutely 1 gazillion percent don't think they have just fallen into this situation.
They haven't stuffed anything up.
They haven't been out-plotted by other clubs.
They aren't suffering dementia.
They don't have an alterior motive to secretly screw the club, or destroy the players, or steal money or any other BS you could possibly dream up.

They are shaping our list.
It's one of their primary responsibilities.
I won't make it about me, or the supporters, like we are the most important part in the story.
I hate Sam going, and I will love - to coin an american phrase - opening day next year with the promise of a new dawn.

Whatever Kanga had wanted regarding players coming or going, I would have ridden with.
Whoever Jeansy had told to pack their bags and leave, I would have accepted.
And in the EXACT same luminous exalted status, if Clarko says this is how he wants to shape our team going forward, I will humbly move forward with.

Love you Sammy. It's you, Lethal, Knights and Dunny for my all time best.
Looking forward to adding a new name to that list some time in the next 20-30 years.

Excellent, so you throw an insult at me and then are unable to answer a simple question.

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Yep, Kennedy has won one premiership and lost 2 GF's, McGlynn won none. Meanwhile we won 3 in a row.

I'd say it turned out pretty ok for us, not so much for them.

But I, like you, am shattered about Sammy, on the same page there.
Don't worry about the number of premierships Kennedy has won, worry about the high quality player he has become which we gift wrapped to a team who beat us in our only grand final loss in the past 5 years.

You can think pick 88 was an insult to Sam at age 34 if you want, or you could look at it as Hawks repaying the faith Mitchell showed in them by letting him go for that.

WC don't give the pick to Mitch, they give him a playing contract and coaching contract. He's got guaranteed work for the next 5 years which is security after the last 6 years being 1 year contracts. He's got his pathway into assistant coaching at a good club with resources.

Not sure how that is insulting to Mitch and he'd be the last person to look at it that way I'd think.

too many pages to read, you guys have definately questioned for eagles to give us an old player back? or a serious injured player maybe? nic nat?? hes got a pretty bad injury?

I'm gutted by this decision, but I understand the logic and think it is better for everyone's futures. If he had retired, we would have received nothing other than 1-2 more years of loyal service. The trade gives:
+ potentially O'meara (for cap space)
+ steak knife pick 88
+ space in the midfield to blood more youth

I get that we all love Mitch and romantically wanted him to finish in the Brown and Gold (I was one of them), but we have to wake up and remember that AFL is a ruthless trade. We got Gunston + McEvoy for practically nothing when we got them. This trade involves everyone (except the supporters) gaining something. The value of pick 88 DOES NOT reflect Mitch's value but all parties know that and it is silly to think about the trade in those terms alone.

Also remember we still get father-son, unless he plays at WCE for at least 5 years. I'm still hurt, but remember that if this is the necessary step to another premiership, we should take it. Always Hawthorn.

Words can't describe how I'm feeling right now just heart broken Mitchell was happy to stay for another year yet Clarko had a different idea, this won't sit well with the older group. I'm worried that that the relationship between Clarko and the older boys is somewhat tarnished coz in any workplace environment losing a great bloke that's been around for 15 years because the boss said so I personally would be pissed off and would lose alot of respect for my boss if that happened to one of my workmates. Don't get me wrong I love this club till the day I die but this is a day I won't forget for all the wrong reasons. Good luck Sammy I feel like I lost a brother that gave so much to this football club

I'm gutted by this decision, but I understand the logic and think it is better for everyone's futures. If he had retired, we would have received nothing other than 1-2 more years of loyal service. The trade gives:
+ potentially O'meara (for cap space)
+ steak knife pick 88
+ space in the midfield to blood more youth

I get that we all love Mitch and romantically wanted him to finish in the Brown and Gold (I was one of them), but we have to wake up and remember that AFL is a ruthless trade. We got Gunston + McEvoy for practically nothing when we got them. This trade involves everyone (except the supporters) gaining something. The value of pick 88 DOES NOT reflect Mitch's value but all parties know that and it is silly to think about the trade in those terms alone.

Also remember we still get father-son, unless he plays at WCE for at least 5 years. I'm still hurt, but remember that if this is the necessary step to another premiership, we should take it. Always Hawthorn.

Why does everyone keep saying it frees up space in the Midfield?
We have lost Mitchel and Hill and gained T Mitchell, right now we are one short of being equal but if we land O'Meara then its even and there is no extra room in the midfield, it will hopefully be an upgrade on Hill and an upgrade on Mitchell in terms of age, maybe O'Meara will end up a better player than Sam but that's a long way down the track and seriously big shoes to fill.

Yeah **** this, this isn't right. Really angry and disillusioned at the moment and it will be a while before I am engaged with the football club again I reckon.
Mate feel exactly the same feels like we lost a really special person.I'm afraid there's no quick replacement, they don't come along often.

Why does everyone keep saying it frees up space in the Midfield?
We have lost Mitchel and Hill and gained T Mitchell, right now we are one short of being equal but if we land O'Meara then its even and there is no extra room in the midfield, it will hopefully be an upgrade on Hill and an upgrade on Mitchell in terms of age, maybe O'Meara will end up a better player than Sam but that's a long way down the track and seriously big shoes to fill.
Hartung replaces Hill. JOM potentially replaces Lewis.

A transcript from the Clarko/Sammy conversation.

Knock knock.
Clarko, come in.
Mitch, I wanted to keep you up to date with our plan for 2017. We've realised the list is cooked and we're gonna tank.
Shit, you didn't tell me that 3 months ago when I signed on.
Yeah, sorry mate, but we've got a back up plan for you. The Weagles will have a crack next year and Simmo's happy to pay you. Might be better than watching this train wreck.
But Duck said I wouldn't get a game anywhere else?
It's all sorted mate, don't worry.
What about the other boys?
We told Hodgey, Gibbo and Silk before we resigned them on minimum coin. They're cool with teaching the new kids not to be Melbourne. Hodgey's going to set a record for most barrels in a season. Lewey's stitched something up with Fages to help us get JOM, but Fages said we had to drum up some interest from other clubs so he could sell it to the Lions board as legit.
What else you gonna chuck in for JOM?
Bunch of crap probably. They don't want our future first rounder, which will probably end up pick 4 or something, so will send Billy, Poppy and Swiss up North and the Suns and Lions can divide it up between them.
Am I still good to come back in 2022 as Senior Coach?
I'm getting old mate, I'm gonna need you by '21, so shipping off a year early to WCE should work out.
Sweet, thanks mate. Well I'm all good to sign up, with one last proviso.
Yeah, name it mate.
Don't play that Tom Mitchell on me next year, bloke's like a bad rash. And don't give him my number.
Done Mitch. Pleasure as always.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Don't worry about the number of premierships Kennedy has won, worry about the high quality player he has become which we gift wrapped to a team who beat us in our only grand final loss in the past 5 years.
Yeah, and we got Stratten and Suckling from those deals.

Not trying to argue with you on it as it's not invalid what you're saying but we moved on pretty ok post Kennedy and will again.

What's a very good player with potentially one year left worth trade pick wise?
It's an unusual situation but the club seems happy, Mitch seems happy, his family seem happy
and more importantly I'm happy!

Oh, and they paid stupid money to Kobe who many nights couldn't get off the bench with all the ice strapped to his shoulders and his knees.

Until Kobe's very last game, it was an unmitigated disaster as any Laker fan will tell you and no-one knows when it's effects might end.

Horrible, horrible comparison.
Try again if you must, but the Lakers franchise handling of Kobe's twilight is a testament to everything you don't want to do in professional sports.

Kobe played every game he was listed for, sways starting, not sure about your couldn't get off the bench comment? I went to LA and saw three of his lst games this year to savour his memory (missed his last game by one day, brutal I know).

Not sure how you can say bad drafting? Russell and Ingram will both be all stars for their career, and the other core of randel, nance and Clarkson is very strong.

Lakers issue was trading to future first round picks for Nash, whom barely played and we still lose this year if we finish outside bottom 3. Kobe's contract had no bearing on lakers hitting the second bottom of he ladder, it was bound to happen after back to back championships and nearly 10 years of trading first round picks for vets to keep the run going.

Kobe played every game he was listed for, sways starting, not sure about your couldn't get off the bench comment? I went to LA and saw three of his lst games this year to savour his memory (missed his last game by one day, brutal I know).

Not sure how you can say bad drafting? Russell and Ingram will both be all stars for their career, and the other core of randel, nance and Clarkson is very strong.

Lakers issue was trading to future first round picks for Nash, whom barely played and we still lose this year if we finish outside bottom 3. Kobe's contract had no bearing on lakers hitting the second bottom of he ladder, it was bound to happen after back to back championships and nearly 10 years of trading first round picks for vets to keep the run going.

And how did Kobe jacking up 3's all year help develop Russell?

Because as a point guard he will be setting up his shooting guard for his career, regardless if the shooting guard makes the shot?

Regardless, it's silly to say a shooting guard shooting hindered the development of a point guard, especially when that shooting guard is the second best in the history of the NBA.

It's all in the mental aspect of the game, he gave him some tips on abusing teammates, how to get your fellow superstar and all time great kicked off the team because you don't like them, and some even better tips on threatening to leave the team because his fellow superstar got booted and they weren't that good for a while. His atrocious shooting decisions were just the tip of the cake, I'm sure every Lakers fan was thrilled to see Kobe's decaying corpse on the court while they finished last.