Russ74

I have resisted the temptation since last night. I have tried to talk myself around....... only 1 game, 21 to go all that stuff. I get sick of the cliche that we are the quickest to turn and eat our own, but for gods sake the bleeding obvious is staring us in the face.

There are people in major positions at our club that are totally inept. lets look at the departments.

Coaching.

Wallace- Modern footy has passed Terry by. He has spun that much crap over the years I'm not sure he even believes himself. Needs to go.

Royal- If the fruits of his 4 and a bit years labour is our skill level then I would suggest he has done a terrible job.

Rawlings- This guys in charge of our development at Coburg? Heaven help us.

King- Too arrogant to get out of his own way. Would he ever admit things are poor?

Campbell- Jury still out but a shocking start last night. Smashed in the middle.

Recruiting.

Laughing stock of the AFL. Yeah we could have Pavlich and Franklin running around. Cotchin was the bleeding obvious that even we couldnt stuff up. Cant we target someone with a track record?

Medical.

Putting Ben back on last night. Enough said. Someone must be held accountable.

Finally the board must be held responsible. They appoint these guys.

Yeah I might be over the top. Bloody hell last night hurt. Hard to see the majority of players showing no passion or spark. Then even harder that Terry didnt come out steaming.

Some points I agree on strongly mate ,but lets give it to half way to the season and then see.That performance last night was shocking by the whole Richmond footy club and a disgrace for members and supporters.All we ask is a effort and we didnt even get that.Mind you on the back off record membership,new sponsors and the hype in the preseason.The following a points I'm not happy with

-Why wasnt Moore started on Fev eventhrough he had no impact why did Wallace make that stupid decsion I would have thought that's the automatic selection for round 1.

-We lack heart,aggresion,and football brains in the first the quarter when the game went up a notch our midfield went in there shells and were no were to be seen and Carltons kids embarassed them.

- Nothing new we are our own worst enemy.Our skills and kicking is below VFL level and you woulnt even seen some of the stuff last night in the local comp.How can these guys play afl and still be on our list when they cant even do the most important thing in footy and thats to kick a footy to teamates and not turn it over!! oe evn a kick in.At the end of the day the buck stops with Terry because if these guys cant do the above well what has beein happening the last 5 years and preseason.

-Wallace needs to stop having faith in guys who continue to let him down.They are going to bring him down.Bowden,Jordy etc are not in our best 22 and if the Wallace thinks they are, well he needs a reality check.They commit silly mistakes time and time again and kill us.Polo ,Rance and Thomo all had great preseasons why werent they in the team last night I would rather see them then guys who are not going to change.

What do you expect when the club continues to make the same mistakes come draft period and selection week every year? We should have a finals side by now, but thanks to very poor recruiting in 2004-2005 we are back to the drawing board. We have found 1 genuine 22 player out of those 2 drafts, it is a disgrace. Our whole list management process needs to change, and I have been against Wallace ever since early last year. Time to get a fresh young up and coming coach.

As I've said I think Damien Hardwick fits the bill. Tough player, played in 2 successful sides and cultures, is involved in arguably the best development side in the competition that has also tasted success. What I like most about him is the story about when he went for the Essendon gig, and basically told them that the list was rubbish and needed several years before it could win flags. Knights thought differently and got the job. Essendon are going to be bottom 4 this year no worries. Hardwick would know what it will take to develop the list to become a premiership chance, and he would ensure the culture of unprofessionalism that is rampant at the club is stamped out.

What do you expect when the club continues to make the same mistakes come draft period and selection week every year? We should have a finals side by now, but thanks to very poor recruiting in 2004-2005 we are back to the drawing board. We have found 1 genuine 22 player out of those 2 drafts, it is a disgrace. Our whole list management process needs to change, and I have been against Wallace ever since early last year. Time to get a fresh young up and coming coach.

As I've said I think Damien Hardwick fits the bill. Tough player, played in 2 successful sides and cultures, is involved in arguably the best development side in the competition that has also tasted success. What I like most about him is the story about when he went for the Essendon gig, and basically told them that the list was rubbish and needed several years before it could win flags. Knights thought differently and got the job. Essendon are going to be bottom 4 this year no worries. Hardwick would know what it will take to develop the list to become a premiership chance, and he would ensure the culture of unprofessionalism that is rampant at the club is stamped out.

You're all over it lately Beaver, well done champ. Mostly don't disagree with anything you say. :thumbsu:

No, but at least he could his facts straight. Shane Tuck is 27, Pettifer is 27, Moore is 26 by April, Coughlan is 27 by April. There goes all creditability, he has no idea.

And started my thoughts that, this guy actually does have some idea, and ...

One thing Tigers and their list management staff have to consider, is that without good team performances and winning results, their older players won't be retained.

The issue for the Tiges, is not so much the fact that they have older players on their list that they rely on, but the best incentive for these players to keep playing, and the Match Committee to keep playing them, is to have a winning record over the season and at least getting to the finals. So another non-finals finish for the Tigers might, hypothetically, see 3 of your 5(?) 30+ year olds retire, thus setting you back to the proverbial 'square one'.

OR; Getting to the finals, would make it more likely to see less retirees, and see 0 or 1 of these 5 retiring, allowing the rest of the list to mature under their guidance, whilst giving unexperienced players on the bigger stages some finals game time. This could encourage Brown, Richo etc. to play out careers like Rob Harvey and really must be at the forefront of the Tigers aspirations this year. For whatever its worth, I would suggest that the Tiges should adopt a Malthouse like 'immediate success' gameplan just to encourage the older players to hang around, and see if they can patch up some decent recruiting since 2006 or 2007 to really build on the young talent they already have.

:thumbsu:

Top post.

Hardwick will be a gun coach - his honesty cost him the Bombers gig.

I'd hate to lose him from Hawthorn though... :(

FFS it's only Rnd 1!

I'm as disappointed as the next Tigerhead, but a proper assessment can't be made till after Rnd 8.

Right now it's time to regroup, not eat our own.

Go Tigers.

Head up lads...although I enjoyed last night you shouldn't over-react on one game.

Just one of those nights where all seemed to be going wrong for you guys. Even that cockroach McLaren didn't hammer us like usual. FWIW - still believe you'll finish Top 8 and will probably rebound to give the Pussies a hard time next week.

Wallace probably needs to go but not sure who's best for you moving forward. Perhaps it's time to do as Carlton have done and fill the club with die-hard Tigers....it does help the morale and spirit of the place as long as right person is brought in.

why wasnt thursfield on fev and bowden at CHB, these players are good at these positions and should be played there. having players on training wheels like mcguane and dudley moore is a sure way to lose.

Head up lads...although I enjoyed last night you shouldn't over-react on one game.

Just one of those nights where all seemed to be going wrong for you guys. Even that cockroach McLaren didn't hammer us like usual. FWIW - still believe you'll finish Top 8 and will probably rebound to give the Pussies a hard time next week.

Wallace probably needs to go but not sure who's best for you moving forward. Perhaps it's time to do as Carlton have done and fill the club with die-hard Tigers....it does help the morale and spirit of the place as long as right person is brought in.
Yeah Tiges, surely it's time you follow Carlton's blueprint for success....

You mentioned the board is reponsible.

Do you think it is time for Garry to March?

Who would take over?

Gary wouldn't have any say with what goes on with on-field issues. He is completely there for managing financial issues, sponsors, etc. He has done a good job in my opinion but as for Wallet, when he goes it will be a very good day.