Sacramento Kings
I just watched Centrals Vs Westies on ABC and I will try to give a bit of info on players that are aligned to Crows for those loyal interstate supporters.

It was a very much one sided affair with Centrals winning 110 to 40.

Daniel Schell (Central District)

Started like a house on fire and overall played OK. He took some really good marks including a screamer in 4th quarter that Birdman would have been proud of. However his kicking has let him down BADLY. He ended up kicking 3.7 for the day. Fair Dinkum even I could have kicked better. About 5 of those 7 behinds were VERY easy shots including a couple from 25 meters directly in front. He marked well and really presenting himself well especially in the first half where he could have kicked 6. His skills below his knees were non exsistent as usul but he did fight hard to keep the ball in the forward line.

Ben Rutten (West Adelaide)

Not the best game I have seen him play but was certainly one of very few players that used it well when they got it. Ben played for majority of the game at CHF and provided a contest when the ball was in his area (which was not very often). He took a couple really good pack marks. We all agree that he is not the quickest player we have seen but one of the things that REALLY impresses me is his clean pick ups off the ground. His skills below his knees are very good. He reads the play well and and if didn't mark it he buttered up by picking up his own crumbs and finding a target with his hanballs. He went to CHB at the start of 2nd quarter and did a couple of good things before being moved back to CHF at the start of 4th quarter.

Its not the best game I have seen him play but he tried all day. He did a lot of chasing and harrassing in the forward line. He layed a lot of tackles but only about 50% of them were effective. One of only a handful of players that used their possesions well.

Jason Porplyzia - Rookie (West Adelaide)

I like this little fella. He played in the backline today and was just about one of the Westies best players. He provided a bit of run from defence and used the ball really well. He's got a beautiful kick and reads the play well. Doesn't mind the tought stuff and in his cameo performance in the middle you could always find him amongst it in packs. This kid looks good.

Draft Watch

Adam Cooney (West Adelaide)

There is no doubt this kid will be drafted this year. He is a good size (probably a bit like Stenglein only a bit bulkier) and has a good pace. He has beautiful skills. He did have about 3-4 clangers where he turned the ball over by kicking it to his opponent, but his reading of the play and and physical approach is very good. He started in the backlines, then moved up forward, then went onto the wing, and finished up at HB flank. It looks like he likes it tough. He layed a solid hip and shoulder on Ben Walton which sent him to LA LA Land for some good 5 minutes. He looks to be a perfect tall wingman but can also play at either end of the ground. One query is that he doesn't appear to have a left foot but he doesn't get him self in situations where he has to use it.

Adam would have been drafted last year but was too young. Expect him to go late 1st to mid 2nd round in the draft. If my memory serves me correctly he was U18 AA last year. Shaun Rehn has played him in all league games this year and I would suggest that by seasons end he will be very comfortable against man which would suggest he is a chance for AFL footy in 2004. Physically he is ready. Certainly an interesting player.

Originally posted by PAfolwr
How did the Port boys go?

Dom Cassissi was very good but he seemed to be puffing really hard towards the end of 3rd quarter. He picked up a lot of the ball and used it well. He played a good game.

Paul Kolouriotis got a bit of the ball but fair dinkum that guys cannot kick. He didn't kick to a target all day and his handballs hardly hit a man. Poor game from him.

Thanks Stiffy.
There seems to be a bit of a conspiracy theory regarding Westies and Port players going around.
With Cassisi apparently not good enough to be in the starting 18, there will be more fuel to add to the fire.

I've only seen Koula play a couple of times (and a while ago at that), but I do recall thinking the same about his disposals then.
Looks like nothing has changed, and he really is on his last legs.

Thanks Stiffy.
There seems to be a bit of a conspiracy theory regarding Westies and Port players going around.
With Cassisi apparently not good enough to be in the starting 18, there will be more fuel to add to the fire.

I've only seen Koula play a couple of times (and a while ago at that), but I do recall thinking the same about his disposals then.
Looks like nothing has changed, and he really is on his last legs.

You are welcome mate!!!!!!

Cassissi did start on the bench and spent a bit of time there in the 3rd quarter for a spell. Koula started on the ground on HF flank and then played on the wing a bit. He got a bit of the ball (not huge amount) but not once did he use it to advantage.

Cassissi was definetly in Westiies best players. Koula on the other hand was a big disappointed for a player taken with pick 12 in the draft. I wouldn't be surprised if Koula goes back to reserves not because he didn't get the ball its because he wasted every single possesion he had.

Schuback might take his place in seniors as he has got a bit of match fittnes now.:D

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
Paul Kolouriotis got a bit of the ball but fair dinkum that guys cannot kick. He didn't kick to a target all day and his handballs hardly hit a man. Poor game from him.

It's nice to see you said 'guys' there as I've seen more variations of 'Koulouriotis' (that's K-O-U-L-O-U-R-I-O-T-I-S) than William Shakespeare put on his name... I suppose when you get the right one, he's good, but when you don't, nothing quite fits together.

When Koula comes out to kick with me at one of my three ovals in the front yard, I believe you'll see bad disposals. Until then, I suggest you look at your own squad before criticising ours.

Cassissi was definetly in Westiies best players. Koula on the other hand was a big disappointed for a player taken with pick 12 in the draft. I wouldn't be surprised if Koula goes back to reserves not because he didn't get the ball its because he wasted every single possesion he had.

Schuback might take his place in seniors as he has got a bit of match fittnes now.:D

Be nice to see Schuback back in the seniors, however Koula doesn't fit in the reserves, nor at Westies. I still hold that there should be one side for Crows reserves and another side for Power as mixing the two causes players to miss out like this.

Originally posted by koulagirl22
I still hold that there should be one side for Crows reserves and another side for Power as mixing the two causes players to miss out like this.
That I agree with, but I don't think that Stiffy's review of Cassisi and Koula can be put down as picking on a Port player just for the sake of it.

......Until then, I suggest you look at your own squad before criticising ours.

Someone is fuc|<ing touchy. PAfowlr has asked me of my view I gave my opinion. If you actually look at his football skills instead of his looks you could actually see that his disposal left a lot to be desired today. Did I critisese Cassissi?????? I don't think so thats because he played a good game and gave his heart out on the field. He covered tremendous amout of ground which is more than I can say for your Koula. Even blind freddy could see that his disposal was shocking and if he keeps playing like that he will not be at Port Adelaide next year or in the AFL for that matter. There are 2 types of critisisam, constructive and bagging. I think my was consteructive but if you take yor head out of the cloud you would see that.

I certainly don't rate footballers on how they look. I rate them on what they show on the field and what I saw from your precious Koula out there today was not what you would expect from an AFL listed player that was taken as the number 12 pick in the national draft.

So grow up and see things as they are not as you would like them to be. I would love for Daniel Schell, Ben Marsh and Ben Nelson to be superstars of the AFL but it ain't gonna happen

:mad:

Someone is fuc|<ing touchy. PAfowlr has asked me of my view I gave my opinion. If you actually look at his football skills instead of his looks you could actually see that his disposal left a lot to be desired today. Did I critisese Cassissi?????? I don't think so thats because he played a good game and gave his heart out on the field. He covered tremendous amout of ground which is more than I can say for your Koula. Even blind freddy could see that his disposal was shocking and if he keeps playing like that he will not be at Port Adelaide next year or in the AFL for that matter. There are 2 types of critisisam, constructive and bagging. I think my was consteructive but if you take yor head out of the cloud you would see that.

I certainly don't rate footballers on how they look. I rate them on what they show on the field and what I saw from your precious Koula out there today was not what you would expect from an AFL listed player that was taken as the number 12 pick in the national draft.

So grow up and see things as they are not as you would like them to be. I would love for Daniel Schell, Ben Marsh and Ben Nelson to be superstars of the AFL but it ain't gonna happen

:mad:

:mad: If I actually watched the game I'd debate this with you. Having seen only part of the match I disagree and think you're biased against him.

I certainly don't rate footballers on how they look either. What I see from "my precious" is an evil that must be destroyed by the fires of Mt Doom, "in the land of Mordor where the Shadows lie". I doubt blind Freddy would have seen a thing and I daresay that when you look at Schell's 3.7 (missing from set shots included) you have stuff to work on as well, which is what I was referring to.

I suggest you grow up instead. While Koula may not meet your high expectations, he is certainly doing well enough considering his history, and considering his position in the Westies squad.

That I agree with, but I don't think that Stiffy's review of Cassisi and Koula can be put down as picking on a Port player just for the sake of it.

I wasn't saying that. I was commenting on Schuback missing out while Koula played whereas they're both AFL players and at standards where they both should play league matches.

...However his kicking has let him down BADLY. He ended up kicking 3.7 for the day. Fair Dinkum even I could have kicked better. About 5 of those 7 behinds were VERY easy shots including a couple from 25 meters directly in front.

Koulagirl if this is not critisisam I don't know what is. :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

I suggest you grow up instead. While Koula may not meet your high expectations, he is certainly doing well enough considering his history, and considering his position in the Westies squad.
It still doesn't change the fact that he has had another game where his disposal has let him down.
Should really stop taking it personally everytime somebody says that he had a bad game.

I watched the game too Stiffy and fair dinkum, strike me pink or any other KGism that you like, that Daniel Schell is a disgraceful kick for goal isn't he??

As you quite rightly said he got a fair bit of it fed to him in a very one sided game, but he has zero ability below the knees.

Porplyzia was very good. Pace and skills and read it well. As you said he used the ball very well. He 'll be pushing for a spot on the list at the end of the year if he keeps that sort of form going.

I liked Rutten's game. He played both CHB and cHF and can hold his head up a lot higher than some of his teammates. At this stage I'd have to say that I prefer him in defence.

As for the two Port boys

Cassisi was very good. His stint with the Power showed out IMO. He worked his arse off and used the ball well.

At the risk of physical attack from Koulagirl, and I must stress that I would rather not upset her, but I have to tell the truth, Koulouriotis was very very ordinary. He doesn't even look a footballer, and everything that Stiffy said is spot on. I'll be amazed if he isn't delisted at the end of this year.

Originally posted by macca23
At the risk of physical attack from Koulagirl, and I must stress that I would rather not upset her, but I have to tell the truth, Koulouriotis was very very ordinary. He doesn't even look a footballer, and everything that Stiffy said is spot on. I'll be amazed if he isn't delisted at the end of this year.

Careful there mate. I already copped a screenful:D

I watched the game too Stiffy and fair dinkum, strike me pink or any other KGism that you like, that Daniel Schell is a disgraceful kick for goal isn't he??

I would rather Ian Perrie of 3 years ago kick for goal than Daniel Schell if my life depended on it. This says plenty.:D

Geez, what a choice that would be!!! You would have been a dead man either way!!! :D

I missed commenting on Cooney before. He is a very good youngster isn't he, He would probably have been a 2nd round draft pick this year after making the AA side except for being too young, and is a certainty to be a sought after draft pick at the end of this year.

Geez, what a choice that would be!!! You would have been a dead man either way!!! :D

I missed commenting on Cooney before. He is a very good youngster isn't he, He would probably have been a 2nd round draft pick this year after making the AA side except for being too young, and is a certainty to be a sought after draft pick at the end of this year.

Dead man walking huh??????:D

Yeah Cooney definetly looks the goods. He made some mistakes under pressure but that is understandable for 18 playing his 3rd senior game. He has got a nice size about him and really beautiful disposal. Reads the play well and just knows where the ball will land.

One very interesting thing that I noticed today is that both Cooney and Porplyzia were trusted with kick in duties tody. Rehny really trusts their kicking and honestly I don't blame him. Cooney did waste a few though

I just watched Centrals Vs Westies on ABC and I will try to give a bit of info on players that are aligned to Crows for those loyal interstate supporters.

It was a very much one sided affair with Centrals winning 110 to 40.

Started like a house on fire and overall played OK. He took some really good marks including a screamer in 4th quarter that Birdman would have been proud of. However his kicking has let him down BADLY. He ended up kicking 3.7 for the day. Fair Dinkum even I could have kicked better. About 5 of those 7 behinds were VERY easy shots including a couple from 25 meters directly in front. He marked well and really presenting himself well especially in the first half where he could have kicked 6. His skills below his knees were non exsistent as usul but he did fight hard to keep the ball in the forward line.

Ben Rutten (West Adelaide)

Not the best game I have seen him play but was certainly one of very few players that used it well when they got it. Ben played for majority of the game at CHF and provided a contest when the ball was in his area (which was not very often). He took a couple really good pack marks. We all agree that he is not the quickest player we have seen but one of the things that REALLY impresses me is his clean pick ups off the ground. His skills below his knees are very good. He reads the play well and and if didn't mark it he buttered up by picking up his own crumbs and finding a target with his hanballs. He went to CHB at the start of 2nd quarter and did a couple of good things before being moved back to CHF at the start of 4th quarter.

Its not the best game I have seen him play but he tried all day. He did a lot of chasing and harrassing in the forward line. He layed a lot of tackles but only about 50% of them were effective. One of only a handful of players that used their possesions well.

Sounds to me like if we could combine Schell & Rutten we would have one perfect player!

k
xx

Wow! You spelt his name right! Are you sure we have the same guy?

It still doesn't change the fact that he has had another game where his disposal has let him down.
Should really stop taking it personally everytime somebody says that he had a bad game.

:cool: I don't take it personally. I'm not being attacked for every mistake I make, and ignored when I don't make them.

I'll back Stiffy up having watched the game also Koula found the ball well enough across half-forward but just blazed away and he continually turned it over.
Also agree with Stiffy that Casissi played a good game and worked hard just let himself down missing a couple of set shots.

Just a side note i think Hasan from Westies looks like a good player.