SANFL Round 19

• Thread starter Thread starter Drummond

PerthCrow said:
I said this in another thread, but maybe Perrie feels more comfy playing with his AFC mates and not the '' hey you in the Roosters jumper'' teammates.
Mate, he's done for this year. To be honest he's lucky to be playing in the seniors.

Skippy's 6 this week is about as relevant to the AFC as Schells 11 last week. If the big hearted but physically/skillfully challenged Skippy gets a game ahead of the likes of Knights and even Douglas then Craigy has taken his eye of the long term picture.

PerthCrow said:
You also say Meesen is a gun and Clarke should be dropped... and I am meant to take everything you say as truth?
Mate, RoosterLad, neddy36 and I have seen him play 3 weeks on the trot, and we all have said he is way, way off the standard required to play AFL. But hey, don't take anything we say as truth.

Drummond said:
Mate, RoosterLad, neddy36 and I have seen him play 3 weeks on the trot, and we all have said he is way, way off the standard required to play AFL. But hey, don't take anything we say as truth.
Do you agree some people play better at a higher level.

Do you also agree Perrie is estranged from his Rooster teammates due to his AFL career?

I see this as an issue and I cant see away around it apart from designating one night a week as SANFL training night.

kirky said:
I agree don't think Skippy will be ahead of the youngsters (Knights and Douglas) but he will put the pressure on to ensure that they play their best game.

Saw Craigy at the match, sitting under the scoreboard (well he was at halftime).

The way Skipworth played today, I wouldn't mind him staying in the green, gold and blue for a while. :D He was one of many great players today.

SpringChoke said:
Skippy's 6 this week is about as relevant to the AFC as Schells 11 last week. If the big hearted but physically/skillfully challenged Skippy gets a game ahead of the likes of Knights and even Douglas then Craigy has taken his eye of the long term picture.
Garbage. Skippy would have to be the most unlucky player on our list this year. He has been in great form and on the verge of selection every week and when there was a spot for him, he would get injured. I am reasonably confident that Skippy will be around next year. If it wasn't for that injury in the PS cup, Skippy would have played most of the games for the Crows this year. He will never be a star but he is a solid AFL player.

PerthCrow said:
Do you agree some people play better at a higher level.

Do you also agree Perrie is estranged from his Rooster teammates due to his AFL career?

I see this as an issue and I cant see away around it apart from designating one night a week as SANFL training night.
You make a good point but you have to understand that Perrie is not a natural footballer and he takes longer to get his touch back than most players.

His touch is simply not there. He is fumbling, dropping marks and making dumb decisions. I can't see that changing at all if he gets back to the crows. IMHO, he is MILES away and watching him to day was painful. I like Sarge and I think we have missed him this year but if he was to get back into the side, at this point in time he would be a liability. Whether or not he gets back into the side will depend on his touch and the injury/suspension of other key forwards in the side.

At this stage he is a fair way away IMHO.

Stiffy_18 said:
You make a good point but you have to understand that Perrie is not a natural footballer and he takes longer to get his touch back than most players.

His touch is simply not there. He is fumbling, dropping marks and making dumb decisions. I can't see that changing at all if he gets back to the crows. IMHO, he is MILES away and watching him to day was painful. I like Sarge and I think we have missed him this year but if he was to get back into the side, at this point in time he would be a liability. Whether or not he gets back into the side will depend on his touch and the injury/suspension of other key forwards in the side.

From the bits and pieces I saw of the game Stiffy, that would be spot on. He really did look out of touch and as you say, he's not a natural footballer.

IMO he'll only play again this year if injuries dictate.

Just on Skippy, you are right Stiffy. His form demands that he not get delisted, and he's never under-performed in the few games he has had this year.

The danger for him though is that he really has to be behind Knights and Douglas in the pecking order next year, so surely he will only be a back up type of player.

Given that we have to delist at least 3 players, and nobody else jumps into mind other than Clarke (retired) and Jericho, if it's not Skippy who goes then who is it?

Craig did say a few weeks ago that we are going to have to delist players that don't deserve it, and it looks like he will be right.

Oi you guys are all losers if you don't think Richie should play, I reckon if he played 1 game next year he would win the brownlow, because he would play that good they would just give him the brownlow on the spot

Stiffy_18 said:

Adelaide has some problems! ......It has players currently out of the side it would dearly like in BUT Craig needs to go into the finals with as settled a side as possible.

The Stevens/Bock scenario is intrigueing.....which way will Craig go? Bock is a backman and any thought of making him a forward in a finals campaign will be very dangerous to our flag aspirations. So do we leave Bock out and keep Stevens at CHB which current form suggests is the thing to do or go with the clubs preferred option of Bock at CHB (to matchup on Hall, Reiwoldt...)

Perrie would normally be an automatic, however on current SANFL form he would be a huge risk and he would be displacing someone playing better than he.

Big guys do take a long time to come back from injury but also I doubt Perrie has ever played a decent game nevermind a good game for any of his SANFL clubs....he seems to have a mental issue with going back to local footy?

Stiffy_18 said:
Garbage. Skippy would have to be the most unlucky player on our list this year. He has been in great form and on the verge of selection every week and when there was a spot for him, he would get injured. I am reasonably confident that Skippy will be around next year. If it wasn't for that injury in the PS cup, Skippy would have played most of the games for the Crows this year. He will never be a star but he is a solid AFL player.

Rubbish. Let's face it, Skippy isn't an AFL player. He is not damageing enough to play the small forward role and is he is too slow/not skilful/not aggressive enough to make it as a midfielder. Big hearted yes, but if the likes of Skippy get a game ahead of the youngsters in 2007 then we are going nowhere as a club.

SpringChoke said:
Rubbish. Let's face it, Skippy isn't an AFL player. He is not damageing enough to play the small forward role and is he is too slow/not skilful/not aggressive enough to make it as a midfielder. Big hearted yes, but if the likes of Skippy get a game ahead of the youngsters in 2007 then we are going nowhere as a club.
100% agree ....cannot support mediocrity and Skippy has got as much out of his ability as possibly could...unfortunately wasn't good enough with more naturally talented players coming thru

I doesn't matter if Skippy isn't talented enough because ATM we are looking for players who can come straight into the side and do a good job becuase we are in premiership mode. Skippy can do a better job than Knights/Douglas and should be given the nod ahead of them. Also he has proven that he can do a good solid job at AFL level.

SpringChoke said:
You also spat the dummy in similar fashin when it came to Doughty, Shirley, Massie and Stevens not that long ago. Are they not AFL player as well?

These players fall in the same category. In other words, they are 2nd tier players where quite possibly they will have a very good year one year and have an average year after that. Massie's 2003 season was very solid. His 2004 was below average. His 2005 was good in SANFL but couldn't get a regular spot in the AFL side. Look at him this year. He has played some really good football.

Fringe players will ALWAYS fight each other for spots in the team and whether or no they play AFL will be determined purely by luck or injuries. Skippy's pre-season has been VERY VERY good and if it wasn't for that injury in the PS cup he would have played most of the games for the Crows this year. When he was ready to come back, another 2nd tier took his spot and wasn't going to let it go. Same way Skippy took his spot last year and didn't let anyone have a sniff.

IMHO, Skippy has been very unlucky not to play games this year. The fact that he has been an emergency every time he has been fit (other than a couple of games he played for us) suggests that the AFC see him as an important player and one that won't be delisted.

Just ask West Coast fans what they thought of Rowan Jones last year and look at him now ;)

Stiffy_18 said:
You also spat the dummy in similar fashin when it came to Doughty, Shirley, Massie and Stevens not that long ago. Are they not AFL player as well?

These players fall in the same category. In other words, they are 2nd tier players where quite possibly they will have a very good year one year and have an average year after that. Massie's 2003 season was very solid. His 2004 was below average. His 2005 was good in SANFL but couldn't get a regular spot in the AFL side. Look at him this year. He has played some really good football.

Fringe players will ALWAYS fight each other for spots in the team and whether or no they play AFL will be determined purely by luck or injuries. Skippy's pre-season has been VERY VERY good and if it wasn't for that injury in the PS cup he would have played most of the games for the Crows this year. When he was ready to come back, another 2nd tier took his spot and wasn't going to let it go. Same way Skippy took his spot last year and didn't let anyone have a sniff.

IMHO, Skippy has been very unlucky not to play games this year. The fact that he has been an emergency every time he has been fit (other than a couple of games he played for us) suggests that the AFC see him as an important player and one that won't be delisted.
Excellent points Stiffy. The more I think about it the more I realise Skippy is less of a chance at getting delisted. Whether or not any of us would delist him is irrelevant. You would have to think how NC thinks and I believe he would acknowledge Skippy's bad luck and reward his consistency in the SANFL with another contract.

Yes, next year he should be in the pecking order behind Knights. If you look at the way NC has eased the kids into AFL then I would suggest (if Skippy is retained) that he would at least start the year ahead of Douglas though, simply because Douglas has never played AFL. I have no doubt Douglas will be a star. I've been very impressed with him on the ol' ABC2 but Skipworth's SANFL form has been remarkable at various stages of this year.

Sure, we could look at scope for improvement and nearly every other player on our list craps on Skippy...but I also thought the same thing about a number of players who are regulars in our side now.

In next years pre season it might be Massie who gets a 1-2 week injury only for Skippy to take his place and not let go of it, which is EXACTLY what he did in 2005 and exactly what Massie has done this year.

Total Power said:
According to Ford Fairlane, he took a few contested marks last week at CHB and had 17 odd possesions.Thats very good for a CHB.I reckon we just have to wait and see.Some kids however are **** at SANFL but play really well at AFL level.Richmonds Dean Polo is a good example

Who did Dean Polo play for in the SANFL??

Stiffy_18 said:

Disagree Stiffy....yes the PS injury hurt but Craig HAD TO introduce new players into the side this year or we would be in real trouble in the future.

The club has regurely been placed in a situation this year of choosing between a good steady performer and blooding the stars of tomorrow - unfortunately for Skippy but fortunately for the club they chose to play Knights, Vince and Porplyzia.

Skippy was an important experienced backup player this year but the 3 players mentioned above will overtake him next year in on-field abilities making him redundant with his spot opening up for another possible Crows longtermer.

Stiffy_18 said:

Just ask West Coast fans what they thought of Rowan Jones last year and look at him now ;)

I see your point Stiff but I don't entirely agree with it. However, I agree the likes of Doughty, Reilly, Bode, Massie, Shirley have been good this year AT TIMES but let's see how they go under finals pressure before we start singing their praises.

Just out of interest how are you going to blood Pfeiffer, Maric, Douglas etc? Surely you won't wait until 2008 when the big 4 are on their last legs?

SpringChoke said:
Just out of interest how are young going to blood the likes of Pfeiffer, Maric, Douglas etc? Surely you won't wait untril 2008 when the big 4 are on their last legs?
Watching Bode today and knowing the pressure ( from this board) that he is under, its interesting Porplyzia is also playing. Bode has 2 so far( half time) and Porplyzia limited game time

On your other question, maybe they will demand to be picked and others are developing nicely. I think whatever occurs this year , we will see Maric play more time ( Clarke retiring) and then it is up to Meesen to play well and Biglands to struggle before a change is affected, slowly of course.

Douglas will get more game time and Pfeiffer will have to demand game time through SANFL form. Making it to the AFL is one thing...wanting to stay there is the hard part

PerthCrow said:
Watching Bode today and knowing the pressure ( from this board) that he is under, its interesting Porplyzia is also playing. Bode has 2 so far( half time) and Porplyzia limited game time

On your other question, maybe they will demand to be picked and others are developing nicely. I think whatever occurs this year , we will see Maric play more time ( Clarke retiring) and then it is up to Meesen to play well and Biglands to struggle before a change is affected, slowly of course.

Douglas will get more game time and Pfeiffer will have to demand game time through SANFL form. Making it to the AFL is one thing...wanting to stay there is the hard part

I don't think we can go with our normal slowly/slowly approach next year. We really have to fast track a few of the kids so at least 2, preferably 3 of Maric/Knights/Pfeiffer/Douglas/Gibson/Vince are given the opportunity and time to be regular 22 players.

What's your gut feeling on Meesen PC?