jatz14

Perth Glory W-League
Always a personal favourite of mine, Schofield has spent large sections of his time at the Eagles fighting for a spot in the backline. A player never considered one of the key defenders picked in the team first, but rather, a fill in. An extra tall if we need extra, or a backup tall if we lose one, or being picked as the versatile backman that gives flexibility.

Frequently rated by BF as depth, or replace, I think with a GF win under his belt, he should be reassessed a bit by the BF Eagles community.

Has had a remarkable year really.

Out of the team and potentially done, comes in through fortune, plays well. Dropped for no lack in his own game (team balance). Misses the first final, back in through luck, and puts together 2 really solid games.

Collingwood players, especially the great and glorious De Gooey had enough looks at the footy one on one with Schofield for them to have put the game out of reach even if Schofield has an OK day. Schofield has to have a great day, he has to win these for the Eagles still to be in it, and half it if he cannot win it.

Really feel for Sheppard, but I am really glad Schofield got a run in the GF, and especially glad he played so well.

Testament to the fact that players can be key servants of your club when they are only borderline best 22. A lot of clubs would kill to have a Schofield of their own.

Was immense in 2015 when we lost E-Mac and Brown to knee injuries. Stoked that he was able to get a premiership medal, probably more than any other player as he's always been that sort of battler player who would be squeezed out if we had our best 22. Always felt he was our best lockdown option this season but the club couldn't fit everyone in and Barrass needed to develop into that role. Was a ****ing rock today.

I'll always remember back in 2011, when we hadn't won a derby since 07 and reading some Freo flog making a comment that no way the Eagles win if Schofield is in the side. We won and today was even sweeter when the big man got that flag. :)

One of the very best in the GF, heroic in the backline.

His selection going forward is tricky, and his major problem is just that he plays for a side which has two tall defenders in Gov and Barrass who have their names pencilled into the starting 18 each week. There's always going to be a temptation to leave him out for a smaller running player, especially given Hurn and Shep play fairly tall for their height.

But whatever happens next year he is a premiership player who was one of our best in a grand final decided by less than a goal. No one can ever take that away from him.

Personally had him BOG. Gathering numbers is one thing, winning numerous one on ones against the most dangerous man on the field and a few two on ones as well was the difference in the end.

Played 10 and 12 games the last two years. 29 years old and has played 176. Will end up a 200 gamer whether that takes another year or two or three. I'm sure he'd rather be in the 22 every week but really he's only out because of match ups. Is AFL quality and we just have a really good defensive setup. If he spends half of next year in the AFL at least he can introduce himself to the new crop of kids as 'premiership player Will Schofield'.

Love love loved his run back to goal against Mihocek leading to a rushed behind. #jizz

Deserved it for the Mooney smother alone. Legend of the club.

Underrated post.

Out of all of the boys, I felt overwhelmed with emotion for Schofield yesterday. He helped carry our backline through some of our hardest years after the Judd/Cousins era.

Lost his place in the starting 22 last year but he has always been ready to step in when called upon.

He deserves every single bit of this premiership.

Deserved it for the Mooney smother alone. Legend of the club.

I came here to post the same.

I was at the ground that day. For those who don't remember, it was a 130-odd point pantsing by the 2008 Geelong team. We were absolutely embarrassed all game. I was sitting in the third tier, and I had a great view when, late in the 4th quarter and the game long over, Geelong went deep into their fifty, handballing it to Mooney for the easiest of goals. But then this skinny young fella busted his gut to reach Mooney and smother the kick.

In what was a shocking day, it was the sole highlight, showing that this kid had grit, desperation, and a never-give-in attitude. Loved him ever since, and I'm over the moon that he's now a premiership player.

A truly outstanding game. Close to our best but Shuey was deservedly so. Barrass was also very good but I really thought that was an awesome game by Schoey. So happy for him to be a Premiership player.

Has made a career playing out of position as needed by the club. Has always been a tall running wing, absolute elite runner which is why we manged to get away with playing someone 1.96cm on quick smalls over the journey when needed. Could have been our Blicavs, only better and faster. Absolute club-man through and through who does whatever is asked. Really happy for him and the family.

I haven't always rated him as high as I should. Always on the periphery since 2015 due to the emergence of Barrass but he was fantastic yesterday.

Was the last line of defence so many times and his body work and ability to put pressure on or make a spoil won't go unnoticed. Beat De Goey/ his Collingwood opponent comofrtably in my opinion

As tough as it is for Sheppard it's a great story in Schofield.

Pretty happy with this call from my mid-season report card.

Will Schofield
You know in TV shows when the big twist in the fourth season is the return of a character you thought got killed off in the first season – OMG now they’re back! I still reckon Schofield could be this guy for us. He’s 29 and still good enough to play AFL. Could be first-choice FB next year if McGovern leaves.

Fourth-season cameo was awesome.

Was ****ing fantastic today. I love Sheppard as much as the next guy, but I don't think even he would have done a better job than Schofield did today. I doubt he'll be preferred over Sheppard, Barrass or McGovern moving forward but would love to retain him so he can keep putting pressure on them to perform.