astro_toby

i do quite like schulz as a player - can take a great mark and be damaging - but i question his mental attitude & strength - he seems a little full of himself, and accustomed to having brain freeze's ala the great matthew richardson (god bless his soul)

but there are certain postions which we really need to cover soon, and we have very little to offer on the trade table. i think all of reiwoldt, hughes, polak and the a 30+ simmonds have the ability to be great marking forwards in the future - basically more than we need - and out of all of them - schulz is the least reliable and "richo" like

as much as i love richo, i think we all crave a conventional footballing marking forward, who we can trust to always do the right things

to boil it down - schulz looms as a possible trade player with genuine worth

would you trade schulz for a cameron wood or Meesen?
would you trade schulz for Roe?
would you trade schulz for Minson Or Williams?

would you trade schulz for a young player who could hold full back or ruck down at a good level? knowing that you still have hughes, reiwoldt, polak, simmonds and pattison to cover his positon up forward

personally, i think i would

Polak is a backman, I wish people would stop with trying to call him a forward. He is a shit kick for goal.

Schulz can kick straight but had a bad day out against WCE and then got injured. I dont want to let him go anywhere.

:) Exactly. Might have been the first time, but won't be the last.

Even the greats....Lockett, Hall, Dunstall, Kernahan, Ablett, Carey, Lloyd had their moments of inaccuracy. One game does not make a career.

We would want something better than those mentioned for Schulz!

Definetly not Meeson, probably not Wood.

No

Who is Williams, Minson is shithouse

Might be something worth considering if Hughes and Riewoldt show some positive signs.. remember we do still have Kingsley and Richo. They at least have a couple years left in them and is just enough for the likes of Hughes (4th year) and Riewoldt (3rd year) to develop and take charge of the FF, CHF roles.

Personally I'd want us to be trying to fix the Ruck and Midfield stocks knowing that a ruckman (being part of the deal) would be able to play up forward also. Our forwards have always been more than serviceable its just the delivery and quality of inside 50's that have been stopping us from killing the opposition on the scoreboard for the past decade or so.

Polak is a backman, I wish people would stop with trying to call him a forward. He is a shit kick for goal.

Schulz can kick straight but had a bad day out against WCE and then got injured. I dont want to let him go anywhere.

i think Polak is a CHB first for us with the ability to move forward when we need the advantage in a close game - a adam hunter type player

Imagine the list below in 3 years

B:Raines Roe(or drafted FB) Thursty
HB: JON Polak Newman
C: Tamblin Foley Edwards
Hf: Pettifer Reiwoldt Meyer
F: Simmonds Hughes N.Brown (hopefully)
Ruck: Woods Deledio Polo
Int: Pattison Connors J.Bowen , tuck , johnson, mcguane, coughlan, hyde

that above team seems pretty strong if we get proper development out of them

i think our key area's we need new players in is a ruckman, a fullback, and a pressure, quick forward. - a grunt midfielder is also needed

Schultz has done the hard yards and the tigers should reap the rewards. The only way we should let him go is if we know he has some debilitating injury and try to pass him off for a high draft pick ala hawthorn.

I would only trade him for a good young hard at it inside midfielder to help foley, we get killed in the center weekly.

Definetly not Meeson, probably not Wood.

No

Who is Williams, Minson is shithouse

williams is at the dogs.

how many key forwards to we bloody need? simmonds in 3 years will ONLY be a marking forward , hughes, reiwoldt.

schulz is a potential star - but he is also a potentail "bub"

i think after 15 years of richo - i would prefer an eagles like forward line with reliable goal kickers, reliably kicking 2-4 goals a match hughes, jack and simmonds offer that and have had better luck with injury

How old is Jay? Early 20s?
Schulz is at around the age that we want the majority of our list to be. Most of our list are either veterans or children. We are building our list to have 70% of it in the key 23-27 year old age bracket.
Schulz is one of the few who are 'already there' so to speak.
Has had five or so years in the system, has a mature-age KPP body and natural talent (although injuries are a worry) and has (correct me if I'm wrong) around the 50-60 game experience that we desperately need.
Personally I'd be happy if I didn't her the word 'trade' mentioned for at least five years.

Schultz has done the hard yards and the tigers should reap the rewards. The only way we should let him go is if we know he has some debilitating injury and try to pass him off for a high draft pick ala hawthorn.

thats just silly - so you would only trade schulz if he got a bad injury and became worth half of what he used to be? mate, never get into the stock exchange...

what has schulz done exactly that makes everyone sure he is a potential superstar - hughes has come back in th senior for two weeks, and has kicked 3 goals in each week - jack regulary kicks goals in the ressies - we want reliable footballes dont we?

NO WAY.

This thread is horrorfying!!!!!!

You can't rip out players like Schulz - his heart is with the yellow and black. How many times have you heard him say "I really want to repay the fans for their persistence with me, I just love Tigerland and I'm dying to get out there to show what I can do and repay the loyal fans"

Jay Schulz will be a superstar and trading him is like trading Deledio.

We can not trade our own, especially those who care about the club and have been through a lot with us.

You say you want a RELIABLE foward well Schulz is more reliable than Matthew Lloyd!!! Last year he kicked 16.3 in 10 matches and he has a career accuracy higher than Lloyd, Fevola, Williams and every other "reliable" forward.

Jay Schulz - verge of becoming a superstar. A home-grown RICHMOND star. Plus he is one of the few capable of showing aggression on the field, can split packs, rough 'em up and eat 'em alive!!

I wish the topic creator saw Schulz play against Melbourne right before the season... he was second best on ground. He is kicking 2+ goals a game for the past 15 matches of his career and he's on the way up. He's been solid so far and is threatening to burst out with another 6 goal haul or two!

To the same point in their respective careers, Schulz has performed better than Brendan Fevola. They are similar type players.

We must keep him!!!

And worst of all you are suggesting we traded him for an average player like Wood or Meeson (who has shown nothing!)!!!

You really don't rate Schulz but I'll bet you anything he proves you wrong bigtime ;) He would never ever request a trade from Tigerland, he's one of our youngsters with heart.

NO WAY.

Jay Schulz - verge of becoming a superstar. A home-grown RICHMOND star. Plus he is one of the few capable of showing aggression on the field, can split packs, rough 'em up and eat 'em alive!!

.i have been watching young jay but i do not see any of this as of yet. he might look rough and tough but is a long way off at the moment.

seems to me he goes missing a hell of a lot(hope this changes)

i would only rate his out put as good as other clubs 3rd tall option at the moment,

oh by the way dont trade him wait and see you never know

williams is at the dogs.

how many key forwards to we bloody need? simmonds in 3 years will ONLY be a marking forward , hughes, reiwoldt.

schulz is a potential star - but he is also a potentail "bub"

i think after 15 years of richo - i would prefer an eagles like forward line with reliable goal kickers, reliably kicking 2-4 goals a match hughes, jack and simmonds offer that and have had better luck with injury
Tom Williams the guy who has been in the system for 3 years and played 1 game? Oh yeah lets trade Schulz for him:rolleyes:
What a shit thread.

i think Polak is a CHB first for us with the ability to move forward when we need the advantage in a close game - a adam hunter type player

Imagine the list below in 3 years

B:Raines Roe(or drafted FB) Thursty
HB: JON Polak Newman
C: Tamblin Foley Edwards
Hf: Pettifer Reiwoldt Meyer
F: Simmonds Hughes N.Brown (hopefully)
Ruck: Woods Deledio Polo
Int: Pattison Connors J.Bowen , tuck , johnson, mcguane, coughlan, hyde

that above team seems pretty strong if we get proper development out of them

i think our key area's we need new players in is a ruckman, a fullback, and a pressure, quick forward. - a grunt midfielder is also needed

Well i hope thas NOT out team in3 years or we are in BIG trouble

JON Newman Pettifer. Brownie Bowden Tuck Johnson Hyde and Cogs will be all doubtfull to be at the club because of injury and just not up to standard. Woods and Roe? give us a break. And Raines will be in the center and Foley on the bench

.i have been watching young jay but i do not see any of this as of yet. he might look rough and tough but is a long way off at the moment.

seems to me he goes missing a hell of a lot(hope this changes)

i would only rate his out put as good as other clubs 3rd tall option at the moment,

oh by the way dont trade him wait and see you never know

i agree - jay can sometimes be excellent - but he often isn't - he is definitely improving, but so are jack and cleve. Jay may have a yellow and black heart, but he can make poor decisions under pressure and does not put enough pressure on his defensive side of the game.

I do not see alot of point to having a forward line of Jay, Cleve, Jack & Troy - and having no ruckman or full back.

who of jack, cleve and jay should be traded then - surely we won't need three players who are only capable playing as marking forwards?:confused:

Well i hope thas NOT out team in3 years or we are in BIG trouble

JON Newman Pettifer. Brownie Bowden Tuck Johnson Hyde and Cogs will be all doubtfull to be at the club because of injury and just not up to standard. Woods and Roe? give us a break. And Raines will be in the center and Foley on the bench

Thats just silly! How on earth can you predict that "JON Newman Pettifer. Brownie Bowden Tuck Johnson Hyde and Cogs " will all succumb to injury in the years?:o thats just crazy talk Bazzar!

I think Roe and Woods are both good footballers also -they are certainly better than Hall, Thursty, Pattison, Knobel Graham, Moore & McGuane?:confused:

Thats just silly! How on earth can you predict that "JON Newman Pettifer. Brownie Bowden Tuck Johnson Hyde and Cogs " will all succumb to injury in the years?:o thats just crazy talk Bazzar!

I think Roe and Woods are both good footballers also -they are certainly better than Hall, Thursty, Pattison, Knobel Graham, Moore & McGuane?:confused:

I didnt say all injured. Brown and Cogs are the 2 i have doubts on playing much footy for us.

And if we are to be a power then the other players mentioned "shouldnt" be there as they arnt up to the level needed to be a force in the copetition and yes that includes JON

I am not sure about Schulz as yet as he doesn't seem consistent or able to get more than 5-6 possessions per match. He seems to be a good kick for goal but when you compare him to the top full forwards he really hasn't matched up with the number of possessions or the defensive pressure required at AFL level.

Having said that he seems to show promise and to be fair, he has been hit hard by injuries. I would like to see a bit more of him to really assess if he can make an impact before trading him.

I would be happy to get Wood to Richmond though. From what I've seen he seems very promising.