HFF

Liverpool
Hasn't been any mention of this on the board so far but looking through the images of yesterday's training there was a face out there that will warm the hearts of many Magpie fans and that was Rus.

Great to see him back out there in the fold.

Had a look at injury update and they expect a return in round 2 for Rus.

Now, obviously he won't be selected for the seniors but how far away is he from a recall?

Cannot wait to get him back in lining up at FF.

Once he gets match fit and finds form he can play seniors simple

Even then a lot depends on structure and team balance to that time too. Rusling is one player who greatly changes the structure because he requires so much space to be effective. If for example Anthony Rocca and Cloke are working I am not sure that we are likely to mess around with that to fit Rusling in.

You would think Rusling wouldnt get a senior game till at least round 6 or 7, and that's if he returns this weekend or next to VFL level.

Even when he has a few games under his belt, I dont think he will get a senior game unless;

1. We have forward injuries to Rocca, Cloke, Anthony, Dawes etc

or

2. Rusling dominates at VFL level and demands selection.

Even then a lot depends on structure and team balance to that time too. Rusling is one player who greatly changes the structure because he requires so much space to be effective. If for example Anthony Rocca and Cloke are working I am not sure that we are likely to mess around with that to fit Rusling in.

Have you seen the way we have been emptying the forward line all preseason and in round one?? Rocca may change that set up but if we keep playing the way we have Rusling would have all the space he needs without a major change in game plan/style

You would think Rusling wouldnt get a senior game till at least round 6 or 7, and that's if he returns this weekend or next to VFL level.

Even when he has a few games under his belt, I dont think he will get a senior game unless;

or

i'd still have rus in before dawes at this period of time but only because dawes is a bit younger and i think rusling would have a bit more to give

i hope that he does come back through the vfl so that he can play himself into a bit of form.

My order of forwards selected!

Cloke
Rocca
Medhurst
Anthony
Rusling
Dawes
Reid
Dick
Maccafer:( should be higher by the seasons end under medhurst i rekon:D

or

I would give Rusling one VFL hit out and then straight into the side.
Why, I hear you gasp?
Well if he is going to have an impact he should have his shoulder tested in real game situation damned quick. If he breaks down, better earlier than later after we have waited for him to get form in the VFL.
If he plays and plays well then he's in the side.
Giving him time to reach peak for the finals.
Get this out of the way early I say. Don't hang back and then find things not quite working out mid-season, do it now.
If he breaks down then we know he's out.
If he plays badly then we know he is out.

We can then invest time in another player, like Anthony, who will benefit from a continuum of experience in the AFL side and actually get time to develop as a player before final hit.

The one game here, another game in a month or so approach must be as frustrating as hell for the young blokes.

Sean Rusling is the missing link for the Pies. One of the best contested marks around I rekon. He's an automatic selection in my book. Definitely ahead of Anthony, Dawes, Reid and the like. I actually think he is better than Cloke. In an extremely average team, he would make the Collingwood forward line very potent.

I would take Rusling ahead of Anthony purely because he demands the footy, when he leads it is always kicked into his path.

Probably the fact that he is ****n lightning.

i'd still have rus in before dawes at this period of time but only because dawes is a bit younger and i think rusling would have a bit more to give

i hope that he does come back through the vfl so that he can play himself into a bit of form.

Not at the moment I have Dawes ahead of Rusling. Rusling does look better for Structure but Untill Rusling can play more then 5 games without getting injured I will have him last and behind Dawes

Sean Rusling is the missing link for the Pies. One of the best contested marks around I rekon. He's an automatic selection in my book. Definitely ahead of Anthony, Dawes, Reid and the like. I actually think he is better than Cloke. In an extremely average team, he would make the Collingwood forward line very potent.

As much as I love Rusling and want him to succeed, it can't be more obvious that the only Collingwood games you've seen in recent years have been ones against your mob.

If he can string a couple of games together in the VFL and kick a couple of goals I reckon he will be straight in. I just don't think he will be left in the reserves for too long. They have put so much work and faith in him that I think he will get every opportunity. I think he is seriously rated within the club and if that means dropping JA on current form or moving him to defence to get him into the team I think they will.

Not necessarily my opinion on what should happen but what I believe will happen.

I thought I read he is still 1-2 weeks away.

I think if Rocca comes in and plays good footy that will just about close the door on the glass man.

Not at the moment I have Dawes ahead of Rusling. Rusling does look better for Structure but Untill Rusling can play more then 5 games without getting injured I will have him last and behind Dawes

Rusling's only question mark is fitness Dave.
If he is fit he has it over Dawes in spades.
Rus has shown what he is a capable of on many occasions, whereas Dawes has shown a few glimpses of what he may be capable of.

Anthony would be the only "young" player I would even consider near what Rusling has displayed.

If Rusling is fit and Rocca is not in the side;

Rusling, Anthony, Cloke are the key forwards.

If Rocca is fit then a decision would have to made between Anthony and Rus.

Rus for mine even though I love what Jack has borught to the side.
He, Anthony, delivered when we needed him but is still a young player and has still a bit to do to catch up to Rusling in terms of forward presence.

It'll be very interesting to see if Rus and Anthony can fit in the same forward line.

I think Jack showed some promising signs against the Crows with his work up the ground though.

Rus FF - Cloke CHF - Anthony in between

Rusling is a very good player!
But i think he will be accident prone all his career and wont get as many games as he should he would have been a good player tho!:(

I think Brad Dick's inclusion this week is a bit of an indicator. Due to Rusling's past he may have to spend a bit of time in the VFL but I think he will be in pretty soon afterwards. I think MM has made it pretty clear in the past how he considers both Dick and Rusling and that is they are in our best 22.

Rusling is a very good player but he is accident prone and will miss heaps of games in his career due to injuries which is frusturating for him and the club as they all know he is a very good player. Hopefully he comes back soon! Maybe replace him with that carppy Ben Reid!

Rusling is a very good player!
But i think he will be accident prone all his career and wont get as many games as he should he would have been a good player tho!:(

Welcome to the board.:thumbsu:
Don't be too hard on Rus his injuries all came from going in hard.

I Actually agree mostly with this post bar the statement we are an Average team ofcourse.
For mine Rusling when fit has shown what he can do, no backman in the league can go with him on the lead and he does not have to play close to goal to be effective either.
He would make an ideal lead up FF or CHF and offers more than our other fringe forwards.
I also beleive he has the potential to be better than Cloke too but just needs a bit of luck and more experience on the big stage, but i wouldnt be underestimating his ability to be proved a very very good player in time.