Opinion Second half fadeouts: Problem or Ploy?

They were knackered by the mid point of the last quarter; completely spent. I think we did pull back but they were so poor we were almost walking it in between the big sticks anyway.
If there is a ploy, part of it could be that we take a calculated risk and backing off once we have a sufficient lead that the opposition would be too rooted to run down because they've been chasing us for three quarters. i.e. we back in our fitness for three quarters and run them off their legs at high octane level, essentially making the fourth quarter redundant.

RTB did say he was going to manage the older player this season. Most thought it was through resting between games, not during. That said, no complaints here. In fact I'm very happy just to take the 4 points without Smashing the guys..

I wouldnt care if we almost lost to bottom 4 sides using this method. Play hard for 3 quarters. Who cares about "respect" if we make it to the big stage with a HARD fought give-all finals series, and on fresher un-injured legs than other teams? They will all sing our strategic praises and not knock us down in standing for it if we actually show our 4 quarter effort when it counts ;)

The real danger for me is that it can build a mentality that leads to an inability to play 4 quarters, and against very good sides may result in letting them come back into a game. I expect and hope that it will change over the season, with a focus later on of building the capacity to be "on" for an entire game as we approach finals (surely we are finals bound?). Assuming we are sitting comfortably on the ladder this could be used in tandem with resting multiple players in some games of less consequence if we have the chance to. Be interesting to see how it all unfolds.

As other teams fatigue further into the season, by all accounts we should be fresher and fitter. I think the switch isn't on off, more like testing new positions and sharing the load. The on-field rotations come the year end will be seamless with the midfield replacements confident and capable.

Some might think it would lead to bad habits when it counts. I actually think the opposite. One benefit which seems to go a bit unnoticed, is it shows the players what will happen if we're not all in. I think it helps to stop complacency, the team knows they can get rolled by weak sides if they are given the chance.

They were knackered by the mid point of the last quarter; completely spent. I think we did pull back but they were so poor we were almost walking it in between the big sticks anyway.
Do you think that we didn't drop off for the Dees because our injuries prevented us from re structuring?

We are trying to build a lead in the first 1/2 to 3/4 and then defend it. I think the benefits of this will be seen later in the season. Bomber Thompson was sooking it up, but I think it is not a bad idea to conserve our strength given we have the most travel and the oldest list.

This is what I think also. If we smash everyone we don't get to practise being under pressure ourselves and defending

Also allows us to practise players in other positions for if we have injuries mid game

And also rests players like Fyfe up forward to keep them fresh without having to rest them for a whole game and potentially drop one

Genius if that is actually what they are doing

Do you think that we didn't drop off for the Dees because our injuries prevented us from re structuring?
I think our second option players at the contest managed to still dominate the opposition.

Not sure, but Melbourne were dead set terrible against us in that last quarter, so it's hard to tell.

My feeling is we basically did the same thing we did against the Dons, the difference is that Melbourne were so ordinary that we were able to keep the scoreboard moving anyway. Also we actually took our chances inside 50 where as with the Dons game it was just butcherville in our fwd 1/3.

I think Ploy is the wrong word - it's just a tactic. No different to having Pav come into the odd centre bounce or Sandi resting back or Fyfe "resting" forward.

At the right time in the game, give hard working players a rest. It also needs to be taken in the context that the backline played nearly 100% of the game last week with 2 forwards out of the game before half time.

I don't see how it's disrespectful or "boring". It's merely a tactic to give our team the best chance of doing well later in the season...

Definitely a ploy. Go 110% first half, get an un reachable lead then coast.
I would love to know what our percentage is at, after the first 2 qtrs, of each game played so far

Our first halves this year have resulted in 341 points for and 160 points against for a percentage of 213%. If you double our first half scores we would be on 682 points for (best attack by 37 points) and 320 points against (best defence by 75 points).

We are just a well drilled team synched to know when to attack or defend

RTB could think of nothing better then having that pressure or perceived pressure of teams coming on in junk time. It allows us to trial new structures and for newbies like Pearce, that is priceless.

Of course there are dangers in this tactic but I'm not at all worried about our fitness late in games.

It's good practice for our 2nd tier mids when we do resctructure in there minus Fyfe/Barlow/Mundy etc too.

I think it's somewhat more scary for us to control games like this as opposed to outright destroying the opposition.

We control how much we'll get ahead by, then we control how much we take the foot off the pedal to conserve energy (which might give you a sniff), before snatching it from your claws again. It's psychological warfare and I reckon it demoralizes the opposition; they walk off feeling like pawn pieces being shuffled around on a chess board.

Of course I'm not suggesting this is some cruel tactic in humiliating the competition; it's Round 6 and October is ages away, RTB is possibly in the most ideal position as coach he's ever been for any team and I believe one of his strengths would be maintaining that position through strategy better than clawing over every other team for a spot in the Top 4.

There's still no guarantees; sometimes it doesn't matter how well you preserve injuries and other mishaps can take place, but this ploy is certainly decreasing our chances of that happening and I'll take that.

Let Bomber Thompson sniffle over the dull last quarter; the bloke had to coach his teams for less interstate games than a Zac Dawson shot on goal.

I like it. Shows long term thinking, in a dynamic system. Might be handy for the live punters though I am yet to take advantage. At half time freo paying $4 to win by less than 40 points.