Should Fevola Captain the Blues

Welcome Tim Powell:)

Unfortunately The Fev should not be our next captain. He will though be key to our next captain succeeding. If Fev gets behind the new captain or co-captains then the rest of the team will, as he is obviously very popular with the group.

I'm not against co-captains which is the Sydney model rather than the St Kilda model which entails a new Captain each year.

For me I would prefer Stevo and Lance as co-captains:thumbsu: as neither on their own are the complete package. As others have stated we have some real up and coming leaders in our young group, but they are a few years away yet from being ready to be Captain.

If we had to stay traditional then Lance would be the man:)

I wouldn't be against Fev taking a co-captaincy, out of all things in his life it seems footy is what he loves the most, he gives his all these days and is the reason we haven't been belted by more over the last few years. I'd love to see Fev with Stevens atleast as VC... cannot go past Lance for the captaincy, he deserves it the most.

In a few years we have much to look forward to, Murphy will take the captaincy, a born leader.. a matter of time. :D We also just recruited a future champion in Gibbs, Carlton's future leadership stocks have been boosted so much as Sticks has said.

So many good years to come blueboys:thumbsu:

Lance doesn't deserve it given the shape he's in and he isn't a leader let alone a matchwinner like Fevola who people go to watch. They won't make Fev captain because Smorgon's board are so reactionary and clueless, it would get a lot of bad press for Carlton(a lot unwarranted) and they're afraid to make the hard calls like they should have done with Whitnall last year.

I now think Stevens should get the captaincy since he's training well, he had a lot of injuries this year which held him up and he presents himself at training in a good condition. ;)

I'm more disappointed in Whitnall than Fevola and he's done less on the field than Fevola over the past three years. A year where you've beaten badly shouldn't earn a player the captaincy and I don't know how you can say he hasn't done anything wrong this year. He consistently puts on weight as the year progresses and he wouldn't even be considered for the captaincy if it was a Cox plate field like Carlton used to be.

:(

i WOULD like Brendan Fevola to be Carlton captain in 2007.
he could lead just as well, if not BETTER than any other player we have.

No and no. The captaincy isn't part of a twelve step program to make Fev a better man. Its an earnt and respected position. For every action there is an equal and opposite reaction.
Fev must learn that there are consequences in life for what he does. Handing him the captaincy would be playing Russian roulette, he may respond by becoming more mature and responsible, or it may get into his head that he's done nothing wrong and that what he has done should be encouraged and rewarded.

Some guys are born to be captains (Sticks), others earn it (Braddles, Macca). Fev sits in neither category.

No!

A captain should be a person team-mates can respect and so can others (even opposition supporters)....

Tell me although you hate Collingwood with a passion, you still respect Buckley.... Essendon - Lloyd (Hird), Hawthorn - Vanderberg, Sydney - Hall... etc etc etc

The community appreciates Fev's talents as a player but he does not have the respect yet! Kouta - great player but respected by his peers (remember voted MVP in 2000) and his teammates.

Seriously Fev will be a star if he keeps going as he has on the field.. but as a person it would be silly for us and for our self respect to put him in as captain after his most recent misdemeanors... Ben Cousins lost his captaincy after the booze bus affair... now we'll look stupid giving someone the captaincy after a Pub Incident (representing Australia mind you!) and a publicised marital issue.

Lance doesn't deserve it given the shape he's in and he isn't a leader let alone a matchwinner like Fevola who people go to watch. They won't make Fev captain because Smorgon's board are so reactionary and clueless, it would get a lot of bad press for Carlton(a lot unwarranted) and they're afraid to make the hard calls like they should have done with Whitnall last year.

I now think Stevens should get the captaincy since he's training well, he had a lot of injuries this year which held him up and he presents himself at training in a good condition. ;)

I'm more disappointed in Whitnall than Fevola and he's done less on the field than Fevola over the past three years. A year where you've beaten badly shouldn't earn a player the captaincy and I don't know how you can say he hasn't done anything wrong this year. He consistently puts on weight as the year progresses and he wouldn't even be considered for the captaincy if it was a Cox plate field like Carlton used to be.

bit harsh on Lance IMO...... but do agree that Stevens probably would be a better prospect for the captaincy of our club..

No!

A captain should be a person team-mates can respect and so can others (even opposition supporters)....

Tell me although you hate Collingwood with a passion, you still respect Buckley.... Essendon - Lloyd (Hird), Hawthorn - Vanderberg, Sydney - Hall... etc etc etc

The community appreciates Fev's talents as a player but he does not have the respect yet! Kouta - great player but respected by his peers (remember voted MVP in 2000) and his teammates.

Seriously Fev will be a star if he keeps going as he has on the field.. but as a person it would be silly for us and for our self respect to put him in as captain after his most recent misdemeanors... Ben Cousins lost his captaincy after the booze bus affair... now we'll look stupid giving someone the captaincy after a Pub Incident (representing Australia mind you!) and a publicised marital issue.
If I were a footballer, Cousins would be my first choice as captain. Might do stupid things off the field, but on the field he's the ideal captain. And since when was Vandenberg respected:confused: .

What shape is Lance in? Last time I looked he presented for pre-season training, fit & ready to go? You certainly won't read about him getting drunk & assaulting bar staff, or messing up a marriage in the space of the few months. Lance is the safe (headline free) choice for the captaincy at this stage.

As far as having done less on the field than Fevola, the club obviously disagrees with you. First in the best & fairest in 2006 & 3rd in 2005. The people that vote for the award are those who's opinion really matters. They are the ones who know what they are expecting from the players & vote accordingly. I just hope after Lance is awarded the captaincy you will give him a chance to prove he is the right choice & not become one of those supporters who constantly looks for faults in a player who you don't like (ala the way supporters down Houlihan).

If Lance is achieving what the coaching staff expect of him that is all anyone can ask. Obviously he is, because he wouldn't have won the best & fairest, nor would he have been given the captaincy in Kouta's absence this season, if he wasn't.

Feel Kouta should get it for one more year until the dust settles a bit. Wouldn't write Fev off for 2008 though. I agree with the guy who posted that the extra responsibility could blance Fev. He certainly has the ability and the passion, just needs some control of it.

It doesn't matter what happens now.....Whitnall or Stevens, it will only be short term, Marc Murphy is the future captain of Carlton 110%.

When Fevola pulls on the Carlton gurnsey and takes to the field i love him.
As soon as he leaves the field i rekon he is the biggest flipping tosser on earth.
I have seen him around and I would never say hi to him ever.
I have no respect for this guy at all.

For Fev, it's all about him, and what the club can do for him, not what he can do for the club.

Sure he cares, but deep down inside he is more interested in footyshow appearances and his hair.

It doesn't matter what happens now.....Whitnall or Stevens, it will only be short term, Marc Murphy is the future captain of Carlton 110%.

When Fevola pulls on the Carlton gurnsey and takes to the field i love him.
As soon as he leaves the field i rekon he is the biggest flipping tosser on earth.
I have seen him around and I would never say hi to him ever.
I have no respect for this guy at all.

For Fev, it's all about him, and what the club can do for him, not what he can do for the club.

Sure he cares, but deep down inside he is more interested in footyshow appearances and his hair.

This coming from the bloke who started the Carlton membership hat thread:)

Sorry mate couldn't resist:D, but it did crack me up:)

I do agree though it should be all about what we can do for the club:),
players, staff, supporters... everyone:thumbsu:

Absolutely not. Not even VC. Its like rewarding a naughty child. If footballers are role models, then the captains of these teams are even more so. For the public and for younger players. We as a club arent respected at the moment as it is (as much as we like to think we are, lets be honest, we just arent). To make Fevola any type of captain at this point would make us a laughing stock.

And the worst thing about this Fevola issue is that before Ireland and Bingle we all thought he turned a corner and matured significantly. So even if now he behaves and works hard on and off the field, we know he's fallen from his pedestal and can do so again. And again. And again. Its inconsistent and downright scary.

As much as i hate to say it, loose cannon. If marriage and fatherhood cant tame him, i dont know what can.

Absolutely not. Not even VC. Its like rewarding a naughty child. If footballers are role models, then the captains of these teams are even more so. For the public and for younger players. We as a club arent respected at the moment as it is (as much as we like to think we are, lets be honest, we just arent). To make Fevola any type of captain at this point would make us a laughing stock.

And the worst thing about this Fevola issue is that before Ireland and Bingle we all thought he turned a corner and matured significantly. So even if now he behaves and works hard on and off the field, we know he's fallen from his pedestal and can do so again. And again. And again. Its inconsistent and downright scary.

As much as i hate to say it, loose cannon. If marriage and fatherhood cant tame him, i dont know what can.

I dont believe that Brendan is beyond help. What he needs to do is go very deep in looking at each occassion he has lost control. Brendan is a loose cannon and many freakish talents are.

Brendan is probably in the top 5 gifted players in the AFL. He also has an ability to really reach people off field when he is in his comfort zone. He is really powerful with kids and old people but stuggles with his peer group.

If Brendan really wants to become mature and stable he can do it. However I believe he must do this by searching why he loses control rather than just pulling his head in. Perhaps he needs a mentor. Someone who has experienced the loose cannon mentaility but found stability. No one springs to mind immediatly but I am sure there is someone out there.

fevola= be a great captain :) other nominees better behave or they could also forget it ;)
its kind of a wce Ben cousins Situation when cousins got sack as Captain :)
but least fev didn't run away like Cousins did
just about every club they have a few who are or been in strife in different circumstances

It would seem that Fevola wont captain the club and he probably doesn't deserve it. Personally, I think the captaincy should go to Matty Lappin. Many of the players who have spoken publicly have pumped him up and the group doesn't seem (from the outside looking in) to be behind Whitnall. A captain is someone you want to go to war with and trust completely, is Whitnall really that man. I realise he has improved recently but he has let his team mates, the club and the fans down many times with his preparation.

Matty Lappin is a great club man and has put the club before himself a couple of times with contracts. He also busts a gut every week on the field and its clear the boys are behind him. May be the pick from left field.

I do however agree that it wont be a long term decision whoever gets it, Murphy will captain the club within 3 years.

It would seem that Fevola wont captain the club and he probably doesn't deserve it. Personally, I think the captaincy should go to Matty Lappin. Many of the players who have spoken publicly have pumped him up and the group doesn't seem (from the outside looking in) to be behind Whitnall. A captain is someone you want to go to war with and trust completely, is Whitnall really that man. I realise he has improved recently but he has let his team mates, the club and the fans down many times with his preparation.

Matty Lappin is a great club man and has put the club before himself a couple of times with contracts. He also busts a gut every week on the field and its clear the boys are behind him. May be the pick from left field.
I do however agree that it wont be a long term decision whoever gets it, Murphy will captain the club within 3 years.

With respect, you must be talking about Lappin pre 2005. His last 2 seasons have seen anything but gut busting efforts from him. This culminated in him being demoted to the VFL during the 2006 season & then when interviewed on SEN after a game at Werribee, he was less than complimentary in describing what he thought about his demotion.

Lappin certainly didn't put the club ahead of himself in his last contract negotiations, it was only after he was backed into a corner that he agreed to terms.

Lappin's form in 2006 did nothing to earn him the honour of captaining our club. It would be sending the wrong message to the playing group if you reward a player after what was a poor season in 2006. The fact that he played so well in the IR series makes his 2006 season even more disappointing.

With respect, you must be talking about Lappin pre 2005. His last 2 seasons have seen anything but gut busting efforts from him. This culminated in him being demoted to the VFL during the 2006 season & then when interviewed on SEN after a game at Werribee, he was less than complimentary in describing what he thought about his demotion.

Lappin certainly didn't put the club ahead of himself in his last contract negotiations, it was only after he was backed into a corner that he agreed to terms.

Lappin's form in 2006 did nothing to earn him the honour of captaining our club. It would be sending the wrong message to the playing group if you reward a player after what was a poor season in 2006. The fact that he played so well in the IR series makes his 2006 season even more disappointing.

Gut busting efforts and poor form are 2 entirely different things. Why would you be happy about being dropped. He put his head down, worked hard and earned his spot back in the team. What has Lance done to earn the captancy?

It isn't only on field performances that make up being the captain, and personally i don't think he was that bad in 06. In relation to contracts, at least he stayed when he could've put himself into the draft, like Campo. The players clearly love and respect him, Jarred Waite has put forward Lappin's name a couple of times publicly.