Roast Shut Up Eddie

CARLTON president Stephen Kernahan has put his Collingwood counterpart Eddie McGuire on notice, delivering a frank message - stay out of our business.

In a story published on the Carlton website on Monday night, Kernahan said it was not the first time he's had to pull McGuire into line, but he hoped it would be the last.

"I think it is absolutely inappropriate for other club President's to be discussing or speculating on Carlton Football Club matters," Kernahan told carltonfc.com.au.

Anyone else getting Sick of Eddie doing this sort of Stuff. Trying to Stir up Trouble where he has no Bloody Business.

Eddie just keep your Gob Shut and stop trying to undermine Buckley who is just going very well very quietly and we have not been the Bug Talking Point for a Few Weeks so you open your Big Gob and just start Crap up.

Mind your own Business with other Footy Sides Eddie

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/137781/default.aspx

It is an unfortunate consequence of his role in the media. He simply has to talk about other clubs.

If other football experts in the media (e.g. Robbo, KB, etc) can speculate on such a thing, then Eddie needs to be able to as, as he is filling the same role for his listeners.

Conflict of interest? Possibly. But we have known that for a long time.

Nothing wrong with it. Completely blown out of proportion by Steven Kernahan.

From what Footy Classified showed, there was nothing to it and it wasn't provocative or an attack at all. The way I perceived it, it was more about Malthouse's coaching ability and less about Carlton's current state.

Eddie is in the media and has every right to an opinion. True, his opinion can be a bit unnecessary given his position as Collingwood President, but this isn't one of those times.

Keep on going Eddie!

Anyone else getting Sick of Eddie doing this sort of Stuff. Trying to Stir up Trouble where he has no Bloody Business.

Eddie just keep your Gob Shut and stop trying to undermine Buckley who is just going very well very quietly and we have not been the Bug Talking Point for a Few Weeks so you open your Big Gob and just start Crap up.

How is Eddie trying to undermine Buckley at all? All Eddie has done is supported Bucks, I don't see how this is an issue and clearly Bucks isn't fussed as he keeps going about his business.

Eddie is in the media and is asked for his opinion, typical Australia, shoot down anyone who actually comes out and speaks their mind or has an opinion.

Other clubs with spineless CEO's and presidents would die to have Eddie running their club and defending it to the hill when things go wrong. A lot of people will realise what we had one day when Eddie finishes up.

I think he just wanted to troll Carlton after the instability they caused us by seeking Mick when under contract. In context he was able to disguise it as a considered comment as a media analyst, but yes we all know the truth.

I'm happy now to sit and watch and hopefully Carlton enjoys their next two matches with 6 day breaks and a trip across the country to play the top team in the AFL coming off the bye! I can't see them beating the Eagles unless they come out sluggish (though surely WCE will be planning to practice what would happen if they got a home prelim). Geelong v Carlton might be an even contest though.

Lose these two, then Hawthorn and Collingwood await. Lose all 4 and Mick may well be back in harness. Carlton don't accept failure and most of the Blues' other assistants worked under Mick at Collingwood, so it makes sense for people to put two and two together and come up with 5.

If anything it was a compliment to Carlton to say that they had enough clout/resources to attract MM, whereas other clubs do not.
Eddie deserves nothing but praise for everything he has done for OUR club, and all for love only.

If you followed the news on this, Eddie was responding to a specific question and his comments were taken out of context by the press. Not surprising really. As Gary Pert said in this morning's press it was entirely appropriate for Eddie to respond to the question the way he did. He apparently made it very clear that the suggestion was hypothetical assuming the position became vacant but of course the gutter press conveniently ommitted that part.

So carlton can approach MM last year while he was under contract with us. Now Ed says MM might be a good idea for carlton and they spit the dummy.????? **looks for 'confused' emoticon**

carlton = poo ** looks for thumbs down emoticon**

PS. this new format is shit.

I'm not sick of it Dave, in fact, if you listen to the whole segment (as I did) you would see in the context that Sticks got his knickers in a pretty big knot.

Facts
1. Eddie is in the media, has been for a long time, this is no secret. He talks about football :eek:
2. Eddie defended Ratten in this segment
3. Eddie wash asked specifically about Malthouse and Carlton repeatedly
4. Eddie didn't start any rumours about Malthouse and Carlton

The comment that Ed should have been less specific and not named Carlton is fair, however, in context, he was addressing the question.

The hysteria surrounding this is ridiculous and peaked when Andy Maher went troppo and called Ed a loser.

Andy Maher: you are the loser, you are a two bit half witted muppet with no idea on what you crap on about.

The problem here is every time I make the mistake of listening to SEN for more than 3 seconds, the hate for Collingwood drags my finger over to the radio and switches the station. It's a deplorable excuse for a broadcaster and I stay away from it like a horrible disease.

I wish that we'd all calm down and realise that this is just another storm in a teacup that a pack of precious princesses need to just harden the F up!

ok, end of rant, back to marbles

It's a reasonably fine line Eddie treads, but I personally think he does it very well.

You'd have to hear the entire interview to get a clear grasp on the exact context etc, but anyhow, Ed's racked up thousands of bonus points, so if there was a gentle troll of Carlton there, with his media hat on, well it just shows despite everything etc, he's still a boy at heart.

I can live with that.

It's a reasonably fine line Eddie treads, but I personally think he does it very well.

You'd have to hear the entire interview to get a clear grasp on the exact context etc, but anyhow, Ed's racked up thousands of bonus points, so if there was a gentle troll of Carlton there, with his media hat on, well it just shows despite everything etc, he's still a boy at heart.

I can live with that.

one thing you can say about Ed, is that he doesn't troll other clubs, in the segment he actually made a swipe in clear jest, that's what he does, as I'm sure you're more than aware of that mate.

this is clearly a case of:
storm-in-a-teacup.jpeg

I can live with that.
I have no problem with Eddie or howhe handles his many roles.
He clearly does a better job than most other Presidents in his club role and gave an honest and considered view on Malthouse re: Carlton.
I don't think a word would have been said had Ed been any other personality.

Meh good on ya Ed. I didn't like the tit for tat with that flog Maher (honestly he's so far below Ed it's not worth it), however I've got no problems whatsoever with his subtle troll of Carlton considering all the shit we had to put up with surrounding Bucks and Mick post round 3.

In the spat with Maher, will be interesting how long BTG (Before The Game) lasts when it becomes Before the Footy Show. I give it two months tops. The Footy Show has gone for almost 20 years, even if the post-Eddie period has been without the necessary momentum nor gravitas to make it unmissable viewing. Eddie created that show from scratch, didn't try a sideways move into the hosting role once the ground work was done.

Before the game is dead in the water!!

I have no problem whatesoever with Eddie offering an opinion on Malthouse's coaching ability and / or suitability for a coaching role at CFC - he did preface the whole point by saying - "if" there was a position available - because I enjoy old school anymosity between the Clubs. Some fans pretend to hate CFC - my favourite Wobbler posters are the ones the GENUINELY hate CFC - in fact the only genuinely good thing about Eddie - IS his hatred of The CFC.

I enjoyed all the between the line implicaitions of every crafted senetence.

1. Ratten is finished
2. I dont care if Malthouse coaches anywhere - won't matter - Collingwood has moved on.
3. Carltons shit list is a perfect fit for Malthouse.

All good stuff - Eddie can lord it over CFC and rub Malthouse up the wrong way at the same time - without being able to be quoted as saying anything out of order.

Very clever don't ya recckon?

I loved it. Thought it was excellent work by Eddie. Occassionally I do wince at him having a say on some things he perhaps shouldn't, but not in this case. Carlton deserves a whack, they went sniffing after him while he as in contract - so I say be careful what you wish for boys. If he can hand the media spectre that is Michael Malthouse and hang him over Carlton I am all for it. Its taking media pressure & attention off Bucks.

• Eddie is Collingwood president, but also a talk-back radio host and football media personality.
  • As said radio-host/footy media person he was asked a question regarding a hot topic in footy.
  • Eddie answered said question.
  • Sticks got mad.
  • Andy Maher got personal.
  • Last 2 and can get ****ed.

Some of you can't be serious, actually thinking Eddie did anything wrong? He didn't say "I think Mick will go to Carlton." or "Mick is going to coach Carlton." He ****ing said "If Mick has to coach again, Carlton is the type of list/club he would want to go to." There's absolutely nothing wrong with that. That's not speculation, that's Conver****ingSation.

Roast Shut Up Eddie