Selwood07

Why is the crowd at S.S. so reserved and quiet? There were a few frightening moments at the start of the third quarter against the Lions when you could have heard a pin (or needle) drop. But the rest of the time there is very little vocal support where I sit in the Ablett Terrace. One bloke in front of me and a couple of kids nearby are the only ones who seem game enough to give more than the odd clap. I hear my own voice! It's not that I become an animal at the footy or want others to be likewise but most sit there like stuffed toys. We make far more noise at TD and at the MCG - why not at our home ground? It has puzzled me for years. The ground announcers used to stir up the crowd - perhaps they should try that again.

It seems the dairy farmers havent caught on yet. Vocal local noise can mean 19 people on the ground, or a "tip" to the umps.

To be fair, I think the crowd has been particularly better at generating noise this year. The games against West Coast and Freo particularly were the noisiest and most 'hostile' crowds to the visitors I've heard there in years. Yesterday at the footy was absolutely freezing, I consider myself to be a 'noisy' supporter and even I was pretty quiet with just trying to keep my fingers from freezing off. I think generally the conditions yesterday led to the quieter crowd, although I do agree, I remember particularly in the 3rd quarter at the start you could almost hear people on the OTHER side of the ground talking, very quiet. Got noisier towards the end though...
Although, still not a patch on the days when 'Senior' was running around. You could hear the crowd from Newtown when he got anywhere near the ball :thumbsu:

Yes - Freo game was better but still nothing like the noise you used to hear miles away - I started going to KP again in the early 90s and the noise was often deafening. Yesterday I was so bloody cold and wet through (3 layers of clothes) I warmed myself up with some abuse at Allen not paying Enright's mark and on I went from there - but as I said, I seemed a sole barracker! There were some great goals that brought nods of approval only!

The problem is, how do you get the crowd revved up without resorting to those embarassing announcers before the game? It's almost as nauseating as watching that 'voice of the geelong' segment that's shown on the scoreboard, with that blond mulleted bogan trying to get you to visit the lamby's tent. Embarassing. I swear that's filmed on a mobile phone, the production quality is so shoddy.

LOL

You probably heard my voice

I said

Think of the catchments

The problem is, how do you get the crowd revved up without resorting to those embarassing announcers before the game? It's almost as nauseating as watching that 'voice of the geelong' segment that's shown on the scoreboard, with that blond mulleted bogan trying to get you to visit the lamby's tent. Embarassing. I swear that's filmed on a mobile phone, the production quality is so shoddy.

:D:D

He is so annoying, he doesn't even hold the mike up to the people he is interviewing, they showed the freakin same thing 3 times !!!

And when Brisbane was in better shape at 3 quarter time they showed the interview with him asking whether Brisbane would kick a goal...they had 4 goals!!!! Do it live or not at all. Preferably the latter.

Made even worse as i was directly in front of the big screen.

On the crowd noise, i think what been said already is the reason, it was bloody cold and my hands were stinging after the game as i clap too much, and bang the sponsor signs in front of us...

I wish more people would get up and start chants, it seems most of the people there are of the older variety (lol)......especially in the Brownlow stand.

It's true though, the crowd generally only comes to life late in the game, mostly when Geelong is pulling away or it is tight. The first half is always very quiet at Kardinia Park, unlike other grounds where there is a roar from the opening bounce.

A few people brought memories flooding back to me then, when I was around primary school age, I didn't get to go to the footy much, but we live in Newtown, and I remember being able to hear the crowd on a Saturday afternoon whilst simultaneously listening to Teddy on K-Rock.

And scrap that bloody 'Cat Cam'. It is a disgrace.

The first time I saw it this year, it was obvious from the moment it started it was a total disaster. The blonde-mullet-bogan with 0 Charisma annoying people around the ground with his "insightful" questions.
The bit that really capped it for me was when he went into the lamby's tent (the obvious purpose for this drivel) and started talking to the *****heads in there. He's standing at the bar, on camera, and declares "It's my shout at Lambys!" - behind him, the crowd erupts and a huge fellah with an obvious thirst raises his arms in triump and marches forward to take Mulletman(tm) up on his offer. Mulletman turns and his face turns to a mask of absolute horror as he realises the $3.98 lambys are paying him isn't going to cover his "shout"... he hastily adds into the mike "If the cats win!"

The crowd start booing him and awkwardly, just before the debacle comes to an end on the screen, the huge fellah with an obvious thirst blurts out "You bloody p**f!".

My favourite part is, the geniuses didn't even bleep that last bit out.

Kevin Bartlett swears that KP is built on an iceberg - would have agreed yesterday. Still does not explain the lack of enthusiastic support. Bloody hell, that "voice of Geelong" was terrible. Real cringe stuff. Perhaps those in the standing area could get some noise going! They are certainly the funniest!

I veiwed this game on fox yesterday with a mate at home, It was freezing, and i didnt get excited until Mooney's 70 metre torp.

It was far too cold down at the cattery yesterday to get excited and make noise.

Instead of watching the game at the pub with a few beers on a sunday afternoon, i was at home watching it drinking coffee while hinding under a blanket.

maybe all the fans at the game were doing the same thing.

Usually I am very vocal at the footy (and am prone to the occassional bout of complete craziness.. just ask Eliza.. she got quite scared this one time :D), but for some reason when I'm at KP I feel like getting all comfy in my seat and nodding off!! I seriously do not know why it is like that down there. Maybe it's worse than it was sometime ago, cause of the crowds capacity being reduced, less standing room areas??

Perhaps those in the standing area could get some noise going! They are certainly the funniest!

There are definitely some funny buggers in the Standing room, i guess it is better because both sets of supporters are in the standing room, usually pissed blokes having a go at each other......

....there is one group right behind the goals at the back of the standing room that do some 'soccer' type chants, singing every now and then, quite strange.

Usually I am very vocal at the footy (and am prone to the occassional bout of complete craziness.. just ask Eliza.. she got quite scared this one time :D), but for some reason when I'm at KP I feel like getting all comfy in my seat and nodding off!! I seriously do not know why it is like that down there. Maybe it's worse than it was sometime ago, cause of the crowds capacity being reduced, less standing room areas??
You're can be a bit... rabid sometimes. I mean that in the nicest way possible!

I must admit i am much noiser when there is less geelong fans around. Being around such a high number of fellow cat mans made me more subdued and relaxed.

When I am at Subi i really let my voice heard to the 3 or 4 geelong fans near by.

Seriously, what was there in the first half that was worth cheering about? I think the reason the crowd was so quiet yesterday was that the crowd were lulled to sleep by the standard of play in the first half, and only really woke up in the 2nd half when both teams decided to open the game up a little.

Though I guess some of the blame could be laid on the cheer squad. IMO, the cheer squad is there to initiate chants in the hope of at least some others in attendance joining in and revving the guys up. Our cheer squad is pathetic in that regard. How often is it that when a team gets a jump on us the cheer squad just sit on their hands and do nothing? Hardly heard them in the game against the Roos, until Geelong made their belated run after falling seven goals down, and I sit in the Doug Wade stand. I'm sure if the club let all the BF posters who support Geelong sit in an area together we could do a better job of it.

Geez, how soft are people that when it's cold, they can't make some noise? I would have though that a bit of yelling and cheering and making a racket would help with the warmth problem. Obviously sitting there shivering doesn't!

KP has always seemed kinda quiet - I wonder if it's because of the grannies who get reserved seating? I think a Bay 114-style thing would help, especially in a smaller capacity ground like KP where it would be more obvious.

Good idea! Reserve one bay for the noisy - then the rest might join in. Even the commentators remark on the 'polite' applause and lack of spirit at KP - they are in the Brownlow Stand still, aren't they?
There is an old man who sits behind us and if I stand up to cheer a Gablett or SJ goal which I like to do - he says, "Sit down, Charlie! Others want to see!" I'm surprised he can see over the top of his plastic beer cup! Dead wood. Always negative - grumble, grumble - must have a sad home life, or no life. Should be an oath taken before you become a full member: " I swear to support Geelong with all my heart and with all my voice..."

Good idea! Reserve one bay for the noisy - then the rest might join in. Even the commentators remark on the 'polite' applause and lack of spirit at KP - they are in the Brownlow Stand still, aren't they?
There is an old man who sits behind us and if I stand up to cheer a Gablett or SJ goal which I like to do - he says, "Sit down, Charlie! Others want to see!" I'm surprised he can see over the top of his plastic beer cup! Dead wood. Always negative - grumble, grumble - must have a sad home life, or no life. Should be an oath taken before you become a full member: " I swear to support Geelong with all my heart and with all my voice..."

Something like "I pledge allegiance to the Blue and White hoops"? :p