Simonds Stadium Snubbed For Finals

• Thread starter Thread starter GreyCrow

They didn't seem to have a problem from 2007 to 2011 though. What changed?

Sent from my iPad using righteous man power
1. We were a champion team that could beat anyone, anywhere.
2. Kardinia park increased its capacity so more games could be played there.
What changed for Richmond? You have pretty regularly played games at k park over the years. No fuss about it. It's not static in the footy world. Things change.

genuine question. if simmonds stadium is 33 metres shorter than the mcg why wasn't this at least partly addressed when they did the rebuild. scg was made 7 meters longer at each end (or similar) when it was done. cats appear to have put together a slow stoppage based team that suits their home ground perfectly and is very vulnerable at the bigger mcg.
Ah mate kardinia is 10 m longer but 26 meters narrower than the mcg, iirc western oval was similar

Congratulations Geelong supporters for being part of a record crowd on Friday night. Good to see the AFL's decision vindicated by the crowd size. Just further reinforces why a final should never be played at a small boutique stadium. It is "the people's game" after all.

Sent from my iPad using righteous man power
I wouldn't use the term boutique to describe KP. It's just a very small stadium. Boutique implies a sophistication which KP thoroughly lacks.

Yep of course but can you recognise it advantages Richmond, pies, Hawks etc in the most important matches, and so the team that finishes higher is not rewarded? So if I am happy to accept that situation, and I am, then you have to be happy that we are advantaged by our home games during the year. So just cop it sweet is my contention. We played the reigning premiers, Adelaide, swans, port, gws -5 of our 7 home games against quality opposition -if good teams can win anywhere ( which I presume is the logic re the MCG) then let them beat us in k. Park.
Your club had access to the tickets , why didn't they turn up

Realistically how many will turn up for a GWS v Eagles game?
Last time they played each other at Spotless the crowd was 10,385.
Capacity is 24,000.

The crowd will be around the 18- 20,000 mark I would think.

Unlikely to be a sell out.

Realistically how many will turn up for a GWS v Eagles game?
Last time they played each other at Spotless the crowd was 10,385.
Capacity is 24,000.

The crowd will be around the 18- 20,000 mark I would think.

Unlikely to be a sell out.
They should move it to Simmonds

That don't turn up anymore. There were more Crows fans v the Pies at the MCG this year

The MCG wasnt built this year. Games that attract crowds have gone along way to contributing to the AFL and the development of the MCG over the past 20-30 years. Surely youre not arguing that basic fact.

If our crowds drop we might get sent to Kardinia Park with the other minnows who visit there. Dont have an issue with that either.

The topic is about finals. Stay on topic. Who paid for grounds is a side issue.

I wouldn't use the term boutique to describe KP. It's just a very small stadium. Boutique implies a sophistication which KP thoroughly lacks.
Lol how would you know? When did the bombers last pop down to k. Park?
It's actually terrific now. Come down and watch a game old chap. Comfortable, modern, smart and great views from everywhere. More clubs should have kept their home grounds. Getting tickets for Home and away games at the G is such a complicated matter these days-too complicated-its rubbish.

You're kidding yourselves if you think the AFL doesnt pay us under the table to shut up about these types of situations. Our club took it on the chin for once rather than sooking like they did in the season about extra home games.

Only people bitching about it are the fans. I'm off the belief to win the GF you need to win the ones at the MCG - last weekend's qualifying final no exception. Also matches at the MCG throughout the year are helpful to your premiership chances so you can play better at the ground; however I'd risk that for the clubs monetary gain which is 11 home games plus finals.

Monetary gain = faster stage 5 starts.
Sooking just fans? Or an official of the club as well, didn't a bloke named Chris Scott sook it up?

Not sure about this one.

Adelaide's CEO was interviewed in the change rooms after the win over GWS and said he expects the game to have made 300k for the club.

The AFL gets all ticketing revenue from matches. Other arrangements are subject to stadium deals with state bodies and clubs involved.

Exactly.

It'd be the same ticketing system, and unlike Geelong fans, Richmond fans still think a final is a big enough deal to drive an hour for.
8 brother as well as two plane flights

Dont they have internet in Geelong?
Yep, that's actullay quite witty although I do live in Williamstown timbo and internet not bad there. Anyone who has dealings with ticketek and Ticketmaster -well-what a joke. And try turning up, even as a member, and try to buy a ticket on the almost empty 2nd level on game day. Easier to get into America.

Is there no end to his complaining?
I heard it on the radio on the news and he said that they have to play well to win no matter where the game was getting played, right there i knew it was playing on the minds of the cat players havng to play us at the G.