Draft Watcher Slice of Pie: Draft Board and Profiles

Same here, I was not massive on him.
I actually felt like I went out of my way to make reasons to not like him.
Then I slowly started to struggle for reasons to discount him. I do like his half-forward work and I think it will cover up a little of his sloppy footskills at times. A kid with his tank certainly and ability to play taller than his height could come in handy.

My initial thoughts was he looked good when Walsh and McHenry were in the team because the opposition focused on them and he had freedom. Once he had to stand up when they were out he struggles. Against the Bushies he was very good in the last term at QEO (earlier in the year) and that was playing half-forward and a bit more outside.

I don’t think he makes it as an inside mid at AFL level, reckon he has to be a HFF.

Not all mids have to be Cripps.... I think there is a place for him running in the midfield for 30-40% bursts.

No what I meant was I don’t think he’s a FT midfielder at AFL level. Exactly that, an go in, but I can’t see him playing that FT role as effective as others. He’s a better HF who can relieve in the middle.

Lazy flaw, but he is rather meat and potatoes styled midfielder for me, nothing amazing nothing crap. Just not sold on him and he seems like a one position players as well, not sure he can play anywhere else at AFL level?
What separates him from Valente? Minus the leadership. Rowbottom has him covered for speed and mobility. Mind you i still really like Valente I was just bringing him up as an example when you have him top 10.

Rowbottom started the year for Oakleigh in defence and looked good and he has been a goalkicker for St Kevins.

I'm wary of his height, and that's one factor that has me wondering where he might go. The mid 170s don't often end up inside mids, so that's why he's been playing forward. He could end up like a Caleb Daniel type though, because give him space and he can use it well, but his pressure game is what makes him so good. Can hit the scoreboard, so those types are in vogue.

Caldwell every time I've seen him he's got injured - that's not hyperbole, that's actually a fact, sadly. I want to put him in the first round, but I can't off my own viewing do it because I simply have not seen enough minutes to justify it. On talent I know what I've seen he's in there, I just need to see where he is at currently.
Bloody hell Pie 4 Life stop watching the kid if your going to ruin his draft chances

Lions fans, I was really impressed with Connor McFadyen - looked good for the Allies, but he's that 190cm height where he almost has to be a midfielder and he looked comfortable in that role (after playing a fair bit forward in previous matches).
What about across half back? Thoughts on if he might be able to play that role? Wondering if there is the potential to put him across from Witherden.

I think he can play in most positions. He was playing like a KPF early on but he’s not big enough to do that so he’s looked good through the midfield. Hasn’t spent as much time down back but he moves well and is strong, a different type to Witherden but I can’t see why not. Interested to see how he goes tomorrow but based on his last couple of games I’ve been pretty impressed.

Brisbane going to have plenty of competition for spots on the half back line by the looks? ;)

Does Bytel and *voldemort* at 31 and 32 indicate a relatively strong top 30 this year, do you think?

Not that I've seen many of these lads play in the flesh, but outright production and class seems to drop off after about 35 in your rankings just from what I've seen.

What separates him from Valente? Minus the leadership. Rowbottom has him covered for speed and mobility. Mind you i still really like Valente I was just bringing him up as an example when you have him top 10.

Rowbottom started the year for Oakleigh in defence and looked good and he has been a goalkicker for St Kevins.

I personally think Valente is just purely a better midfielder. Looks stronger in the contest, tackles better, knows where to run. I like the size of Valente as well and I am still interested to see the speed results of Valente. If he is not quick, I think he reads the play a little quicker than most.

Remember I am basing my thoughts mainly on the championships and Rowbottom just has not grabbed my attention enough.

Does Bytel and *voldemort* at 31 and 32 indicate a relatively strong top 30 this year, do you think?

Not that I've seen many of these lads play in the flesh, but outright production and class seems to drop off after about 35 in your rankings just from what I've seen.
I think what we tend to see outside of say the top 30 are those that have clear deficiencies, but have a few traits which will catch the recruiters eye. It's where the value can be found often in later years, it's whether or not the club environment they head into are able to harness their abilities and improve their deficiencies.

I think in every draft production and class drops off about then, but sometimes it is earlier. Around that region you often find those inside midfielders with poor kicking or outside midfielders who don't go near the hardball or athletic defenders who have shown promising signs or raw KPFs who have a great base to work on begin to come out of the woodwork in terms of draft availability on the night.

The top 30 I'm pretty buoyant about, but it's that top 10-15 that could be something special, particularly the top 6-8 who could be genuine elite players of the competition. I've got a list of more than 100 as I said, but honestly there isn't really an order to it because it's all speculative from here.

I personally think Valente is just purely a better midfielder. Looks stronger in the contest, tackles better, knows where to run. I like the size of Valente as well and I am still interested to see the speed results of Valente. If he is not quick, I think he reads the play a little quicker than most.

Remember I am basing my thoughts mainly on the championships and Rowbottom just has not grabbed my attention enough.
Being stronger now doesn't mean they will be in their prime, Valente is already a mature size which helps. Id say they are both on par for tackling with both giving multiple efforts n that regard.

Did you watch the Metro vs Allies game? I recommend going back to that game and having a good look at Rowbottom if you get a chance. Look at his game and what he does and then imagine if he was to put on more muscle and size, their is definitely something to work with where as i think what you see with Valente now is what you will get for a long period with not as much scope for development. Mind you thats not a bad thing with certain clubs wanting ready made AFL footballers which Valente should be in his first year.

Pie 4 Life

Have you done a detailed write up on Xavier O'Halloran

It would seem he presents a full package type ..if his football can match leadership etc could be worth R1 this year? From what I have seen (not as much as you).. he seem more a guy who is solid maybe lacks a high end tricks this year but normally would fit r1.. still a very good player.

The temptation is to go just for talent.. but guys who are leaders can drive you club...

Your opinion?

Pie 4 Life

Have you done a detailed write up on Xavier O'Halloran

It would seem he presents a full package type ..if his football can match leadership etc could be worth R1 this year? From what I have seen (not as much as you).. he seem more a guy who is solid maybe lacks a high end tricks this year but normally would fit r1.. still a very good player.

The temptation is to go just for talent.. but guys who are leaders can drive you club...

Your opinion?
O'Halloran is a player who has grown on me over time. He's got some quick steps out of a stoppage, is able to lower the eyes and hit up targets through good decision making, really solid on the inside, can improve his outside a bit better because he's not overly quick - just average. He's strong overhead, can play forward which is always good, and clunks marks cleanly.

You're right in the sense that he lacks that X-factor/serious eye-catching factor. But in saying that, he's the kind of player that can still impress you with a great game. He finds the footy, a lot of it on the inside and is a clearance expert. If I'm taking an inside mid, the things I look for is obviously movement through traffic, separation from opponent and ability to make good decisions by foot when coming out of a stoppage. I have a tick for all three for O'Halloran. He's someone who could sneak into that first round, but I think that lack of X-factor/polish is probably what has him in the second round.

Long-term I see him as a future leader of a club and someone who might not get the plaudits, but fans within the club rate him highly. I think he could be that 10-18 type player within a team at AFL level. I think overall he does some nice things which has him ahead of your average inside mid, does a lot right, just that class/X-factor that has him a rung below the top mids.

Being stronger now doesn't mean they will be in their prime, Valente is already a mature size which helps. Id say they are both on par for tackling with both giving multiple efforts n that regard.

Did you watch the Metro vs Allies game? I recommend going back to that game and having a good look at Rowbottom if you get a chance. Look at his game and what he does and then imagine if he was to put on more muscle and size, their is definitely something to work with where as i think what you see with Valente now is what you will get for a long period with not as much scope for development. Mind you thats not a bad thing with certain clubs wanting ready made AFL footballers which Valente should be in his first year.

I watched the game and I may rewatch and see what I think later.

I am becoming less and less concerned with mature bodied players and knocking them down for such body shapes. I remember Wines being knocked about being a mature body and it did not hurt him. It is not like those mature bodies also don't gain more strength, so at least you know they have an AFL body shape.

I watched the game and I may rewatch and see what I think later.

I am becoming less and less concerned with mature bodied players and knocking them down for such body shapes. I remember Wines being knocked about being a mature body and it did not hurt him. It is not like those mature bodies also don't gain more strength, so at least you know they have an AFL body shape.
Wines was also explosive which is always a factor in players going early even with a mature body, De Goey and Petracca where in a similar boat. If Valente had the explosiveness of say Collier-Dawkins he would be in every bodies top 10 thats how important that trait can be with everyone looking for that next Dangerfield/Martin.

Where do you see Tom Medhat going mate? I was very impressed with his movement for WA today, and I also really like the look of Joey Reinhard for the Allies.

Yeah Medhat was one I haven’t seen much of live but I was really impressed with what I saw today. Not getting too carried away based off one good performance - was quiet last Friday - but he looks a 40+ type likely late/rookie. Keeps performing like that and he could be higher/closer to 40.

I would love to see him taken late for us. He's got some very good size and mobility.

And would love to get my hands on either Hately or Collier-Dawkins at our first. Would look at someone like Valente or even Jarvis at GWS's second which I think is around the 30 mark right now.

When the dust settles, the following three (and I’m sure there are others who will come to mind) should be watched closely as u18 squad members who missed out through injury alone.

Mitch Riordan
Liam Stocker
Will Kennedy

Feel free to throw up any others (Bytel? Caldwell?) who haven’t been able to strut their stuff due to injury, but I strongly suspect if Dandenong and Sandringham go deep into September these three at least will have claims to top 50 slots if they perform as they should.

Problem with players from Eastern, Bendigo, GWV and Geelong is they’re likely to be done by the wildcard round.

When the dust settles, the following three (and I’m sure there are others who will come to mind) should be watched closely as u18 squad members who missed out through injury alone.

Mitch Riordan
Liam Stocker
Will Kennedy

Feel free to throw up any others (Bytel? Caldwell?) who haven’t been able to strut their stuff due to injury, but I strongly suspect if Dandenong and Sandringham go deep into September these three at least will have claims to top 50 slots if they perform as they should.

Problem with players from Eastern, Bendigo, GWV and Geelong is they’re likely to be done by the wildcard round.

I suspect both Riordan and Stocker are already well under watch. They will bounce back with good form. As you know Stocker has already had two BOGs since returning so I’d be surprised if he wasn’t top 20 next month for mine.

Those four teams, particularly the first three have very few top-age draftable prospects so in terms of extra games I don’t think it will be too much of a loss in terms of recruiters, only those in the teams on the fringe.

Caldwell might be the only Pioneer taken (Keighran probably the one other as a long shot but I’m not convinced yet), Berry and Carlin might be the only Rebels drafted (maybe Lloyd late but those types are always fraught with danger, Hill/Wilson/Chatfield maybe rookie types but again a longer shot). Eastern well, maybe Blanck? Fry don’t think has done enough and the likes of Cardamone and Quirk have been solid but not sure they go anything (maybe Cardamone as a NGA rookie), Geelong well Walsh, McHenry and Brownless would be comfortable in their chances. Charlie Sprague is another I’d add to your list of injured players who has talent. Otherwise Schlensog, Idun, Ham (again all outside chances).

And yes Dandy and Sandy should have the most drafted talent by the end of the year.

I think Clark had a very friendly role today.

Of course he did, but he moved well, used the ball well through traffic, positioned himself well. It’s back-to-back games he’s performed well. Interested to see how he goes rest of the season because Champs can be the making of people.