Smacks future

• Thread starter Thread starter Cleric

Groom him to replace truck?

You still need to take someone out of the backline to fit him in. Truck ain't going nowhere for awhile.

Has Smack been tried at CHB? He is quite agile, can take a mark. He could be worth a shot there?

Yeah, he played at CHB early last year and it wasn't a good experience posting on this board. He stunk.

If he can get his confidence up and starts playing good footy and we don't win games we are expecting to and miss the finals - we should consider swapping Talia and SMACK around. CHF and CHB as an experiment.

Has Smack been tried at CHB? He is quite agile, can take a mark. He could be worth a shot there?

Yes, was fantastic the first game and it looked a masterstroke, big pack marks, spoils, hitting up running defenders...it was sweet.

Vickery scored 5 in a half on him in the next match, wasn't so sweet. It'd be worth an experiment over summer but not during the year

Was good today though. Has good hands and makes good decisions in traffic. Did a ripper handball over his head to a teammate.

His kicking gets me a not scared but hit targets most of the day.

Has looked good as a lead up outside 50 and backup ruck the last 2 weeks. His 3rd quarter was blistering lets leave him in that role.
Did have a run down back today for a short while and did the job.
yep, leave him where he us for the next 8 or 10 games.

confidence in sport is a wonderful thing.

Has looked good as a lead up outside 50 and backup ruck the last 2 weeks. His 3rd quarter was blistering lets leave him in that role.

I again have to admit he was quite good again today, would still like to see him use his size and bulk to impose himself more, especially in contested pack marking contests but all in all he exceeded my expectations again today. I agree we should apply the K.I.S.S. system with Shaun and not complicate his game at this time and hopefully he will get the confidence to become a consistent AFL contributor for the AFC. :thumbsu: Let's hope he can back up his performance against better opponents!!

Don't know that "blistering" is quite the right word though mate!! ;)

He had an excellent 3rd quarter. Looked every bit the part as a lead up CHF.

His back-up ruckwork was okay too.

We have to take into account that we were playing a team that is not AFL standard at this stage, so we need to give him a few weeks playing this role to see if he can replicate that form against the better sides.

Walker going down has given Smack the opportunity to cement his place in the side. It's up to him now.

There is no point chopping and changing his role.

I thought that he played his role well today and he improved on last week, let's settle him in the role he played today and I'm confident that we will see improvement over the course of the season

Let's be mindful that Smack will have a bag game or two on the way

He is the one player on our list i just dont know what to think.

Like him in the ruck, hate him in defence can be anything up forward if he gets his head rit

Couldn't fault him today.

Competed hard, took some grabs, attacked the footy, looked more confident as the game rolled on.

Forget the scoreboard, this was a big step for a guy who's confidence in himself at this level is the biggest thing holding him back.

He is the one player on our list i just dont know what to think.

Like him in the ruck, hate him in defence can be anything up forward if he gets his head rit
:thumbsu: .....has to seriously get fitter though

All credit to him. He has come him and played his role well.
The team looks better balanced with him rucking instead of Jenkins also.
With Tex out and LJ injuried, he has some pressure off as he know's he should get games for a few weeks.
I hope he can keep improving because he has some tools to help the team.

He looked good at times today and took some really good grabs.. but so many of his kicks (from the aforementioned marks) went directly to the opposition. Incredibly frustrating to watch.
He was trying to be too 'cute' with his kicks, which stuffed up most of the time...

Smack playing games for us this year is invaluable.

I hope he makes it and he becomes an integral member of our side.

He is 23 and should be for his size ready to take on the world.

Even if he decides to leave his trade value will increase if he can play a number of matches this year.

There ar not too many 196cm players around with his mobility and skill level.