Phantom Draft Snoop Dog 2017 Phantom Draft (incl Rookie)

• Thread starter Thread starter Snoop Dog

Gippy Power
Had a crack at this years and ended up doing the rookie as well as looks like not that many selections will come through the rookie this year.

Key observations were that its a very even pool and there are so many possibilities in that top 10 its ridiculous. I think LDU goes 1 but after that any one of maybe 6 players could do 2 and hence its really hard to pick.

I think there is some really good types through to 50 or so and then I think you will find players post that who could also have great careers.

Equally think the state leagues will provide some decent talent this year and really looking forward to seeing if a few guys I have tracked since junior footy get a crack.

As always will switch a few around as we get closer and will post my forecast top 20 in the Opening thread the night before if I get time.

My last draft order;

1 Brisbane Lions Cameron Rayner
2 Fremantle Luke Davies-Uniacke
3 Carlton Paddy Dow
4 North Melbourne Andrew Brayshaw
5 Fremantle Adam Cerra
6 Collingwood Darcy Fogarty
7 St Kilda Aidan Bonar
8 St Kilda Nick Coffield
9 Western Buldogs Aaron Naughton
10 Carlton Hunter Clark
11 GIANTS Lachlan Fogarty
12 Adelaide Ed Richards
13 West Coast Jaidyn Stephenson
14 Swans Lochie Obrien
15 Brisbane Lions Oscar Allen
16 Western Bulldogs Nathan Murphy
17 Richmond Jack Higgins
18 Brisbane Lions Zac Bailey
19 Gold Coast Charlie Ballard
20 Richmond Jarrod Brander
21 West Coast Tim Kelly
22 Geelong Ryley Stoddart
23 Richmond (MB) Patrick Naish
24 North Melbourne Sam Taylor
25 Geelong Harrison Petty
26 West Coast Liam Ryan
27 GIANTS Charlie Spargo
28 GIANTS Callum Coleman-Jones
29 Brisbane Lions (MB) Connor Ballenden
30 Melbourne Matthew Ling
31 Carlton Joel Garner
32 Melbourne Oskar Baker
33 West Coast JaCK Petrucelle
34 Sydney Brent Daniels
35 St Kilda Charlie Constable
36 Geelong Tom McCartin
37 Melbourne Sam Hayes
38 West Coast Brandon Starvevich
39 Collingwood Noah Balta
40 Adelaide James Worpel
41 Gold Coast Andrew McPherson
42 Fremantle Ben Paton
43 Hawthorn Dylan Moore
44 St Kilda Oscar Clavarino
45 Port Adelaide Jordan Houlahan
46 Melbourne Jackson Ross
47 Essendon Will Walker
48 Port Adelaide Noah Answerth
49 Gold Coast Kane Farrell
50 GIANTS (MB) Nick Shipley
51 Sydney Jake Patmore
52 Gold Coast Toby Wooller
53 Collingwood Nathan Krueger
54 Geelong Jordan Butts
55 Port Adelaide Hayden McLean
56 Fremantle Ben Miller
57 Collingwood Tyler Brown
58 Port Adelaide Matthew Day
59 Port Adelaide Alex Martini
60 North Melbourne Gryan Miers
61 Fremantle Kyron Hayden
62 Essendon Trent Mynott
63 Hawthorn Brayden Ainsowrth
64 West Coast Ethan Floyd
65 Fremantle Flynn Appleby
66 Geelong Jordan Johnston
67 Carlton Dom Barry
68 Hawthorn Charlie Thompson
69 Gold Coast Brayden Crossley
70 Adelaide Alex Boyse
71 North Melbourne Tom De Koning
72 Fremantle Hugh Dixon
73 Western Bulldogs Bailey Henderson
74 Fremantle Tom North
75 Melbourne Bayley Fritsch
76 Essendon Haidan Schloithe
77 Sydney Alex Fredico
78 GIANTS Kieran Strachan
79 Brisbane Lions Jack Payne
80 Gold Coast Mitch Crowden
81 Port Adelaide Jackson Edwards
82 Sydney Nick Hind
83 Geelong Aiden Domic
84 Adelaide Angus Styles
Anyway here we go;

# 1 Brisbane Lions
CAMERON RAYNER – WESTERN JETS / MEDIUM FWD & MID / 187cm

You will hear people say Dusty Martin. They are big bags to carry and whilst I think more Robbie Gray the kid is a gun. Like Robbie he has those first few steps that can propel him from contests and then pull games apart very quickly and take them away from an opposition club. Some of his work at TAC and Championship level was just breath taking. Explosive, quick, agile, skilled, composed and a wonderful contested mark are all attributes he wears well. One on one Rayner is a difficult match up and when he gets the size to him he will take that form to AFL level. I actually think he is a huge chance to play pretty quickly as a small forward albeit he needs to improve his endurance to do that. Risk is he is a Pickett like talent but it’s a very different game at AFL level.

Why / Who else

Best player. He cant run but he will get there and if the mail is correct and he is happy to go the Lions should take him. They have the flexibility later on to take the pure mids they need.

# 2 Fremantle
LUKE DAVIES-UNIACKE / DANDENONG STINGRAYS / MIDFIELDER / 187CM

Think Patrick Cripps. Big bodied midfielder who has real presence around the midfield and particularly stoppages. Already an imposing cut of a bloke and every chance of playing from Round 1 next year. Certainly a ball winner and someone who equally adept at exiting the stoppage and making really good decisions with the ball in his hand. Has shown an ability to drift forward and play HF as well and think he would be equally good off HB albeit havent really seen him do much of that. Played a magnificent game vs Eastern during the finals where he absolutely dominated the opposition and stamped his credentials. Was good to see that sort of performance / resilience given they were so far down and leadership as probably had him drifting post champs and it just reminded me of what a special talent his is.

Why / Who else

For mine he is the 2nd best player. I think his stocks depend somewhat on how clubs feel the gulf between his best and worst is. Brayshaw, Dow would be the other two and Rayner of course.

# 3 Carlton
PADDY DOW – BENDIGO PIONEERS / MIDFIELDER / 185cm

Think Paddy and you think explosive. He is an inside ball winning machine and recorded something like 60% of his possessions through the year from inside the contest so is going to appeal to someone needing to improve in that area. The thing that really stands out though with Paddy is his explosiveness from the stoppage. He is fast, quick and elusive. Has Dangerfield traits and clubs will see that comparison and be drawn. Good user of the ball when on the outside and can kick a goal as well. Defensively all the data on him stacks up.

Why / Who else

With another pick at 10 and 30 go find a couple of mids there and just go the best player and for mine they will take either Dow or Rayner depending on who is available to them.

# 4 North Melbourne
ANDREW BRAYSHAW – SANDRINGHAM DRAGONS / MIDFIELDER/ 183CM

Really impressive in and out midfielder and half forward who I think will go pretty high. When they talk about natural footballers with classic footy smarts this is your kid. I was really impressed with some of his stuff at champs where he used his body well in the air and on ground to get the ball to his or teams advantage. When he has it he makes good decisions and executes them well. Great ability to weight the footy to his target’s advantage. Endurance and speed are high end and if player rotations continue to fall he just becomes even more appealing to clubs.

Why / Who else

hard choice but perfect for them. Thought long and hard about Darcy and if north see him as a key back then they should take him as he is very good and that will be his role for mine.

# 5 Fremantle
ADAM CERRA – EASTERN RANGES / MIDFIELDER & HALF FORWARD / 186CM

Had some issues with continuity in his footy over a couple of years but he can dominate games through the midfield and with his ball use is arguably one of the most damaging midfielders in the pool. His foot skills on either side are really high end. He is really calm and composed and makes really good decisions. Can run all day so he is going to appeal to clubs as a potentially devastating mid / half forward.

Why / Who else

LDU and Cerra - WOW!

# 6 Collingwood
NICK COFFIELD – NORTHERN KNIGHTS / HALF BACK & MIDFIELDER / 190CM

Class act this kid and just ticks nearly every box you could want. He is a terrific height and has an ability to play tall or small across half back. He has the courage, intercepting, speed and skill to be a real weapon from the defensive line but he has also shown he has the composure to go into the midfield as well. Born leader, impressive kid and suspect wonderful things in store for him. With importance of transition footy from defence to attack Nick will really appeal.

Why / Who else

I love this kid and every time I go back and watch him he screams as the next best available for Pies. Naughton and Bonar are others and maybe Stephenson.

# 7 St Kilda

JAIYDEN STEPHENSON – EASTERN RANGES / HALF FORWARD & MD / 189CM

Love this kid and probably my favourite player to watch of all the draftees. Had a sensational couple of bottom age years and whilst was a bit slow to get going this year I think he has timed his run really well. Had some wonderful performance at champs (particularly that first quarter vs SA), dominated games in the TAC in the back half of the finals and had a really good All Star game. Shown that ability to move into the midfield and win footy will have recruiters really keen on him. Oozes x factor and will provide some great highlights. Some knocks on his kicking but I don’t buy it. That will get reined in at club land a bit – he just attacks all the time.

# 8 St Kilda
AIDAN BONAR– DANDENONY STINGRAYS / MIDFIELDER & HF / 190CM

People will say he is a big bolter but he isn’t. For those that watch a bit if junior footy this kid was known and really highly regarded coming into the year but just had terrible troubles with his knee. He has come back from it really well and I don’t think clubs are going to be overly concerned because without any issues late in the year. I don’t think he even had strapping on it. Big explosive player who probably had his best day on the G in the All Star Game. Showed off all best attributes. Powerful inside the contest and won his own ball, competitive and made really good decisions exiting by hand and foot. Deceptively quick and has really good finishing ability. Wont be surprised if he goes as high as 4.

Why / Who else

Cant go wrong with these two boys. Stephenson is a outstanding prospect for the middle or HF and Bonar will be an elite mid. The knees may hold him back.

# 9 Western Bulldogs
AARON NAUGHTON – PEEL THUNDER / KEY DEFENDER / 194cm

Been a terrific story this year and one of those players that has just gotten better and better with every outing. Had a really good Champs where he showcased his ability to shutdown opponents, intercept and then attack and then went on to have a real impact at senior level in the WAFL Seniors where he was regularly among their better players. For mine it’s his intercepting and marking that are his stand out trait and like Weitering probably at a size that he could start as a 3rd tall defender from Rd 1. Tested particularly well in endurance and agility so only enhanced his prospects at Combine. The knock is his kicking. It doesn’t look great but its effective.

Why / Who else
I think he suits what they are looking for but if a Coffield or Bonar was here they would go them.

# 10 Carlton

HUNTER CLARK – DANDENONG STINGRAYS / MIDFIELDER / 186CM

One that I was a bit down on post champs because I don’t think he (like a few others) grabbed his opportunity and showed us his best. By the year end that had all changed. Had a fantastic end to the year and was outstanding during the finals series and then had a really good showing in the All Star game. He is a real ball hunter and reminds a bit of Shuey and his aggression at the footy. He is an elite user left and right foot when he is on and that’s going to appeal to clubs a lot.

Why / Who else

If they could walk away with Rayner and Clark I reckon they would be thrilled. I had Constable pencilled here for a long time and still think he would be very close along with Bonar.

# 11 GIANTS

ED RICHARDS – OAKLEIGH CHARGERS / MEDIUM DEFENDER / 184CM

I really like this kid and he has come from a long way back to be this high up my rankings. It’s that progression I suspect clubs will be drawn to and go after. He has speed to burn and he uses it from the back half to really cut through lines and break opposition structures up. With the game having a real heavy reliance on ball transition kids like Ed are highly sort because if he gets going he will really hurt the structures club have set up through the middle or forward. He has superb movement, takes his time and sees what is ahead of him and copes really well with frontal pressure. He is a beautiful kick as well and he certainly has scope to push higher up the ground to play on a wing. Will have interviewed well to.

Why / Who else

Had Higgins pencilled in here as think they need a small crafty forward but Higgins reminds me a lot of Greene and not sure they need two of him. What Richards gives them is speed and positional flexibility. I really rate this kid and have seen him play everywhere. I think he might start more wing as with Cumming and Perryman they have a few options for running backs. Higgins would be the other one would look at along with Brander and Murphy who strikes me as a type they would draft. Lach Fogarty a huge chance.

# 12 Adelaide
DARCY FOGARTY – GLENELG / UTILITY / 192CM

Classic footballer who can play a multitude of roles and am still not sure which is his best. Saw him play some wonderful footy last year as a midfielder and I reckon clubs would love to use him there if they can but he is very good back as well which is probably where he starts. Big powerful unit who really influences the play and leads by example. Loves the contested stuff, sticks his tackles hard and is good with his decision making around the stoppage. Skills are good and he is a good mark of the footy as well. Only room he probably needs to improve a bit is some of his running numbers and hence think will get taken as a 3rd tall defender type.

Why / Who else

Would love Darcy here and I think he might get here. Naughton or a midfielder that falls also a chance.

# 13 West Coast

OSCAR ALLEN – WEST PERTH / MEDIUM FORWARD / 191CM

Probably as much a tall forward given he is just so good at taking the ball at its highest point when he marks. Had a super impressive year and has played particularly well against really good opposition and actually influenced the games when it counted. Still only pretty light but his bod will fill out and along with his running ability he presents as a players teams are going to struggle to get on top of. Got great foot skills.

Why / Who else

To tempting for them to pass up on. Naughton would have to be close for them if he lasted but Allen for mine.

# 14 Swans

JARROD BRANDER – BENDIGO PIONEERS / KEY DEFENDER & FORWARD/ 194CM

His best footy is very good. For mine, he is a probably a key back notwithstanding he played a terrific game forward in the last round of the champs. The fact he played there in the All Star game I thought was significant. He played well that day and he showed his ability to work off his man and get on the offensive and use the ball with some skill. Problem is the gap between best and worst has a fair distance but that can be normal for the taller boys but you would want to be sure he has that competitive go in him.

Why / Who else

Just think he is to good to pass here. The inside mids and quick mids they probably have a greater need for can come later as think the draft has some great choices in that area and the swans have been magnificent at finding gems late and developing them. Still Constable would be really hard to pass on as would Zac Bailey or Ed Richards.

# 15 Brisbane Lions

CHARLIE CONSTABLE – SANDRINGHAM DRAGONS / MIDFIELDER/ 190cm

I think he goes a bit under the radar to be honest but whoever lands him gets a ripping prospect. Watched some more vision of him recently and he is just a really classy mover, who looks really smooth and in control of his game. Works inside and out, has very clean hands, runs hard and can take a strong mark. His vision and hands in traffic are very good and his foot skills have no issues either. Great prospect and can play HB or HF if required as well so he ticks all the boxes.

Why / Who else

LDU and Constable give the Lions some real size to their midfield and nice blend with Hugh M and Ben Keays for the future. Will get Ballenden and Payne later in the draft so thought about Hayes or a key forward here.

# 16 Western Bulldogs

NATHAN MURPHY – SANDRINGHAM DRAGONS / UTILITY / 188CM

Ex cricketer who has plenty excited. Seen him play back, forward and middle and I am still not sure where his best footy is likely to be. What I do know is he is really composed with the footy and glides in and outside of the stoppages. He is smart, has elite vision and can hit a 20c piece from 50m away. He is a beauty. He is light and will take time but so much to like.

Why / Who else

Probably the one I think could go a bit higher than this. I have had him in the mix from # 8 at the Saints. His upside is huge.

# 17 Richmond

JACK HIGGINS – OAKLEIGH CHARGERS / SMALL FORWARD / 178CM

If the era of ‘natural footballers’ is on the way back then Jack might find a suitor reasonably early. Just loves his footy and is a magnificent competitor. He doesn’t have elite speed but he just reads the game really well and he just knows where to be to have an impact in a sort of James Bartel sort of way. High possession winner, can win his own footy and then get on the outside and he is a lovely decision maker and ball user. One on one he is a difficult proposition but it’s that leg speed which may hold him back a touch in the same way it’s held some kids back before him. Could play Round 1.

Why / Who else

Being able to land Naish just gives them so much flexibility and hence just taking the best player available here albeit thought long and hard about Sam Hayes.

# 18 Brisbane Lions

SAM HAYES – EASTERN RANGES / RUCK & KEY FORWARD / 203CM

So much to like about this kid because he has performed at a really high level in his bottom and top age years. Clubs will be drawn to this bloke because he can genuinely play both positions pretty well. He is a big unit and he will be a beast by the team he is 21-22. I think probably understands the forward craft a bit better than a lot of key forwards before him but he has had the benefit of the anti congestion rule in junior footy so he doesn’t get as much pressure around him when he is leading. Still the body of work he has shown there is good and he played there a lot through the year. I still think ultimately he is a ruck first but that is years away His tapping is very good as evidenced by his work against CCJ in the Champs. He is also mobile so he gets around the ground pretty well and you would liken him to maybe a Brad Otten’s type. His issue is his endurance and he needs to improve it so will start more as a forward who can pinch hit.

Why / Who else

Having got two midfielders the opportunity to take Sam and develop him as that forward / ruck would be too tempting and probably fills a need. He has some stuff to work on but for two years on the national stage he has been dominant. Also think if they want him they need to get in before Richmond, North or GWS.

# 19 Brisbane Lions (Matched Bid)

CONNOR BALLENDEN – LIONS ACADEMY / KEY DEFENDER & FORWARD / 199CM

I think Connor is one of the the best key defenders in the draft. I know he has played forward and that’s probably where Lions fans would want to see him play but for mine he just looks so composed and in control of his game at CHB. He reads the play wonderfully, he has great hands and his ball use is elite as evidenced by his results in the kicking test at Combine where he hit a perfect score. Lions have got one here and I think the bid will come very early for him. Knock on him is consistency but that will come.

# 20 Gold Coast

SAM TAYLOR – SWAN DISTRICTS / KEY DEFENDER / 196CM

People forget about this kid but he is a ripper and has been consistent since the Academy game at the start of the year, through the Champs and then at senior WAFL level. Was terrific right through the Champs and wasn’t ever beaten albeit he didn’t win a heap of the footy. His form line into the end of the year was really good as he finished off in the seniors finals campaign and was a terrific contributor for Swan’s. He reads the game really well and he makes good decisions around when to intercept mark or spoil. He will take time though as needs to fill out a bit but again played well vs the big boys. Had good games against Shaw and Kietel late.

Why / Who else

Need some defensive support for their backs as they don’t bat deep there. Alternatively Zac Bailey! Might prefer one later and to take a mid like Zac.

# 21 Richmond

NOAH BALTA – CALDER CANNONS / KEY DEFENDER & KEY FORWRD / 194CM

One of the real eye catching players of the draft pool and finished the year off really strongly. Plays his game with real athleticism and flair. He has played all over the place as a junior but I think his best footy is going to be at CHB where I think he reads the play well and can intercept mark and then run off and participate in forward transition. He has a boot on him that is really impressive. No issue with him covering 50-60m at ease and he generally hits his targets. Does all the defensive things as well (loves sticking a tackle) and happy to get involved at ground level. Be interesting to track his development because once he gets that consistency he could be anything.

Why / Who else

Tigers would love a key forward but if Sam Hayes gone then I am not sure where it happens. I think Noah makes good sense for the Tigers if he hasn’t been taken by the Suns. He can play both ends and whilst CHB is maybe more his go he has the scope to be a key forward. He gives them flexibility. If Sam Hayes made it then they would be really tempted.

# 22 Richmond (Matched Bid)

PATRICK NAISH – NORTHERN KNIGHTS / MEDIUM DEFENDER / 181cm

Richmond will take this kid for sure. Great endurance, he is lightning quick and penetrating kick that can have a devastating impact. Is still light but will go well but just not sure where they will start him. I think his best footy is half back but not sure that is where they will start him. May take some time for him to get his body up to size as well.

# 23 West Coast

TIM KELLY – SOUTH FREMANTLE / MIDFIELDER & HALF FORWARD / 183CM

23yo from WAFL who has steadily improved for last couple of years. Think Daniel Wells and you would be about right. Clearly a long way to go but at WAFL level it’s that Wells type game he plays. Midfielder who can win his own footy, go forward (kicked 7 in a game this year), has speed, class and really damaging by foot. Watched his state game as well and he showed he can go to a bigger level so that will have clubs thinking hard about him.

Why / Who else

Love this kid. Oozes class and suits what WCE need along with a couple of others who probably have themselves thinking they aint far off. Convinced they traded bac to get him but think they will ned to pull trigger pre Geelong or North who will see him in same light…ie as someone who could just push them that bit higher.

# 24 Geelong

LACHLAN FOGARTY – WESTERN JETS / MIDFIELDER & SMALL FWD/ 175CM

Had a stellar year this kid and I have really warmed to him as a prospect. Plays midfield at TAC level but I think he will start as a small forward and I think he will excel there. Only a little fella but gee he is tough and he loves the contest and getting his tackles in and applying pressure. Can hurt you offensively because he can take a mark, is really agile, has really nice skills and he makes decisions that hurt opposition teams.

Why / Who else

Cats have a few smaller forward types which is where I see him starting but he has that speed and tackle pressure I think a few of their incumbents lack. I could see him playing very quickly as whilst more a mid at junior level have seen him forward and is v good.

# 25 North Melbourne

LOCHIE OBRIEN – BENDIGO PIONEERS / MEDIUM DEFENDER & WING / 184cm

Hard to predict where he goes to be honest because if I just benchmarked him on his best footy and what he is capable of you would have him very high. At his best you have an elite runner, with good vision and a devasting left leg on him that is arguably the best in the pool. His ability to come in on the ‘45’ and pick out an option is as good as it gets. Issue I have is he can go missing and he can go missing for decent periods as we saw at times during the champs. Personally I would like to see him at HB or wing. I think at HB it gives him lots of options to be used as the quarterback to set play up.

Why / Who else

Having taken Darcy Fogarty I think they will look for some more outside class and Obrien fits that bill as would Kelly or Ling. I think Garner is another they would look.

# 26 Geelong

ZAC BAILEY – NORWOOD & NT / MIDFIELDER /180CM

Is a player that has really risen up my ‘Board’ as the year has gone on and one that really impressed in the All Star game where he showed off all his best attributes. Really competitive player who loves being in the thick of it and winning the footy. Once he has got it he uses his elite speed to explode out of a stoppage and break the game open. He makes really good decisions and can release team mates into space or he will hold onto it deliver it to advantage further afield. When he get to AFL level and gets some size about him you wouldn’t want him having it 25-30 times in a game because he will hurt you. Reminds a little of a young Shane Crawford. Could play as a small forward early in his career as well.

Why / Who else

I think a quick mid is in need at the Cattery and he is a terrific one. Ling would be close to and Garner appeals as a player the Cats would like.

# 27 West Coast

MATTHEW LING – GEELONG FALCONS / MEDIUM DEFENDER & WING / 182CM

Real tease this kid because his best is unreal and his GF was probably the best example of it. Just couldn’t get going there in the first half and when challenged at half time came and was one of the main kids to ultimately win it for them. He has great speed, running ability, vision and decision making and he can carve oppositions up with his foot skills. Really elite player but he needs to get that consistency in his game.

Why / Who else

Player with nice speed and will cover the ground really well for the Eagles. His GF was a real standout in how he can influence a game. Stoddardt would be another here. Inside ability of a Garner as well. Ballard has the class they probably want as well.

# 28 GIANTS

JOEL GARNER – EASTERN RANGES / MIDFIELDER & MEDIUM DEFENDER / 184cm

Natural footballer who just has that footy blood running through his veins. He is a decent athlete but he is a footballer first and foremost. He is also a leader and is a very impressive young man so the club that gets him I think potentially gets a future captain of their club. Been tried across a few different spots but I think is best suited to a role in defence as that half back Luke Hodge or Shaun Burgoyne type in the early part of his career and then post that suspect he will have the ability to be that Callan Ward midfielder. Got a bit of class and speed and just seems to read the game really well back there and he can play that ‘general’ type player in the back half who can control the defensive set ups but also intercept and get the attacking transition going. Tough, is a good mark and really neat skills and I think he will play a lot of footy.

Why / Who else

I think they would love to see Sam Hayes get to here. Be a massive chance if he got past the Lions or the Tigers in early 20’s. Garner suits them though. Great leader and can play back and maybe mid suits. Reckon Worpel, Petty or Taylor might also be a chance. They would love a Richards to make it this far.

# 29 GIANTS

CHARLIE SPARGO – MURRAY BUSHRANGERS / SMALL MIDFIELDER & FWD / 175cm

Inside midfielder who has been out for majority of this year but showed enough last year for him to be thought of as a top 20 prospect. Probably slipped back a bit but he will get drafted as a tenacious small forward who has some genuine footy smarts and an ability to really hurt teams on the scoreboard. Is as tough as they come, holds his feet in a contest and applies manic pressure. His ball use is an area that probably needs some refining but its not a massive issue for him.

Why / Who else

Small, quick, defensively minded forwards are high on their agenda and Spargo gives them that. People forget how good he is. He would almost play Rd 1 in that side as physically he could do it.

# 30 Melbourne

RYLEY STODDARDT – EASTERN RANGES / SMALL DEFENDER / 185cm

Not sure people realise he is still reasonably new to the game and hence I think his potential draft ranking could be quite high. His performances across the year have been really good and some of his performances late in the year were excellent. Little like Ed Richards he is that devasting small defender with good speed (particularly his first few steps), lateral movement and ability to really hurt on transition with that left leg of his.

Why / Who else

Another player that gives them real speed and hurt factor which I think suits what they need. Ling, Moore would be others in the mix. Maybe a Ballard?

# 31 Carlton

JAMES WORPEL – GEELONG FALCONS / MIDFIELDER / 184cm

Strong midielder who was a terrific performer last year at the champs and was considered to be an early selection for this year. Great competitor and works hard inside the contest to win the footy and then explode away. His first few steps can be very good. When he is on as he was in the GF he can turn games. I think there has been a knock on his skill level but for anyone that watched him in the finals or the All Star game that was probably put to bed a bit. Not sure where he will land but I think he is a definite player. Think Ben Cunnington.

Why / Who else

Tossed up between he, Matt Day and Will Walker. They may bid on Shipley as well.

# 32 Melbourne

JACK PETRUCELLE – NORTHERN KNIGHTS / MIDFIELDER / 185cm

Quick midfielder from the Northern Knights who has really slid down my board because I just cant get a great read on him. Basketball background and hence has a lot of upside so maybe I should forgive some of the short comings and just focus on his best traits in the belief an club development system will really fast track him. His best is very good. He has elite speed, jump and his ball use is generally very good. Couple of his moments in the All Star game were breath taking and reminded me of Peter Matera running around in the mids 90’s in a GF.

Why / Who else

Melbourne want run and here they have it. Reckon Worpel would be a neat fit as well as a replacement for Jones down the track but they are reasonably covered with Viney etc in that area. Ben Paton?

# 33 West Coast

CHARLIE BALLARD – STURT/ TALL UTILITY /195cm

Not sure where his best position may end up being but I suspect he might end up as a third tall at either end or even a wing. He has a lot of very draftable attributes and clubs will be drawn to him but they will have questions about his ability to really pull a game apart. If you watch him though you just think with some great development he could be a real player. Love his decision making. One of those kids who can drop the eyes and find the right option and then back it up with some lovely foot skills. He is a good mover and he is moving out of defence / wing he never wastes it.

Why / Who else

The class of Ballard fits nicely for the Eagles. I reckon Worpel tempting. He would suit them nicely.

# 34 Sydney

WILL WALKER – SANDRINGHAM DRAGONS / MIDFIELDER & FORWARD / 187cm

Former soccer player who has had a super impressive finish to the year at TAC level including their finals where he absolutely dominated some of their games. He is athletically tall mid who I think will fill out pretty well and has some resemblance to Josh Caddy at a similar age. Very good at winning the ball inside the contest, he is exceptionally clean with his hands and propels his team forward. Can really rack up the touches and has a really nice feel for the game. Equally can go forward as he did this year and kick 2-3 goals and often in pretty quick succession. There are some questions on his kicking and having watched him a lot I get it but equally some of his ball use is very good. He probably just needs to bridge that gap but he has the tools to do it.

Why / Who else

If Worpel got to here he would be close and its not beyond them to look at Shipley, Moore or Matt Day as well.

# 35 St Kilda

DYLAN MOORE - EASTERN RANGES / SMALL FORWARD & MID / 175CM

While I think he starts as a small forward this kid is one of the best endurance runners in the draft pool. Just a bit small and light for the moment so he will go forward and potentially cut oppositions up because he is a kid that knows the craft and just finds a way to be at one with the footy. Really clever, good mark, can win the ball, lovely skills and deft by hand. He creates things and he can just as well finish them. Isnt blessed with speed and that could hurt his draft ranking.

Why / Who else

Just to good to pass here and is best available for a list pretty well balanced in my view.

# 36 Geelong

NATHAN KRUEGER – SOUTH ADELAIDE / TALL FORWARD & UTILITY / 194cm

Another player who have enjoyed watching albeit havent seen as much as would like to. Had some really eye catching moments though through champs where he displayed great aerial ability, good hands, speed and ball use. I think he is probably going to end up as Jack Gunston like player but he needs to be in the game a bit more because he has a lot of talent. Terrific athlete and still looks a bit raw with a lot of upside.

Why / Who else

Could go Wooller but Krueger has a bit more on him athletically and I think that gets him ahead. Just as easily go a key defender but think they may look later. Ross might be a chance as well.

# 37 Melbourne

JACKSON ROSS – EASTERN RANGERS / MEDIUM FWD / 192cm

Tennis player who has come across to focus on footy and would have a few clubs pretty keen. Still a thin fella but he has shown enough to suggest he will go for sure. Athletic type who is probably best suited to a HF flank but could play wing as well. Has shown a penchant for goals with Hailebury and Eastern and with his endurance you could see him getting high and then running back deep. Few times late in the year I was really impressed with some of his vision and his ability to hit the target up. Does the defensive stuff as well so should go reasonably well.

Why / Who else

Long way to go but he is a great replacement for Watts and has a lot of upside to his game. Having said that I think a Petty or a Taylor would be close and the run of Petrucelle as more mids with speed suit them.

# 38 West Coast

BRANDON STARCEVICH – EAST PERTH / MEDIUM FORWARD & MIDFIELD / 187CM

Competitive beast who hunts the footy and loves to hurt the opposition inside the contest. The problem is he just doesn’t get it enough or do it enough but he showed glimpses of it vs Vic Country where he won 14 contested possessions and 8 tackles. He showed his speed, agility, vision and ball skills and he reminds of De Goey. If he can get that sort of production regularly he will be a great get for someone. For mine I think he will be a HF.

Why / Who else

Thougt about Ryan here but am hearing the Eagles have him and will take him later unless someone spoils them. If they thought Fremantle were coming then maybe. Could see a key defender as well and wouldn’t surprise me to see a Taylor or a Petty.

# 39 Collingwood

HARRISON PETTY – NORWOOD / KEY DEFENDER / 195cm

Tall defender from SA that wasn’t really on my radar leading into Champs but was super impressed with him through them and in the subsequent games I saw. Just reads the footy so well and happy to peel off and intercept. His hands are assured and his ball skills are very good to. Seems to play the game with a lot of composure and could be a steal this late.

Why / Who else

Think they are still looking for a key defender and Petty the next best but if Sam Taylor slid to here you would take him. I also think Wooller would be a chance and Krueger or Butts may as well. If they went small defender or mid then blokes like Paton, McPherson and Starcevich would all appeal. Pies can go left field around here so will be interesting. They may have to reach for a player they want.

# 40 Adelaide

ANDREW MCPHERSON – WWT / MEDIUM DEFENDER / 186CM

Could be this year’s Alex Witherden as been off the radar given his injury run. Highly regarded in SA by their coach and he some smarts about him. Seen a bit of him last year (mainly) and I think he projects as a quality player whose calm under pressure, copes with frontal pressure well as he rebounds and makes good decisions. He has good running ability and lovely ball skills. Got some good form in late in the year in the Ressies. He wont go as high as Alex did but he is steal 30+

Why / Who else

Big fan of his and think they will jump at him over Paton. A really quick line breaking back would suit them I reckon but they have a good list and I would argue this bloke is probably next best anyway along with Paton.

# 41 Gold Coast

BEN PATON – MURRAY BUSHRANGERS / MEDIUM DEFENDER & WINGMEN / 185cm

19yo who is a wonderful run and carry defender with scope to play wing as well at AFL level. Don’t usually get overly excited about 19yo’s but I really like this kid. He is genuinely clean with his hands, has great lateral movement, very quick, lowers his eyes and makes good decisions and a terrific finisher……enough said!

Why / Who else

Great replacement for Saad. Would be close a game straight away. Reckon Pies might be chasing him at the earlier pick.

# 42 Fremantle

BEN MILLER – SUBIACO / RUCK & KEY FORWARD / 196CM

Another who had a wonderful combine and would have clubs coming back to look at whether that testing can translate to senior AFL footy as a key forward. The game they will look was the one vs Vic Country when he went forward. A beautiful lead in dangerous channels suggests he understands the craft of playing FF, runs 20m in 2.9s so gets good separation, has 'sure' good hands and is a lovely kick so he has a few core attributes that will excite clubs. At his height he will have to go more forward than ruck and his testing supports that if he can put his game together he could be a real player. He reminds me of Jesse White. Can he pull it all together is the question clubs will be asking because he has everything else.

Why / Who else

I know they have a few forwards but I still think they are looking for that dominant aerial type and I really rate this bloke. His testing was superb and he is capable of playing a few different roles. Jordan Butts / Oscar Claravino?

# 43 Hawthorn

JAKE PATMORE – CLAREMONT / MEDIUM DEFENDER & MIDFIELD / 181cm

Great story as has worked really hard to get himself into good shape. Real accumulator of the ball and can rack up huge numbers. Best spot is behind the ball for mine where he can control the game and make really good decisions for him team on transition. He takes his time and composes himself before executing by hand or foot and that as on show in some of his Championship games. He creates space with some of his decision making and takes the heat off his team mates. The contested part of his game I think has improved fair bit as well and his tackle numbers are ok. Come along way athletically in 12 months and he tested pretty well. Could go higher than this.

Why / Who else

For mine he is the best player available but he is going to play a style similar to Hodge. Houlahan would not surprise.

# 44 St Kilda

OSKAR BAKER – APSLEY / MIDFIELDER / 182cm

Great story. 19yo who was a Lions Academy player but got cut, didn’t play Champs and missed out on being selected in last year’s draft. Wasn’t deterred and would have to be right in the mix for this year’s draft as a mid to late selection. He is genuinely quick (sub 3s for 20m) and also tested well for his vertical leap. As a player he doesn’t win huge amounts of the ball but when he gets it he can cut you up and get transition the ball with real speed. Has the ability to play numerous roles and not sure will play midfield initially at AFL level as not sure endurance good enough but offers scope particularly given he can get on the offensive and kick goals.

Why / Who else

I am just going best available for the Saints. He or Houlahan for mine.

# 45 Port Adelaide

JORDAN HOULAHAN – STURT / MEDIUM FORWARD / 185CM

Exciting half forward prospect whose best moments are really eye catching. His go is his elite speed over short distances, marking ability and his foot skills. Is a terrific lead at the footy and looks to understand his leading patterns and timing. Can also get in the air and pull down some great marks so he is going to have a lot of appeal. Doesn’t need a lot of it to be damagin but he goes missing to often and its largely because he lacks the endurance he needs. It’s improved and he has impressed at SANFL reserves level late as well.

Why / Who else

They might go CCJ here and would be a good selection for them but I had them taking the local boy who I really rate. Enormous upside.

# 46 Gold Coast (Matched Bid)

BRAYDEN CROSSLEY – GOLD COAST ACADEMY / RUCK / 198cm

Love him. They don’t make them like him any more albeit if you think Shane Mumford you are about right. Ber competitive big ruck who had some terrific games in the NEAFL this year where he really stood out and backed it up at champs as well. Can get around the ground really well albeit will need to work on his fitness but he will make it.

# 47 Melbourne

CALLUM COLEMAN-JONES – STURT / RUCK & FWD/ 200cm

Probably the player am finding it hardest to place in the draft. Seen him many times and you are just drawn to his competitiveness and ability to get around the ground and support. You like him because he can take a good contested mark, push forward and genuinely present as an option. He will certainly get picked I would think but the kicking is the thing that will determine exactly where he lands.

Why / Who else

Having missed on Crossley I think they will aim up at CCJ. If it wasn’t for his ball use he would be nearly top 20.

# 48 GIANTS (Matched Bid)

NICK SHIPLEY - GWS ACADEMY / UTILITY / 190cm

Relative new comer to footy and think the GIANTS will want to take him as he has shown a fair bit and I would think is their best prospect this year. Has played all over the field in the games I have watched him but looks most settled in the middle for mine. Athletic type who tested really well at Combine in both speed (sub 3s for 20m) and endurance. Can win his own footy, doesnt mind it hard in close, hands are reasonable and a very good distributor of the ball by foot. His vision is very good and watched him a number of times exit stoppages or go through traffic and make the right decisions. Game on GF morning was good and he showed a couple of tricks and he certainly impressed at Champs and through the NEAFL games he had this year.

# 49 Essendon

MATTHEW DAY – OAKLEIGH CHARGERS / MIDFIELDER / 189cm

An ex Basketballer who is still developing his game but you don’t have to watch him to many times to realise he has some seriously good AFL traits. He is a ripping size and you would think will fill out pretty well but he has a bit of speed, he is really agile through traffic, skills are good and I think most appealing is probably his vision and decision making having won the ball inside the contest / in congestion. My knock on him is he doesn’t really dominate games consistently but he has been focussed on basketball and he showed improvement late in the year and was given a spot in the All Star game which suggests clubs will come for him. A lot to work with.

Why / Who else

They need inside mids and there are probably a number of names but I really like this kid and I think he has great scope. Ainsowrth would be one you could get here that could play pretty quickly.

# 50 Port Adelaide

JORDAN BUTTS – MURRAY BUSHRANGERS / KEY FORWARD & DEFENDER / 195cm

Youngest player that will get drafted I suspect and whilst still pretty raw and in need of some more bulk he has a lot of upside. His go is that he is a wonderful one touch mark player. Really flies for the ball and gets it at its highest point and they just stick. Played forward and back but has some traits that make you think trying him as a forward might be the way to go. Pretty mobile and strikes me that if he could learn that forward craft the combination of his speed and ability to create separation along with his one touch marking could make him a real prospect.

Why / Who else

Huge upside this kid. McLean?

# 51 Gold Coast

TOM MCCARTIN – GEELONG FALCONS / KEY FORWARD / 192CM

The best of him is really good but he has a penchant to go missing and that’s what worries me. Having said my god does he work up and down the ground to create contests and options for his team. At times you can put that down to skill and to his credit he never drops his head. He is a competitor. Young fella to and will do Yr 12 next year. Others will have higher but probably needs to work on his consistency and speed for mine.

# 52 Sydney

GRYAN MIERS – GEELONG FALCONS / SMALL FORWARD / 177Cm

Natural small forward in the Milne mould and kicked circa 50 goals this year. Plays on instinct and just has this knack of being in the right spot and making the difficult look easy. Some of his game at various levels this year have been super impressive. Not quick but reads the game better than most is agile, deft by hand and foot and reasonably good overhead for his size. 7 goals in the TAC GF is the game you want to get some vision of if you haven’t seen him.

# 53 Brisbane Lions

BRENT DANIELS – BENDIGO PIONEERS / SMALL FORWARD / 172cm

Small forward in the Dan Butler mould at the same age and given where game is going with smaller forward lines they will come up at Daniels sooner than you think. He is a competitor who just reeks footy smarts and that natural ability to read the game and position himself where he needs to be. Seen him dominate at stoppages and in traffic through the middle but for mine he will go as a small forward who can apply real defensive pressure and hurt you on the offensive. He makes good decisions and when playing that role you have to make every one of your touches count. He could go earlier than this and play Rd 1 given his speed, strength and agility. Reckon GWS would be very keen.

# 54 Richmond

ALEX MARTINI – GLENELG / MEDIUM DEFENDER / 181cm

The work rate is what you see in this kid along with his competitiveness. Doesn’t possess any x factor attributes but he works really hard and reads the game really well. Good with his hands, solid kick and can take a grab. Played a lot of senior footy this year and has done really well at that level showing he can compete. Was a solid champs performer and thought he was very good in the All Star game as well.

# 55 Richmond

BRAYDEN AINSWORTH – SUBIACO / MIDFIELDER /183CM

19yo who has been really impressive all year at WAFL reserves level and at the championships. He is a very hard working midfielder that can win ball inside and out. One of the things that stands out for me is his decision making. Has that ability to be composed enough to take the time to make good decisions. I think his ball use can be cleaned up a bit but the tools are all there. For his size he takes a really good contested mark and he can push forward as evidenced by some of his WAFL reserves games late.

# 56 Collingwood

TOBY WOOLLER – OAKLEIGH CHARGERS / KEY FORWARD / 193CM

Interesting prospect as could well go higher than some think. The game is probably coming to Toby a bit. He is that very competitive, very agile type with a really good endurance base and work rate. He is probably a little undersized so in some ways maybe more a Jack Darling type than a true key position player. Still pretty light and needs some time to bulk up but you are just drawn to his competitive spirit and want to give repeat efforts. I think a club looking for a key forward from about 30 onwards would be looking at him for sure. Not overly quick and could slide a bit but I just love his work rate and footy smarts.

# 57 Geelong

OSCAR CLAVARINO– DANDENONG STINGRAYS / KEY DEFENDER / 196CM

Key defender who had a terrific game at Champs at Punt Road where he demonstrated all the things that draw you to him as a prospect. It was a game that put him on the map because his best is very good. Great size, good endurance, reads the play well which helps overcomes his lack of speed and hence he closes space reasonably well and is a really nice mark. I don’t mind his kicking but it probably needs to be cleaned up a bit and at times he can make some decisions that have you nervous. Having said that he likes to take the game on and you can’t penalise him too much for that as a club development system will work that out and bridge that gap between best and worst. Could be a terrific get this late in the draft. Isnt overly quick and hence has dropped back a bit in my rankings.

# 58 Port Adelaide

KANE FARRELL – BENDIGO PIONEERS / MEDIUM DEFENDER & MIDFIELDER / 182cm

Played a bit of defence and midfield this year and I think he has some scope in the middle. His aerobic capacity as evidence by his Combine results and his kicking skills that clubs will come for. He is an elite runner and he is an elite user off that foot over both short and long distances. He just needs to get more of the footy for mine.

# 59 Fremantle

ETHAN FLOYD – GEELONG FALCONS / WING & HB/ 179cm

Think clubs will have a close look at Ethan because he is an elite runner, has good speed and his ball use by foot is at the upper end for sure of the draft pool. Can really influence games with his ball transition and the way he can cut through defensive lines. Probably needs to be in the game more at times and that’s probably due to him not being a great ball winner but if he can fix that he will really hurt teams. Got some class. That game vs Gippy in the first final was him at his best.

# 60 Collingwood

TYLER BROWN – EASTERN RANGES / WINGMEN / 186CM

If you have seen vision of Gavin playing at the same age then you will agree there are a lot of similarities with Tyler. Quieter sort of kid but goes about his work in pretty the same way. Has that same Brown courage, ability to win the footy and then work through congestion to the advantage of his team. Quite agile and has that initial burst of speed that his Dad had as well. His ball use is a bit underrated but he rarely wastes the footy. I thought he just got better and better through the year and whereas Callum really dominated junior level at times I think Tyler is probably still working his way up. There were some really good games this year and you’d hope that some of what he showed in finals sets a new benchmark for him. Will take a bit but he’s coming.

# 61 Gold Coast (RS)

JORDAN JOHNSTON – GWV / MEDIUM FORWARD & MIDFIELDER / 185cm

One of the players I really enjoy watching. Is one of those kids that plays at a high tempo and is a real barometer for team. Probably started more as a half forward where he is crafty and clever in the air and on the ground. Has a good leap, turn of speed and his clean hands and ball use are good. Went into the middle later in the season and I was pretty impressed with his work inside and and out. Has good vision in traffic and makes good calls.

# 62 Port Adelaide

HAYDEN MCLEAN – SANDRINGHAM DRAGONS / KEY FORWARD / 197CM

Had a super season at TAC level where he really dominated but it was his All Star game that will have stood out. I rate Harrison Petty highly and he got a hold of him in that game and kicked 4 (albeit Harrison probably had his measure in the Champs). He presented at the footy really well and showed good speed and smarts in his leading and had strong hands. Happy to crash into packs and use his size and break packs up. He is a beautiful kick but I suspect there are still doubts about his agility at the top level. Having said that I have watched him in the ruck and felt he gets around ok. Will be an interesting one to watch as still not convinced on his mobility at AFL level. I really like watching him to be honest though and think he is smart.

# 63 Port Adelaide

TRENT MYNOTT – EASTERN RANGES / MIDFIELDER / 184CM

Caulfield Grammer kid who I think is a really smart footballer and who can play a few different roles. Quite like him around the middle because he is quite good at the stoppages, gets through traffic pretty well, runs both ways, applies good tackle pressure and uses it really well. Averaged 22 possessions which is decent and had a good carnival and impressed for sure. Watched his vision again recently and looks a real player. Knock is his speed.

# 64 North Melbourne

ADAM SAMBONO – NT THUNDER / SMALL FWD / 182cm

20yo who the AFL have bent the rules for a little to enable him a pathway to be drafted…..and good on them. Kid is only slight but he is a real talent and burnt up the NEAFL with his goal kicking this year. Agile, quick, crafty and understands the forward caper well. Importantly even though he is only slight he is happy to do the defensive stuff as well but clubs will be concerned about his ability to physically match it at senior level. Let’s hope he gets a spot as he would be a ripper to watch.

# 65 GIANTS

BAILEY FRITSCH – CASEY SCOPRIONS / MEDIUM FWD/ 186CM

Might be the first mature age player to go. Had a super year and has come from a long way back to surely get taken this year. Medium forward who was really dominant at VFL level kicking 40+ goals from half forward and possesses a terrific leap and mark and boast good foot skills. Endurance is good but there is a question over his speed.

# 66 Fremantle

FLYNN APPLEBY – GWV / MEDIUM DEFENDER / 187CM

Bit of a bolter and staggered he wasn’t invited to Combine. Number of clubs are circling him so expect him to go particularly after his effort on Brander late in the year where he really dominated him. Still pretty thin and needs time but he is a classic HB who plays a bit taller and tougher than what you think. Lovely mover, take a great mark, reads the play well and can intercept and then get involved in the transition forward.

# 67 GIANTS (RS)

KYRON HAYDEN – SUBIACO / MIDFIELD / 185CM

Already a big unit and every chance he would be ready to go if needed round 1. Had a really good combine where he improved his ratings and probably signalled to clubs to make they look closely at him. There is a lot of appeal around him as a big bodied midfielder in that Cripps type mould but he needs to get more footy. For a midfielder averaging 22 possessions at Colts and 14 at reserves isn’t enough for mine. When he has it in hand its good. He is composed, shows good vision and gets the ball really efficiently. Having said that he had a terrific finish to the year and was a really solid performer for Subiaco reserves.

# 68 Essendon

ALEX BOYSE – ESSENDON / MEDIUM FWD/ 191cm

Another terrific state league story of a player who has come from outside the normal pathway to land a spot on an AFL list. Been a big goal kicker for the VFL side this year and is that kind of ‘in vogue’ forward that is really mobile, reads the game well and plays a little taller than he is because he marks the ball at the highest point. His speed particularly is elite (2.92s for 20m) allows him to get great separation so would think he will surely go.

# 69 Brisbane Lions (Matched Bid)

JACK PAYNE – LIONS ACADEMY / KEY DEFENDER / 195cm

Won the Div 2 MVP for Lions and think he is a genuine prospect to get taken on a list and of course most likely Brisbane’s. Will develop into a strong bodied key defender who has a bit of speed about him and can negate and attack. Has good hands in the air and reads the play well coming in but also when the ball is in dispute his decision making is pretty good. Skills fine. Depending on what clubs do early they may target him later in the National Draft.

# 70 Hawthorn

TOM DE KONING – DANDENONY STINGRAYS / RUCK & FWD / 200cm

For mine this kid is a ruck. Some of his tap work at clearances is very good and were a few times at Champs where I just thought…”wow” he has something. I think it was vs SA and he was up against CCJ and he beat him regularly. That was a good game for him. Big agile bloke who is a good mover and a nice kick for his size so he can get ball around the ground and be trusted to use it well. Can also go forward but I haven’t really seen him take a game apart there whereas in the ruck I have been impressed. I think he has a good competitive streak as well.

# 71 West Coast

LIAM RYAN – SUBIACO / SMALL FWD / 184cm

Exciting small forward who has been a prodigious goal kicker for Subiaco over last couple of years and if selected will become a real cult hero. Personally thought was good enough last year in terms of performance but clubs questioned his ability to make the transition. Got it all. Can play in the air and on the ground and has great x factor to go with that enormous leap. Skills are very good.

# 72 Fremantle

SCOTT JONES – EAST PERTH / RUCK / 204cm

Big ruckmen that has really progressed this year and would think gets a chance because he is probably the out and out ready to play ‘player’. Seen a bit of him and think he is ready to go at AFL level.

# 73 Geelong

DOMINIC BARRY – GLENELG / MEDIUM DEFENDER / 179CM

EX demon who went back to SANFL and has come on really well. Has settled into a HB / Wing type role and understands his game and its strengths and uses them to full advantage. Improved his 1:1 capability and can win the footy and then use his elite endurance and speed to get the ball his teams way. His skills are really good and think he will get another opportunity albeit there are a few like him in the pool.

# 74 Carlton

JACKSON EDWARDS – GLENELG/ MIDFIELDER / 185cm

Father son for Adelaide who reminds of Simon Black. Smooth mover and I think is a really good midfielder when he has the ball in hand. His issue is his speed – its not great and hence why Crows have taken the risk as they probably liken him to Grigg and his deficiencies. Having said that, he put in some good games late in the SANFL and I reckon a club will call him out.

# 75 Hawthorn

NOAH ANSWERTH – OAKLEIGH CHARGERS / MEDIUM DEFENDER & MIDFIELDER / 183CM

Hard at it HB type who had a shocking injury to his back that kept him out most of the year. Did get back onto field late and reminded us why he was a player that was up the pointy end coming into the year. Really aggressive, tough HB type who is a terrific size and a really good mover. Got some speed and can set up from the back half with his ball use. Would be a great get for a club this late. Suspect will go into the middle at some stage.

# 76 North Melbourne

HUGH DIXON – TAS / KEY FORWARD / 195cm

Had a really good Div 2 carnival and then came in and played some good footy for the Allies. Interesting player because he doesn’t really present as a big talent but when you just watch him you cannot help but be impressed about the way he reads the game and how he gets himself into positions deep forward that hurt defenders. Moves well, can take a grab and probably the standout thing is how quickly he can recover and capitalise. Just a natural play who just competes.

# 77 Fremantle

MITCH CROWDEN – STURT / MIDFIELDER / 175cm

Old fashioned strong bodied midfielder who has a real knack for reading the game and winning a fair bit of footy. Loves the inside stuff but has elite endurance and speed and his first few steps can cause trouble from stoppages. Really nice left foot on him as well. Had a terrific SANFL reserves game late where he got 25+ touches.

# 78 Hawthorn

TYLER KEITEL – WEST PERTH / KEY FORWARD / 196cm

21 yo who has been knocking on the door for a while now and probably a combination of stuff that has prevented him until now but he has earnt and deserves the chance. Since missing as a junior has played back and performed well but with West Perth has really made the key forward post his own and had a dominant year up forward. Always read the flight well and had good hands and his mobility is good he just needs to probably get a bit more production and consistency but think he will thrive if he really wants it.

# 79 Western Bulldogs

CHARLIE THOMPSON - OAKLEIGH CHARGERS / SMALL FORWARD / 183cm

Rate this kid as an AFL Prospect. Plays a role clubs will be chasing kids for and has the scope to push higher if required. Has played predominantly as a small forward which is where he will land at AFL but has been used as a midfielder as well and had some big games where he has gathered a lot of footy and kicked multiple goals such as the game vs Bendigo late in the year. Smart player who knows where to position himself, tough and loves it physical, keeps his feet and stays in the contest which is crucial for a bloke playing that role, makes good decisions and then finishes really. Got really nice skills on him. Defensively will do it for you as well. The knock on him is he doesnt have that elite speed clubs might be after for that role.

# 80 Fremantle

AIDAN DOMIC – GWV / MEDIUM FORWARD / 185cm

Played in the All Star game last year and is a terrific athlete albeit isn’t overly quick but is someone that just runs all day and works his bumb off. Wonderful skills and has genuine footy smarts in his decision making and finished 2nd in the B&F for GWV. Averages over 20 possessions a game and clubs will be worried about the fact he doesn’t win a high percentage of them as contested and his tackle numbers are around 3 per game.

# 81 Melbourne

NICK HIND - ESSENDON VFL / SMALL DEFENDER / 181cm

23yo who has had good VFL year and could be next Saad / Newman / Hibberd / Ryan. Lightning quick and tested really well at the Combine where I think he went circa 2.9s from memory for the 20m so that is going to appeal to clubs along with the fact he tested well for endurance. He is a really attacking defender who is good below his knees, has clean hands and is a good ball user so is the type of player a lot of clubs are looking for at the moment as they focus on their ball transition from defence. Has also spent some time in the middle but Nick could play Rd 1 in a back pocket albeit he still probably needs to build the frame a little and that may be what holds him back.

# 82 Essendon

BAILEY HENDERSON – BENDIGO PIONEERS / UTILITY / 188CM

Got a lot of traits clubs will be really keen. Athletically ticks a lot of boxes – great size, very agile and has some good speed. With ball in hand got a bit of poise and with that speed he can set his team up with his nice finishing skills over short and long distances. He is an outside type but I have been impressed with some of his work at TAC & Champs where he went hunting the footy and got some good results and that will have been noticed. He does need to work on that though along with his tackle pressure & consistency because he can go missing.

# 83 Sydney

HAIDEN SCHLOITHE – SOUTH FREMANTLE / MIDFIELDER & SMALL FWD / 184cm

Did it all this year winning nearly every award there was in WA. As we know though that doesn’t mean much for draft chances given what has happened with a few of those award winners. Has mixed his time between midfield and forward but I really like him forward. Has real speed, defensive running mindset and powerful fella who keeps his feet and can find the goals. Love to see him go and he is that in vogue player so would think he does.

# 84 North Melbourne

KIERAN STRACHAN - ESSENDON / RUCK / 202cm

Few clubs are on the look out for a ruck this year and I think this is probably the best mature age prospect going around. 202cm, athletic and has a lot of upside left in him. Spent a little time forward at stages and showed can take a grab or at least compete in the air as well so he is a handy prospect. Given the progress to date you would think getting into an AFL club development programme will do wonders for him. Clubs want competitors and blokes that will have a ‘crack’….he does.

# 85 Sydney

TOM NORTH - EASTERN RANGES / MIDFIELDER / 186cm

Big bodied inside mid who has a sensational booming kick on him. His go is winning the footy on the inside and then using his power to be able to exit the stoppage. For a bloke who plays inside he has a very high kick efficiency and not unusual for him to be consistently at 70% which is AFL standard for sure. Probably didnt have the dominance was hoping for at champs and his speed isnt that of others so he is probably at the back end.

ROOKIE DRAFT

# 1 Brisbane

CLAY BEAMS – REDRAFTED

Not really a big fan of clubs redrafting players (except when contracted) and not 100% sure of what Claye position is but I reckon they would be better off with some of the blokes who are performing to a high standard in the state leagues. A Pat Wilson I think would be a great choice for them and their kids

# 2 Gold Coast

SAM DAVIDSON – ACADEMY SELECTION / Midfielder / 181cm

Seen a bit of Sam and whilst a fair bit to work on he has electric speed and did some things through the Champs that just made you go ‘wow’. He reminds of Williams from last year who ended up at North. Was nowhere near it other than had that great speed attribute but got into a club programme and thrived.

# 3 Carlton

JOEL AMARTEY – SANDRINGHAM / TALL UTILITY / 196cm

Basketball background and had a wonderful 2nd half of the year. Certainly put his name in contention for a spot late in the draft. Clubs will be drawn to his athletic ability. Obviously very tall but has a great leap on him, got some speed and terrific agility. He is a good ball user and a can take a really good grab. Not sure what his best spot will be. Seen him mostly as a ruck / forward but also seen him play back and actually thought he looked at home. Saw a number of his games leading in and during finals and a really eye catching player. Intrigued to see where he lands.

# 4 North Melbourne

ALEX FREDERICO - NORTHERN KNIGHTS / MIDFIELDER / 184cm

Started more as a back but moved to Inside midfielder this year and is a competitive bugger and think he might have got himself into a draftable position with his second half of the year where he finished amongst their very best in the last 6 games. Clubs want blokes who compete and can win footy and Alex demonstrated that in the 2nd half of the year. His go is to win the footy and then use his vision to release his teammates into an attacking position. He is a good mark, has good endurance and his ball use by foot is certainly AFL standard but its hand’s that are the real weapon.

# 5 Fremantle

BAILEY BANFIELD – CLAREMONT / MEDIUM DEFENDER & MIDFIELDER / 184cm

Came through the junior system more as a HB type and actually was pretty impressed with him in his draft year. Was surprised he didn’t get taken as I thought he was really composed and made good decisions. His kicking was a bit of an issue I think and maybe lacked the leg speed but has dominated at Claremont this year and won their B&F spending more time in the middle.

# 6 Collingwood

AARON DARLING – DANDENONG STINGRAYS / SMALL MIDFIELDER & FWD/ 178cm

Academy player who was probably the most exciting small forward coming into the season with Higgins but ended up doing his ACL and we didn’t get to see him. Strong body, competitive and terrific skills and think he might get snapped up late. Cousin of Jack Darling. Plays mid and can go back as well so offers a lot of versatility. They may prefer a ruck here but think Darling to good to let pass. They could go a few different ways with say a Meek or Conway in the ruck, a Talia or Mihocek as a defensive back ups or a Close as a tall forward / defender.

# 7 Hawthorn

MICHAEL TALIA – SYDNEY SWANS / DEFFENDER / 195cm

I would take this kid. I watched him in the NEAFL a few times last year and he is better that state league level. With Gibson retired I think he provides them some coverage back there if they want it. Close and Collins are others.

# 8 St Kilda

HARRISON JONES – MURRAY BUSHRANGERS / MIDFIELDER / 183cm

Impressive midfielder who might surprise on draft day. Can play inside and outside but its his work inside that really impresses me. For starters he wins a high percentage of them on the inside and his one touch, his first few steps and then distribution by hand to a team mate is first class. On the outside his ball use is fantastic and there is a fair bit to work with I would have thought. Didn’t play towards the end of the year but don’t be surprised if gets called earlier than you think.

# 9 Western Bulldogs

DYLAN LANDT - CALDER CANNONS / SMALL DEFENDER / 180cm

Be surprised if Dylan doesnt go as clubs are desperate for speed at the moment and the kid has it in spades being an elite sprinter before focussing on footy. Think he ran a sub 3s at Combine so he has franked that form. Wasnt overly dominant this year but he did enough to show there is something to work with, particularly in the game vs WA at champs. Even though he didnt get a lot of footy what he did with it was good. Made good decisions and executed them well and when he is on thats what he offers. Also could be moulded into a few different spots but I’d lean to HB or wing. Probably needs to be a more consistent and continue to build on the contested side.

# 10 Melbourne

BRODY MIHOCEK – PORT MELBOURNE / KEY DEFENDER / 191cm

Quality VFL defender who has been in outstanding form for some time and been involved at state level with great success. Knock has been his pace but his results against quality players has been really terrific and would be a handy back up key defender for a side. Reckon could land at Hawks or Pies as well. Sam Collins, Ethan Phillips or Close are others to look at.

# 11 WCE

BILLY HARTUNG – HAWTHORN

I think Billy is good enough to get another chance. His stats from afar look good but he doesn’t win enough of it and that’s an area he will need to focus on. If they didn’t go him then a small forward like Baker or Schulz would be on the list.

# 12 Essendon

PAT WILSON – STURT / MIDFIELDER / 187CM

Big bodied mid from Norwood that Essendon could play Rd 1 next year and would be pretty sure will go well. Been going well for a while and has great skills.

# 13 Sydney

JAMES BELL – ACADEMY SELECTION / UTILITY / 184cm

Seen a bit of him and there is something to work with. First time I saw him was last years NEAFL final and he was terrific. Quick and hard at it and run to good spots to link up. Also worked the other way so was working hard defensively.

# 14 Port Adelaide

SAM CONWAY – GEELONG FALCONS / RUCK / 204cm

Havent seen a huge amount but saw a bit of him in the TAC finals and was impressed every time. He has a way to go but he is a big boy and growing. His hands are fantastic and he really got it to advantage for them on a number of occasions. Wasn’t a huge ball winner but he is still learning

# 15 GWS

SAM REID – REDRAFTED

# 16 Geelong

MATTHEW HONEYBALL - REDRAFTED

# 17 Adelaide

HAMISH BRAYSHAW – SANDRINGHAM DRAGONS / MIDFIELDER & HALF FORWARD/ 187cm

19yo who must have been very close last year and has come back and had a fabuous TAC year and got some good exposure to VFL footy as well. Shares a lot of attributes to his brothers insomuch as a real competitor, tough and loves winning his own footy. Has added that burst of speed you want and his running ability has improved as well. Had a couple of games late in the year that were super impressive and would have clubs looking at him as a later selection because he also can play forward.

# 18 Richmond

STEWART CRAMERI – WESTERN BULLDOGS

I think the Tigers might have been looking for a key forward at some stage in the draft but one just never fell to a selection. With Tigers I took the attitude of just get the best and hence just didn’t pan out that way but I reckon swinging a lifeline to this bloke is the answer. He aint a key forward but he plays there style and he can fill in for a year or two.

# 19 Brisbane

CIAN HANLEY - REDRAFTED

# 20 Gold Coast

HARRY SIMMINGTON – ACADEMY SELECTION

# 21 Carlton

GEORDIE NAGLE - SANDRINGHAM DRAGONS / SMALL DEFENDER / 185cm

Really like watching this kid and whilst he is a bit one dimensional the premiers this showed that as long as blokes play their role you can get more than enough out of them to very successful. I thought it was a great thing for footy and could bring Nagle into draft calculations whereas in the past he might have been seen as a bit limited. What he does he does very well and he reminds me a lot of Ben Johnson. He is that super quick small defender that can win the footy or be first receiver and use his speed to break lines and get rid of the footy. Got great hands, clean below his knees and just thought his form in the finals was superb albit didnt get many accolades for it.

# 22 North Melbourne

CASSIDY PARISH - GEELONG FALCONS / MIDFIELDER / 189cm

Very different to his brother, plays more like a Patrick Cripps sort of player albeit has a few areas to work on before he gets to that level. To be fair he probably reminds me a bit of Matt Crouch at the same age. Not quick, not a brilliant user of the footy by foot but just an elite ball winner and distributor by hand. I was 50:50 on whether Matt would make it and been proved very wrong and Cassidy is probably in the same boat. Some of his skills are elite AFL standard and he can influence games as he showed in the TAC finals. He just has to improve that kicking and to his credit I thought it did improve as the year went on.

# 23 Fremantle

HARRISON NOLAN – EASTERN RANGES / KEY DEFENDER / 195cm

Would be one to look for late I would think albeit given his form this year and last has legitimate claims to be more highly considered. In his 15 TAC games this year landed in the bests twice and has a similar hit ratio last year as a bottom ager. Had a really good year as a key defender for Ranges and he has a good size about him. Probably more a negate type defender as he rarely gets beaten 1:1 and tends to want to spoil more than mark but has the ability to read the game well and intercept. Clubs will see him as a prospect.

# 24 Collingwood

ADAM OXLEY - REDRAFTED

…albeit I rather they didn’t and took someone like Sam Conway, Ned Reeves or Lloyd Meek.

# 25 Hawthorn

CALLAN ENGLAND – CLAREMONT / MIDFIELDER / 181CM

Neat midfielder from WA who doesn’t have a stand out attribute but is just a really solid type player who works really hard to get to the contest and then spread from it. Probably one of those types you don’t realise how much footy he has had until you look at the stats post game because he just accumulates. Then when you go back and take a bit more notice you realise he has a bit of speed, good agility and makes good decision. His ball use is really good and his tackle pressure is ok but he could probably do a bit more on that side of his footy.

# 26 St Kilda

MITCH PODHASJSKI – CALDER CANNONS / TALL DEFENDER / 190cm

His best footy is terrific to watch. Cannot remember the game but he played a game during champs which was super impressive. I hadn’t seen a lot of him before that but he is an exceptional mover, quick, terrific laterally, runs straight and can close space very quickly. Got a leap that lets him play a bit higher. Its that speed and explosiveness that makes you go wow this kid could really be something if he can pull it all together. Ball use is a work in progress but at his best he can lower his eyes and hit targets. Kicked 6 goals earlier in the year so can also push higher but I think his best is in the defensive half.

# 27 Western Bulldogs

BRETT BEWLEY – WILLIAMSTOWN / WINGMEN & HB / 186CM

22yo who has worked really hard to get his body into AFL shape and suspect he will get taken because he is just so devastating with ball in hand. He is an elite runner and has that Michael Hibberd appeal as a player who you want to get the ball to before you exit defence because he just doesn’t let you down by hand or foot.

# 28 WCE

LLOYD MEEK – GWV / RUCK / 204CM

Eagles probably need a 4th ruck on the list given their structure and Meek is the best left. Really impressed with some of his footy this year and made big strides. Great at the contest and good with his hands but he can get the ball around the ground as well. He is a big unit. Sam Conway and Ned Reeves all in the mix.

# 29 Essendon

JOSHUA SMITHSON – WEST ADELAIDE / MIDFIELDER / 185cm

Was a terrific performer in the SANFL for West Adelaide and won the club B&F and the U18’s B&F. Havent seen a whole lot of him outside of champs but he looked a really solid type and he had some good moments with his decision making and his ball use. He might get a chance late as athletically he ticks the boxes as well. Just a solid footy citizen.

# 30 GWS

JACK POWELL – ACADEMY SELECTION / MIDFIELDER / 181cm

Tough little Hombre from Canberra who is still light and a fair way off but they can take the time with him. Seen him a few times and impressed.

# 31 Adelaide

MATTHEW MCGANNON - GIPPSLAND POWER / MIDFIELDER / 182cm

Young fella with huge upside and think will get taken at some stage. The fact they had him in the Young Guns and in the All Star game suggests he is rated. His skills and decision making are really good but isn’t a big ball winner so that will have to come.

# 32 Richmond

KAI OWENS – SANDRINGHAM / UTILITY / 192cm

Plays in a few different spots with Mentone and Sandy and I am not sure where he will land but there is a lot to work with. Athletically he is very talented and has a wonderful leap and set of mits on him as we saw on GF Day. Probably needs to improve the ball winning aspect of his game but clubs will look closely at and suspect might go more as a wing type or high forward that can push forward into dangerous positions. Has got the tools to be a real weapon but he just hasn’t really dominated games on a consistent basis. Given he has focussed more on basketball up until now clubs may look at the fact their development programmes can get him to where he needs to be.

# 33 Gold Coast

CONNOR NUTTING – ACADEMY SELECTION / UTILITY / 187cm

Saw him play during the champs and whilst I didn’t think he screamed pick me I reckon the Suns might take him. If not him a bloke like Keras from the QFL is a chance and would work well for them.

# 34 Carlton

NED REEVES – OAKLEIGH / RUCK / 207cm

Young ruck who was really impressed with his progression through the year and whilst will take time certainly worth a crack this late to see what he can do. With Matt K and Lobbe they have oodles of time to be patient.

# 35 Hawthorn

DAVID HANDLEY – GEELONG FALCONS / SMALL FWD / 183cm

Small forward who at times really impresses and then others goes missing. Certainly has the speed and the ability to be damaging when he has it and then display the defensive pieces the other way. Reminds of Butler.

# 36 St Kilda

LEWIS PIERCE – REDRAFTED

# 37 WCE

CALLUM PORTER – GIPPSLAND POWER / 181cm / MIDFIELDER

Had a fantastic year with some like 12 games amongst the bests for Gippy this year. I get to see a bit of him and to be fair it is hard to rank him as there are a few in the same mould as there always is with the more inside types. Callum is a bit Priddis like and like Priddis may have to come through the rookie draft. He has that same ball hunting that Priddis does and equally can rack up the touches. He has also got a bit more speed than his blonde haired mate.

# 38 GWS

DOULTON LANGLANDS - MURRAY BUSHRANGERS / MEDIUM DEFENDER / 188cm

Athletic type defender who showed a bit last year for the Bushies. Smart half back and uses his body to take gain advantage when the ball is coming in. He’s got some real ability at HB and clubs will come for him becase he has speed and can use the footy really well by foot. I haven’t seen a heap of him but the games I have he has displayed some genuine AFL attributes and I would think he goes as a rookie.

OR

NED RICHARDS – GWSA / RUCK / 200cm

May prefer this bloke who has been around their system for a while and is coming along. They probably would want a back up ruck on the list but its touch and go for mine as to whether they take him

# 39 Adelaide

JAKE SPENCER - MELBOURNE

# 40 Hawthorn

DALLAS WILLSMORE – REDRAFTED

# 41 Adelaide

CAMERON ELLIS-YOELMEN – REDRAFTED

Wearing an essendon hat- I just can't see them taking Day. I would have thought Hayden or Ainsworth are better bets as midfielders while I think a key forward would have to pique some interest. Boyse has talent but we probably have an over supply of 190cm tweeners in my opinion.
Great catch on Flynn Appleby- his effort on miners and woollen were also impressive.
Great read as usual- well done

Good work mate and a big :thumbsu: on recognising my favourite local lad Flynn Appleby, the underrating of Flynn in this draft is criminal, I can only think it's from people that have rarely seen him play, if at all.

Im no draft expert by any means but i would be absolutely over the moon bringing in Dow and Brayshaw. That would set up the Freo midfield for years to come having two inside outside mids with decent pace who can both break away from packs, kick goals and are capable of playing other positions also. I would think we would also like to bring in a ruck of some form, developing or mature, and some KPF and KPD with some later picks and just hope that one or two of them pay off.

Great draft and great read, appreciate all the time and effort you have put in to this!

# 13 West Coast

OSCAR ALLEN – WEST PERTH / MEDIUM FORWARD / 191CM

Probably as much a tall forward given he is just so good at taking the ball at its highest point when he marks.
He must have a serious leap to be able to mark the ball at its highest point. That must be about 10 metres off the ground.

No room on Melbourne's list for rookies or pick 81 if you're being super accurate. No harm if not.

Like the first 3 picks. Athletic wingmen/flankers with pace and/or skill is what we need.

Probably would go for a tall defender or a pressure forward for a needs based pick over a ruck. Mitch King is coming on and we have Filipovic as a rookie as well. Unless it's clear best available I'd wait til next year when we have more list room to bring in a big bloke. We've got 3 category B rookie spots empty as well and they are prime ruck spots.

So at 46 I'd be surprised if Clavarino (trained with the club with academy and seemed to fit in well, good insurance if Frost and Oscar don't work out), Daniels (needs based pick to give some extra forward pressure) and Fritsch (less needs based if we've drafted 3 flankers already but too good to pass on a home grown kid late in the draft) were all left on the table for a ruck.

Rayner, Clark and Worpel is a good draft for us. I'd personally prefer Schloithe over Edwards at #73 As I think we need another mature body.

Also likely that we will rookie at least one of Boekhorst, Shaw and O'Shea.

In regards to Brisbane's draft. We have 6 senior lists spots and one rookie list spot. With the commitment to redraft Claye Beams and Cian Hanley, the belief is we'll only make 5 picks in the National draft, pass on the last so we have two rookie spots for the rookie draft.

At pick 18 Sam Hayes definitely does not fill a need.