maccas_no1

Suspended
Glenelg, MUFC, Triple 8
There is much debate on this board on where the AFC's problem lies, some blame the midfeild saying the delivery isnt good i.e bombing it into the F50 giving our forwards no chance to mark the ball, or not having having confidence in our forwards to mark the ball, or does the problem lie with the forwardline itself and their inabilty to take contested marks/ kick vital goals, over crowded and make no space for each other????

Discuss

I think we lack a lot of pressure in our own forward 50, our tackles are generally slack and we look lazy. Half the problem is our own attitude I believe.

What's your opinion Macca?

Personally, I think our midfield is delivering the ball poorly because they lack confidence in our forwards.

You're talking about players like Goodwin, McLeods, Edwards, Thomson, Reilly - they're some of the best kicks in the League.

But if the forwards aren't leading into space, or you have no faith in their ability to take a contested mark, then it doesn't matter how pinpoint the passing is.

What's your opinion Macca?

Personally, I think our midfield is delivering the ball poorly because they lack confidence in our forwards.

You're talking about players like Goodwin, McLeods, Edwards, Thomson, Reilly - they're some of the best kicks in the League.

But if the forwards aren't leading into space, or you have no faith in their ability to take a contested mark, then it doesn't matter how pinpoint the passing is.
agree with you mate, we just dont have the forwards to put a winning score on the board. that kinda comes with a lack of development

Number of areas need addressing:

1. Mid-field: Used to be one of our strengths - and can still be on a good day, but more often than not we are struggling here. When we are on top, delivery to the forwards is good - and goals are generally the result. When we are bad... we lose. Fairly simple equation really. The midfield needs to find genuine pace, clean hands and consistancy. The likes of VB and Reilly is part of the solution (though Ive been disappointed with VB in recent weeks) but more is needed. Edwards and Goodwin are still getting a tonne of the ball, but are their possessions as effective as they could be (certainly not as effective as they used to be)?

2. Forward structure: Persisting with hard workers rather than finding a really talented KPP is probably not helping. For many years now we seem to have lacked any real system when moving forward and for a long time, we were the team to go into the forward 50 more times than any other team yet kicked less goals. Last year it seemed we had turned that around, but with the loss of Hentschell and other key injuries, this has again disappeared. The lack of a genuine crumber in the forward lines is very damaging as the ball rebounds so quickly because we have no-one at the fall of the ball and the opposition snatch it up and race away.

3. Defence: Clearly we have learned how lucky we have been to have such a settled defence with the loss of both Bassett and Rutten in recent weeks. The loss of players of that calibre is not easily covered and I'm not sure what the answer is but Bock and/or McGregor is not it.

4. Skills and Pace: This has been a strength of the AFC for years but is lacking dreadfully this year - this (poor skills) could be because of:

4a. Mental preparedness: We are very unstable this year in terms of our mental hardness. This was another thing we prided ourselves in but appears to be lacking this year. I wonder if we became a self-fulfilling prophecy in our players minds "so many good players out, so hard to win"... who knows. But it is a major problem this year in that we never know which team will turn up - the mentally switched on one or the "oh, were we meant to play footy today??" one. The lack of pace is also a worry and it appears that even the young "guns" developing are not as fast as the opposition either. Are we not recruiting for speed?

5. Game plan: much has been said about Craig's plan and lack of any movement on game day (although he did make moves today). He is certainly not as slow as Ayres was in making a move but he is slow. And he is definitely not the risk taker like Blight. His faith in the game plan needs however, to be matched by the players. Very often it appears that coach and players are on a different page!

6. Ins/Outs: This will be obviously open for debate now until the last pre-season draft and will get plenty of coverage. I think changes must be made but clearly we are limited in just how much we can change at once.

All in all, given the injuries we have faced this year, Craig has done a remarkable job to get us where we are - in fact, we are probably ahead of where we should be, yet we all feel like we have been cheated. There have been, though, some very concerning aspects sneak into our game that need to be addressed.

Most of our kicks to our forwards are like golf or hospital shots, they are loopy and basically give our forwards no chance.

What has happened to our skill level?:(

The delivery to Burton wasn't that terrible.

He generally received the ball leading into space, or in a one on one marking contest.

Now, he really seems to be a great coach... BUT, I can't help but think that Neil Craig is Adelaide's problem. And I wonder if it is possible to ever win a premiership with him?

thoughts....??

I think we have a few problems, one of our problems is personnel we have basically almost had the same forward line for x amount of years, same guys that are servicable, but will never get any better that havent been moved on and now that time has come.

I think that maybe our gameplan doesnt always suit our team, we arent a fast team and we hunt in packs too much and try to control the corridor so teams switch find that they loose guys wide and play down that side of the field and due to our poor leg speed we cant catch them. We also are far too reliant on handball and giving off to guys under pressure, the stats today were that Freo had twice the amount of marks we did.

The other thing which we all need to accept is that our time has passed, it passed last year and now we are basically what Port was like in 05 and we need to address some issues of the future before we continue to decline around the same 22 players that havent delivered us a flag.

What is the Problem.

Well to put it in very simplistic terms I would say that we were never going to improve much this year anyway and many other teams have. If we had an injury free year things may have been better but I dont think we would have been premiership material. We missed our chance of a grand final appearance in 2005 and 2006 with the team we have and now some of these players must go. Craigy did a great job at giving us another chance over the last two years but I think now is the time to try some young blokes because just trying to make the 8 will be a waste of time and even if we do make it we will be straight out again in a week.

You do have a point there. Personally I would like to see a couple of players out next week and replaced. If we can get into the 8 then that is a bonus.
I probably didnt write it how I was thinking it.

Two things that really stand out to me about the way we are playing:

Handball.

We are using a lot of handball but don't always give the first reflex give. That hesitation gets the team into a lot of trouble.

Also we are the masters of drill a hole in your team-mate handballs. Too many times we turn the ball over by belting the ball at a team-mate about a metre or two away who has no hope of taking it.

Forward line

Apart from Burton and Mc Gregor we don't have forwards that can take contested marks like a Pavlich, Reiwoldt or Brown.

The forwards should be running in different directions in the forward line to make the contests one on one and giving the mid-field options. We tend to hang around together in huddles.

Now, he really seems to be a great coach... BUT, I can't help but think that Neil Craig is Adelaide's problem. And I wonder if it is possible to ever win a premiership with him?

thoughts....??

I've got no doubt Craig can take us to a flag.

But someone needs to tell him that fanatical adherence to a player empowerment program doesn't work if you're willing to show loyalty to players who don't deserve it.

He was ruthless in cutting Ben Hart, and most of us applauded it, where has that ruthlessness gone?

I've got no doubt Craig can take us to a flag.

But someone needs to tell him that fanatical adherence to a player empowerment program doesn't work if you're willing to show loyalty to players who don't deserve it.

He was ruthless in cutting Ben Hart, and most of us applauded it, where has that ruthlessness gone?

Great point, he definately deserves an opportunity to rebuild the side, but he has to start trying to rebuild it. If he sticks with the same old players for the next couple of years and the side bottoms out then he will find himself in a spot of bother. This is his chance to rebuild the side so I hope he doesnt waste it.

For the last month I have noticed opposition coaches playing a loose man in defence. They know our forward line isnt good enough to combat it. So when we go forward we are slow and hesitant. When we bomb it long we are generally out numbered. Do we man up and crowd our forward line? Not sure what the answer is but Craigy doesnt have it either.

We do not have no where near the depth needed to cover the amount of injuries that we have had.

Not enough of our backbone group have stepped up a level this year.

& i might get shot down in flames "but" our young guns are stagnating whether through lack of ability, lack of oppotunity or even injuries i'm not sure.

We do not have no where near the depth needed to cover the amount of injuries that we have had.

Not enough of our backbone group have stepped up a level this year.

& i might get shot down in flames "but" our young guns are stagnating whether through lack of ability, lack of oppotunity or even injuries i'm not sure.

I've never thought your youngsters are your problem ... in general the ones playing are coming along - maybe slower than you may like - but is that because they set the house on fire and raised expectations ?

Personally I think your issue is your middle group of player - the 23/24 - 28 type age bracket (without getting too specific with exact ages) ... but I see very few leaders/stars in that group they are all honest triers but nothing more.

Trying to make the 8 is NEVER a waste of time. That is what we are in the bloody competition for. Throwing it away while there is still a chance is just nuts.

Bull shit – if we are lucky enough to sneak inside the final 8 and finish 7th or 8th we will just be making up the number and it will be a waste of time. At the moment out form is terrible and it doesn’t look like changing. Until the attitude of a few player change and there work rate increases we will not get any better.

You cannot expect to win a game of football by only playing 15 minuets a quarter.

The Adelaide squad need dramatic changes for us to become a premiership threat again. For a mature squad (that what wee are) only just sneaking into the final 8 should be seen as a failure rather than successes. As Michelangelo Rucci said a few weeks back in reference to Bob Dylan “Times are a changing” at the Adelaide Football Club.