gytre

Port Adelaide
C'mont/L'pool/Packers/Inter/Canucks
"I am raw power" says the Port supporter in the Foxtel 2008 AFL ad, who then proceeds to rev up the engine of his old V8.

VROOOOOOOOOMMMM!

Being a club with such strong working class origins and with something of a reputation for boganish supporters, I must say I haven't seen much of it from the BigFooty Port crowd. Apologies if I'm wrong, but I reckon most of youse lot don't strike me as being anything too bogan at all. You seem more like a bunch of politically correct save-the-planet university types. :eek:

So come on, 'fess up. If you're working class, into sinking p1ss, wearing your flannos along with your footy gear, hooning around in a V8, listening to Chisel, AC/DC or any heavy metal, then it's time to proclaim loudly and proudly that you are a bogan! :D

I mean, surely I'm not the only one!

You seem more like a bunch of politically correct save-the-planet university types. :eek:

So come on, 'fess up. If you're working class, into sinking p1ss, wearing your flannos along with your footy gear, hooning around in a V8, listening to Chisel, AC/DC or any heavy metal, then it's time to proclaim loudly and proudly that you are a bogan! :D

d) none of the above :D

OK - I'll admit that I don't mind a drink :cool:

You got me. I'm not necessarily politically correct, but i am the university type. Don't own a V8, but do have a hiroshima screamer which i imported myself. The flannos are only worn indoors nowadays ;)

"I am raw power" says the Port supporter in the Foxtel 2008 AFL ad, who then proceeds to rev up the engine of his old V8.

VROOOOOOOOOMMMM!

Being a club with such strong working class origins and with something of a reputation for boganish supporters, I must say I haven't seen much of it from the BigFooty Port crowd. Apologies if I'm wrong, but I reckon most of youse lot don't strike me as being anything too bogan at all. You seem more like a bunch of politically correct save-the-planet university types. :eek:

Hopefully the "bogans" will be smart enough to knock back the "Asians Out" stickers you'll be encouraging them to put on their cars. :cool:

depends if you look at my govt/computer work or the bar work I do at the club the PAFC Top End Supporters Group watch our games at.

As for the music never really been a big chisel/barnesy fan but grew up on AC/DC, Angels, Black Sabbath, Led Zepplin and Midnight Oil although these days also heavily into blues, thrash or anything with a good beat that doesn't sound too fake/electronic.

Still enjoy a good drink or 10 of beer and bourbon but just don't hit the piss 4-5+ nights in a row.......

As for uni.....never really got close but have done plenty of courses through employers (at work and TAFE) over the years/decades I've been in the work force in banking/computing/debt recovery/computer system admin.

The best move I made though was up north with the tropical weather and casual lifestyle..........:thumbsu:

I am Loud and Obnoxious, I wear the old Double pluggers! You will find me most Friday nights at the Mawson's having a Scotch and Coke and a Schnitta, You will find me Saturday night at Salisbury oval having a Scotch and Coke and a Schnitta! When I get to Port games, I dont care what I yell, nor who hears me, I barack loud and Proud, Wear my heart on my sleve and ride the wave of emotion! But I hold down a respectable IT job from Monday to Friday, 0830 till 1700, where I spend most my time on BigFooty. It's hard for me to be a passionate Port supporter one minute and take Phone calls the next, but hell yeah I am a Bogan, I live in Salisbury for crying out loud! But I think the working class image is sort after for youngins today, we dont want shit served up on a platter for us, we want to work for it, like our footy team!

Wasn't there one of those extensive marketing reviews conducted by Morgon Gallop or whatnot that said the Port Adelaide supporter/membership base had surpassed the Adelaide supporter base in terms of socio-economic factors or some such other indicator (from memory a higher percentage of supporters from the eastern suburbs)?

This would've been in the past 3-6 months.

EDIT: Found a reference, but not the article I was thinking of.

With obvious signs of intense passion, James portrayed an image that the supporter wheel was slowly turning. He cited surprising socio-economic figures suggesting that the Power had a slightly more affluent membership base, which had spread across the State rather than confined within its traditional Alberton or Port district boundaries.

“Society has changed,” James said. “My dad is a boilermaker, and these days boilermakers make more than you and I because of demand. The socio-economic base in SA has changed. The profile of a Power supporter now defies conventional wisdom. We also we have one of the fastest growing supporter bases in the AFL over the past two years.

“Research showed that most Power supporters are in the southern area, which would really surprise most South Australians.”

Wasn't there one of those extensive marketing reviews conducted by Morgon Gallop or whatnot that said the Port Adelaide supporter/membership base had surpassed the Adelaide supporter base in terms of socio-economic factors or some such other indicator (from memory a higher percentage of supporters from the eastern suburbs)?

This would've been in the past 3-6 months.

EDIT: Found a reference, but not the article I was thinking of.

With obvious signs of intense passion, James portrayed an image that the supporter wheel was slowly turning. He cited surprising socio-economic figures suggesting that the Power had a slightly more affluent membership base, which had spread across the State rather than confined within its traditional Alberton or Port district boundaries.

“Society has changed,” James said. “My dad is a boilermaker, and these days boilermakers make more than you and I because of demand. The socio-economic base in SA has changed. The profile of a Power supporter now defies conventional wisdom. We also we have one of the fastest growing supporter bases in the AFL over the past two years.

“Research showed that most Power supporters are in the southern area, which would really surprise most South Australians.”

Firstly reading that whole article is a bit disappointing, ie the pushing the Power at the cost of Port Adelaide brand. I have readothers write it but that is the first time I have read confirmation from the club.:(

The constant reference to the Power, in contrast to Port or Port Adelaide, by James is deliberate. He says it’s about the club’s new approach to branding, trying to attract life-time SANFL supporters who have traditionally resented, even hated, the Port Adelaide Magpies.

“I guess the best analogy is General Electric, now GE, and especially Kentucky Fried Chicken that doesn’t like to say fried anymore, so it’s always KFC,” he said. “We believe that if children come home and tell their parents they are going to barrack for the Power it won’t be the same as saying they are following Port Adelaide, which is seen by many as being confined to a club geographically.”

Secondly the Morgan Gallop surveys. Here are the links to the last two and the Port summary;

http://www.roymorgan.com/news/press-releases/2007/649/

2007 ie March 2007 survey a supporter base of 322,000
Port Adelaide Power supporters are:
• 197% more likely to have made a purchase from Harris Scarfe in the last four weeks;
• 37% more likely to agree that “I usually notice the advertisements on shopping trolleys when I go grocery shopping”;
• 34% more likely to agree that “I don’t like to know too much about what’s going on in the world these days”;
• 30% more likely to agree that “Freedom is more important than the law”;
• 23% more likely to agree that “My pet is a fussy eater”;
• 21% more likely to agree that “For my next holiday, I’d really like a total ecotourism experience”;
• 20% more likely to agree that “I avoid staying at accommodation that does not have genuine environmental policies”;
• 19% more likely to have Vodafone as their mobile phone service provider;
• 16% more likely to agree that “I sometimes use force to get things done”;
• 15% more likely to agree that “I don’t read the ads in newspapers and magazines”;
• 12% more likely to agree that “I believe in taking risks”;
• 11% more likely to agree that “It is important to have a full social life”;
• 19% less likely to agree that “I often enter competitions which are on packets or labels on products”.

http://www.roymorgan.com/news/press-releases/2006/473/

2006 ie Dec 2005 survey - supporter base of 355,000
Port Adelaide Power supporters are:

Made up of 77% South Australians
13% more likely to be unemployed
20% more likely to be renting their home
13% more likely to think they are a bit of an intellectual
39% more likely to sometimes use force to get things done
27% more likely to agree you can tell a person by the type of car they drive
13% more likely to agree they cant relax until they know the house is clean and tidy
15% more likely to be worried about the health risks of mobile phones
47% more likely to have bought goods on lay-by in the last three months

The thing that I find interesting is that 23% of Port's 320k to 350k supporters live outside SA. Either were not as big a bogans as sterotyped, ie we get off our backsides and move for work, or we have picked up a lot of fans outside SA in a short time. I think its the former.

Compare that to Adelaide's 16%, Freo's 8% and West Coast's 17% of their supporters living outside their home state.

Anyway, over 60,000 of our fans live outside SA if the survey is accurate. The question has to be asked of the club, what are they doing to keep in contact with these fans and get them to support the club financially? Have they considered an interstate adult supporter packages ie $55 rather than a full club outside SA memberships of $110? Package up some basic merchandise, get their details and work on them becoming full club members in the long run.

what a bunch of useless statistics...are roy morgan a private organisation? I'd hate to think my tax dollars are wasted on things like "port supporters are 27% more likely to find a red shoe on the side of the road in the next 5 years"...

although the "19% less likely to enter into a competition from the back of a cereal box" one is interesting.

^^:D
Roy Morgan survey about 25,000 people once every year. Yes they are a private company. They ask over 100 questions over many different topics. Companies pay for this info. However when it comes to the AFL stats they just pull them all together and come up with some useless stuff. They also come up with a few useful stats.

But if you were a retailer you would pay for more specific info that is targeted. They wouldn't mix it up with AFL or sport allegiances or political leanings etc etc.

However some of the sports stuff would be useful to retailers. For example Vodafone would be happy that Port supporters use Vodafone more than the average AFL supporter. That shows the sponsoring of our club is working with our supporters. Whether it's enough, well that's their call.

Although I like the;
• 16% more likely to agree that “I sometimes use force to get things done”; Is that the Port Adelaide agression we sing about?? :D

And this ones not bad
Richmond Tigers supporters are:
• 70% more likely to agree that “I consider myself a homosexual”; :)

^^:D

Although I like the;
• 16% more likely to agree that “I sometimes use force to get things done”; Is that the Port Adelaide agression we sing about?? :D

Probably... I often line up at an eastern suburbs bakery and assuming the rest of the people in line are crows supporters I put my head over the last pasty and put my body on the line into the contest.

but grew up on AC/DC, Angels, Black Sabbath, Led Zepplin and Midnight Oil although these days also heavily into blues, thrash or anything with a good beat that doesn't sound too fake/electronic.

Still enjoy a good drink or 10 of beer and bourbon
Mate, you read like bona fide bogan material. :thumbsu: And you are not alone. :D

The thing that I find interesting is that 23% of Port's 320k to 350k supporters live outside SA. Either were not as big a bogans as sterotyped, ie we get off our backsides and move for work, or we have picked up a lot of fans outside SA in a short time. I think its the former.

Compare that to Adelaide's 16%, Freo's 8% and West Coast's 17% of their supporters living outside their home state.

Being involved with the inception of and running of the PAFC Top End Supporters Group I can say it's the former with the fact that we are true Port Adelaide Football Club supporters.

We're much more passionate with our support which is easily shown when comparing the different supporter groups up here. We've been in existance since the beginning of 1997 and our support has been pretty constant with a small growth in our membership each year as everyone enjoys getting together to watch the games and support the club when in town. We also have great support from the Govt with invites to the shows they put on for the clubs and corporate sponsors who support our group in raising funds for the club.

Collingwood and Adelaide have had many up's and downs with their groups and a couple of other clubs have gotten off the ground in their premiership years only to disappear again......as an example Geelong are currently up and running for the 3rd time in the 12 years I've lived up here.

But we are the chardonnay sipping yuppie group right?

How can we be a bogan as well?
Don't kid yourself. Only a small percentage of Crows supporters are Eastern Suburbs chardy quaffing types. The Adelaide Football Corporation is the team of all South Australians and a lot more South Aussies live in places like Davoren Park and Hackham West than live in Burnside and Toorak :p

And BTW, yuppie implies "young". If all the Crows supporters are "young" why are so many of them members of the blue rinse set :confused:

He cited surprising socio-economic figures suggesting that the Power had a slightly more affluent membership base,

I think you've misinterpreted.

The bit you highlighted does say Port have a more affluent memberships base but more than what? While it isn't clear what he's comparing to I'd suggest it means more than in the past. The whole article only refers to the Crows once in a very minor way. It wasn't a comparison with anyone except for Port Adelaide of the past. It certainly isn't a comparison to the Crows.