Opinion Something else happened.

• Thread starter Thread starter theGav56

Err .... weren't you trying to organise a street parade down the cappuccino strip for Rosco after he CLEARLY demonstrated his new attacking game plan last week in this very thread ?
None of that has changed. Difficult to attack when you are beaten in the midfield and beaten in the ruck, which we were. That is the big difference between the games.

We didn't just lose in the middle though. We had stuff all repeat inside 50 entries cause they just waltzed it out of their defence. Thats down to team selection and forward line set u, pplus admittedly that blokes like Banfield were shitful down there

The loss against GC should be laid at the feet of the leadership group and Ross but more so the leadership group. Players didn't step up, got complacent and didn't show leadership in the moments that mattered.

Coaches need to find a solution - easier said than done but that is what their jobs entail.
I don’t think they were prepared for the Lachie Neale exit. Need to target a gun midfielder to support Fyfe.

Yep - can’t replace Neale overnight with young kids. We need to obviously target this area through trade/draft. If we can’t secure either of Coniglio, Martin or T. Kelly then keep our first pick and draft the best midfielder available. Getting more games into Brayshaw/Cerra and fast-tracking development of Valente (and possibly North) also important.

Interested to see how Blakely goes when back.

It’s looking very likely that Mundy will finish up end of season. Bell/RTB wanted to keep Neale for one further year to help support Brayshaw, Cerra etc. but worked out well helping us get Hogan/Lobb and allowing us to keep a first round pick.

Midfield is our Achilles at the moment. Highly evident on Sun afternoon.

We didn't just lose in the middle though. We had stuff all repeat inside 50 entries cause they just waltzed it out of their defence. Thats down to team selection and forward line set u, pplus admittedly that blokes like Banfield were shitful down there
Midfield got smashed, we did not win many center clearances.

Forward line put no pressure on the ball, and they waltzed it out while we were pressured and forced to bomb the ball long.

Geez people have very short term memories. Just 4 regular season games ago we got spanked by 133 points because our midfield got smashed. Who was in that midfield? Lachie Neale. He played all 22 games last season and our midfield got smashed in a heap of games where we often lost by 50+ points. I really don't understand people's reasoning that our midfield would be any better than last year if Neale was in it still?

I think some are well and truly over reacting to one poor performance against a GC midfield that just worked harder and wanted it more than we did. Our midfield smashed North's in Rd 1, including Cunnington (regarded as one of the best contested inside midfielders) plus Higgins (one of the best inside/outside mids) and Polec (one of the best outside mids). We also got on top all over the ground which is why we won by 14 goals. GC got on top all over the ground and we lost by just 3 points.

We actually won the clearance count on Sunday (43 to 38). We just didn't apply enough pressure through the middle of the ground and gave them too many i50 entries. The weight of i50 numbers (and shots at goal) was also exaggerated because we couldn't move the ball out of our d50 (repeat entries off the back of kick-ins are easier than i50s from a centre bounce).

We've backed in Tucker and Brayshaw - who were both starting mids against GC (Mundy and Walters weren't, and weren't used that much in the middle). They are going to have ups and downs. I'm hoping one of our depth defenders steps up so we can release Cerra and Conca to rotate in as well. We need to back in our players. They aren't going to learn unless they are given opportunities.

Really can't stand the big sooking that happens after a loss - and all the flogs that come out of the woodwork who were mysteriously unseen after last week's smashing of North. Freo showed what they are capable of in Rd1 - as 'supporters' we should get behind them to do it again this weekend.

We actually won the clearance count on Sunday (43 to 38). We just didn't apply enough pressure through the middle of the ground and gave them too many i50 entries. The weight of i50 numbers (and shots at goal) was also exaggerated because we couldn't move the ball out of our d50 (repeat entries off the back of kick-ins are easier than i50s from a centre bounce).
Have to agree with this - West Coast regularly lost the midfield clearance battle last year but still smashed sides. It is really obvious that you can win games without winning centre clearances IF you can win the ball back (pressure, intercept marking in the back line) AND you retain possession of the ball once you get it. If you can't retain possession then at least lock it in the forward 50 and don't allow the opposition to transition.

We did this well in round 1 and the result reflected that. If we do it again this week we will not necessarily have such a big win, but will give ourselves every chance of putting St Kilda away.

Hoping Gold Coast game was just a one ff and we can show the intensity that we did in Round 1. Bring in Logue or Duman so Conca and Cerra can be loose in the midfield and play Hogan deep forward.

Geez people have very short term memories. Just 4 regular season games ago we got spanked by 133 points because our midfield got smashed. Who was in that midfield? Lachie Neale. He played all 22 games last season and our midfield got smashed in a heap of games where we often lost by 50+ points. I really don't understand people's reasoning that our midfield would be any better than last year if Neale was in it still?

I think some are well and truly over reacting to one poor performance against a GC midfield that just worked harder and wanted it more than we did. Our midfield smashed North's in Rd 1, including Cunnington (regarded as one of the best contested inside midfielders) plus Higgins (one of the best inside/outside mids) and Polec (one of the best outside mids). We also got on top all over the ground which is why we won by 14 goals. GC got on top all over the ground and we lost by just 3 points.

We've backed in Tucker and Brayshaw - who were both starting mids against GC (Mundy and Walters weren't, and weren't used that much in the middle). They are going to have ups and downs. I'm hoping one of our depth defenders steps up so we can release Cerra and Conca to rotate in as well. We need to back in our players. They aren't going to learn unless they are given opportunities.

Really can't stand the big sooking that happens after a loss - and all the flogs that come out of the woodwork who were mysteriously unseen after last week's smashing of North. Freo showed what they are capable of in Rd1 - as 'supporters' we should get behind them to do it again this weekend.

The whole idea about why this thread has caused angst is because there was an overreaction to one game so not sure why that being brought to people attentions means that people are being 'flogs'. For the record also this 'flog' didn't go anywhere over the last two weeks.

Why do those who do not wish to see or say anything negative about the club resort to name calling? Apparently if you think otherwise you're a 'flog' or a 'moron' or 'sooking' or you're not supporting the club.

The whole idea about why this thread has caused angst is because there was an overreaction to one game so not sure why that being brought to people attentions means that people are being 'flogs'. For the record also this 'flog' didn't go anywhere over the last two weeks.

Why do those who do not wish to see or say anything negative about the club resort to name calling? Apparently if you think otherwise you're a 'flog' or a 'moron' or 'sooking' or you're not supporting the club.
raffrox - my post about sooking and flogs wasn't directed at you mate ;) I think you've been pretty level headed - a lot haven't been though.

I agree people read way too much into the first game and now people are reading way too much into rd 2. We sucked playing away last year, we still suck playing away by the looks. I'm still hoping we can learn to play away. That Rd 1 was the best we have played since 2015 imo - people should get excited because it sets a bar we should be aiming for every game. But talking about either contract extensions or sacking the coach is way too premature. Suspect we'll win a few at home that we aren't expected to, and we'll probably lose the vast majority of our away games (hopefully by lower margins). Do that and we can still improve on last year. People are entitled to have whatever opinion they want. My ignore button might get a work out if some of the reactions continue after future narrow losses away.

raffrox - my post about sooking and flogs wasn't directed at you mate ;) I think you've been pretty level headed - a lot haven't been though.

I agree people read way too much into the first game and now people are reading way too much into rd 2. We sucked playing away last year, we still suck playing away by the looks. I'm still hoping we can learn to play away. That Rd 1 was the best we have played since 2015 imo - people should get excited because it sets a bar we should be aiming for every game. But talking about either contract extensions or sacking the coach is way too premature. Suspect we'll win a few at home that we aren't expected to, and we'll probably lose the vast majority of our away games (hopefully by lower margins). Do that and we can still improve on last year. People are entitled to have whatever opinion they want. My ignore button might get a work out if some of the reactions continue after future narrow losses away.

No worries :thumbsu:

I've most probably deserved a few names in recent times so all good anyway :)

It's certainly an interesting time in our clubs history!!

Right now, based on that single game, Lyon is more likely to get a contract extension than to get the arse. If he eye-balled the Board and said "I have an offer from, say, Carlton; extend my contract, or I'm gone", he'd be more likely to get the extension than the "See ya later".

I think with that single game Lyon has laid out the evidence for the evolution of his future game plan, and the direction of our future. He has pretty much become un-sackable now through that one game. Maybe it goes somewhere this season, maybe it doesn't. But Lyon won't be going anywhere now.
I agree 100% with your later sentiments "Talking about contract extensions or sacking the coach is way too premature", which is why I had a dig about your original post, which quite clearly does exactly that.

While we all fluctuate in our feelings towards the coach, management, players and the club in general I think most of us underneath just hope like hell that Ross is heading in the right direction. It felt like that to me last week, then I had my prick bubbled by the Gold Coast.

Hopefully this week has us all starting to believe again, it makes coming onto BigFooty so much more enjoyable :)

I agree 100% with your later sentiments "Talking about contract extensions or sacking the coach is way too premature", which is why I had a dig about your original post, which quite clearly does exactly that.
Whose original post? Think you might be getting posters mixed up ;)

Coniglio is an absolute gun and Kelly not far behind. Listening to Leon Cameron being interviewed on 6PR week or so ago, he seemed very confident Cogs was a ' lifer' at GWS.
Just got to target the right person and throw the kitchen sink at them.

Coniglio is an absolute gun and Kelly not far behind. Listening to Leon Cameron being interviewed on 6PR week or so ago, he seemed very confident Cogs was a ' lifer' at GWS.
Just got to target the right person and throw the kitchen sink at them.
I'm not in favour of the throw the sink at them bit. I prefer the Geelong model of a more balanced contract payments management, rather than the Carlton/Judd model. I'd prefer Martin on $700k and a little money in the bank for Logue/Brayshaw/Cerra than $1.1mill for Coniglio.

Not sure there is anything to add to this thread. But maybe a great opportunity for posters to restate their cemented in views of where we are at. Despite the evidence.

Fair enough. You deserve some kudos. As you know I thought that you were nuts :)

I've legitimately said a few times that I'd admit when I was wrong and you've got to say there's been some progress and it's pretty exciting.

Fair enough. You deserve some kudos. As you know I thought that you were nuts :)

I've legitimately said a few times that I'd admit when I was wrong and you've got to say there's been some progress and it's pretty exciting.
Yeah, good on you. No idea whether we have the legits to take it all the way, but going to be some joy, unlike the majority of the past few years.