Sometimes I'm ashamed to be an Essendon fan

May I invite you to take a look at the ladder my dear boy. You will find Richmond ahead of you. I further invite you to peruse the list. Richmond are younger an less experienced than you.

The objective truth is obvious.

Younger list != better list.

You've had a dream injury run this year yet struggle to beat a side 6 of their best 22 out and 3 going down.

Apart form Foley and Delidio(potential but not there) you have no real young guns.

Your rucks are shot, your forward line is poor and you have no depth. Tambling is a blunder,JON :eek:, KJ, Richo, Brown are on their last legs.

We've been hearing this from you guys for the past 20 years and it's the same story over and over again. So many holes in your list it's not funny.

May I invite you to take a look at the ladder my dear boy. You will find Richmond ahead of you. I further invite you to peruse the list. Richmond are younger an less experienced than you.

The objective truth is obvious.

Yes at present you are above us. You were lucky to win today FACT! If Richmond had no bench today & we did we would have won FACT! Richmond wont make the 8 this season FACT!

Younger list != better list.

You've had a dream injury run this year yet struggle to beat a side 6 of their best 22 out and 3 going down.

Apart form Foley and Delidio(potential but not there) you have no real young guns.

Your rucks are shot, your forward line is poor and you have no depth. Tambling is a blunder,JON :eek:, KJ, Richo, Brown are on their last legs.

We've been hearing this from you guys for the past 20 years and it's the same story over and over again. So many holes in your list it's not funny.

Agree! 20 years of more wooden spoons than Huey's Kitchen!

Yes, because you're obviously objective. :rolleyes:

I'm as one-eyed as it's possible to be and I'll find any excuse to boost my team. i admit that.

But its still true that we are 6 pts clear of you this season with a younger less experienced team. we are 2-0 against you head to head with a younger less experienced team. fair dues mate. That usually means that one side has more potential than the other.

I'm as one-eyed as it's possible to be and I'll find any excuse to boost my team. i admit that.

But its still true that we are 6 pts clear of you this season with a younger less experienced team. we are 2-0 against you head to head with a younger less experienced team. fair dues mate. That usually means that one side has more potential than the other.
well did u notice we had
6 MORE exclusions for this match
which included the likes of Fletch, McVeigh, Welsh, Neagle, Monfries and Lovett

and younger less experienced, are you serious?
your best player is richo, and in todays match most of our players have played under 100 games

half our team is injured.

OK I'm sorry I had a go at Laycock but I had to let all the anger out:eek:.

I know he didn't cost us the game. He just stuffed up at the wrong time. Unfortuate for him.

I hope he can learn from his mistakes and practice his goal kicking a lot at windy Hill next week because he's gonna be an important player against Collingwood.

Congrats on being better than a decimated Essendon at the moment.

You hold no fear to us over the next few years and I will enjoy belting the crap out of your side.

Spot on.

I know it hurts Richmond fans to hear it given their recent record but you dont hold any fear for Essendon going forward from today.

Sorry guys, but this thread is crap.

I don't think Laycock should be pummelled for his 2 atrocious misses from the goalsquare and 2 set shots. It happens.

But I think every supporter has a right to cheer or jeer their own players, opposition, whatever.

It's done all over the world in all team sports.

Certainly no need to be "ashamed of". That's just ridiculous.

If there is a positive for Essendon to take out of this game. It is that in the last five weeks they have shown to be a tough competitive side dispite an injury revaged list. Essendon are a good chance for finals next year.

Well said and I absolutely agree with you. Supporters are meant to support their team, not bag some members. Grow up.

Agreed!! they played their hearts out, but they were buggered in the end. I must say I enjoyed the way they played. You put Winderlich, McVeigh, Alwyn, Fletcher, Lovett, (can't think of the others right now, too late in the night) and we have a good team.

Things are looking up!

Agreed!! they played their hearts out, but they were buggered in the end. I must say I enjoyed the way they played. You put Winderlich, McVeigh, Alwyn, Fletcher, Lovett, (can't think of the others right now, too late in the night) and we have a good team.

Things are looking up!
Houli, Myers, Dempsey :):thumbsu:

I can't wait for the day we have Davey, Lovett, Jetta, Dempsey and Winderlich in the same side.

Sorry guys, but this thread is crap.

I don't think Laycock should be pummelled for his 2 atrocious misses from the goalsquare and 2 set shots. It happens.

But I think every supporter has a right to cheer or jeer their own players, opposition, whatever.

It's done all over the world in all team sports.

Certainly no need to be "ashamed of". That's just ridiculous.

Barry B is right you nimrods.

I was cursing Laycock from the other side of the country while listening to the game in the car on abc radio.

"F----g Laycock!!!" I screamed out the window.

He sh-ts me.

Barry B is right you nimrods.

I was cursing Laycock from the other side of the country while listening to the game in the car on abc radio.

"F----g Laycock!!!" I screamed out the window.

He sh-ts me.

Mate anyone that gives a player a pasting without actually seeing the game lacks credibility. While he wasn't fantastic, Laycock wasn't that bad. He could have put us in front but so could have stanton and anyone else who missed a shot at goal. Give the guy a break!

I am not angry at anyone bagging Essendon for the game today. I thought we were pathetic in the 1st half and should've been blown away. We played good footy in the 3rd and showed how much better we could be, in the last we ran out of run.

I will not jump on the Laycock bagging wagon though. He was not the reason for our loss. our pathetic 1st half was. I will admit , every time i saw the ball kicked to him i held my breath in fear, but he is a bomber for the next year and a bit and he has more potential than 90% of players out there. Still needs a lot of work, but as we have seen with Hille who has taken 10 years to put it all together, patience is a virtue.

I think credit should be paid where it is due here. You guys played the second half with 19 fit players and there are no too many teams who would be close enough to win it with 10 minutes to go, let alone have several shots on goal to win it.

Congratulations on Essendons tenacity and attitude today, hopefully we play a few finals against each other like this in the next few years!

I think credit should be paid where it is due here. You guys played the second half with 19 fit players and there are no too many teams who would be close enough to win it with 10 minutes to go, let alone have several shots on goal to win it.

Congratulations on Essendons tenacity and attitude today, hopefully we play a few finals against each other like this in the next few years!

Thank-you for those kind words. Looking forward to battling it out with you guys in September in the years to come.

:thumbsu:

I came home from the footy today after watching one of our greatest and most heroic performances in the last 25 years.

My radar was up after listening to some clowns bag some of our players on SEN on the way home but maybe I thought our fans on Big Footy would have a bit more class.

Unfortunately I was wrong.

We played with 19 men today....It is almost impossible to win a game of footy with that amount of players. Every single one of our players gave their all and I couldn't be prouder of them.

Instead I have to read idiots blaming Laycock exclusively for our loss. The poor kid tried his heart out. Normally rucks get a good rest during the game but Hille and Chook didn't have that luxury today. He took some great pack marks in our forward 50 and IMO his form in the last 3 weeks is looking really promising. Some of you need to think about the effect of lactic acid on a players kicking when they are tired. Nearly all our players were showing signs of stress in the last 10 minutes.

And to the clown about 10 rows behind me who was bagging Dyson the whole game. If some players upset you, just p**s off and don't go to the game.

Ricky was reasonable today and yet he still copped a pasting from this idiot.

I rate todays performance with our loss to West Coast in 1986 at Windy Hill. One of finest ever efforts and the boys should be applauded, not caned.

Wake up to yourselves and acknowledge their efforts FFS.

Fair call. I don't think Laycock cost us the game at all - it was our shocking bunch of injuries all of a sudden - McVeigh, Fletcher, and Lovett out, and then 3 players sidelined during the game. To only lose by 4 points in this situation shows how much better we are than Richmond at full strength.

Having said that, I think Laycock is still pretty useless and needs to get his act together. Regardless of his effort, sometimes effort alone isn't enough, you actually have to make good on opportunities. And if he doesn't have what it takes, then he doesn't have what it takes.

Laycocks slowly improving.

Ruckman are the most unskilled players in the AFL nearly everyone of them stuffs up at some stage during a match.

Besides Cox there arent too many that a consistently good every week.

Top post Daytripper,
Cant stand the fans who bag our players especially after a game like today.
Was a great game and the team played their hearts out today. Feel sorry for Laycock, I thought there were a lot of positives for him today. Wouldn't it be interesting to see what all critiques would be saying if he kicked the winning goal... Fair weather supporters piss off and take the good with the bad.

Sometimes I'm ashamed to be an Essendon fan