SOS Assistant?

TheTimberMerchant#14

Geelong Cats - Travis Varcoe 2008 Player Sponsor Geelong Cats - Travis Varcoe 2007 Player Sponsor Geelong Cats - Travis Varcoe 2006 Player Sponsor
LUFC + Victory
on 3aw this morning, neil mitchell reporting that silvagni will be annouced as an assistant at the cats next year earlynext week.
would be a great pick up, but do u guys think this report has any truth to it?

cats_2005 said:
on 3aw this morning, neil mitchell reporting that silvagni will be annouced as an assistant at the cats next year earlynext week.
would be a great pick up, but do u guys think this report has any truth to it?

Doesn't seem right - our defence is good. It's a mid-field coach we're looking for, or at least that's what I understood from the review.

I don't know about SOS as a coach, a coach has to have good communication skills and from what I've heard on the channel 10 commentary team i think we would have better luck getting "sticks" to belt out a tune on australian idol (now that would be worth watching).

Past players that were team captains often makes good coaches....Voss?

Don't know about SOS, not too sure if he would be worth it. Our backline under Macarthy has been really good, eg. the development of guys like Egan, has been a prime example why we do not need SOS.

Would prefer Voss anyday. We need a midfield leader to coach our guys. And there simply isn't any better than Voss.

Same goes for the forward line, however we are keeping Hinkley, which totally bemuses me.

Mr Sensitive said:
Has it been confirmed that Hinkley is staying on? Jeez that really pisses me off

I have read a lot of bad posts about Hinkley but I'm not convinced, sure our forward line has been crap but who has he had to work with?, we haven't exactly been blessed with great forwards and none of them can kick properly, Kingsley is old enough that he shouldn't need coaching.

I also heard that Hinkley has spent a lot of time with Nablett and he looks as though he's starting to blossom so maybe he's not that bad?!

***This is the part where I cringe and wait for the torrent of abuse***

someday-somehow said:
I have read a lot of bad posts about Hinkley but I'm not convinced, sure our forward line has been crap but who has he had to work with?, we haven't exactly been blessed with great forwards and none of them can kick properly, Kingsley is old enough that he shouldn't need coaching.

I also heard that Hinkley has spent a lot of time with Nablett and he looks as though he's starting to blossom so maybe he's not that bad?!

I heard the same thing. Apparently Hinkley is giving Nablett some real confidence in his ability.

someday-somehow said:

If there is one charge that can be laid in Hinkley it is that he hasn't given the forwards the confidence they need to kick goals. Our forward line for last couple of years has looked very ill-at-ease when shooting at goal, especially from set-shots. IMO Kingsley is the prime example, 3 or 4 years ago he genrally made the most of his opportunities, the last couple seasons, he is either on-song or in the dumps. But Kingsley is by no means the only player like this and this is a concern.

someday-somehow said:

Also we can all agree our midfield this year was ****. So that may be half the reason the forward line didn't work this year either. With a good midfield coach coaching, our forward line might function better.

Lol I wonder how SOS and Milburn would get along?

If Silvagni had been a top assistant Eade wouldn't have let him go. Also, if you've heard his comments on Channel 10 you'd realise he's not over endowed with general footy smarts.

Let's start being more selective and don't just go for 'names'. Some sort of record of achievement should be the minimum requirement.

P.S Mitchell's a tosser!!!!!!

Brian Cook on Monday said that they intend to rotate the assistant coaches through the three zones as they have become somewhat pigeon-holed in their current roles - eg. McCartney as a defensive coach etc. So a new assistant wouldn't necessarily be restricted to just the one area.

Catman said:
Brian Cook on Monday said that they intend to rotate the assistant coaches through the three zones as they have become somewhat pigeon-holed in their current roles - eg. McCartney as a defensive coach etc. So a new assistant wouldn't necessarily be restricted to just the one area.

That's an interesting idea, one that I hadn't heard expressed by our executive. Puts things in a different light. Where'd you hear that Catman?

Catman said:

Beat me to it!

someday-somehow said:

I sort of agree with you, however I haven't seen our forwards look like they should be there since Hinkley has been coach. They stammer and don't look confident in front of goal, it is painful to watch.

Our midfield probably doesn't help, poor passing to the forwards was shown up all year. Nathan would have to backtrack off a lead due to the ball being placed behind him and aimed at multiple defenders.

Nathan does have a great kick for goal, Chapman also. I just think we need someone who had the ability to hold down a key post, i.e. Carey or Longmire etc.

Stoneham could fit the bill, however then it is looking like an all GFC affair with Hinkley and him.

Really hope we pick up someone like Voss for the middle.

Catman said:

Reckon that's a really dumb idea. This is the era of the specialist. Having different coaches, maybe giving different instructions, is a recipe for mayhem.And, if we happen to pick up a top midfield coach, why you'd waste that knowledge elsewhere is beyond me. Don't know any other side that does it - and you wouldn't have to be Albert Einstein to see why.

Go Hoops said:
Reckon that's a really dumb idea. This is the era of the specialist. Having different coaches, maybe giving different instructions, is a recipe for mayhem.And, if we happen to pick up a top midfield coach, why you'd waste that knowledge elsewhere is beyond me. Don't know any other side that does it - and you wouldn't have to be Albert Einstein to see why.

But it could also work in the opposite. Some new ideas could do wonders.

They won't rotate them around like the interchange bench on gameday, but just give each coach an opportunity to try a few things. How about McCartney sparking some life and confidence into the spluttering forward line or provide some advice to help forwards beat some defenders. Just little things like that, which may lead to some improvement.

It was about the only thing Cooky said that I agreed with.

nananana catman said:
I think SOS has been mentioned in regards to Thompsons first mate, and not an assistant coach.

I thought so too, and do we really need Stephen "Yeah I Agree.." Silvagni as Bomber's right hand man? Lewis Roberts-Thomson's efforts yesterday just underline the fact we don't need him.

I personally hope Sando comes back from Port :)

winty said:
I thought so too, and do we really need Stephen "Yeah I Agree.." Silvagni as Bomber's right hand man? Lewis Roberts-Thomson's efforts yesterday just underline the fact we don't need him.

I personally hope Sando comes back from Port :)

Sando said he won't. I'd rather wait a couple of years so there is less familiarity with the players. Mind you, if they offered him enough......;)

I don't mind the idea of rotation, Macartney has built the defence very well - let's see what he could do with the forwards.