Stanley

theaussietilt

Side by side
Didn't get to watch much of the game last Friday, after all the hype on this board over the last month or so I'm wondering how Stanners game went?

Did he get a run in the midfield, and show any signs?

Cheers.

Attack on the ball was great.. and gave 110%...Thats all u can really expect from a bloke making his way from VFL to AFL.. it is a tough transition.

Once again.. foot skills let him down.. same old collingwood story.

Am interested to see whether he will keep his spot this week....

He'll need some peristance. We know what he can do, just needs to finally show it at AFL level. Annoyingly, he might take some time to make the transition.

He didn't get any time in the centre square that I saw, which was deflating. He tried hard but lacked poise with the ball... a pretty disappointing outing. Hopefully he gets another run next week, but if Burns is fit he'll make way IMHO.

I don't understand why Stanners' kicking is below average. Looking at his action he should be able to hit targets with ease. Though, most of the players kicking was shit house and he shouldn't get too much of a spray. The wind was pretty horrible apprently.

I thought he showed enough to suggest he should stay on for next year. They would drop Cook before Stanners, so he may keep his spot.

Didn't get to watch much of the game last Friday, after all the hype on this board over the last month or so I'm wondering how Stanners game went?

Did he get a run in the midfield, and show any signs?

Cheers.

Unfortunately, the only sign he showed was that he is not up to AFL level. Absolutely butchered the ball.

as everyone else said, he didnt play aswell as he could of
but nobody really played that well on friday night excluding leon davis.
but give him some time and he will settle in. :)

I think he's a natural centre square player and clearance specialist. quick hands , tackles fiercely and very good overhead. Unfortunately he didn't get a go in the middle so we didn't see his best footy.
Even so, he did get 16 possessions and laid a few tackles.
There was one contest where he battled hard and took the ball off his opponent in the back pocket/flank which i think showed good competitive spirit,desire and a glimpse of what he is capable of.
Yes he shanked a few kicks but nearly everyone did on friday night(possibly the wind was a factor) and his efficiency was around 70% IIRC which isn't too bad.

He's played about 5 games. I think he'll need some time to develop the self-belief and the confidence that he belongs at this level. Look at Leon. He averaged 8 possessions in his first 50 games and had a possession-less Grand Final. It wasn't until he played about 100 games that he really blossomed to the the player that he is today.

He just needs time,some confidence and he needs Mick to put him in the guts!
I just hope they persist with him and he doesn't get delisted before he's been given a fair dinkum go.
Keep trying Stanners! :thumbsu:

After reading everyone on this board pump his tyres up all week, i wanted to see what all the fuss was about. But i saw nothing. Stanley showed absolutely nothing. He's been on the list for about 3-4yrs and done nothing. In saying that, i have not seen him in the vfl, where he is said to be playing well. Some players may be very good in the 2's, but simply struggle at the top level. They just can't cope. Players like Wellingham and Mcarthy have shown lots of promise in their first handful of games, whereas stanley is just another dime-a-dozen midfielder in the afl. Let him play in the 2's, but DO NOT stress if he does not get a game for collingwood. He just isn't that good.

I think he 'can' be that good, and might just need the time. He is worth pursuing with because you'd hate to dump him early because you can't categorically say his VFL form can't eventually (not too long one hopes) duplicate into good AFL form.

We need one of Cook or Stanley to turn out really. If we can have 3 of our first 4 picks from that 05 draft cement themselves into the future midfield, the eight or so guys that are a part of our next premiership contending team, then we're on track.

I have been a massive hyper of Stanley in the past. I didn't see anything to suggest I was wrong even though I'll admit his game was below average.

His kicking which was terrible, was terrible A on a night when every bodies was and B it was clear that he rushed a many of his kicks. He is clearly adjusting to the upping of tempo from VFL to AFL. Some players are naturally just go up with the tempo of the game others take a while to adjust he clearly needs time to adjust. If he can't get the pace of the game that will be disappointing but the only thing that will work that out is more game time.

As has been mentioned as given no time in the square where he has done his best work. I was actually a little iffy on him making it early in the year simply because he was so dependant on getting his touches at stoppages. He did some really good things and equally bad things and clearly looked like a guy adjusting to the tempo. It really doesn't matter how long you have been on the list if you have been in the VFL the whole time it still takes time to adjust up.

I would give him another go this week , but this would be the chance to show he does belong on the list.
It is a big step up , and he didn't play any football the week before due to his VFL suspension. The contested ball and dish offs were very good , but some of his kicks were appalling. They were so appalling you'd blame it on nerves , because it is not a problem generally.

The kicking was terrible from everyone on the field except L.Davis.

And Cox, who's not being given enough credit on here for a very good game.

Aside from those 2, everyone struggled by foot. It'd be insane to judge his footskills off of that performance. I thought he was far from our worst, and showed some nice potential in tight situations.

I tend to think he will make it as well, if given the opportunity.

I thought he was okay, I actually didn't think he played badly at all.

People just continually have their favourites around this place. McCarthy is a star (although on the weekend he had a worse disposal effeciency than Stanley and less possessions) but Stanley who is untried, and not neccessarily flashy isn't instantly labelled as crap... Which I think has mainly stemmed from that missed set shot (which makes it easy to forget he took a bloody good mark to be having that shot).

It is worthwhile noting Stanleys kicking was better (according to stats) than;
McCarthy
Maxwell
Medhurst (worst field kick in the team I've come to conclude, especially after Friday night)
Cloke
Cox
O'Bree
Bryan
Dawes
And on par with Anthony.

Stats don't always tell the story, but from where I was sitting they pretty accurately paint the picture in this case.

The kid has a lot of talent, no need for people to jump all over him after one game. I'd be pleased to see him play again next week, there was definitely worse than him on the weekend.

To me Stanley looks like a bloke who is just lacking confidence.

Given the opportunity to play in the middle, as a few others here hacve suggested, might be what he needs to show him he can play at this level.

IMO he has more to work with than Ryan Cook and Sam Iles, but it would inspire me more if he showed a bit more at senior level.

I hope he gets another opportunity this week, but with the captain looking increasingly likely to play, he might miss.

I thought he was okay, I actually didn't think he played badly at all.

People just continually have their favourites around this place. McCarthy is a star (although on the weekend he had a worse disposal effeciency than Stanley and less possessions) but Stanley who is untried, and not neccessarily flashy isn't instantly labelled as crap... Which I think has mainly stemmed from that missed set shot (which makes it easy to forget he took a bloody good mark to be having that shot).

It is worthwhile noting Stanleys kicking was better (according to stats) than;
McCarthy
Maxwell
Medhurst (worst field kick in the team I've come to conclude, especially after Friday night)
Cloke
Cox
O'Bree
Bryan
Dawes
And on par with Anthony.

Stats don't always tell the story, but from where I was sitting they pretty accurately paint the picture in this case.

The kid has a lot of talent, no need for people to jump all over him after one game. I'd be pleased to see him play again next week, there was definitely worse than him on the weekend.

Anyone who wants to take a single player in isolation and blame that player for Friday night is on the wrong track.
To try and evaluate a first game player based on Friday night is a doing that player a massive disservice.

In the contaxt of the game, Danny played OK. Yes he had a couple of clangers but even Leon kicked several out on the full and Cloke sprayed it everywhere. How many gimme set shots did he miss?

The short time Danny got in the middle he was clearly under instructions to play a defensive role - holding out his man to allow Pendles and co. to do the extracting and he did it well. After he was moved back Cookie took that job and just got shoved aside for the rest of the night.

I'd also bet that he was moved not because he wasn't going OK, but just to prop up a backline and forwardline that was getting whacked. Again, I reckon he did both pretty well. He got 2 strong, tough and skillful turnovers where he saved a certain goal and in the other just ripped the ball off an opponent and a lightning handball to advantage.

His marking was strong and committed too. Compare the photos in the Herald-sun showing Danny in one and Dawes in another - Danny eyes on the ball and hands wrapped around the ball - Dawes, eyes shut and palms out with no chance.

Dunno what it is about this kid but he gets marked harder than any of the others at times. He IS a good kick and maybe it was just nerves or the wind, but it's not going to happen regularly.

I hope he does play again this week - at least he'll give a fair dinkum contest and let them know he's around - unlike a few others who've been hyped to the heavens.