State Association 2011

Will be interesting to await the results of today's games. Not 100% sure if any UQ members went out today to watch in interest (I personally was at Zillmere). I'm anticipating the Kings playing in the seniors. They have been very, very tough all year.

In the magoos, I wouldn't be surprised in the Kings get up there aswell

University of Queensland VS Coorparoo Kings in the seniors

University of Queensland VS Caloundra Panthers in the Reserves

Coorparoo are always a tough ask, always going to be, always have been. Caloundra are a very capable unit aswell.

What makes me nervous is the old NFL reference, Any Given Sunday. I'd like to think that UQ will certainly win both games next week, but I have too much respect for this game and to both opposition clubs to make declarations of certainty.

Either way, a very big week awaits. Bring it on

Not sure anyone at AFLQ would be interested in your video RUL - and nor should they be, unless of course you offered it up every week incl those weeks that uni players were reported.

A headbutt - come on, please. No worse than a punch to the head.

No worse than a punch to the head? Considering people can be killed from being punched in the head, I fail to see how a headbutt is any worse.

In regards to video evidence, I'm always open to providing my videos to opposition club. If they find something on the videos that they wish to complain about, they are welcome to do so.

And with all due respect to the Panthers, who have certainly been one of our toughest opponents over the years and certainly I expect them to be back again next year, I would be absolutely embarrassed if I was them after that incident. They had started really well in the forth, but lost the plot after the red card.

Well considering that 999/1000 they don't die then I fail to see what the angst is with a headbutt vs say a punch to the gob that we see every other week in local footy.
I would be very interested to hear and see when Uni players have had your video been presented in evidence against a Uni player for a reportable offence - and even more interested to see what sort of reaction you received at the football club afterwards:eek:

A shame for you then, because you'll never know. But I do have to ask, what uni players and incidents this year are you referring too? I've seen a fair share of ugly incidents committed within my club over the years. Innocense is something I'd never claim in writing or in boasts.

In regards to the reception of the club, for the most part in the second half of the season have greatly enjoyed heavy enforcement of a code of conduct for both on and off the field behaviors. SO my camera has had no need to be active against anyway.

But as you pointed out, no one in AFLQ would probarbly care about videos. But if there is one thing that I have learned from having good talks with people around other clubs is that it is always best to be prepared in case one loose cannon goes off the rails during the game and if complaints need to be made.

Luckily though, thats never once had to happen and with any luck WON'T happen anytime soon. I enjoy video taping games and sharing it with the boys AND/OR anyone else interested in watching the games. Before you mention my comments from last night, regarding going to the AFLQ, a good dozen beers while still feeling filthy in regards to the incident is all it takes for me to speak crap. Obviously speaking crap is something I do quite well under the influence :)

Cmon RUL this isn't netball. I didn't see it because I wasn't there but there is no need to give it any further attention. That's football.

A shame for you then, because you'll never know. But I do have to ask, what uni players and incidents this year are you referring too? I've seen a fair share of ugly incidents committed within my club over the years. Innocense is something I'd never claim in writing or in boasts.

In regards to the reception of the club, for the most part in the second half of the season have greatly enjoyed heavy enforcement of a code of conduct for both on and off the field behaviors. SO my camera has had no need to be active against anyway.

But as you pointed out, no one in AFLQ would probarbly care about videos. But if there is one thing that I have learned from having good talks with people around other clubs is that it is always best to be prepared in case one loose cannon goes off the rails during the game and if complaints need to be made.

Luckily though, thats never once had to happen and with any luck WON'T happen anytime soon. I enjoy video taping games and sharing it with the boys AND/OR anyone else interested in watching the games. Before you mention my comments from last night, regarding going to the AFLQ, a good dozen beers while still feeling filthy in regards to the incident is all it takes for me to speak crap. Obviously speaking crap is something I do quite well under the influence :)

Thank you - that was my main issue with your post - threats about taking a video to the League.
Haven't seen, heard, or even listened to anyone say Uni players have been untoward this year - my point is that if they had been, I hope you would be forthcoming with video evidence if you were going to bandy it around against others. I would suggest you wouldn't be (and I don't blame you!) hence I didn't like the "invitation" simply bc you weren't happy with a particular incident.

BTW (sort of the same vein) - not sure if too many of you have seen or heard about the horrific incident in the EFL in Melb on the weekend Blackburn vs Balwyn prelim final. Balwyn player KO'd, 18min - now in hospital in an induced coma, critical condition. Was on Melb Ch 10 news tonight.

It's been a good year. As a Caloundra supporter I was hoping to see Uni get up in the ones, but credit to Coorparoo. They were great all year and deserved their victory. Congrats to uni in the ressies. I thought we were going to get you there for a while!

In terms of the team of the year, I reckon this is probably the best team (excuse my caloundra bias haha!).

FB T Gehrman (UQ) C Stirling (Ken) M Doecke (Cal)

HB A Picken (Cal) B Gibson (Coor) L Best (Coor)

C D Wearmouth (Cal) W Broome (Wyn) S Clarke (Cal)

HF M Spillane (Alex) B O'Brien (Cal) L Wray (UQ)

FF J Ryan (Coor) H Millikan (UQ) M Lockyer (Yer)

Rucks T Plummer (Ken), S Gillett (Wyn), D Duffield (Ked)

What do you all think?

Anyone want to provide a summary of all the clubs in the division as to how they went or what they need to do for 2012 by way of recruiting?

I'll give you my predictions for 2012.

Premiers - Caloundra
Down the Ladder - Alex Hills, UQ
Up the Ladder - Kenmore, Wynnum
Wooden Spooners - Aspley

Ladder Prediction

Calounda
Coorparoo
Yeronga
Kenmore
UQ
Wynnum
Robina
Alex Hills
Kedron
Aspley

I'll give you my predictions for 2012.

Premiers - Caloundra
Down the Ladder - Alex Hills, UQ
Up the Ladder - Kenmore, Wynnum
Wooden Spooners - Aspley

Ladder Prediction

Calounda
Coorparoo
Yeronga
Kenmore
UQ
Wynnum
Robina
Alex Hills
Kedron
Aspley

From what i have heard there may not be a side at Aspley next year.

It's been a good year. As a Caloundra supporter I was hoping to see Uni get up in the ones, but credit to Coorparoo. They were great all year and deserved their victory. Congrats to uni in the ressies. I thought we were going to get you there for a while!

In terms of the team of the year, I reckon this is probably the best team (excuse my caloundra bias haha!).

FB T Gehrman (UQ) C Stirling (Ken) M Doecke (Cal)

HB A Picken (Cal) B Gibson (Coor) L Best (Coor)

C D Wearmouth (Cal) W Broome (Wyn) S Clarke (Cal)

HF M Spillane (Alex) B O'Brien (Cal) L Wray (UQ)

FF J Ryan (Coor) H Millikan (UQ) M Lockyer (Yer)

Rucks T Plummer (Ken), S Gillett (Wyn), D Duffield (Ked)

What do you all think?

Hey Badg, thanks for the well wishes mate. I thought it was a cracking game of footy in the ressies until a certain point there in the forth. Don't get me wrong, I'm glad we won, but as a footy lover it was disappointing that the incident in question probarbly cost you any chance to get back within a kick..

In regards to UQ next year, I wouldn't rule us bouncing back. We'll learn from the hurt and the pain, hopefully bring back a particularly big name who was missing on the day and give finals another shake next year. We'll be back