Media Swans Talk in the Media 2022

Our club in the Media

Why would we want Martin? I mean he has not played his best football in over 2 years and he seems to be getting worse rather rapidly.
AFL media need to flog the Martin to Swans move is now trolling. Swans have denied talking to him multiple times but they keep flogging the story for click bait.

It is Robby fox love, but really it's the fact that the play was, quintessentially the most honest representation of the Bloods culture displayed in one crucial play that evening.

Being hard on the ball even when the odds are against you; exemplified firstly in Rampe chasing down Spargo when he received the kick from Brown , Rampe jumping straight up affecting the trajectory and angle of the kick, then desperately sprinting towards Melksham who in the corner of his eye could see Rampe bearing down on him and this is when the he ends up slipping.

Mr Fox did not not know Melksham would slip, but sprinting away from his man Pickett, to effect the ball carrier even when it looked forlorn in the beginning, that resilience to keep going is why he was able to make the crucial saves.

Although Fox was the one who committed to the selfless acts of defence, the play still would have come undone if not for the united and disciplinned response from the other swans, who positioned themselves to eventually win back the ball from a seemingly impossible situation and end up in an advantageous position through sheer weight of numbers.

Look at the vision, it starts off a 2 on 1 rampe vs sprago and melksham. The slip is but a split second, and already you have three swans players sprinting in, gulden lizard and fox on the screen, now it becomes a 2 on 4 play with swans having the upper hand. Fox gets the touch on the ball not once but twice, but lizard and gulden were also there, with lizard desperately lunging and sliding also as the spoil was made, and then McDonald must have ran pretty hard to be there for the link up play from rampes recovery to end up being a 5 on 2 situation.

On the ground that night, it was magnificent to watch. I was around a whole bunch of Melbourne supporters and when that play happened, I suddenly saw where the other swans supporters were around my section some flailing their scarves as they all stood up in unison to cheer on the swans in a respectful display of appreciation. Cheering not for a great goal, like Stepehens or Lloyd's were, but for a gritty defensive effort that was arguably the play of the evening. and it was great to see us all standing and cheering even in isolation. A magical moment. A play that in the end, really broke the hearts of the Melbourne supporters who were already quietly nervous throughout the game. A minute later, Heeney scores what would become the sealer and although there was still half the quarter to go, some melbourne supporters had already started getting up from their seats to begin the walk of shame out of the MCG. A deliciously outstanding moment to savour.
Your best post. I could see the play unfolding and the emotion and the desperation and the crowd just by reading your post. Brilliant.

Article on Robbie Fox from the Age

We Swan fans do appreciate a good defensive effort.

Nah swans fans dont understand aussie rules. Most of the crowd thought Fox just scored a touchdown from behind the 3 point line, whilst starting on the slower hard compound tyre.

Josh Jenkins about to give his views on us , i text in , haven't got time to call him

Nah swans fans dont understand aussie rules. Most of the crowd thought Fox just scored a touchdown from behind the 3 point line, whilst starting on the slower hard compound tyre.
I'm just confused as to how a Fox was able to stay on the field for so long without being caught. But fair play to the old chap.

I always wait for the YT version so I can skip more of the filler segments on that show

i know king has been quite bullish about the swans the past month or so, but i reckon that wrap of friday night's game delivered us a bunch of back-handed compliments ... the reference to callum mills just "doing the basics over and over" was one example
i shouldn't grumble ... but it seemed he was trying as hard as he could not to give us due credit, praising through gritted teeth

i know king has been quite bullish about the swans the past month or so, but i reckon that wrap of friday night's game delivered us a bunch of back-handed compliments ... the reference to callum mills just "doing the basics over and over" was one example
i shouldn't grumble ... but it seemed he was trying as hard as he could not to give us due credit, praising through gritted teeth
You are reading between the lines too much just looking for ways to be upset. What should he have said to keep you happy?

don't patronise me, i don't give a sh1t about being kept "happy", i just didn't agree with the tone of his comments
Well that's a pretty common theme. I just don't get it. Nobody is ever happy with our coverage in the media. It's either not enough amongst 17 other clubs or none of them are saying the right things??

Mr Fox did not not know Melksham would slip, but sprinting away from his man Pickett, to effect the ball carrier even when it looked forlorn in the beginning
Great summary.

The reverse of this occurred when Mr Gawn assumed Mr R Jesus was going to mark in front of goal, and stopped for a fraction of a second before belatedly getting to the contest. That minor juggle could have been a full spoil.

Rowbottom kudos

Geez everyone is very snappy on here today, considering we just won a bloody qualifying final. Not sure how anyone can read about James Rowbottom and still be in a bad mood. Seems like such a class act on and off the field.

Gotta give Whateley credit, King this morning tried to say that he and Whateley had been hot on the Swans over the last few months. Whateley was very quick to admit that he hadn't been so couldn't take credit for it.

A disgruntled Swans fan gave him a serve and he's now changed his ranking of Swans from #5 last week to #1 this week :tearsofjoy:

His line was amusing (self-knocking himself) that when the Swans are holding up the premiership cup he'll be still saying, "hmm I'm just not sure about the Swans". Haha

Yeah I heard that too. He sounded a bit sooky about it "whether they were there or not is another story" or something similar.

Mate... Harmes is a 50 every day of the week, as was Kozi who was clearly in the protected zone (we've been done for it plenty this year).

The May one I agree I'd probably be annoyed at if it was my team on the receiving end but it's not like it was a howler of a decision, he got shoved to the ground off the ball.

Not to mention we should have had a 4th goal from a 50 that wasn't awarded when Petraca was basically inside the elastic of Franklins underwear let alone the protected zone.

So yeah, have a sook about the May one if you want Melbourne but the rest of those are squarely on your team.
No different to McCrae complaining Collingwood weren't rewarded for their tackles. We had 80 ****ing tackles and I reckon we got 3 HTB or incorrect disposal frees for the night. Want to see a team not rewarded for their tackling?