Media Swans Talk in the Media 2025

Our club in the Media

Jun 2, 2014
The Rebel Alliance
This content is brought to you by Chief and the Mods of Big Footy.
PLEASE READ:

A reminder to all on the rules of copywritten content.

You will be held responsible for the articles you post that infringe copyright.

Mods will issue warnings when posters reproduce full articles on Big Footy.

You will receive something like this and an initial 1-point infraction. Contued posting of articles will incur a Serious Infraction of 5 points.

So please remember, when using material that may be the copyright of another party, you must:
  • Use only that portion you are directly commenting on. A reasonable guide might be a paragraph or two.
  • Always link to the source.

Really interesting to hear we are 3rd most difficult to move the ball against. I would love to know how they managed that one, because it doesn't feel like that. Idk, maybe Cox is doing more than we realise.
It's not obvious because we haven't been able to put on a winning score to make use of it. But it all counts for nothing if Cox doesn't get us back to where we were offensively. If you had to pick one of those modes to be excelling in, it's the offensive transition game by a long way. Being exceptional offensively whilst being poor defensively was still good enough to get us into a GF - the other way around puts you into Stkilda, Freo, Melbourne territory.

Score more than the opposition is the aim of the game after all. If your offence is better than the opposing team you're going to win 9 times out of 10.

It's not obvious because we haven't been able to put on a winning score to make use of it. But it all counts for nothing if Cox doesn't get us back to where we were offensively. If you had to pick one of those modes to be excelling in, it's the offensive transition game by a long way. Being exceptional offensively whilst being poor defensively was still good enough to get us into a GF - the other way around puts you into Stkilda, Freo, Melbourne territory.

Score more than the opposition is the aim of the game after all. If your offence is better than the opposing team you're going to win 9 times out of 10.
I like having a good attack

Good doco so far , so interesting to see the SCG back then you forget how improved our facilities are

All four episodes are now available for streaming on 7Plus.

If you stream them, you’ll count in the viewing figures. Hell, stream them 10 times. Play them on 3 different screens at once. It all counts

Sooo defensive.

Fancy somebody not appreciating footy like it's life and death. She's not making accusations... she's having a laugh as somebody with a different perspective.... that footy analysis is so damn important that it. Just. Can't. Wait.

These sort of knee-jerk responses are exactly what makes her observations funny to the parts of society that aren't entirely absorbed by footy culture.

And what a surprise... a part of the footy community will go so far as to call her "a waste of space".

Sooo defensive.

Fancy somebody not appreciating footy like it's life and death. She's not making accusations... she's having a laugh as somebody with a different perspective.... that footy analysis is so damn important that it. Just. Can't. Wait.

These sort of knee-jerk responses are exactly what makes her observations funny to the parts of society that aren't entirely absorbed by footy culture.

And what a surprise... a part of the footy community will go so far as to call her "a waste of space".
All of it is a piss-take really haha.. just serves to piss off one side or the other.

People getting annoyed at the poster, and then people supporting the poster, getting annoyed at ‘men’…

Big brain stuff all together in one post.. best just to ignore it

Sooo defensive.

I’m just bemused that its managed to become a story published by a mainstream media outlet.

“Men have a chat on plane”.

You just have to have a quiet chuckle at the absurdity of it all.

I’m just bemused that its managed to become a story published by a mainstream media outlet.

That's the Daily Mail for you. Take a story that wasn't harming anyone at all and make it "a thing."

Sooo defensive.

This and other bits of media , even Bigfooty threads remind me of that Ricky Gervais joke . Won't try to repeat it but the gist being guitar lesson sign up on a notice board and people going to look and saying I don't want ****en guitar lessons.

It's not for you, you don't have to watch, who cares.

Honestly I love Errol Gulden but i don't want to watch 22 mins about his injury comeback, it's not for me so just you know don't watch it.

I thought the plane thing was funny but whatever don't watch it

Sorry mate. I mistook your original post as being opening statement as lead counsel for the defence. Hope you understand how, "The seatbelt sign was illuminated" might be interpreted that way.

Geez some of the old locals get a bit carried away when questions are raised about the integrity of the club hey? They just refuse to accept the club sometimes f*cks up.

I figure they'll come to grips with it now that you've adjusted your point of view, that the club recognised the behaviours of our representatives as less-than-desirable and have apologised to the young lady.

Probably should have been communicated early on I reckon.

Brandon Jack has a new book out. A novel. Anyone read it? I thought his memoir “28” was really impressive.

Sooo defensive.

Yes and it always seems to be criticism of females. Whether it's a commentator or a comedian by one particular poster...even of our aflw team. They seriously need to get over it
I absolutely agree with your post and the post you responded to is so clouded in pre judgement.

All four episodes are now available for streaming on 7Plus.

If you stream them, you’ll count in the viewing figures. Hell, stream them 10 times. Play them on 3 different screens at once. It all counts
Already watched it all, really loved it. 2005 was such a special year; first time I ever followed the swans. Still remember the players that came to my local primary school and I got to meet Michael O'loughlin and Paul Bevan.

Yes and it always seems to be criticism of females. Whether it's a commentator or a comedian by one particular poster...even of our aflw team. They seriously need to get over it
I absolutely agree with your post and the post you responded to is so clouded in pre judgement.

Yeah. Thought there was enough cultural bigotry in it not to bother addressing the misogyny angle... trying to avoid one of those ugly brain explosion incidents.

Media Swans Talk in the Media 2025