Media Swans Talk in the Media 2025

Our club in the Media

Jun 2, 2014
The Rebel Alliance
This content is brought to you by Chief and the Mods of Big Footy.
PLEASE READ:

A reminder to all on the rules of copywritten content.

You will be held responsible for the articles you post that infringe copyright.

Mods will issue warnings when posters reproduce full articles on Big Footy.

You will receive something like this and an initial 1-point infraction. Contued posting of articles will incur a Serious Infraction of 5 points.

So please remember, when using material that may be the copyright of another party, you must:
  • Use only that portion you are directly commenting on. A reasonable guide might be a paragraph or two.
  • Always link to the source.

It quickly becomes a problem if any of our kids in 2026 and 2027 go in the 1st round with the new bidding rules that have been proposed.

If we can only use 2 picks to match, and one of our top kids goes at the pointy end, we basically miss out on them because we won't have the required top picks.

So we kind of need our academy kids to tank for a couple of years.

Matching this year is fine with our later picks.

It really is premiership or bust.
That assumes we don’t trade players out in the future (eg. Rowbottom) or they leave under free agency (eg. McInerney) that would generate decent picks.

After this years trade period nothing is out of question.

That assumes we don’t trade players out in the future (eg. Rowbottom) or they leave under free agency (eg. McInerney) that would generate decent picks.

After this years trade period nothing is out of question.
If Amartey hasn't signed then there's no way his manager will advise him to do it now. McInerney and Amartey as free agents feels very likely I'd have though... and not just for points reasons.

If I had Amartey's injury history I'd be more inclined to sign sooner rather than later.

Probably correct, but I'd be holding off until at least the season starts. Our cap will be tight and the offers might be bigger elsewhere. He'd also want to see what his role looks like now that there's a big dog in town
Based on what we've seen to date Amartey and McDonald are likely to be valued at a similar level $ wise. The only real danger to his role would come from 3 vs 4 talls (not including Grundy) and him rucking.
If I was him I'd look to get in some good games and then sign. I think that would suit the club too.

Interested to read more about this, do you have a source?

I don't have a close source.
The logic behind it is - the cap is tight, both players are Victorian (will have interest), their positions are going to be challenged this year, and we have lots of contracts ending in 2027 that need to be managed.
We now have minimal/less draft capital next year in (probably) a good draft. Lots of this years picks and quite possibly 2027 picks will be dictated by academy bids. If we need to balance the squad depth, next year is the time. We will also need to make calls at KPD, if one or two don't step up we need to find solutions, and quickly.

Obviously still a bit to play out.

Personally, I do wonder how the Swans look at longer contracts now. We got stretched on both Hayward and Florent contracts and in the end we needed to jettison them. How generous will we be going forward?

I don't have a close source.
The logic behind it is - the cap is tight, both players are Victorian (will have interest), their positions are going to be challenged this year, and we have lots of contracts ending in 2027 that need to be managed.
We now have minimal/less draft capital next year in (probably) a good draft. Lots of this years picks and quite possibly 2027 picks will be dictated by academy bids. If we need to balance the squad depth, next year is the time. We will also need to make calls at KPD, if one or two don't step up we need to find solutions, and quickly.

Obviously still a bit to play out.

Personally, I do wonder how the Swans look at longer contracts now. We got stretched on both Hayward and Florent contracts and in the end we needed to jettison them. How generous will we be going forward?
Those are good questions and I'm sure they are exactly the issues (along with others) testing the recruitment and list management team. There will be a fine line between not long enough and too long and no club will get it right every time. Money too.
A great example at Saints where they have had to up Wilkie's money two years in a row to keep him when his market value has increased significantly.

The Swans cap has been tight since Methuselah was a boy apparently (cue apparently boy).

How much of this is just random speculation and assumptions?

I guess we will never know.

Maybe we just recruit the wrong players

The Swans cap has been tight since Methuselah was a boy apparently (cue apparently boy).

How much of this is just random speculation and assumptions?

I guess we will never know.

Maybe we just recruit the wrong players
Isn't everyone's?
I mean if you look at out and in since last year when Parker left it doesn't make sense.
I mean how much of a bump did Chad actually get? Everyone here keeps on saying that the guys signed for unders. Now its Curnow is on unders. Well, not all can be right there.

Isn't everyone's?
I mean if you look at out and in since last year when Parker left it doesn't make sense.
I mean how much of a bump did Chad actually get? Everyone here keeps on saying that the guys signed for unders. Now its Curnow is on unders. Well, not all can be right there.
I would have thought the cap is meant to be tight…l

Probably correct, but I'd be holding off until at least the season starts. Our cap will be tight and the offers might be bigger elsewhere. He'd also want to see what his role looks like now that there's a big dog in town
I am more than happy for any player that represented us in those two GFs to go elsewhere as they are not the difference.
The exceptions are Heeney, Gulden & now Wicks that he is excelling himself a new role from the one in those years.
Everyone else has had their minds tainted with the give up infection.

I think it's fair to say a premiership is the only pass mark for Curnow.

We didn't need him to make preliminary finals or grand finals, we'd done that a number of times without him already.

We've given up first rounders for the next 3 drafts and have packed our salary cap to the brim to bring him in. If any of our academy kids go 1st round in 2026 or 2027, we will likely miss out on them under the proposed new bidding rules of using 2 picks only to match, because we won't have the picks or any way of getting them without trading out stars.
We've got the following people coming out of contract in 2026 and 2027, either just as OOC or as FA - Amartey, McInerney, Warner, Cleary, Dattoli, McCartin, Sheldrick, Roberts. If they all look at getting pay rises, then we might lose a few of them, there are many others that are fringe youth that may or may not require a pay rise. If we lose too many, then our list demographic skews very old very quickly, with a number of stars crossing 30.

If our list fails, then we're looking at a rebuild right at the time that Tasmania joins and ruins the draft.

If we're going to pay such a high price, if we're going to mortgage our future to bring him in, and we have, then he should be under no illusions that it is premiership or bust for Charlie.
Realistically, it's premiership or bust for Cox too. He's got 3-5 years to win a flag with this list or he'll be out. He's been handed a premiership list on a silver platter.

The Swans have decided to gamble to get a premiership, and that's absolutely their choice, that is what they get paid for. However, everybody involved needs to understand that anything short of a premiership will be a failure, because we've already been to grand finals and fallen short. Also, if things go wrong, we won't have the pieces to recover quickly.
Just to correct you on a couple of things. The cost of bringing Curnow in from a salary cap perspective is equaled with the salaries of both Hayward and Florent going. One of those spots will be taken by a first year player on minimal wage. We will lose the highest paid player on our list at the end of 2027 in Warner who will no doubt be heading back to WA.
Even though they are first round picks, it's not like we're giving away picks in the top 10. Our first round selections in 2026 & even more so in 2027 will seem more like second rounders.
Longmire was handed a flag in 2024 and this squad was unable to take it. Brisbane had just lost their ruck the week before, they had multiple players missing through injury and Neale was on one leg. The fact that we have been to grand finals in the past and fallen short proves that we need to change things up. If we continue to rely on the likes of Amartey and McLean to kick us a winning score then we may as well start rebuilding now.

Just to correct you on a couple of things. The cost of bringing Curnow in from a salary cap perspective is equaled with the salaries of both Hayward and Florent going. One of those spots will be taken by a first year player on minimal wage. We will lose the highest paid player on our list at the end of 2027 in Warner who will no doubt be heading back to WA.
Even though they are first round picks, it's not like we're giving away picks in the top 10. Our first round selections in 2026 & even more so in 2027 will seem more like second rounders.
Longmire was handed a flag in 2024 and this squad was unable to take it. Brisbane had just lost their ruck the week before, they had multiple players missing through injury and Neale was on one leg. The fact that we have been to grand finals in the past and fallen short proves that we need to change things up. If we continue to rely on the likes of Amartey and McLean to kick us a winning score then we may as well start rebuilding now.
Tend to agree with your last sentence, but flags are won in the midfield. Curnow will make a difference but a few other teams bat deeper than us in the midfield. Brisbane, Gold Coast and now probably GWS spring to mind. Hard to overcome.

I love it a bandicoot and a crankygeeese in serious discussion about such things.

Just to correct you on a couple of things. The cost of bringing Curnow in from a salary cap perspective is equaled with the salaries of both Hayward and Florent going.
Hayward was going to be on around 800k next year, Florent 600k = approx. $1.4 million

At a guess
, Curnow is on approx. 900k, due to the contract smoothing out to the 5th year.

And now a kangaroo joins the chat. Imagine all you 3 walked into a bar, say the Bear and Bandicoot ?
A bloke walks into a bar and sees a kangaroo, a goose, and a bandicoot knockin’ back schooners.

He rubs his eyes and says, “Oi... am I maggoted already, or is this some weird bush doof?”

The kangaroo puts down his beer and says,
“Nah mate, you’re sweet. We’re just havin’ a few after a rough day in the outback.”

The goose honks,
“Yeah, got kicked outta the dam — apparently honkin’ at joggers is frowned upon now.”

And the bandicoot leans over and mutters,
“I just came for the peanuts... and Centrelink’s cut me off again.”

Bartender yells, “You lot gonna pay this time?”

Kangaroo pulls a 50 from his pouch and says,
“Put it on the roo-tab, ya legend.”

Care of ChatGPT

Media Swans Talk in the Media 2025