d_henderson1810

Suspended
geelong
.... a hell of a lot more than he needs them. Barry Hall can simply just start a boxing career, so it doesn't matter if they fire him. But Sydney will lose out of taking this stand. Here's why....

Barry Hall kicks goals. Yes, he hits players too, but as long as he can kick a few goals every game, he is an asset. Think about it. Michael O'Loughlin (another goalkicker) is retiring, and a few of Sydney's other players are going too. So, making a stand against Hall will just be hurting their list more.Paul Roos wants to retire Hall, but said just a few weeks ago that Sydney cannot afford to "bottom out" and drop to the bottom of the ladder. Well, getting rid of Hall will do just that.

The AFL, deep down, wouldn't want Hall retired either. They have a second Sydney team entering the league in 2012. To get people to embrace West Sydney will be hard enough, but the Swans at the bottom is the worst advertising they could have. Sydney failing because they wanted to make a stand is ludicrious. Just to appease some whiny frigid bitches who hate football anyway.

I will tell you this. I go for Geelong, and I would rather have Barry Hall than Cameron Mooney at the moment. Both are erratic and get in trouble, but at least Barry Hall can kick straighter, and wouldn't miss an easy crucial shot at goal in a Grand Final.

Maybe if umpires protected forwards more against defenders holding and grabbing them all the time, they wouldn't strike out in anger. Notice it is always forwards who act like this. Maybe more scrutiny on defensive, underhanded tactics will curb this aggression.

BTW, it will be interesting to see all his critics show up at his boxing matches, and laud what a great boxer he is. At least in boxing, they don't sanitise it, afraid that mothers won't let their little darlings box because of the violence. The AFL should take a note.

Also, if you retired people for biffo, then Leigh Matthews would not played as many games as he had. As bad as his Staker strike was that time, at least he wasn't charged by poilce and had his playing licence revoked. But that was different, better times.

I can't disagree with any of that. We really do need Barry Hall playing for us in 2010 otherwise not only will the most recognisable Swans player in Sydney be gone but our forward line will also be one of the weakest in the competition.

PS for the good of the game in Sydney would your mob be nice enough to donate Gary Ablett Jnr to the Swans :)

Brett Kirk disappointed by Hall's actions

BRETT Kirk has told Barry Hall his actions are unacceptable and says the Swans are undecided on the troubled forward's playing future.

"All we have at heart is Barry's best interest but also the best interest of the football club, our reputation and the culture that we've been able to instil in the last seven years.

Asked if Hall would play again for the Swans this season Kirk said: "That's not my decision. That's the process the club's going through at the moment."

Kirky seems to be very disappointed in Hall and when you see Kirky having doubts about BBB future, then you're in trouble.

" Sydney needs Barry Hall a hell of a lot more than he needs them."

Ohh.........he needs them alright! You see.........this is exactly the kind of sh.t he has in his head. He's got Danny Green pissing in his ear, telling him the exact same thing. That's for selfish people. Make no mistake, Barry is accepted as a person at the Swans by ALL. It's just that at the moment, in the frame of mind he is in...............HE IS DRAGGING THOSE VERY SAME PEOPLE DOWN! You can piss your own AFL career away early if you like but it's not acceptable to ruin other people's chances of finishing off their career on a high. Ask Kirk how he feels!

" but as long as he can kick a few goals every game, he is an asset."

How many do you think he'll kick in the next 2 weeks? Do you think he'll be an asset these next 2 weeks?

"Think about it. Michael O'Loughlin (another goalkicker) is retiring, and a few of Sydney's other players are going too."

They must be scratching their heads as to why Hall is selfishly sabotaging their final year where they shouldn't have to keep pulling up a 32/33 year old as though he was a youngster beginning his career!

"The AFL, deep down, wouldn't want Hall retired either."

Wanna bet? Bad image for the sport!

" They have a second Sydney team entering the league in 2012."

Maybe Barry can box in 2010 & 2011 & then help out the second Sydney team in 2012! Your thoughts on this scenario?

"Just to appease some whiny frigid bitches who hate football anyway."

We'll never attact support from Geelong anyway!!

"Both are erratic and get in trouble, but at least Barry Hall can kick straighter, and wouldn't miss an easy crucial shot at goal in a Grand Final."

Grab a copy of the 2006 GF...............................have a good look at it & then tell me if you noticed something ODD with his kicking in that game!

"BTW, it will be interesting to see all his critics show up at his boxing matches, and laud what a great boxer he is."

When he choose to do that then we will support him, but the last time I looked, he wanted to keep playing footy in 2010. How about he completes 2009 the way the team expects him too first & that is not punching anyone & using his aggression at the ball!

Thanks for your thoughts but he needs to move on!

I spoke to a mate af Dannys, the Green machine is waiting!
Sayin that, ffs dont be so harsh on the big fella, how would you feel if you were him, "hey Baz, leave that soft shit of a club were your own supporters think you should give it away for a few hundred grand a year and come and make a million with us!"
FFS, most would have jumped at the offer, Hall chose to stay and play for us, The Bloods!

I spoke to a mate af Dannys, the Green machine is waiting!
Sayin that, ffs dont be so harsh on the big fella, how would you feel if you were him, "hey Baz, leave that soft shit of a club were your own supporters think you should give it away for a few hundred grand a year and come and make a million with us!"
FFS, most would have jumped at the offer, Hall chose to stay and play for us, The Bloods!

I agree Bez. Some people seem to think he does this stuff because he's selfish and doesn't care about the rest of the team. I honestly believe it's the opposite.. he actually cares too much about winning and seeing the team succeed that he completely loses control when things aren't going our/his way on the field. He's just like a big, dumb puppy dog that can't control himself when he gets riled up.

This is the same Barry Hall who practically gave away the coleman medal against the Hawks a few years ago. He was in position to kick for goal on numerous occasions and continually looked for team mates almost as though he was trying to avoid individual accolades.

He's given away big $ and what would most likely be the peak of his boxing career for his love of the game and the swans. I don't necessarily want to see him continue with us next year but I find it hard to dislike the guy. His big, dumb heart is in the right place.

I remember that hawks game malfan and I agree with bez and have said so many times, his not selfish :(
His our barry

.... a hell of a lot more than he needs them. Barry Hall can simply just start a boxing career, so it doesn't matter if they fire him. But Sydney will lose out of taking this stand. Here's why....

Barry Hall kicks goals. Yes, he hits players too, but as long as he can kick a few goals every game, he is an asset. Think about it. Michael O'Loughlin (another goalkicker) is retiring, and a few of Sydney's other players are going too. So, making a stand against Hall will just be hurting their list more.Paul Roos wants to retire Hall, but said just a few weeks ago that Sydney cannot afford to "bottom out" and drop to the bottom of the ladder. Well, getting rid of Hall will do just that.

The AFL, deep down, wouldn't want Hall retired either. They have a second Sydney team entering the league in 2012. To get people to embrace West Sydney will be hard enough, but the Swans at the bottom is the worst advertising they could have. Sydney failing because they wanted to make a stand is ludicrious. Just to appease some whiny frigid bitches who hate football anyway.

I will tell you this. I go for Geelong, and I would rather have Barry Hall than Cameron Mooney at the moment. Both are erratic and get in trouble, but at least Barry Hall can kick straighter, and wouldn't miss an easy crucial shot at goal in a Grand Final.

Maybe if umpires protected forwards more against defenders holding and grabbing them all the time, they wouldn't strike out in anger. Notice it is always forwards who act like this. Maybe more scrutiny on defensive, underhanded tactics will curb this aggression.

BTW, it will be interesting to see all his critics show up at his boxing matches, and laud what a great boxer he is. At least in boxing, they don't sanitise it, afraid that mothers won't let their little darlings box because of the violence. The AFL should take a note.

Also, if you retired people for biffo, then Leigh Matthews would not played as many games as he had. As bad as his Staker strike was that time, at least he wasn't charged by poilce and had his playing licence revoked. But that was different, better times.
What's your view on the example Hall, as a senior member of the side (certainly in age and experience), is setting for the younger, newer players? I reckon it is pretty poor.

FWIW, we have the same issue at Carlton with the poor example Fevola sets with his erratic attitude on the field.

When Barry is switched on he is very valuable, both as a player and a promoter of football because he is one of the figures that is easy to identify, because he is a bit of a character.

But when he does the undisciplined thing he hurts the team and the break down in discipline from the leaders is a huge let down for the young players coming through.

It becomes that much harder to discipline the players if you say you must follow the team rules and have a senior player constantly breaking them.

I don't think the discipline issue for young players is as big as you guys are making out to be. I really doubt we'll have a parade of youngsters coming in punching guys in the head cause they saw Bazza do it.

The senior players that don't work on the field are a bigger issue in terms of an example to young guys. Not trying to troll Carlton here or anything, but I'd rather young players see the stupidity of Hall punching blokes than Fev not chasing his opponent.

I don't think the discipline issue for young players is as big as you guys are making out to be. I really doubt we'll have a parade of youngsters coming in punching guys in the head cause they saw Bazza do it.

The senior players that don't work on the field are a bigger issue in terms of an example to young guys. Not trying to troll Carlton here or anything, but I'd rather young players see the stupidity of Hall punching blokes than Fev not chasing his opponent.

You can lose what you have when you start to make compromises. Richmond were once a very disciplined side, so was Carlton. Something went horribly wrong along the way and once the rot sets in it can be hard to shake.

Swans prided themselves on the no ******** policy and unfortunately Hall has been acting like one a bit on-field the last couple of years, in the odd game. Hall is still a great player and a really nice guy, he just needs to be able to control himself. The guys he whacks in the face really do not deserve to be treated that way.

I can honestly say I don't know what to think anymore. After replays of the triple 50 incident I was defending him and saying he was obviously penalised because of his name (especially the 2nd free, what was that!) and I genuinely felt sorry for him.

After saturday's effort I lost a lot of confidence in his ability to stay on the park and guide our younger players. Sometimes I feel ashamed because I'm on and off his bandwagon a lot, but he's so erratic that it's an easy thing to do.

When it comes to the crunch I like Hall, he's our big brute and the majority of Sydney supporters love him and want him to play on for as long as possible, but it can be so very frustrating at times. When he toys with players and tosses them aside I have a chuckle, that's what we want to see, but we don't need him punching people in the face. (even if it's a pretty harmless punch)

If I controlled the game I'd let the aggression back in and I'd change the rules to the way they were, because personally I'm not offended by the way he plays. The thing is it doesn't help the team, he can kick 4 goals and then go off the rails and all his work comes undone. Controlled aggression is the key in today's football, as much as we love the biff it's not the 80's anymore and there's no turning back.

Big Bad needs to get with the times, it's the only way. It would also help if the umpires didn't allow 8 scraggers to climb on his shoulders like he's babysitting for the Octomom.

I can honestly say I don't know what to think anymore. After replays of the triple 50 incident I was defending him and saying he was obviously penalised because of his name (especially the 2nd free, what was that!) and I genuinely felt sorry for him.

After saturday's effort I lost a lot of confidence in his ability to stay on the park and guide our younger players. Sometimes I feel ashamed because I'm on and off his bandwagon a lot, but he's so erratic that it's an easy thing to do.

When it comes to the crunch I like Hall, he's our big brute and the majority of Sydney supporters love him and want him to play on for as long as possible, but it can be so very frustrating at times. When he toys with players and tosses them aside I have a chuckle, that's what we want to see, but we don't need him punching people in the face. (even if it's a pretty harmless punch)

If I controlled the game I'd let the aggression back in and I'd change the rules to the way they were, because personally I'm not offended by the way he plays. The thing is it doesn't help the team, he can kick 4 goals and then go off the rails and all his work comes undone. Controlled aggression is the key in today's football, as much as we love the biff it's not the 80's anymore and there's no turning back.

Big Bad needs to get with the times, it's the only way. It would also help if the umpires didn't allow 8 scraggers to climb on his shoulders like he's babysitting for the Octomom.

I love the bloke too, and will always remember his contributions to the club, and of course to the premiership season, especially him sacrificing the Coleman.

But then I watch the replay of Kristin Thornton, a veteran of what, 5-6 senior games, having to drag Hall away from the umpires on Sunday, and having to say, geez, what could he have been saying? What possibly could a novice of 21-22 years have been saying to a veteran of 250 games???

The fact that it had come to that was what really concerned me. Thornton and all the other young players should NOT have to be nursemaiding Baz. In fact, no Sydney player should have to, yet from Kirk down that seems to be part of their on-field duties now, and that's just wrong.

You can lose what you have when you start to make compromises. Richmond were once a very disciplined side, so was Carlton. Something went horribly wrong along the way and once the rot sets in it can be hard to shake.

Swans prided themselves on the no ******** policy and unfortunately Hall has been acting like one a bit on-field the last couple of years, in the odd game. Hall is still a great player and a really nice guy, he just needs to be able to control himself. The guys he whacks in the face really do not deserve to be treated that way.

No doubt. I'm not trying to condone his actions, because the majority of the time, they're not acceptable (the Hawthorn stuff was totally soft, though). I'm just saying, I don't think we'll have a generation of young players at the Swans who think it's ok to hit guys on the field.