BlackDouglas

Suspended
Aug 17, 2007
Port is still negotiating with the SANFL, owner of AAMI Stadium, to meet members' demands for a section of the ground to allow beer to be taken to the seats. This has been banned at the stadium since it was opened in 1974.
http://www.news.com.au/adelaidenow/story/0,22606,22610808-21543,00.html

Taking beer back to your seats

I was reading the Adelaide Advertiser today and as I was skimming through a Power story I can across a part that caught my eye. I noticed that Port Adelaide is trying to negotiate with the SANFL to allow certain bays at AAMI to take beer back to their seat. Should the Power manage to get his approved with the SANFL would the AFC be interested in sanctioning this as well for our members?

I don’t drink when I go to the football (I drive) so taking beer back to my seat isn’t a big deal to me but I am not apposed to other people indulging themselves in the amber fluid. If the Power can get this approved we should be adding it to the agenda as well.

FFS its 2007; not 1973 – get with the program SANFL.

http://www.news.com.au/adelaidenow/story/0,22606,22610808-21543,00.html

I was reading the Adelaide Advertiser today and as I was skimming through a Power story I can across a part that caught my eye. I noticed that Port Adelaide is trying to negotiate with the SANFL to allow certain bays at AAMI to take beer back to their seat. Should the Power manage to get his approved with the SANFL would the AFC be interested in sanctioning this as well for our members?

I don’t drink when I go to the football (I drive) so taking beer back to my seat isn’t a big deal to me but I am not apposed to other people indulging themselves in the amber fluid. If the Power can get this approved we should be adding it to the agenda as well.

FFS its 2007; not 1973 – get with the program SANFL.

Sweet jesus please bring it back.

It may ALMOST, ALMOST make some of our peanut supporters bearable. We'd make more noise if we could booze up certain sections.

I find not bringing drinks back to your seat kind of counter productive. I get way drunker at Crows home games than I really should and I put this down to slamming them down at the breaks.

Or maybe it's the fact when I come over there's usually a few of us hitting the bar/Shed most of the afternoon.

Either way, drinks to seats = :thumbsu:

• Banned
I find not bringing drinks back to your seat kind of counter productive. I get way drunker at Crows home games than I really should and I put this down to slamming them down at the breaks.

The next bright idea the SANFL will come out with is to make patrons drink beer through a straw so it takes longer. :eek:

In 1973 you probably could take beer to your seat...Heck I bet you could take an esky chockers with beer...

A big yes to drinking in seats...WHile they are at it have those kids sell beer up and down the aisle. And Nacho Hats...

"Nacho Nacho Man I wanna be a Nach Man"

The next bright idea the SANFL will come out with is to make patrons drink beer through a straw so it takes longer. :eek:

Solution
straw2.jpg

Drinking in the seats would be great, last time i went to a match at the MCG, the 05 GF, I really enjoyed having a beer in the seats. If the SANFL are worried about families all they have to do is have "family" zones and "licenced" zones or something. It is a great idea and footy park really need to get with the times.

^^^^

Exactly. :thumbsu:

MOST footy supporters are responsible when it comes to having a couple at the footy.

Creates an employment opportunity for the young fellas as well. Over 18's of course.

All sorts of refreshments can be served, like they do in America for baseball and gridiron. No-one likes to wait in queues.

I agree with VIC Crow, i always have 3 before the game & skull 2 at every break & I dont get to enjoy it as much & can end up a bit drunker than I should be..

Taking it back to your seats would be awesome, thats why I love going to Adelaide United matches so much!

another solution is to bring a hip flask with a spirit in it, and pour it into your coke or whatever, but thats pretty feral alot of port supporters do it at showdowns :p

*wowser alert*

Having lived in Perth where you can take beer back to your seat and indulged in it, I found it on the whole to be a negative experience.

Fix the seating at Footy Pk so when the drinking patron decides to leave halfway through the quarter he doesnt stop the whole row from watching the game. Have a section or 3 where it can happen and I wont be averse to it.

At the Gabba we have alcohol/no alcohol sections. We normally sit in the "beer allowed" section and it is a pain in the ass when people get up in the middle of the game to go and get a beer. :rolleyes: Can't they wait til the break? Not saying don't have it, but geez it's annoying sometimes.

If SANFL finally allow it, everyone's seating would need to be changed to allow for preferences. Imagine the bloody nightmare that would be to organise!

The suggestion is logical but I would be mightly annoyed if our bay was declared to be an Alcohol section.

We have great seats with a fantastic view of the ground, but I go to watch the footy and not to have to stand up every 10 mins while someone goes to get a beer. The rows are not wide enough any more that people can just move their legs to the side, you have to stand up to allow people to get through. This turns into the people behind having to raise up in their seats to see the game and the people behind them and so on.

I have had beer poured on me by idiots coming back for their mates at the Gabba, at Telstra and at the MCG. Not interested. If you need alcohol to make you cheer for your team, take it from some one who has never been able to drink alcohol that you don't need it to be loud. ;)

Then why are we the quietest supporters in the league ;)

Booze me up SANFL, that or let me bring my own Keg to my seat. Solves everyones problems

Id like to see any hard evidence that we're actually the quietest.

Meanwhile, id enjoy being able to drink at my seat, and i dont necessarily accept that it would force people to get up during the game an excessive amount. Everytime ive been interstate, i just get my beer/s for the quarter at the break, and have them by my seat for easy consumption. No inconvienence to anyone, and a whole lot more enjoyable for me than the 5 minutes of doom skulling every 20 minutes.

I don't think the arrangement could be the same for both clubs.

It would be ok to declare Booze Bays for Pt. Power matches as those who want a drink could physically move to that Bay.

We have little or no scope to move from our designated seats - so there would have to be a different arrangement made.

I don't think the arrangement could be the same for both clubs.

It would be ok to declare Booze Bays for Pt. Power matches as those who want a drink could physically move to that Bay.

We have little or no scope to move from our designated seats - so there would have to be a different arrangement made.

Maybe we could have a few standing areas where drinking is allowed, though there are problems associated with that as well.

Just get smashed before the game. It's not like they don't let drunks in.
At my absolute most intoxicated, I'd still far more coherent than the average sober Port fan. Just hide your crows scarf and bring in a port power keyring or something, so when the redcoats ask if you're drunk, just flash the merchandise and they'll instantly apologise and let you through.